ZX-7 (MZ-7) 35mm SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

sacre coeur bw
View photos created with this camera

The ZX-7 (MZ-7) 35mm SLR Camera

  • Compact and lightweight autofocus 35mm SLR camera
  • Intelligent Auto Picture mode
  • Illuminated mode dial with 6 selectable picture modes
  • Three-point phase-matching autofocus and predictive autofocus
  • Six-segment metering
  • Exposure compensation and exposure memory lock
  • Built-in auto pop-up flash with red-eye reduction
  • Auto illuminated LCD panel
  • Full information viewfinder with built-in adjustable diopter
  • Multiple exposure
  • Two frames per second film advance


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Nathan Vass 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 11:47:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 11:47:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 11:47:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 11:47:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 11:47:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Widescreen ratio option allows for excellent compositional possibilities. Durable and reliable in every respect.
6/5/2006 11:47:12 AM
 
BILLY R. PARKER
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2006 1:14:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2006 1:14:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2006 1:14:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2006 1:14:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2006 1:14:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
EXTREMLY GOOD VALUE! EASY TO USE WITH ALL THE AUTO FEATURES FOR THE NOVICE.
5/16/2006 1:14:04 PM
 
Kayla  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:30:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:30:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:30:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:30:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:30:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first camera. I used it for photography class in high school. It was an excellent camera for a beginner. It is also very useful for developing photographers with easy to operate functions as well as other functions useful for an experienced photographer. I can still use it as I become more experienced. I recommend this camera to anyone.
1/3/2006 11:30:42 PM
 
Alexis T. Diller 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:16:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:16:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
it's pretty good for amatuer photography. the colors it captures is great. and it's an easy-to-use, not to complicated kind of camera. it's extensive features work very well. it keeps images sharp.
8/27/2005 5:16:15 PM
 
Cyndee Wanyonyi
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:38:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:38:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:38:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:38:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:38:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was a great camera to get me interested in photography. ..I don't know how much I'll use this, though, now that I have a Rebel XT :).
4/26/2005 8:38:48 PM
 
Betty Gray
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/23/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 9:20:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 9:20:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 9:20:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 9:20:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2005 9:20:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am used to having the totally manual K1000. This upgrade has been great so far. So far the automatic focusing is working well.
4/21/2005 9:20:40 PM
 
Joseph R. Long 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 4:27:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 4:27:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 4:27:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 4:27:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 4:27:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the camera on the whole. It lets me have a lot of freedom with it's manual setting, while still having auto focus. It's better than every other camera I've had, but I don't like that if I set it on any of the picture modes, the flash will go off whether you want it to or not.
3/3/2005 4:27:36 AM
 
Karen Mulich
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 5:53:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 5:53:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 5:53:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 5:53:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 5:53:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I use 3 Pentax cameras and LOVE them all. I use the K1000, ZX-30 & the ZX-7. For my digital use I have a Kodak DX6340.
2/10/2005 5:53:28 PM
 
JOSEPH R. HYBERG 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 4:57:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 4:57:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 4:57:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 4:57:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 4:57:59 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My camera has been useful as an amature photographer because most settings are automatic.
11/12/2004 4:57:59 PM
 
Kim S. Hite
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/23/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2004 7:19:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2004 7:19:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2004 7:19:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2004 7:19:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2004 7:19:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it's ease of use and versatility. Great camera for the money.
11/6/2004 7:19:50 AM
 
Tara Michelle (Shellie) Rolen 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 11:06:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 11:06:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 11:06:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 11:06:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 11:06:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's the first SLR camera I've ever had. I love it, it takes wonderful pictures.
10/19/2004 11:06:14 PM
 

First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy ZX-7 (MZ-7) 35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com