BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Photosmart 850 Digital Camera


HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Rainy Day
View photos created with this camera

The Photosmart 850 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 4-megapixel sensor captures 2,272 x 1,704 images for prints at
    sizes up to 11 x 14 inches
  • Autofocus lens with 8x optical plus 7x digital (56x total) zoom
  • Included 16 MB SD card stores 15 images at default settings
  • Connects with PCs and Macs via USB port; powered by 4 AA
    batteries (disposables included)
  • Movie mode records video and audio for up to 60 seconds

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 47 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
TS 

member since: 7/4/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great small camara, the quality and ease of use for a simple point and click is great.
7/4/2006 5:51:18 PM
 
George Bell

member since: 9/24/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like the ease of use, and the Zoom.
5/21/2006 12:03:42 PM
 
Ghetto Yeti
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/3/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Market: Point & Click - High Zoom Image Quality: Average Manual Functions: Below Average Intuitive Feel: Average Durability: Great Battery Life: Above Average Notes: The zoom & mode wheel feel a bit out of place, very durable body, battery life better than most high zoom point & clicks, large LCD display *All ratings from Bad-Below Average-Average-Above Average-Great
4/3/2006 10:35:38 AM
 
Marcia J. Hammler
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/27/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera takes video as well as pictures. For technical folks, this camera has a lot of features. I needed something simpler. And less bulky for traveling so I am now using a compact digital camera.
3/31/2006 7:35:08 PM
 
Hector Contreras
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/20/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good amateur Camara, but to slow
2/20/2006 9:36:15 PM
 
Melissa Hoover

member since: 1/31/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a good starter camera, but it is very slow and I miss a lot of pictures due to that.
1/31/2006 12:19:27 PM
 
Mary VanUlzen
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Mary
Mary's Gallery

member since: 12/31/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My HP Photosmart 850 is my first digital camera...4.1 MP. I've had it 4 years. I love it, especially the macro zoom. It has 56xzoom which is unheard of for a camera in its price range (about 500.), and now there's a newer one with more megapixels for about 400. on line. I was always the family photographer, but this camera sent me into a photographic frenzy when I saw what I could do with it and my PC combined. I photograph everything all the time. I love the closeups of flowers I get. The drawbacks...the 1 sec. between when I press the button to when it actually takes the picture. And batteries;it eats them and it won't download to my PC unless they are fully charged. But I love it and I've learned a lot since I've had it. My dream is to get a Cannon EOS20 at about 2000.
12/31/2005 11:42:52 PM
 
Kathleen E. Kelley

member since: 10/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good resolution, easy to use, can use auto or manual if I prefer.
12/12/2005 1:07:57 PM
 
Ronald G. Martin

member since: 10/15/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a super camera for Macro pictures and it takes great motion pictures for shorts. I use it to take strips for church backdrops. It also takes a pretty good photo. I really like it. It has some limits when taking quick second shot out doors becasue it has to recycle. It is agood stable camera and very relaiable. I don't believe I would evr get rid of it it's top handy.
10/22/2005 7:54:57 AM
 
Barbara E. Willis

member since: 8/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A user friendly camera. Takes great pictures.
8/22/2005 4:54:05 PM
 
Tabe Van den BRUG
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/19/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
good:kwality of pics bad: slow in writing to de memory card good: WARRANT bad: start up speed - to get snapshots it takes to long before redy
7/19/2005 12:45:18 PM
 

First 10 of 47 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Photosmart 850 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.