BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Optio 550 Digital Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Merry Christmas &...
View photos created with this camera

The Optio 550 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 5 megapixel, 5x optical zoom plus 4x digital zoom (for 20x total)
  • Optical viewfinder shows actual image zoom, innovative stereoscopic shooting
  • Compatible with Secure Digital (SD) and MultiMedia (MMC) cards
  • Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery(included); connects with Macs and PCs via USB port

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sarah Werner

member since: 6/15/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I was very happy with the image quality of this digital camera and loved the 5 megapixels, but I sold it and bought a slightly upgraded, less bulky 7mpx Canon Powershot SD500.
6/16/2005 12:33:13 PM
 
Valentin Sprinceana
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This review is for the Pentax Optio50 digicam, which is a very easy to use camera. It has manual controls, but my experience tought me to leave it mostly on the "Simple" mode and the internal computer will adjust it properly for you, in the most situations, especially at the parties, in low light environment. I tested it for close-ups too and it made great photos, with outstanding detail.
For the movie mode, make sure you get enough light, as there is no flash during video recording (that's the only reason it didn't get a full 5 stars).
Thinking about AA batteries, SD memory, 5 Megapixels, x3 optical zoom, with 32 to 96 mm focal length (making it fairly good for group photos in small places), possibility of - 2.0 to +2.0 manual exposure adjustment, possibility to take 3 photos in a row at 3 different EV values with only one shutter click, allowing you to choose which one you like the most(!) and you have a great value for the $200US you pay !
I am very satisfied with Optio50 and recommend it 100%.
5/17/2005 8:11:43 AM
 
David McCleery

member since: 5/8/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Pentax Optio 550 was a good point and click camera, very clear images but it was soon outgrown and the zoom was purely digital which took away clarity.
5/9/2005 6:01:49 AM
 
Alissa Crabtree

member since: 4/21/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like how easy it is to use. However, I don't like how hard it is to get things in focus sometimes.
4/21/2005 5:38:31 PM
 
Ronald D. Hart

member since: 12/26/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The 5 mega pixel output and option for fully manual settings with spot metering gives me a surprising amount of control. The very compact size means I can have a camera with me anyplace, anytime.
1/9/2005 9:22:24 AM
 
Darien P. Nordling

member since: 9/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent, small compact camera! Takes great point-and-shoot photos plus one can make many manual adjustments too.
9/13/2004 2:56:39 PM
 
Darien P. Nordling

member since: 9/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful, small compact camera!
9/13/2004 2:48:56 PM
 
Sylvia Alberti

member since: 4/28/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
My little tiny Pentax Optio 550 is a great camera with detailed features ad excellent macro mode.I totally advice it!
4/28/2004 11:20:35 AM
 
Luis Castro

member since: 4/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first digital camera. I keep it with me at all times.
4/27/2004 9:55:28 AM
 
Sharon Crook
BetterPhoto Member
sharoncrookphotography.com

member since: 4/18/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I bought the camera as a result of a couple of write-ups in PC Magazine. It was the magazines overall pick for digital cameras of this size. I have only had the camera for a couple of months and enjoy its many features and capabilities for its compact size. I am, however, disappointed in a couple of areas: The LCD area does not provide a good visual of the picture that you are trying to take. Using the viewfinder provides an excellent view but what is seen in the viewfinder does not correlate to the actual parameters of the shot, hence, the picture you thought you were getting is in fact much larger than what the viewfinder exhibits. This produces less than accurate targets and can affect the entire essence of the photo. Additionally, the camera has a 5X optical zoom that can be utilized after the picture has been recorded. However, if you want to use the zoom in/out features to focus and save a specific portion of the recorded picture, you are limited to three small sizes that are in fact much more restrictive in size in comparison to the camera's 5X zoom capbilities. As such, you can only save changes in preset sizes, limiting the after recorded zoom feature. So far, these are the only limitations that are frustrating to me. However, the camera is loaded with many features that I have read about but have not had the time to try. Overall, for price, features, ease of use, etc., I think it is a good camera.
4/18/2004 2:31:33 PM
 
Cliff D. Davidson

member since: 2/24/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera that ahs both manual and auto settings. I dislike only a few things with it: the inability to change the burst mode speed, and the length that the lens stays open (not long enough). Other than that it is amazing.
2/24/2004 7:38:57 AM
 

First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Optio 550 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.