70-200mm F2.8 EX HSM Lens


Sigma

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Zoom Lenses

The 70-200mm F2.8 EX HSM Lens


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Patrick W. Hart 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2006 12:38:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2006 12:38:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2006 12:38:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2006 12:38:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2006 12:38:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This lense is beyond amazing. It's really compare able to both Canon's and Nikon's 70-200mm F2.8 lens. I actually bought the updated version of this lense which has macro capability. I got it for $799 new through tristatecamera.com. This is a very nice lens to have and with the extra money you save, you can buy more camera equipment.
11/10/2006 12:38:05 PM
 
Susi Lawson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/12/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 5:57:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 5:57:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 5:57:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 5:57:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 5:57:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought the new DG version of this lens and was quite amazed at the sharpness and quick focus with this one. I was using the 18-200 tamron and the sigma just blew it away, no comparison. I can't imagine the Canon topping this lens and have heard that it is on par, so why pay the extra cash when you could buy more camera equipment!:) The weight is a bit heavy, but I am still able to handhold this lens with good results and I found that I got used to the weight, but have a monopod on the way!
5/5/2006 5:57:49 AM
 
John G. Clifford Jr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 11:42:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 11:42:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 11:42:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 11:42:07 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 11:42:07 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A step above the typical 'kit' zoom in this focal length range. Amazing sharpness for a zoom lens, even wide open. The HSM focusing motor is Sigma's version of ultrasonic focusing and is both fast and very quiet.

This is a moderately big and heavy lens (as would be expected for f/2.8), but produces great images and is very useful for low light or action photography. Of course, in front of an APS-sized sensor, you're effectively getting a 300mm 35mm-equivalent (or better) lens at maximum zoom (effectively 340mm on my 1.7x crop factor SD10), and a 300mm+ f/2.8 lens is a VERY handy lens to have.

The quality is comparable to similar items from Canon and Nikon, but at a much better price point. If you're looking for a pro-level lens without spending well over a grand, then look no further. You will be happy.

8/18/2005 11:42:07 PM
 
Liquid Photography 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 7:39:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 7:39:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 7:39:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 7:39:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 7:39:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A well built Pro lens that produces images that match the Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 L. It can be purchased for right around $700.
5/19/2005 7:39:08 PM
 
Liquid Photography 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 7:38:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 7:38:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 7:38:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 7:38:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 7:38:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A well built Pro lens that produces images that match the Canon 70-200mm f/2.8 L. I can be purchased for right around $700.
5/19/2005 7:38:23 PM
 
Daniel G. Flocke
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/31/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 8:28:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 8:28:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 8:28:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 8:28:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2005 8:28:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very sharp lens, tack sharp at F/2.8 and I would highly recommend this lens especially since its priced at $799.00, and since the Nikon 70-200 2.8 sells for $1650.00 or the Canon 70-200 2.8 IS sells for $2200.00. A good buy for the money.
4/3/2005 8:28:06 PM
 
Jay Barnhisel 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2003 8:59:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2003 8:59:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2003 8:59:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2003 8:59:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2003 8:59:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent, fast, quality lens. This lens is my main stay. Its autofocus is fast and precise, and F 2.8 give me a lot of room to work with. Under a $1000! By the way Sigma is great. I have contacted them via Email and they have returned my calls via voice. They follow up and support their product!
11/14/2003 8:59:00 PM
 

7 Reviews  

Buy 70-200mm F2.8 EX HSM Lens from Amazon.com