BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Elph 2 APS Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : APS Point and Shoots

Marketable_3
View photos created with this camera

The Elph 2 APS Camera

  • Tiny automatic Advanced Photo System camera with a 2x zoom lens
  • APS features such as midroll change and 3 print formats
  • Easy drop-in film loading
  • Automatic flash with red-eye reduction mode
  • Includes case, battery, and film


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Nicole Silvers
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/30/2005
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
I'm unhappy with my camera because it doesn't have many features. My zoom is horrible, it makes the picture fuzzy...I'm better off taking a picture with a crop in mind. I can't take pictures of objects moving very fast because they blur. All in all, my camera is old and I'm ready for a new one.
8/30/2005 3:08:01 PM
 
Matt E. Rogers
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/10/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great size, bombproof, handy
7/25/2005 12:46:29 PM
 
Melissa L. Neptune

member since: 1/13/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm not sure I picked the right camera from the list. We went on vacation and its not where I thought it was. I'm not sure where its at. I will come back when I find it. I like the zoom and and easy loading. I don't like that the images are sometimes blurred or the light looks weird. I'm not sure why it does that.
6/19/2005 12:31:56 PM
 
peter stone

member since: 5/23/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The canon elph 2 has been a good friend, it has been to europe and various car shows in the midwest and has always produced a very good picture.
5/23/2004 2:01:58 PM
 
Laura Berman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/23/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
excellent instant film camera
5/2/2004 4:38:15 PM
 
John Adkisson

member since: 3/25/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera takes great pictures in daylight, however, low light conditions are ify. I also think the camera needs a small affordable zoom lens. The next upgrade of this camera was much much more expensive.
4/13/2004 8:23:37 AM
 
Karrel Buckingham
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/28/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I loved this camera. It took the best pictures-but alas-just after a year the rewinding mechanism failed on me and the cost to repair was half the cost of the camera. But I did take several hundred rolls of film with it in that time frame. I love it best because I carried it in my purse and it was always with me to capture moments.
3/12/2004 2:40:44 AM
 
Mark conabree

member since: 1/30/2004
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Low MP but great ease of use. Perfect for a starter
1/30/2004 8:15:14 AM
 
Emily A. Jones

member since: 1/24/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it's an okay camera
1/24/2004 8:46:31 AM
 
Hermann  Graf

member since: 2/28/2001
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Small, light, rugged, easy to handle. It's APS with all its advantages and shortcomings. Three formats can be selected: classical 24X36 (C), APS format (H; full frame), and panorama (P); the latter I cannot recommend, pictures are not sharp. For me, the zoom range (corresponds app. to 28-56 mm in 24X36) is too small in the high end; better take the Canon model with the larger range. Pics are sometimes sharp, sometimes not, sometimes distorted, sometimes not; also colors sometimes "turn over". I have not found out so far on what it depends. You can add some text to your pics like "Happy Birthday" when they are processed in a proper lab (for me only a gimmick) and date/time. No exposure correction possible. For me, P&S cameras in 24X36 format are the better alternative (also very small ones available).
 
David E. Cagin

member since: 10/25/2000
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
The Elph series of cameras is too limited. The zooms are very small (usually barely making standard size). Because the negative size is 24mm, you will notice drop offs in picture quality at any size above 5x7. You can get a similarly priced 35mm camera that is just as easy, twice as sharp (Olympus with the glass lens), and still retain the ability to make larger sized pictures without a quality drop off.
 

First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Elph 2 APS Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.