BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Optio 33L Digital Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Nagata Business G...
View photos created with this camera

The Optio 33L Digital Camera

Features:
3.2 megapixel
3x optical zoom plus 2.7 digital zoom (8.1x total)
Swiveling LCD monitor, innovative stereoscopic shooting
Includes 16 MB CompactFlash card
Powered by 2 AA batteries or 1 CR-V3 lithium; connects with Macs and PCs via USB port

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 20 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Hugh B. Fletcher

member since: 5/5/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
For a point and shoot its pretty good nothing too fancy thou.
5/5/2006 5:28:17 PM
 
Hannah L. Farmer

member since: 1/30/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love my camera it takes very good pictures and is very easy to use
1/30/2006 5:30:02 PM
 
J. A. Dingwall

member since: 4/6/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera a lot. It is light and easy to carry. Like the rotate LCD, makes it easy for self portrait. Excellent features e.g. macro, lens, zoom etc. I wish there's viewfinder with the camera. But with practice it's ok. Overall, it's a great camera.
5/27/2005 11:50:38 AM
 
Randy J. Schneider

member since: 3/10/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great LED display. It has alot of features. A good selections of auto feature settings (including filters and panorana setting and different light settings Down side: Too much of a delay to reset flash for next photo. Also it has no optical viewing. It has only the LED digital Viewing.
3/17/2005 4:23:51 AM
 
Evelyn Sears
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/12/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a good starter camera. Overall, the picture quality is generally good. Manual shutter and aperture control would be helpful, and a viewfinder would help in lining up horizons in sunny conditions. I am saving for a more advanced system with greater zoom capacity and more manual control, but this will be a decent backup camera to stick in my pocket for quickly grabbed shots. I don't regret buying it, as it fit my budget at the time I bought it, and it has served me pretty well for about 1,800 shots. I just need a camera that will give me more creative control when I want it.
9/18/2004 10:45:27 AM
 
Coralyn  M. Harriet

member since: 8/27/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoy this camera, it takes really nice shots and I really like the different picture modes that it offers, such as stech mode, black&white and blue, or B&W and green. This camera is really user friendly, modes are accessable very easily as well as you can choose fun things like your background color on your display screen. The flip up and rotating LCD screen make this camera even better, it so easy to take pic's of just you and your friends when no one is around or to set it up on a tripod and self timer for self portraits. The only two things I wish this camera had that would make it absoultly perfect (to me) is a view finder, so you could save battey power by not always having to use the LCD screen. also a minor thing but I wish the camera had sound as an option with the movie mode. Other then thoes two minor things I definately would reccomend this camera to anyone and I treasure mine :)
8/27/2004 8:08:24 PM
 
Alain Filion

member since: 8/15/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
This is my fathers camera that he got from his 50th birthday. I dont mind using it too much, but it is very limited. It is almost a fully automatic digital camera. Its manual controls are very awquard and almost non-existant. For example you cannot manually set the aperture or shutter speed. This is simply a bigginers camera with a high price tag. If you are a bigginer photographer who wants to learn the ropes of true photography do not buy this camera. It is a technilogical marvel in its day, but in my opinion not worth the price you pay for an automatic point and shoot camera. Oh and by the way, if you have this camera you probably know......but just to warn anyone who reads this.....you cannot point this camera into bright objects (sun, lightbulbs) the result is a lined picture that is useless. I would not recemend this digital camera to anyone, I would probably recomend that you go higher on the dighital scale or dont go at all (its not worth the cash). Cannon makes the best optical secsors! Superior colour capture and superior quality. Alain Filion Ottawa/Canada
8/16/2004 6:47:05 AM
 
Mark Freeman

member since: 5/5/2002
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
The Pentax Optio 33L has very high contrast and a limited dynamic range. The only good thing is the picturs are very sharp... I would not buy it again if I knew what I know now...
6/3/2004 1:50:48 AM
 
Stan Kwasniowski
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Stan
Stan's Gallery

member since: 7/30/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
an early model and now obsolete
3/30/2004 6:32:09 PM
 
Douglas Burke Windsor

member since: 1/11/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very Compact, excellent quality pictures
1/11/2004 8:43:31 PM
 
Douglas Burke Windsor

member since: 1/11/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very compact, excellent quality pictures
1/11/2004 8:41:48 PM
 

First 10 of 20 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Optio 33L Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.