Photosmart 850 Digital Camera


HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Rainy Day
View photos created with this camera

The Photosmart 850 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor captures 2,272 x 1,704 images for prints at
    sizes up to 11 x 14 inches
  • Autofocus lens with 8x optical plus 7x digital (56x total) zoom
  • Included 16 MB SD card stores 15 images at default settings
  • Connects with PCs and Macs via USB port; powered by 4 AA
    batteries (disposables included)
  • Movie mode records video and audio for up to 60 seconds

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


47 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
TS  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 5:51:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 5:51:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 5:51:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 5:51:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 5:51:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great small camara, the quality and ease of use for a simple point and click is great.
7/4/2006 5:51:18 PM
 
George Bell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 12:03:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 12:03:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 12:03:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 12:03:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 12:03:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like the ease of use, and the Zoom.
5/21/2006 12:03:42 PM
 
Ghetto Yeti
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:35:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:35:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:35:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:35:38 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 10:35:38 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Market: Point & Click - High Zoom Image Quality: Average Manual Functions: Below Average Intuitive Feel: Average Durability: Great Battery Life: Above Average Notes: The zoom & mode wheel feel a bit out of place, very durable body, battery life better than most high zoom point & clicks, large LCD display *All ratings from Bad-Below Average-Average-Above Average-Great
4/3/2006 10:35:38 AM
 
Marcia J. Hammler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/27/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 7:35:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 7:35:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 7:35:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 7:35:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 7:35:08 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera takes video as well as pictures. For technical folks, this camera has a lot of features. I needed something simpler. And less bulky for traveling so I am now using a compact digital camera.
3/31/2006 7:35:08 PM
 
Hector Contreras
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/20/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 9:36:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 9:36:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 9:36:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 9:36:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 9:36:15 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good amateur Camara, but to slow
2/20/2006 9:36:15 PM
 
Melissa Hoover 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 12:19:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 12:19:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 12:19:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 12:19:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 12:19:27 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a good starter camera, but it is very slow and I miss a lot of pictures due to that.
1/31/2006 12:19:27 PM
 
Mary VanUlzen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/31/2005
Contact Mary
Mary's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 11:42:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 11:42:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 11:42:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 11:42:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2005 11:42:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My HP Photosmart 850 is my first digital camera...4.1 MP. I've had it 4 years. I love it, especially the macro zoom. It has 56xzoom which is unheard of for a camera in its price range (about 500.), and now there's a newer one with more megapixels for about 400. on line. I was always the family photographer, but this camera sent me into a photographic frenzy when I saw what I could do with it and my PC combined. I photograph everything all the time. I love the closeups of flowers I get. The drawbacks...the 1 sec. between when I press the button to when it actually takes the picture. And batteries;it eats them and it won't download to my PC unless they are fully charged. But I love it and I've learned a lot since I've had it. My dream is to get a Cannon EOS20 at about 2000.
12/31/2005 11:42:52 PM
 
Kathleen E. Kelley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 1:07:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 1:07:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 1:07:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 1:07:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 1:07:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good resolution, easy to use, can use auto or manual if I prefer.
12/12/2005 1:07:57 PM
 
Ronald G. Martin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:54:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:54:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:54:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:54:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:54:57 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a super camera for Macro pictures and it takes great motion pictures for shorts. I use it to take strips for church backdrops. It also takes a pretty good photo. I really like it. It has some limits when taking quick second shot out doors becasue it has to recycle. It is agood stable camera and very relaiable. I don't believe I would evr get rid of it it's top handy.
10/22/2005 7:54:57 AM
 
Barbara E. Willis 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 4:54:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 4:54:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 4:54:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 4:54:05 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/22/2005 4:54:05 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A user friendly camera. Takes great pictures.
8/22/2005 4:54:05 PM
 
Tabe Van den BRUG
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/19/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 12:45:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 12:45:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 12:45:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 12:45:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 12:45:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
good:kwality of pics bad: slow in writing to de memory card good: WARRANT bad: start up speed - to get snapshots it takes to long before redy
7/19/2005 12:45:18 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 11:46:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 11:46:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 11:46:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 11:46:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 11:46:04 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the fact that I can fix any errors right away. I also love editing my photos on my computer. The only thing I do not like about my camera is the shutter speed being so slow.
5/22/2005 11:46:04 AM
 
Michael Hancock 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 7:23:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 7:23:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 7:23:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 7:23:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 7:23:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes clear, sharp pictures. Accepts filters. Has easy to understand on board menus. I didn't like the fact that it does not support RAW format photos.
5/18/2005 7:23:40 AM
 
Janie M. Wirges 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 5:57:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 5:57:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 5:57:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 5:57:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2005 5:57:58 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is an all around good camera to start out on... it has a 10X zoom, takes good macro shots and with a polarizing filter takes good color landscape shots. It also does very well indoors with a tripod. Of course the downfall is too much time in between pictures.
5/1/2005 5:57:58 AM
 
Cory Ej Petersen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 8:26:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 8:26:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 8:26:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 8:26:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 8:26:07 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I do not like the delay after you push the button. i like instant click click click. I am amazed at the quality of pics it can take.
4/8/2005 8:26:07 PM
 
Brian J. Reid 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 8:01:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 8:01:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 8:01:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 8:01:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 8:01:34 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
An adequate digital camera. Slow shutter response & file save. Needs white balance control.
3/10/2005 8:01:34 AM
 
Melaney R. Parks 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 2:22:57 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 2:22:57 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 2:22:57 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 2:22:57 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 2:22:57 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My camera is ok. It takes good pictures, has a built in flash, and can take up to 1 and 1/2 minutes of video. The biggest problem that I have with this camera is the shutter speed. No matter what the setting, the shutter speed is horrible.
2/21/2005 2:22:57 PM
 
Ruth E. Hendrix 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:35:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:35:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:35:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:35:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:35:55 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I gave it a five, because I really don't know how to rate it. Other than 110's and disposables this is my first real camera. My husband gave it to me for my birthday.
2/11/2005 2:35:55 PM
 
Kevin Pyne 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 11:05:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 11:05:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 11:05:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 11:05:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 11:05:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great color, good range, simple to use but still has enough features for a semi-pro.
10/22/2004 11:05:54 PM
 
Rebecca A. Ross 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 8:01:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 8:01:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 8:01:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 8:01:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 8:01:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love it. I like the range of options it gives me from lighting to shutter speeds. My only complaint would be the digital delay, but you get that with any digital now days.
10/9/2004 8:01:09 PM
 
Peter Liebig 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 5:08:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 5:08:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 5:08:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 5:08:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2004 5:08:56 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's been a great point and shoot Camera. I have gotten some great pictures with this camera and the quality has been excellent. It has its limitations; Fix lens Megipixel only goes to 4.5 Slow on recovery fps Overall I have been very happy with this camera.
9/16/2004 5:08:56 PM
 
Patrick  A. Metzger 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:41:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:41:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:41:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:41:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:41:38 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good, easy to use digital camera. The shutter is sometimes slow, especially in low light. Easy to take a blurry image. Sepia mode is very nice. Overall though, I've been very happy with it.
7/7/2004 9:41:38 PM
 
Susan K. Snyder 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 7:51:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 7:51:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 7:51:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 7:51:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 7:51:04 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
nice camera works well and takes nice pictures
6/9/2004 7:51:04 PM
 
Myke Scoggins 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2004 6:44:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2004 6:44:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2004 6:44:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2004 6:44:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2004 6:44:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Two things I do not particularly like about this camera: 1) it's a little slow to start up when the camera is turned on and in between shots and 2) it is a little bigger than most other digitals. This being said, I love this camera. Great photos, very easy to use, awesome zoom. Taken short videos is a plus also. I am 100% happy with this camera.
5/25/2004 6:44:10 PM
 
Chris  Wurth 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 1:40:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 1:40:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 1:40:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 1:40:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 1:40:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I do enjoy my HP850. I like the many options for picture taking suce as B&W, color etc., many shutter speeds and I really like the optical zoom (8x). One one drawback, is that there is a delay from taking the picture to when it is actually taken. It does seem to be a bit slow when you turn it on. The software for the camera is very limited in enhancing pictures that have been taken. Overall, very good, however, this won't be my last digital camera.
5/19/2004 1:40:44 PM
 
John V. Seward 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 8:13:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 8:13:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 8:13:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 8:13:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 8:13:37 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera won me over to the world of digital photography. I am able to get clear crisp shots, and don't have to worry about wasting film. Being able to delete bad shots is a real plus, not to mention a money saver. About the only complaint I would have is shutter lag, but as I use the camera more and more, I will be able to compensate by timing action shots better.
5/14/2004 8:13:37 PM
 
Lynda Schofield 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 12:55:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 12:55:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 12:55:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 12:55:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 12:55:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I wanted a digital camera with high automation but freedom to do some settings myself if desired. I was most interested in the zoom capabilities. I did a lot of research so knew the flaws ahead of time. The only real flaw is that it is not very good for action shots; there is no burst option and only ISO 100 and 200 equivalents. For an amateur though, in the price range of this camera, it is great.
5/2/2004 12:55:27 PM
 
Tofig I. K 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 6:38:18 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 6:38:18 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 6:38:18 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 6:38:18 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 6:38:18 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Could be faster...
4/16/2004 6:38:18 AM
 
Matt Emrich 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 6:34:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 6:34:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 6:34:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 6:34:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 6:34:48 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Great for quick grab shots, but only 2MP and it's not a real SLR.
3/24/2004 6:34:48 PM
 
Tracy L. DeAtley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 6:09:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 6:09:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 6:09:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 6:09:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 6:09:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have been very pleased with my camera. The clearity of my photos at 300dpi tif format 8x10 are exceptionally clear. I have also printed 11x14 with awsome sharpness There is a bit of lag in dim light with action, so you need to time your photo just right. With a bit of practice a good photo can be achived. This camera is very button friendly. A lot of great options within the camera, with easy access. With 8x Optical zoom the price is right.
3/20/2004 6:09:50 PM
 
Elissa Kadell-Haden
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/14/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 8:27:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 8:27:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 8:27:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 8:27:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 8:27:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have to say this is the best camera I have owned. As far as capturing motion if you let the camera use auto settings you can usually get a good shot. If you are looking for the same options but faster speeds and and 5 + megapixels. Hp now offers the 945 which is the same camera basically minus the delay problems and more megapixels. It is offered at about $499 probably the same amount you spent on the 850. It offers all the same features...including the 56x zoom and will do up to 20 X 30 with the over 5 megapixels. You can check it out at HP.com
2/5/2004 8:27:11 AM
 
Ann Bruynseels
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/9/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 2:09:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 2:09:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 2:09:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 2:09:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 2:09:12 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it's too slow
1/30/2004 2:09:12 AM
 
Ann Bruynseels
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/9/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 2:08:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 2:08:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 2:08:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 2:08:46 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 2:08:46 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it's too slow
1/30/2004 2:08:46 AM
 
Kevin Wright 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 8:00:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 8:00:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 8:00:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 8:00:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 8:00:39 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Takes far to long to focus and shoot, meaning that at times you miss the object you were trying to photo.
1/1/2004 8:00:39 AM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 10:13:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 10:13:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 10:13:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 10:13:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 10:13:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Hp Photosmart C850. Close up Photos are outstanding. Because of the delay in taking a picture, people and pets are often blurred. You must take many photos to get a good one. However, Still life is excellant. It is easy to use and down loading is really easy. The software that comes with the camera is very good for burning photograph CD's. HP could improve this camera by producing a camera that takes action photo's.
12/28/2003 10:13:21 PM
 
Jose 1 R. Vega 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 6:07:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 6:07:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 6:07:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 6:07:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 6:07:45 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good for Amateur, excelent lens nice pics but cosume a lot of batteries
12/28/2003 6:07:45 AM
 
Joshua  2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 7:33:34 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 7:33:34 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 7:33:34 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 7:33:34 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 7:33:34 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
It's an okay camera that works fine in the daylight, but is very poor in low light conditions.
12/17/2003 7:33:34 PM
 
Mal Mac Bride
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2003 2:55:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2003 2:55:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2003 2:55:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2003 2:55:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/21/2003 2:55:38 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One more item regarding this camera is that it does not shoot rapid enough for me as my regular camera had done so well in the past. (Minolta XGM) As far as the quality of the photographs I find no difference. I have had enlargement up to 12 x 18 and they all turned out great.

Mal Mac Bride

9/21/2003 2:55:38 PM
 
Kelly N. Goff 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 6:49:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 6:49:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 6:49:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 6:49:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 6:49:39 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great camera...so far I have not found anything I do not care for about it. I plan to upgrade after I make some money doing what I love to do!
9/18/2003 6:49:39 PM
 
Angela  L. Drescher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 8:04:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 8:04:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 8:04:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 8:04:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 8:04:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best digital camera I have purchased. Takes great pics. with digital zoom and optical.
9/2/2003 8:04:13 PM
 
David McClelland 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 1:09:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 1:09:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 1:09:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 1:09:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 1:09:22 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first real camera that you could use in any way for photography and so far I love it. The picture quality is great but the best feature is the 52x zoom. You could zoom in on a guys head from 300 yards. Obviously this is is down quite a bit to a high digital zoom which will result in a lower picture quality but it's clearly stated on the display what the pixel rate will be at each particular level of zoom. The camera body is quite chunky which I like. I don't like these little tiny camera which you can't get a good grip off. No worries here however. The one other thing I don't like about it is that there is no manual zoom. It's pure automatic. Now obviously if you know what you are about to shoot you can focus and then hold the zoom before taking the picture but a manual zoom would have been an excellent addition. Another thing I'd have liked is an option for an external flash. But really these are two pretty minor things for me as I'm no professional and can make do quite well with what I have. The camera has dozens of settings and loads of lovely features that you can easily read up about on a proper review if you were interested. If you want a good review and what I based my purchase on try this... http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/cameraDetail.php?cam=404 Thanks Dave
8/20/2003 1:09:22 AM
 
Bonny Walter 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2003 9:13:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2003 9:13:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2003 9:13:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2003 9:13:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2003 9:13:33 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
As I am new to digital, I would rate it Medium. As a 4MP, its clarity is great to me, though I've not tried anything else in digital. I cannot snap rapidly and this is a draw back to me.
8/14/2003 9:13:33 AM
 
Michelle M. Bartlett 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2003 3:05:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2003 3:05:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2003 3:05:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2003 3:05:46 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2003 3:05:46 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love all the features on this camera. It has an optical zoom of 8x, which I haven't seen on a lot of digital cameras. The resolution is fantastic and it takes great close-ups. I'm not crazy about the flash, no matter which flash setting I use, I have a problem with red-eye. I also think it is slow to focus, which drives me nuts. All in all, it's not a bad camera, but I will look to replace it within the next year or so.
8/14/2003 3:05:46 AM
 
Kristina J. Modlin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 7:45:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 7:45:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 7:45:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 7:45:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 7:45:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. Have done comparison photos with a friend that has a Canon SLR, my camera competes well for about $2000 less! The discription above is wrong too... it can print much, much larger than 11 x 14!! I have a studio that does 20 x 30 prints for me and I also have used a large format plotter to get poster sized 31 x 24 prints and they turn out GREAT! The only downsides I have with this camera is lack of rapid shot and manual focusing capability (but with a few tricks you can still make it work properly!) Plus, the audio functions leave much to be desired.
7/23/2003 7:45:06 AM
 
Donna J. Taff
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 7:48:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 7:48:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 7:48:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 7:48:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 7:48:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was one of the first pictures I have took with my new camera. I am still trying to figure it out.Some pictures I take have turned out blurry but I believe I have been to close to the subject. I will keep trying.
7/21/2003 7:48:57 AM
 
Charlene Bayerle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/9/2003
PictureThisbyChar.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 4:33:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 4:33:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 4:33:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 4:33:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 4:33:43 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought this camera because I couldnt afford the Nikon with the 8x zoom. This was the only other camera that had the 8x zoon and it was a lot less money. I did some research on Consumer Reports and that is how I made my choice. So far it has taken great pictures.
6/23/2003 4:33:43 PM
 
Mal Mac Bride
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 1:48:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 1:48:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 1:48:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 1:48:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2003 1:48:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Compared to my first digital camera the HP 318 this is I find better because of the zoom and video features.
6/16/2003 1:48:18 PM
 

47 Reviews  

Buy Photosmart 850 Digital Camera from Amazon.com