BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Macro Lenses

The EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens

Features:


  • 100mm macro lens
  • Designed for use with all EOS cameras
  • High-speed and quiet autofocus
  • Ultrasonic motor
  • Manual focusing possible without switching out of AF mode

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery

member since: 11/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i bought this lens in 2004 and used it almost intensively. But, something occurred to the lens in 2008, when I received an Errr99 in my 20D. It was the lens, not the camera.

I thought I cleaned the lens where it attached to the camera, and used it again in 2009, and the same problem occurred again.

This time, since I was right in the middle of a class, I bought the new Canon 100mm f2.8L IS lens, and WOW!!!
This lens is wire sharp, has image stabilization so I can hand hold with reduced vibration. I really love the new (and more expensive) 100mm f2.8L IS lens, even more than its predessor.

However, I must say, that using a tripod is generally better, especially for macro than hand-holding. This is especially true with a macro ring-flash is used, as it becames heavy and ungainly. But,I always remember to turn off the IS whenever a tripod is used.


2/9/2010 7:08:36 AM
 
Carlton Ward
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Carlton
Carlton's Gallery
carltonwardphoto.com

member since: 12/13/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have used this lens for almost 2 years now and it still rivals my 4 L lenses in terms of sharpness, clarity & saturation. I have some of my very best images taken with this lens.
11/2/2007 3:37:09 PM
 
Lynn R. Powers
Contact Lynn
Lynn's Gallery

member since: 9/12/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Although I have used close-up lenses this is my first macro. With a Canon 20D it actually gives you more than a 1:1 ratio so you have a little more room to work with. It is tack sharp and works nicely as a moderate telephoto on the 20D. Unless you have a full frame camera it is too much for use as a portrait lens. However at the beach it would be ideal for a full length shot if you do not want to get up close and personal. I have noticed no color aberations and when shooting in the B&W mode the contrast is exceptional. It is solidly built, simple to use, fast and very versatile. Being inexpensive in todays market it is a "best buy". If you decide to aquire one you will never be disapointed. It is one of the finest lenses I have ever owned.
10/16/2006 10:17:43 PM
 
Tim R. Stratton

member since: 9/16/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an easy choice. I first purchased the SIGMA 104 MACRO but man it's noisey so in less than 24 hours I returned it and upgraded. I can't even say "if you don't care about noise get the sigma.." it's too noisy and there's just no way anyone should try to live with that.

As for image quality. This is an excellent lens. It cannot be L b/c there is already an L series Macro, world's best from what I understand but at $2000+ it should be. For less than $1000 (Canadian) this baby is the tops! Image quality is as good as my 24-105 L without question.

9/16/2006 12:47:02 PM
 
Laurence Saliba
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Laurence
Laurence's Gallery

member since: 9/23/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the best macro lenses I have ever laid my hands on!!!
5/17/2006 1:02:40 PM
 
Sandy Driscoll
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Sandy
Sandy's Gallery

member since: 4/2/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first true macro lens, and I've had it for only a few days, so am still getting to know it. I bought it on the strength of email conversations with other BP members whose macro photos I admired. So far, I love it! The focusing is extremely quiet, and I'm loving the results I'm getting, even though I'm still learning how to use it. In short, it's a lot of lens, and will give me a wonderful and exciting tool to explore an area of photography that I've always found fascinating. I use it with the Canon 20D, which is a fantastic camera!
6/7/2005 9:09:25 AM
 
Sandy Driscoll
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Sandy
Sandy's Gallery

member since: 4/2/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first true macro lens, and I've had it for only a few days, so am still getting to know it. I bought it on the strength of email conversations with other BP members whose macro photos I admired. So far, I love it! The focusing is extremely quiet, and I'm loving the results I'm getting, even though I'm still learning how to use it. In short, it's a lot of lens, and will give me a wonderful and exciting tool to explore an area of photography that I've always found fascinating. I use it with the Canon 20D, which is a fantastic camera!
6/7/2005 9:08:36 AM
 

7 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.