BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


DC4800 Digital Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Just Another Day ...
View photos created with this camera

The DC4800 Digital Camera


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


31 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Dwayne D. Dowdell

member since: 1/12/2001
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For over six years its captured all I need.
7/7/2006 5:09:14 PM
 
Jay Valle
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/1/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great for quick photos. Easy to master. Very forgiving. A wide range of options from Manual to Auto
2/1/2006 7:09:55 AM
 
Lana Lipkin

member since: 12/30/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Old camera, now I've switched to a Canon SD500
1/27/2006 6:14:04 PM
 
Lisa A. Mercado
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/19/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very Easy to use. A good first Digital for a novice photographer
10/19/2005 8:32:42 AM
 
Abby Palmer

member since: 10/11/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like that it is compact while maintaining a good hand grip. It is my first digital and has gone a lot of places with me and has taken some great pictures but doesn't have enough pixels to print large format to hang on wall. The delay between shots and the delay on the shutter has caused a lot of frustration and missed shots. I grew up with an SLR and really missed manual focus and seeing through the lense. I finally have enough money for a digital SLR and am really looking forward to this next step.
10/14/2005 7:46:31 AM
 
Lisa Ketterer

member since: 6/20/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
IT IS A PRETTY GOOD CAMERA OVER ALL BUT I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE WITH MORE MEGIPIXELS NOW THAT I AM GETTING A LITTLE BETER WITH PHOTO'S
6/23/2005 6:45:39 AM
 
Evelyn Wright

member since: 7/17/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Although, I have a newer kodak digital camera, I kept this one and I still like to use it. It takes good picturs, I just bought one with more zoom and settings.
4/28/2005 5:24:03 AM
 
Mark Gipson

member since: 3/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A terrific shooter my first
4/9/2005 2:17:29 PM
 
Bettye L. Strader

member since: 11/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great picture quality. My only complaint is the size. It is on the large size and heavy. Easy to use. Good flash quality.
2/21/2005 5:16:59 PM
 
Jana D. Hawes

member since: 1/25/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy, great snapshot camera.
1/25/2005 12:20:56 PM
 
Paul Smith
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/31/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Kodak DC 4800 is discontinued but I still like it. It is a 3.1 megapixel camera with a zoom lens, equivalent of 28mm to 84mm, and, very important to me, provision for attaching an external flash. I wish it had a cable release. I have shaky hands, and for long exposures I place the camera on a tripod and use the self-timer.
1/1/2005 4:14:56 AM
 
Erik Rasmussen

member since: 10/4/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Other then its resolution size, I have been very happy with the images it's produced.
10/4/2004 4:05:16 PM
 
Susan Selkirk

member since: 9/28/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It was fine when I first got it, and it did get me hooked....then I got my Minolta.
9/28/2004 9:08:09 PM
 
Rob MacMorran

member since: 9/2/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It takes great pictures, and reproduces colors very well. It offers a good combination of control of shutter speed (many options) and 'aperture' (3 choices, but lens really does 2.8-4.5). The camera performs poorly in darkness -- autofocus sometimes suffers and pictures often have random lit-up pixels. Lowering the iso setting to 100 helps. This only becomes an issue at extremely slow shutter speeds, and even then it does not always happen.
9/2/2004 8:17:46 PM
 
Colleen Killorn

member since: 9/2/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great point and shoot camera.
9/2/2004 10:52:03 AM
 
Toyya Cisneros

member since: 7/22/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Excellent for a digital. Precision clarity with 3.1 megapixels. Nice zoom range, but can't quite compare with 35mm zoom lenses!!
7/22/2004 8:10:16 AM
 
Daniel L. KONGOS

member since: 6/20/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's alright, but after using the D70 I don't even wan't to look at it. Battery life is horrible, and everything is slow.
6/20/2004 6:24:58 PM
 
Ronald R. Nelson

member since: 4/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
For Extreem Close ups It Is A Very Good Camera Although I wish it had better battery life Like My Sony DSC F717 Witch has night photo and night framing and a much better battery life but lacks extreem Macro capabilities.
4/1/2004 7:08:24 PM
 
Howard S. Cohen

member since: 3/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Quite good when I purchased it in 2001, but a little dated today (March 2004). Good automatic features, yet flexible manual control too. Zoom lense a bit limited, with maximum optical at only 3X. Good picture quality under most lighting conditions. Simple to operate, with easy to read LCD and menus.
3/26/2004 11:11:50 AM
 
Vera I. Sytch

member since: 3/2/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the camera. The 28 mm end of its wide-angle range is great for the type of indoor, close-quarters photography I do. It's easy to use, small enough to be unobtrusive, and the colors it captures are great. Some of the controls are easy to knock off their settings - such as the over/under-exposure control. I've missed some shots due to accidental overexposure due to this. Its biggest fault is the that the flash synchronized not to 1/60th second, but to the shutter speed that's automatically selected for that low-light setting. Thus, flash pictures come out with a strange effect if the subject is moving - or if you have any camera shake/movement.
3/2/2004 12:57:14 PM
 
Dennis Doscher

member since: 1/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Been using my the DC4800 for over 2 years with great results. Almost all of my shots are taken outdoors under varying conditions. Overall picture quality has been very good even in poor weather. Kodak could have done a better job on the battery cover - tends to pop open - need to keep a piece of tape over it.
1/5/2004 8:12:18 AM
 
Karlyn Langlinais

member since: 10/21/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love my camera!!!! Easy to take pictures and last a long time when not using flash...
10/21/2003 6:43:17 PM
 
Kevin Martin

member since: 8/19/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
For the money, this camera takes beautiful outdoor photos. Indoor photos tend to be on the grainy side. Seems to work very well under perfect lighting conditions, but falls short under poor conditions. Overall, I love this camera for ease of use, portability, durability, and battery life is amazing.
8/19/2003 9:08:36 AM
 
Karlyn M. Langlinais

member since: 8/13/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera....takes clear pictures and is really easy to work with also has extra lenses to help take photos..
8/13/2003 4:49:40 AM
 
Grayce  Pedulla Dillon
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/25/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm happy with this camera. I've been using it for about 2-1/2 years. The settings give me quite a bit of control. I do get remarks from others that there is digital noise, which I don't see on my monitor. However, I think it is most likely due to my own post processing, since the images shown online are usually around 640 x 480. The 3.1 mp has been adequate, but I am ready to upgrade to more pixels. I like that I have been able to add lenses, such as telephoto, and macro. Over the last couple of years my dc4800 has gotten some bumps and bruises, but it hasn't affected the picture quality at all. Would I buy another Kodak based on my experience? YES!
8/3/2003 7:23:39 AM
 
America B

member since: 7/14/2002
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Well, I just sold this camera and have to say I don't miss it much. I loved the B&W and sepia shooting modes but that was about it. Battery life is horrible, so make sure you have plenty of spares, at least 4, for an outing away from electricity. On a positive note, the manual controls work very well. The add-on lenses are a must have, especially the 2 close-up's, takes a good macro shot. All in all, I guess it's not a bad little camera.
7/12/2003 9:56:47 AM
 
Billie-Jo A. Miller

member since: 12/9/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like the different choices you get using this camera.
6/17/2003 12:06:17 PM
 
Kris Lingle
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/10/2001
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Not bad for a digital with out slr capabilities. It is kind of hard to set in manual mode but it is possible. Easy to download and I like the rechargeable batteries.
6/16/2003 8:11:35 PM
 
Dwayne D. Dowdell

member since: 1/12/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
No camera is perfect, but this one comes very close. If you can afford it, buy it, you will not be disappointed. This camera is currently the best pro-sumer digicam on the market and is well reviewed on other sites such as Steves-digicams. Bottom line: this is a serious amateur photographer's camera that wastes nothing on fancy bells & whistles.
 
Chris 

member since: 4/26/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera for 8.5 x 11" printouts. Excellent outdoor exposure. Worth the money if you get a good deal! Classic shots with sephia & B/W mode for the amateur/semi-professional

Cons: Indoor Flash photos always turn out dim so better get an external flash.

 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera. Good value for the price. Many features and higher pixel rating than others in this price range. Excellent results in low light. I would suggest buying an extra battery and memory card.

 

31 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy DC4800 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.