Photosmart 318 Digital Camera


HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Grand Canyon Suns...
View photos created with this camera

The Photosmart 318 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 2 megapixel sensor captures 1,600 x 1,200 images for prints up
    to 8 x 10 inches
  • Autofocus lens with 2x digital zoom
  • 8 MB internal memory holds 20 pictures at default resolution;
    CompactFlash slot for additional storage
  • Connects to Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 4 AA batteries (alkalines included; rechargeables
    recommended)

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


32 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Silviu Ionescu 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 6:36:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 6:36:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 6:36:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 6:36:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2005 6:36:38 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Average picture quality, slow focus, slow start-up. Good pictures in natural light.
9/22/2005 6:36:38 AM
 
Laurrie Lolly
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/26/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 10:03:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 10:03:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 10:03:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 10:03:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 10:03:23 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The HP Photosmart 318 worked okay, except for settings sticking while using it in cold weather (couldn't zoom and then change back at times). The normal to download photos is connect cable then turn on camera. Sometimes it wouldn't recgonize the camera (had to unplug camera while turned on and then plug back in to get it to work). Overall I really enjoyed it. It was my first digital camera.
9/9/2005 10:03:23 AM
 
Arul Arokia Sagayaraj Abraham 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 12:28:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 12:28:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 12:28:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 12:28:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 12:28:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camare is really good. It is a good equipment to pass time and comes up handy on occasions. The zoom is bit less.
5/10/2005 12:28:00 AM
 
Marea 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/19/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 6:07:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 6:07:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 6:07:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 6:07:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 6:07:27 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very user friendly and takes great pictures. I think it is a great camera for someone who just wants to take simple pictures. i like the photo quality.
4/29/2005 6:07:27 PM
 
Kelly Schultz 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 10:52:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 10:52:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 10:52:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 10:52:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 10:52:53 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's a good "starter" camera. It was the first digital camera i got, so I've not really tried any others yet. (hopefully soon!)
4/29/2005 10:52:53 AM
 
Jana D. Hawes 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 12:25:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 12:25:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 12:25:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 12:25:36 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 12:25:36 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
easy, good overall camera
1/25/2005 12:25:36 PM
 
Christopher  S. Mugglebee 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 4:36:12 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 4:36:12 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 4:36:12 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 4:36:12 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 4:36:12 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Not great stabilzation and focus, poor shutter speed.
10/9/2004 4:36:12 PM
 
Mark J. Mohapp
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/10/2003
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 7:37:11 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 7:37:11 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 7:37:11 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 7:37:11 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 7:37:11 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
I just borrowed this camera from a friend. I really dislike it.
8/29/2004 7:37:11 PM
 
Nicole M. Braley 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 1:54:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 1:54:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 1:54:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 1:54:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 1:54:56 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its a good camera .I still want a newer one they keep getting better all the time.
7/13/2004 1:54:56 PM
 
Paul Parent
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/27/2004
Contact Paul
Paul's Gallery
paulparent.org
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 3:42:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 3:42:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 3:42:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 3:42:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 3:42:31 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nice 2 MP camera, medium resolution.
6/28/2004 3:42:31 AM
 
Gloria B. Wood
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2000
Contact Gloria
Gloria's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 5:13:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 5:13:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 5:13:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 5:13:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 5:13:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera for a beginner. Good results with automatic settings.
6/25/2004 5:13:23 PM
 
Christina  M. Helmer-Perry 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:55:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:55:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:55:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:55:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:55:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It takes the best outdoor nature type pictures. It is crisp and clear.
5/23/2004 9:55:58 AM
 
Christina  M. Helmer-Perry 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:51:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:51:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:51:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:51:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:51:31 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I think it takes the best nature pictures, it seems to know exactly how I need to capture the photo. It captures light and shadow great. It also takes great in motion pic's of my grandchildren. It's a great 1st digital camera
5/23/2004 9:51:31 AM
 
Peter S. Page 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2004 5:25:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2004 5:25:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2004 5:25:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2004 5:25:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2004 5:25:16 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
A very good camera for point and shoot digital work.
4/24/2004 5:25:16 AM
 
Joy Turner-Price 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 10:54:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 10:54:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 10:54:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 10:54:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 10:54:23 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like the way this camera captures light. It is great for low light situations when you shut off the auto flash and picks up light I could never get with a 35mm no matter what filters I used. But I hate the shutter delay - it makes me crazy.
4/22/2004 10:54:23 AM
 
Dawn Mitchell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 11:11:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 11:11:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 11:11:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 11:11:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 11:11:11 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first Digital camera and I really like it. It does take nice photos and the best thing about it that there is no film I just need to point and shoot.
4/2/2004 11:11:11 AM
 
Kelly A. Tierney 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 10:53:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 10:53:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 10:53:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 10:53:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 10:53:03 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an incredible camera, great for it's price. Doesn't take great night shots but still wouldn't feel right using a different camera.
3/27/2004 10:53:03 PM
 
Beverly K. Evans 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 10:56:16 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 10:56:16 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 10:56:16 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 10:56:16 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 10:56:16 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
A GOOD CAMERA FOR JUST FAMILY PHOTO OPS. BUT NOT SO GOOD FOR PRO. USE. IT IS AUTO FOCUS AND DOESNT HAVE ANY OPTIONS OTHER THAN QUALITY.
3/24/2004 10:56:16 AM
 
Jason Hauck 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 10:23:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 10:23:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 10:23:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 10:23:16 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 10:23:16 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
good point and shoot digital
3/11/2004 10:23:16 AM
 
Jennifer A. Lewis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 12:43:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 12:43:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 12:43:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 12:43:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 12:43:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the size and the quality of photos you can get out of this little thing. Very pleased. Easy to use. Cost effective.
3/7/2004 12:43:34 PM
 
Karen Seargeant
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/18/2003
Contact Karen
Karen's Gallery
karenseargeant.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2004 10:51:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2004 10:51:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2004 10:51:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2004 10:51:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2004 10:51:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Was a really good camera for starters.
2/27/2004 10:51:03 PM
 
Rick E. Davie 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 8:35:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 8:35:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 8:35:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 8:35:48 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 8:35:48 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
i have already bought a new camera this hp was just a starter
2/23/2004 8:35:48 PM
 
Andrew Callahan 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 7:43:26 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 7:43:26 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 7:43:26 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 7:43:26 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 7:43:26 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I recieved the camera for Christmas 2002. It was great for a beginner like me who didn't even know if he liked photography or not but as far as camers go it's far from the best. The controls are all manual with no room for personal adjustments. I have recently upgraded to a Fugi Finepix s602 which hasn't led me astray yet. The HP was still able to give me some exceptional shots, however, and even some nice 8"x10"s including the one I just submitted.
1/31/2004 7:43:26 PM
 
Sheila A. LaCounte 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 5:27:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 5:27:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 5:27:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 5:27:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 5:27:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I returned this camera to the store to purchase the PDR-M4. The one thing I liked on the HP was the fact that I could plug it into the power source and the camera stayed on for eternity. Very useful for sitting and waiting for birds to appear at the feeders.
1/7/2004 5:27:02 PM
 
Tara L. Bennett 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 11:29:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 11:29:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 11:29:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 11:29:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 11:29:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the camera cause it came with other lenses for wide, far and close shots.
11/26/2003 11:29:23 AM
 
Lawrie  D. Murray 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 9:52:50 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 9:52:50 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 9:52:50 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 9:52:50 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 9:52:50 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
It was our first digital real nice to have around the house camera really captured nice colors but best prints 5x7 photos
10/30/2003 9:52:50 PM
 
Sandra S. Robinson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2003 7:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2003 7:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2003 7:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2003 7:08:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2003 7:08:10 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this camera, it focuses on the subject no matter what is going on. Adjusting light, and etc. There is not anything that I don't like about the camera. I just wish I could afford a better or newer one.
10/17/2003 7:08:10 PM
 
Adriana S. Aspiazu 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 11:06:13 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 11:06:13 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 11:06:13 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 11:06:13 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 11:06:13 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
You can defeat its auto-focus, but certain functions are limited. Its fun to play with the ACDSee program, but it is merely a primitive, soccermom camera that I could, as a teenager, afford.
9/30/2003 11:06:13 AM
 
Brian  Donaldson 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 4:21:48 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 4:21:48 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 4:21:48 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 4:21:48 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 4:21:48 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
This is a decent entry level digital camera but I have seen better ones
9/7/2003 4:21:48 PM
 
Jennifer overton 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 10:20:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 10:20:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 10:20:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 10:20:25 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 10:20:25 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This photo was taken during an argument the two subjects were having. I told them that I would snap a photo after counting to 5, and they should either hug or get photographed angry. They chose the anger. I looked at the photo and could see the tension in the pic, and knew it was good. I love it, but I am not the judge.
7/16/2003 10:20:25 PM
 
Susan C. Perry 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 8:27:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 8:27:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 8:27:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 8:27:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 8:27:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This being my first digital camera, learning has been fun. The close ups of animals and nature's landscapes are amazingly true in color and depth. However, I didn't know that long range shots were not as exciting. My camera has a two times zoom, but looks a bit digital.
7/16/2003 8:27:24 PM
 
Mal Mac Bride
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:44:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good Camera for a beginner to Digital Photography like myself.
6/17/2003 12:44:33 PM
 

32 Reviews  

Buy Photosmart 318 Digital Camera from Amazon.com