70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor Lens


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses

The 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor Lens

Features:


  • Compact and lightweight, this 4.3x autofocus zoom lens is ideal
    for candid shots, portraits, travel and sports photography
  • Count on genuine Nikon optics for outstanding picture quality
  • This is a G designated lens, not ED series - Nikon Part #1928
  • Accepts 62mm filters (see sidebar)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com


9 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sarajit Sil
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:55:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:55:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:55:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:55:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 2:55:28 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
After reading many reviews, I finally bought the 70-300 g to pair with my F75d because of its price. I find it works good at 70~200 range at F8/F11 aperture. Although it is on the softer side at 300mm. Overall a good lens for a price concerned photographer.
3/7/2006 2:55:28 AM
 
Panos E. Kazanelis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/13/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:06:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:06:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:06:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:06:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:06:44 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's one of the cases that the price of a lens actually portrays its quality. Even stopped down it remains a mediocre lens. A much better quality, low budget zoom in the same range, is its “twin” brother D ED version. Before buying it, I strongly suggest, you do a search on the net, read and compare.
10/16/2005 2:06:44 AM
 
Panos E. Kazanelis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/13/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:05:47 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:05:47 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:05:47 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:05:47 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 2:05:47 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's one of the cases that the price of a lens actually portraits its quality. Even stopped down it remains a mediocre lens. A much better quality, low budget zoom in the same range, is its “twin” brother D ED version. Before buying it, I strongly suggest, you do a search on the net, read and compare.
10/16/2005 2:05:47 AM
 
Nicole Kessel 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 5:47:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 5:47:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 5:47:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 5:47:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 5:47:26 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I used this lens constantly with my N80 photographing wildlife and butterflies.

It's not a very fast lens. So when your trying to photograph in low light situations it can be a bit difficult. Otherwise, it's a very nice lens for the money!

9/5/2005 5:47:26 AM
 
Howard Sandler 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 9:00:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 9:00:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 9:00:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 9:00:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 9:00:42 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Surprisingly good for the money. It's acceptably sharp out to 200mm and the zoom control is smooth. Bokeh looks OK too. The lens is relatively light to tote around and I won't worry so much about damage. In fact, I won't bother to protect the front element with a UV filter and the lens is too slow to use a polarizer with it anyway. I have a gallery of evaluation samples at:
http://www.pbase.com/hsandler/nikon_70300g

I have some bird shots at:

http://www.pbase.com/hsandler/birds

4/13/2005 9:00:42 PM
 
Howard Sandler 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 8:58:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 8:58:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 8:58:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 8:58:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 8:58:19 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Surprisingly good for the money. It's acceptably sharp out to 200mm and the zoom control is smooth. Bokeh looks OK too. The lens is relatively light to tote around and I won't worry so much about damage. In fact, I won't bother to protect the front element with a UV filter and the lens is too slow to use a polarizer with it anyway. I have a gallery of evaluation samples at:
http://www.pbase.com/hsandler/nikon_70300g

I have some bird shots at:

http://www.pbase.com/hsandler/birds

4/13/2005 8:58:19 PM
 
Howard Sandler 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 8:57:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 8:57:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 8:57:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 8:57:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 8:57:38 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Surprisingly good for the money. It's acceptably sharp out to 200mm and the zoom control is smooth. Bokeh looks OK too. The lens is relatively light to tote around and I won't worry so much about damage. In fact, I won't bother to protect the front element with a UV filter and the lens is too slow to use a polarizer with it anyway. I have a gallery of evaluation samples at:
http://www.pbase.com/hsandler/nikon_70300g

I have some bird shots at:

http://www.pbase.com/hsandler/birds

4/13/2005 8:57:38 PM
 
Robin  L. Guess 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 6:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 6:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 6:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 6:10:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2004 6:10:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A nice sharp inexspensive zoom lens. I use this lens for Motocross photography. Due to the harsh environment this is an ideal lens to use due to fine abrasive dust flying every where along with flying rocks and mud, make this a useable lens that can be saraficed with out a huge loss of $$ if it were to be damaged.
7/10/2004 6:10:33 PM
 
Dana D. Wiggins Chamma
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/17/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2003 12:32:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2003 12:32:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2003 12:32:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2003 12:32:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2003 12:32:28 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a good "inexpensive" zoom lens to start with! I have my eye on the 80-400 ED Nikkor zoom lens because I find that I do a lot of photography of birds and I need a more powerful zoom!
7/11/2003 12:32:28 PM
 

9 Reviews  

Buy 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Nikkor Lens from Amazon.com