PDR-M81 Digital Camera


Toshiba

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Sharing last flow...
View photos created with this camera

The PDR-M81 Digital Camera

Features:

    Maximum horizontal resolution: 2400 Pixels
  • Maximum vertical resolution: 1600 Pixels
  • Resolution modes: 2400 x 1600
  • Optical zoom: 2.8x
  • Digital zoom: 2.2x
  • Autofocus: Yes
  • Minimum focal length: 35 millimeters
  • Maximum focal length: 98 millimeters
  • Macro focus range: Four inches to 2.62 feet
  • Maximum aperture: F2.9
  • Aperture modes: F2.9 to F4.8

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


3 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Keith Hooks 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 11:43:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 11:43:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 11:43:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 11:43:26 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 11:43:26 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good points: Picture quality is good at 4.2 Mpixels. The zoom works well and the interface is very easy to use. I disabled the digital zoom on mine as soon as I figured out how. The built-in flash works well in doors too. Negatives: It takes a few seconds to boot up and I've missed some good opportunities for fast shots. The performance in low light isn't that great although I've gotten pretty good at holding the camera steady. I also wish I could mark multiple files for deletion instead of doing one at a time.
7/11/2004 11:43:26 AM
 
Steve C. Hinds 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:03:37 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:03:37 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:03:37 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:03:37 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:03:37 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
The poor rating is a result of the following:

Unacceptable noise above 100 ISO setting and using even the optical zoom.

Camera autofocus--rates poor, it will miss under many situations. On my camera, using any zoom setting, the autofocus fails. Manual must be used.

Exposure--rates fair, you can take multiple shots of a scene, one may be grossly over exposed, the next just fine. The problem tends to over exposure.

Auto white balance--best to set yourself.

Toshiba support--poor

Positives--when exposure and focus are correct, the pictures are above average, requiring minor adjustments for color saturation.

It is a shame that even with optical zoom, the tendency is to require the use of manual focus and for there to be noise more expected from digital zoom.

3/31/2004 6:03:37 AM
 
Justin W. Roycroft 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 7:58:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 7:58:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 7:58:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 7:58:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 7:58:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful camera, though the size is very annoying when trying to put it away.
1/14/2004 7:58:01 PM
 

3 Reviews  

Buy PDR-M81 Digital Camera from Amazon.com