Photosmart 935 Digital Camera


HP (Hewlett-Packard)

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Time Warp
View photos created with this camera

The Photosmart 935 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5.3 megapixel sensor for enlargements up to 20 x 30 inches
  • Pentax 3x optical zoom lens with 7x digital zoom (21x total)
  • 1.5-inch LCD; movie mode with up to 2 minutes of video with
    sound
  • Compatible with Secure Digital (SD) and MultiMedia (MMC)
    cards--32 MB SD card included
  • Powered by 2 AA batteries (alkalines included); connects with
    Macs and PCs via USB port

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


34 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Edith L. Brown 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2007 3:19:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2007 3:19:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2007 3:19:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2007 3:19:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2007 3:19:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best camera that I have used so far
9/25/2007 3:19:46 PM
 
David R. Martin 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 12:32:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 12:32:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 12:32:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 12:32:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2006 12:32:03 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera is great for non-action photos, but it's not very handy for action pictures. I do like it because I can select the mode I want to shoot in (color, B&W, or Sepia). It is also great for night shots on a tripod.
5/21/2006 12:32:03 PM
 
Jason J. Naugle 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 7:10:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 7:10:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 7:10:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 7:10:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 7:10:17 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
this camera takes great pictures, due to its 5 megapixal detail. the only bad thing, is that battery life is low. I replace them to often.
4/24/2006 7:10:17 AM
 
Scott  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 7:11:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 7:11:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 7:11:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 7:11:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 7:11:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camera it can take a beating and still shoot, obviously not top of the line, but an excellent starter. The way I figure is if you can't get good stuff from entry level gear, you probably won't get good stuff with the professional stuff. Besides the usual irritants of any point and shoot it is an all round good camera.
1/29/2006 7:11:58 AM
 
Joycelyn Coakley 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 8:20:07 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 8:20:07 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 8:20:07 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 8:20:07 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 8:20:07 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Sometimes the picture come out blurry. And it had a lot of power issues
1/27/2006 8:20:07 AM
 
Elizabeth Dunn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 8:35:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 8:35:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 8:35:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 8:35:17 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 8:35:17 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera with lots of possibilities
1/6/2006 8:35:17 AM
 
John Alexander 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 10:44:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 10:44:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 10:44:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 10:44:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 10:44:37 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera will do the job but I have found that tape should be applied to the battery compartment door since it wants to open at times. This camera is kind of bulky as well. Also I beleive it could be a bit quicker when taking shots.
12/20/2005 10:44:37 AM
 
Mary E.  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 2:12:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 2:12:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 2:12:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 2:12:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 2:12:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm still learning. I don't like how it uses batteries and the fact that I can't zoom in very close.
12/4/2005 2:12:34 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/8/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 11:43:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 11:43:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 11:43:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 11:43:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2005 11:43:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like every thing about this camera excepted the life of the batteries
10/9/2005 11:43:23 AM
 
Lisa Beightol 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 11:45:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 11:45:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 11:45:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 11:45:13 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 11:45:13 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
As far as digitals go, eh...its ok. It gets the job done and the pics look good on the computer. Prints are another matter, however. Some of them look good, others are very pixelated. Good camera for just basic use, not for serious "nose to the grindstone" photography. Batteries die quickly, with or without continuous use.
10/6/2005 11:45:13 PM
 
Kathy Gardner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/6/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 2:18:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 2:18:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 2:18:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 2:18:31 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 2:18:31 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it because i can blend photos together with Microsoft Digital Image or Jasc PaintShop Pro I still have not gotten the hang of taking night landscape pictures. When I take pictures of the moon it leaves a squiggley light line throught the picture
10/6/2005 2:18:31 PM
 
NIKKI COLLIER 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 8:13:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 8:13:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 8:13:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 8:13:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 8:13:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
GREAT CAMERA
8/30/2005 8:13:11 PM
 
Corinne A. Drover 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 9:24:45 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 9:24:45 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 9:24:45 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 9:24:45 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 9:24:45 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love this camera but wish that it had a better zoom or could get lens for it.
7/20/2005 9:24:45 AM
 
Kirsi Bertolini
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/8/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:41:52 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:41:52 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:41:52 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:41:52 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 7:41:52 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The more I work with this more I learn. I've been told to have pretty great images taken by this little camera so I a m pleased so far. I think this is a great camera for a beginner! Real simple to use.
6/28/2005 7:41:52 PM
 
Teresa A. Harshbarger 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2005 11:21:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2005 11:21:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2005 11:21:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2005 11:21:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2005 11:21:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am very pleased with this camera as it turns out great photos in many settings. The pixels are great and photos print perfectly when cropped. My complaint is the lack of zoom. I need to purchase a camera with higher optical zoon.
6/12/2005 11:21:54 PM
 
Michael Hancock 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 7:16:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 7:16:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 7:16:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 7:16:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 7:16:57 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to understand and use. Offers great clarity and color in photos. Accepts filters. I don't like the fact that it doesn't support RAW format photos.
5/18/2005 7:16:57 AM
 
Sam M. Hoar 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 12:27:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 12:27:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 12:27:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 12:27:53 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 12:27:53 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have just received this camera and it is amazing. I am staggered by the great quality of the pictures and wonderful ease of use and range of functions. The dock and rechargeable batteries are great too.
5/4/2005 12:27:53 PM
 
Kim Barton 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 4:47:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 4:47:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 4:47:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 4:47:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2005 4:47:03 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Since it's the only digital camera I've had, I don't know how the others compare, but I love it.
2/3/2005 4:47:03 PM
 
Susan  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 6:15:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 6:15:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 6:15:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 6:15:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 6:15:30 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera, it's easy to use and takes beautiful pictures. Excellent zoom. On the negative side, it has no manual focus, the shutter speed is too slow and it uses up batteries really fast.
12/12/2004 6:15:30 AM
 
Linda Pigeon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 7:14:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 7:14:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 7:14:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 7:14:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 7:14:04 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Being totally new at digital photography, I like the ease of use of this little camera and the quality of the photos it produces. The on-board display is easy to see and the menus are quite easy to understand. I don't like the shutter delay and the fact that this camera eats through batteries like crazy. For a day of shooting, I need to carry 3 or 4 sets of rechargables.
11/2/2004 7:14:04 PM
 
KENDALL D. EUTEMEY 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 3:46:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 3:46:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 3:46:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 3:46:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2004 3:46:22 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I BASICALLY AM HAPPY WITH EVERYTHING EXCEPT FOR THE SOUND WHEN YOU USE THE VIDEO FEATURE. IT IS HORRIBLE. YOU HEAR ALL KINDS OF RUMBLING SOUNDS.
8/16/2004 3:46:22 PM
 
Wayne  Salgado 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 3:32:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 3:32:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 3:32:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 3:32:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 3:32:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have no bad things to say about this camera I also have the Canon PRO SHORT 1
8/15/2004 3:32:00 PM
 
Alan Lambkin 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 3:26:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 3:26:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 3:26:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 3:26:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 3:26:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Too many settings for a beginner, but great quality.
7/4/2004 3:26:48 PM
 
Terry Stroh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/25/2004
Contact Terry
Terry's Gallery
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 11:27:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 11:27:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 11:27:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 11:27:34 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 11:27:34 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Poor macro focus, hard on batteries.
6/26/2004 11:27:34 PM
 
Shanna L. Christensen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 8:41:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 8:41:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 8:41:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 8:41:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 8:41:07 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
this camera is good, it has a 5.3 mp and a 21 times zoom, i wish it had a bit more zoom, but it works for the things that i use it for. Will never go back to 35 mm and film!!
5/16/2004 8:41:07 PM
 
Cheryl M. Sharpe 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 10:50:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 10:50:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 10:50:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 10:50:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 10:50:42 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like the way the camera takes the pictures and how they turn out.
3/11/2004 10:50:42 PM
 
Lindsey Kinnsch 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 5:20:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 5:20:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 5:20:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 5:20:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/11/2004 5:20:47 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the way this camera interprets the world. The pictures look amazing! But as for some of the features, they could use improvement. When you take a picture, it doesn't actually take for about 3 seconds, which isn't good for action shots. You can't adjust the ISO speed so easily, you have to be in some mode (unbeknownst to me) to unlock that feature. Also, to access the settings, you have to be in live view, which sucks up battery power by the second. Photoshop offers a new feature that works with raw data from cameras, but, wouldn't you know it, not HP's!!! The worst shortcoming I have come to realize is the inability for the camera to support filters or lenses because the lens is automatic. This is a great camera for people who just want to point, click and print, with minimal adjustments, relying only on the automatic settings, which does allow for producing excellent quality images.
3/11/2004 5:20:47 PM
 
Lorraine Phillips 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2004 10:18:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2004 10:18:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2004 10:18:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2004 10:18:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2004 10:18:35 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like the digital for instant images, if you don't like the image you delete it and try again. What I don't like about it is the delay when the photo is taken and the macro isn't real macro. Overall I wish I had looked into digital cameras more. The sales pitch is what sold it.
2/20/2004 10:18:35 PM
 
Samantha  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 6:05:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 6:05:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 6:05:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 6:05:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 6:05:07 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
From what my limited with this camera (got it for Christmas) and from my amatur stance as a photographer, I would like to mention that it is very user friendly and quite affordable. The picture quality is great for those hobbiests out there like me. I really don't know how it measures up professionally so I couldn't possibly give an accurate review in that respect. The only thing I could possibly complain about, and I think this applies to about all digital cameras, is that the batteries don't last long and you have to buy everything separately. My first digital camera came with a battery charger, and for this one you have to buy a dock or keep using new batteries. It would be perfect if they could make battery-friendly cameras.
2/11/2004 6:05:07 AM
 
Kandice N. Sneyd 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 11:56:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 11:56:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 11:56:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 11:56:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 11:56:33 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Camera. Even without other lenses for it. It takes genuinly great photo's.
2/7/2004 11:56:33 AM
 
Tracy M. Ryan 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:21:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:21:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:21:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:21:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:21:24 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
i like it because i know what my pictures look like when i take them. i dont like it because its not professional
1/26/2004 9:21:24 PM
 
Keith Ouellette 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2003 7:11:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2003 7:11:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2003 7:11:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2003 7:11:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2003 7:11:34 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera,sometimes wish for more optical zoom but very rarely needed and would use my tripod if i had it. Maybe a lens adapter would be cool, i hear they are available somewhere?
9/1/2003 7:11:34 AM
 
Jerry L. Squires 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:48:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:48:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:48:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:48:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:48:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great pictures! A bit slow on the shutter. Easy to use and easy to learn. Some manual setting. Great point and shoot features and a good selection of manual type options.
6/19/2003 9:48:15 AM
 
Jerry L. Squires 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:46:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:46:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:46:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:46:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:46:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great pictures! A bit slow on the shutter. Easy to use and easy to learn. Some manual setting. Great point and shoot features and a good selection of manual type options.
6/19/2003 9:46:44 AM
 

34 Reviews  

Buy Photosmart 935 Digital Camera from Amazon.com