Lumix DMC-FZ1 Digital Camera


Panasonic

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

CHURCH IN BRUGGE
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


17 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Tim Heimel
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/2/2006
tim-heimel-photography.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:04:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:04:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:04:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:04:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 3:04:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Leica lens - limited by low (2.1) Megapixels
1/2/2006 3:04:33 PM
 
Polek 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 8:11:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 8:11:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 8:11:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 8:11:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 8:11:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great allround camera. Good one to learn on and be introduced to digital photography with. Having an automatic lens, it is a bit slow to focus with but for what is, I found it a fantastic, and powerful lens. Downside being only 2 effective mega pixels
9/11/2005 8:11:41 PM
 
Wilson Low
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/25/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 7:15:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 7:15:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 7:15:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 7:15:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 7:15:38 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Fantastic Zoom with Stabilizer. 2.1Mega model.
7/25/2005 7:15:38 PM
 
John R. Stamp
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 6:26:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 6:26:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 6:26:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 6:26:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2005 6:26:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It was a great camera for starters and takes great shots. But I got the early model, only 2 mega pixels so it limited my print size. great zoom though.
5/3/2005 6:26:18 PM
 
Andrew S. Emma 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 1:30:02 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 1:30:02 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 1:30:02 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 1:30:02 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2005 1:30:02 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
my camera has low megapixels but it has an awesome Leica lens that produces beautiful pictures
3/26/2005 1:30:02 PM
 
Lisa D. Greer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/19/2004
Contact Lisa
Lisa's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:35:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:35:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:35:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:35:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:35:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! When I compare it to the others I have had, its wonderful! I love the digital and optical zoom it offers, and that when I do use the optical, the photo doesn't turn out all pixalated, but normal! It does act oddly in some light conditions however, and sometimes refuses to focus correctly in those odd lighting situations. Other than that, its perfectly great, and priceing is not too cheap, but is affordable for most.
3/14/2005 8:35:14 AM
 
Lisa D. Greer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/19/2004
Contact Lisa
Lisa's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:33:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:33:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:33:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:33:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 8:33:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! When I compare it to the others I have had, its wonderful! I love the digital and optical zoom it offers, and that when I do use the optical, the photo doesn't turn out all pixalated, but normal! It does act oddly in some light conditions however, and sometimes refuses to focus correctly in those odd lighting situations. Other than that, its perfectly great, and priceing is not too cheap, but is affordable for most.
3/14/2005 8:33:16 AM
 
Lisa D. Greer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/19/2004
Contact Lisa
Lisa's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 7:08:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 7:08:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 7:08:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 7:08:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 7:08:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! When I compare it to the others I have had, its wonderful! I love the digital and optical zoom it offers, and that when I do use the optical, the photo doesn't turn out all pixalated, but normal! It does act oddly in some light conditions however, and sometimes refuses to focus correctly in those odd lighting situations. Other than that, its perfectly great, and priceing is not too cheap, but is affordable for most.
3/14/2005 7:08:46 AM
 
Lisa D. Greer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/19/2004
Contact Lisa
Lisa's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 7:07:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 7:07:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 7:07:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 7:07:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2005 7:07:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! When I compare it to the others I have had, its wonderful! I love the digital and optical zoom it offers, and that when I do use the optical, the photo doesn't turn out all pixalated, but normal! It does act oddly in some light conditions however, and sometimes refuses to focus correctly in those odd lighting situations. Other than that, its perfectly great, and priceing is not too cheap, but is affordable for most.
3/14/2005 7:07:16 AM
 
Phil Shin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 1:51:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 1:51:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 1:51:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 1:51:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2005 1:51:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love this 12X optical bright zoom lense by Leica. besides the small CCD size, can get nice pictures.
3/4/2005 1:51:00 AM
 
Jo Alvarez 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 5:07:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 5:07:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 5:07:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 5:07:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 5:07:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
really nice cam! though its pixel is not that big, still can shoot awesome views and memories worth to treasure...
7/4/2004 5:07:26 AM
 
Milana Bosnic 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 1:23:09 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 1:23:09 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 1:23:09 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 1:23:09 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 1:23:09 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
good images for such a small camera, but unable to shoot in strange light conditions
6/9/2004 1:23:09 AM
 
Jerome Pagunsan 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 11:00:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 11:00:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 11:00:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 11:00:30 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 11:00:30 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Pro: You always have like a prime lense with Leica lenses. Superb sharpness in bright condition Cons: Very weak with low light. To much noise if reach the maximum focal point even the image stabilizer is on.
2/29/2004 11:00:30 PM
 
Reinhold Jung 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 1:56:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 1:56:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 1:56:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 1:56:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 1:56:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first digital camera. The fantastic zoom, lens quality and image stabilization on this camera pull it all together. I am amazed at how good a picture I can get with max zoom and even when not using a tri-pod. This is a really FUN camera
1/7/2004 1:56:00 PM
 
Susana Matos
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/27/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 6:33:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 6:33:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 6:33:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 6:33:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 6:33:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
sorry about my mistakes. I wanted to say that 420mm in a so little and light camera is great, because professional SLR are superbe and we see the difference on the photos, but so heavy! Also, nowadays we can improve almost any photo on photoshop so I often go to photoshop and improve the auto colours/levels/brightness or only one of those items or none because the computer isnīt always right!!
6/23/2003 6:33:01 AM
 
Susana Matos
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/27/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 6:26:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 6:26:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 6:26:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 6:26:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 6:26:24 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
iīm back again! Now I have lots and lots of photos, and I have to say I am very happy with this LEICA lens. I bought this camera because of the 12x zoom (420mm) as I donīt expect, for the moment, to buy the D10 because of the budget. After hundred of photos I have to say that this zoom is great and for the price of this panasonic I am very happy.
What I miss: 3 or 4 megapixels (more for professional use in the future because for seeing on the computer or for A5 format paper I think itīs perfect) and most of all the manual possibilities (even if we can play a little with the few possibilities the camera gives).
The lecture of light as a matter of fact is not a problem, we have to get used to the optical viewfinder and be able to use the compensation.
If panasonic makes the same one with 4 megapix and manual possibilities I am a buyer. 12x stabilized zoom so small and heavy is simply great. Better than this only professional SLR, but they are so havy...
6/23/2003 6:26:24 AM
 
Susana Matos
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/27/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 12:01:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 12:01:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 12:01:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 12:01:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 12:01:25 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Still soon to get a conclusion. The 420mm stabilized zoom allows me to take some amazing photos, but i seems to me that the automatic lecture of light is not very good. will complete my review later. (from Portugal)
6/18/2003 12:01:25 AM
 

17 Reviews