50mm f/1.8 AF Nikkor


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Normal / Mid-Range Lenses

The 50mm f/1.8 AF Nikkor


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Marco Baracco 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2007 5:44:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2007 5:44:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2007 5:44:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2007 5:44:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2007 5:44:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Retrieving my old review of Nikkor AF 50 1.8D it remeber me that I have changed version and bought the AF 50 1.8 (non-D version) from a friend.
It's very different from D version and, for my use, its work on my Nikon D70 is perfect. Internal reflections are very low and thin blue, pratically an excellent lens.
View some results on my site http://marco.baracco.net
5/15/2007 5:44:22 AM
 
Christos Hountas 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 1:12:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 1:12:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 1:12:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 1:12:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2006 1:12:43 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The 50mm f1.8 AF D coupled with the Nikon D2H is a match that Iím not able to live without. At a price point of about $100 US, this is a lens that should be in every photographerís shoulder bag.
My primary use of this lens is in natural light wedding portraiture. Itís fast versatile and extremely light. Although this lens is a bit soft at f/1.8, it still produces outstanding results, but at f/5.6 + this lens is sharp as a razor.


Photography By Christos

1/11/2006 1:12:43 PM
 
Howard Sandler 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 9:08:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 9:08:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 9:08:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 9:08:22 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 9:08:22 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Just acquired this 50mm f1.8 AF D lens intending to use it with my D70 for low light event and stage shots. I find it's a bit soft at wide open aperture, however, but razor sharp at f4.0 and quite good at f2.8. I may use it for full body portraits stopped down. Autofocus is not particularly fast, but it is accurate.
4/13/2005 9:08:22 PM
 
Marco Baracco 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 11:36:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 11:36:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 11:36:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 11:36:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 11:36:19 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have worked for about 25 years principally with the 50 mm, because it is (for me) the most versatile lens for my photo style. It consist in low light and landscape picture, frequently with the sun in the frame. Obviously is necessary a lens with few glasses and a drastic multy layer treatment. Recently I bought the new Nikkor AF 50 f/1.8 D; a very nice lens in low light, even at full aperture and the best for sharpness and color rendition at f/8, but when the sun come near the limit of the frame is a very dramatic horror! Two 7 blades reflections, one orange and one larger green, is impossible to realize a readable image and a lot of other optic aberrations compares in the frame.
I think that is because the multy layer Nikon SIC treatment in this cheap lens is not good like in the 1.4 version and overall that is not effective like Carl Zeiss T* or Pentax SMC.
This is only a feature to pay attention in your shooting work, not a reason to say that the 50 1.8 is trash!
Please, see that in my home page the welcome image was realized last summer with the AFD 50 1.8 at full aperture, a very impressive quality!
Marco - Italy
www.percorsifoto.cjb.net
1/27/2004 11:36:19 PM
 

4 Reviews  

Buy 50mm f/1.8 AF Nikkor from Amazon.com