BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


645N Medium Format 35mm Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

On the move
View photos created with this camera

The 645N Medium Format 35mm Camera

In 1984, Pentax first introduced the Pentax 645, an epoch-making camera, to field photographers. Despite its medium-format design, it handled superbly and soon became the favorite of many photo enthusiasts. Now Pentax introduces the 645N, a new model that features auto focus capabilities.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ken Dvorak

member since: 9/6/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Take a look at the photos!!
10/27/2005 11:42:42 AM
 
Rex A. Looney

member since: 9/21/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
What a great camera! I have used this camera for shooting rollerskating events, weddings, social events, equestrian events, and nature. I have had a great deal of success with this camera.
9/22/2005 7:15:01 PM
 
Thomas  Johnson

member since: 11/22/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
thing i like most is it has a lot of setings and easy to use. dislike not haveing iso 100 but can live with out it.
3/24/2005 4:09:56 AM
 
Katie Lorenz

member since: 12/4/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Making the switch from 35mm to medium format was a breeze with this camera. I've shot about 25 weddings with my 645NII and I don't have any complaints yet. There are too many awesome features for me to list here. I would recommend this camera to anyone considering medium format. The detail and quality by far exceeds 35mm and the low price (you can get the camera and lens for under $2000) was a major bonus.
3/14/2005 9:04:08 AM
 
Katie Lorenz

member since: 12/4/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Pentax 645NII is my first medium format camera and I love it! I shot 20 weddings last season with it and I have no complaints. The aperature and shutter priority settings allow me to stop worrying about technical stuff and just focus on composition. I haven't had a bad exposure yet. The camera is light compared to others in its class and so easy to use. The photographer I work with uses the much more expensive Mamiya ProTL and now she wants a Pentax 645 NII. This is a great camera for wedding and/or portrait photography!
12/18/2004 10:25:29 AM
 
ronda chatelle
BetterPhoto Member
Contact ronda
ronda's Gallery

member since: 6/29/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
---I wish someone would of told me how HEAVY this camera is....ouch! Also...very expensive to develop and print due to the larger size negatives. It makes it hard to experiment as much as I would like to. The quality and clarity are excellent but I would definately buy a digital instead.
12/15/2004 9:28:30 PM
 
Mitch Humphries

member since: 9/30/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I'm impressed with Pentax lenses. They don't get the public acknowledgement they deserve. I use Nikon 35 MM, and after using Pentax, I prefer Pentax. No more software cameras, by the way. It's easier to be creative with mindless mechanical equipment.
10/17/2004 11:09:11 AM
 
Lee Norville

member since: 10/13/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
FANTASTIC CAMERA!!! the glass on this system is superb!!!
10/14/2004 5:34:28 PM
 
Helena Ahonen

member since: 9/1/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
good camera
9/7/2004 9:42:00 AM
 
C. Patrick Douglas

member since: 6/30/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Almost a 10. Very sturdy and excellent images....
7/2/2004 6:34:12 AM
 
Toni A. Martin
BetterPhoto Member
tonimartinphotography.com

member since: 1/17/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like the camera.
1/8/2004 9:00:26 PM
 

First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.