BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


F100 SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

The light
View photos created with this camera

The F100 SLR Camera

From the manufacturer:
With innovative built-in Nikon F System technology more sophisticated than ever, the F100 makes precise, responsive Dynamic Autofocus so fast that images literally pop into focus. The camera also works perfectly with every AF Nikkor lens, AF-S Nikkor, AI Nikkor and more.

The F100 features Nikon's 3D Matrix Meter, for exposure control that has been developed through over a generation of innovation. There's Spot and Center-Weighted Metering, too. And Nikon's Automatic Balanced Fill-Flash System is uncanny at showing up that touch of extra light for more perfect exposures and cover page pictures.

For extra dependability, the chassis, top, bottom and front covers, and selected parts are constructed of rugged magnesium alloy metal.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 178 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Dennis Brookshire

member since: 7/2/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
For the past few years, I have been shooting only digital. Among the digitals I've used--D100, D2h, D70s, and now the D200 (my all time, thus far, favorite digital.

What does this have to do with the F100? I loved it when I owned it; sometimes regret selling it to finance digital purchases; and often consider (quite impractically) buying another.

It's a great camera, and for me it would be a 5, rater than 4.5, if it were digital!!

7/20/2006 5:07:21 AM
 
Alan W. Waldrop

member since: 7/4/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a Nikon and it's affordable!
7/4/2006 7:13:06 AM
 
Gary Glass

member since: 6/22/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really liked this camera as a film camera. It was basically like a watered down(a few features less) version of the F5.. A very nice camera as far as features it offered for the price and very comfortable camera in your hands,nice contours did not feel bulky.. I really enjoyed using it. Nikon makes very nice semi and pro cameras..
6/24/2006 11:02:57 AM
 
Gary Glass

member since: 6/22/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really liked this camera as a film camera. It was basically like a watered down(a few features less) version of the F5.. A very nice camera as far as features it offered for the price and very comfortable camera in your hands,nice contours did not feel bulky.. I really enjoyed using it. Nikon makes very nice semi and pro cameras..
6/24/2006 11:02:50 AM
 
Michael E. Hoskins
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/21/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. Good and heavy and rugged
6/19/2006 9:41:35 PM
 
Mary A. McClelland
marymacphotography.com

member since: 6/6/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've been using this camera for about 5 years, and I love it.
6/11/2006 5:24:10 PM
 
Tony E. Hadeed

member since: 4/6/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice film camera. i prefer my nikon D50 alot more
6/9/2006 7:04:50 PM
 
Keven A. Oswalt

member since: 6/29/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Wish it had a pop-up flash for convenience.
6/4/2006 6:29:07 AM
 
Arthur R. Mullis

member since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon F100 I own is the finest 35mm SLR I have used. It will probably be the last 35mm film based camera I will use. This camera will never leave my possession until I assume "room temperature"!
5/31/2006 8:22:47 AM
 
Earnest Sanford

member since: 5/13/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I do love this camera. I also bought an mb15 vertical grip. Truly special.
5/24/2006 11:16:17 PM
 
David Miranda
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/1/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the F-100 though I don't understand why it does not feature mirror lock up.
5/1/2006 11:26:26 AM
 

First 10 of 178 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.