Mavica CD500 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

The Angel of Eckl...
View photos created with this camera

The Mavica CD500 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-megapixel Super HAD CCD sensor for enlargements up to 20 x 30
    inches
  • Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar lens; 3x optical zoom plus 4x digital zoom (12x total)
  • Captures full-frame video (640 x 480), limited by CD media (6 minutes for 156 MB disc)
  • Stores images on 3-inch, 156 MB CD-R/RW discs; 1 CD-R and 1 CD-RW included
  • Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery (NP-FM50 included); connects with PCs and Macs via USB

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


67 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Elza Meyers 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 7:04:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 7:04:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 7:04:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 7:04:31 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 7:04:31 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A bit bulky but very clear pictures.
6/28/2006 7:04:31 AM
 
Robert Vanderbrugen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 7:01:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 7:01:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 7:01:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 7:01:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 7:01:33 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great shots, however the disks fail too often.
6/11/2006 7:01:33 PM
 
Todd A. Nielsen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 6:04:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 6:04:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 6:04:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 6:04:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 6:04:17 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Moo.
4/26/2006 6:04:17 AM
 
Miland Noyes 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 5:06:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 5:06:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 5:06:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 5:06:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 5:06:49 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I got this for taken closeup of texture for my 3D programs, It's good for that but slow in recording. I think it's best uses is still shots with a tripod. Memory is too small in tiff mode, 9 picture max.at 5mp My next camera Canon Mark 1ds II
4/6/2006 5:06:49 AM
 
Allison M. Wavercak 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 12:23:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 12:23:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 12:23:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 12:23:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2006 12:23:28 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Its A Great Camera But Mines Been Messing Up My Pictures Latley
4/1/2006 12:23:28 AM
 
Jennifer L. Chastain 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 8:03:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 8:03:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 8:03:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 8:03:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 8:03:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the fact that my camera burns images directly to a mini-cd. I simply finalize the disk and store it! I also have all manual/partially manual settings, but I would prefer an SLR because of convenience of changing lenses and accessories. For the most part, I love my camera!
3/10/2006 8:03:29 PM
 
Jacob D. Stone 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 6:13:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 6:13:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 6:13:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 6:13:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2006 6:13:48 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good Camera but Cd makes it slow. and pictures canot be removed.
3/10/2006 6:13:48 AM
 
Vickie Skellenger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/4/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 2:30:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 2:30:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 2:30:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 2:30:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/4/2005 2:30:55 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good for storage purposes and not having to deal with a memory card /stick. However, its big and bulky and does not have interchangable lenses. The photo quality is pretty good, but being 3 yrs old, there is some shutter delay...overall I like it for general photography stuff and love the fact that I can just pop a disk in the computer.
12/4/2005 2:30:55 PM
 
Kay E. Mahoney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/23/2003
Contact Kay
Kay's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 2:50:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 2:50:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 2:50:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 2:50:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 2:50:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. I like it for the little mini disc and lots of other features. I have the Sony Mavica cd400 and just got this one. It has some different features than the other one does.
11/11/2005 2:50:47 PM
 
Angela Garibay
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/13/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 9:22:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 9:22:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 9:22:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 9:22:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 9:22:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera! I enjoy the fact that rather than buying expensive cards, this camera uses small compact disks. Its 5 megapixels and has a the option for an external flash.
11/10/2005 9:22:57 PM
 
Judy A. Kytta
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/4/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 9:30:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 9:30:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 9:30:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 9:30:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 9:30:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Ease of use and great photos. I like the cd, makes it easy to use with my computer.
10/4/2005 9:30:16 PM
 
Linda B 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2005 9:41:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2005 9:41:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2005 9:41:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2005 9:41:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2005 9:41:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Photos just slow recording them.
9/18/2005 9:41:49 AM
 
Dean R. Fledderjohann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/5/2005
Contact Dean
Dean's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:21:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:21:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:21:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:21:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:21:59 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the storage on mini CD's and that it focuses in total darkness.
9/5/2005 9:21:59 AM
 
Harry  D. Morton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 11:45:21 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 11:45:21 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 11:45:21 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 11:45:21 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 11:45:21 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a great single lens camera. It is a little slow on the draw but if you have time you can get a good shot. I find the direct write to the CD to be a great way to store the photos, I can put the photos I like on the computer and store ALL of the m on the disk . The battery life is exceptional, sometimes I forget that I have batteries in it.
8/24/2005 11:45:21 AM
 
Kathy Libby 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 5:02:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 5:02:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 5:02:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 5:02:28 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 5:02:28 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This point and shoot camera saves files to a mini CD which is great for storage reasons. It has many modes that are comparable to a regular SLR. It does not allow RAW photos, and the 5mp are becoming outdated.
8/24/2005 5:02:28 AM
 
Roger D. Warren 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 1:10:16 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 1:10:16 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 1:10:16 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 1:10:16 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 1:10:16 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Creates nice photos Too slow Got rid of it
7/16/2005 1:10:16 PM
 
Claudia Romero 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:56:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:56:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:56:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:56:18 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 9:56:18 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice camera, really practicle being able to capture images directly to a mini cd, 5 mega pixels come in handy for lager format prints. Downside, it's bulky, slow and very limited in the usage and adapting lenses...oh, and one has to be extra careful with it's usage and handling.
7/5/2005 9:56:18 AM
 
Chris Dees 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 5:13:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 5:13:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 5:13:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 5:13:46 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 5:13:46 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera is overall a good camera. It is very easy to use. However I would prefer something that is a lil easier to function on the manual side.
6/17/2005 5:13:46 AM
 
Rachel Rocket
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/23/2005
Contact Rachel
Rachel's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 9:01:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 9:01:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 9:01:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 9:01:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 9:01:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Like - 5 megapixels, clear photos, nice macro function, feels like a "real" camera in your hands, takes a cheap media, long battery life, nice selection of accessories, customization of functions, fairly intuitive interface (similiar, but more advanced than the earlier Mavica FD series slightly less advanced than the DSC F828). A good camera for the amateur professional, but will be getting the F828 for more professional results and better cropping options in the future. Dislike - The green colors of nature (trees, grasses, etc) are difficult to capture accurately with the CD500 unless you are in macro mode. It tends to either wash the colors out or turn them "neon" and does not differentiate variations of greens very easily. While this is easily fixed in Photoshop (most times by simply using the Auto Color function), I would personally prefer the minimum of interventions in most of my photographs. No other major dislikes as it has been a wonderful camera otherwise.
5/23/2005 9:01:31 PM
 
CHERIE M. WILCOX 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:40:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:40:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:40:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:40:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 8:40:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it because it's ready at the press of a botton. I also love the still picture w/sounds feature!!!!
5/16/2005 8:40:44 AM
 
Kim L. Jones
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/8/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 2:37:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 2:37:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 2:37:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 2:37:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2005 2:37:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
5 megapixels, great pictures, records directly to CD-R
4/8/2005 2:37:35 PM
 
Faye E. Stormer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 2:50:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 2:50:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 2:50:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 2:50:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 2:50:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first digital camera was the Sony Mavica CD500. In my opinion, it is a very good "beginner" digital camera and I liked the CD feature, but its capacities were limited. Since buying the Nikon D70, I would never go back to the Sony, however.
4/5/2005 2:50:20 PM
 
Craig  R. Kern 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 1:34:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 1:34:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 1:34:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 1:34:12 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 1:34:12 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is fantastic for documentation. a digital image can be married to narration for each picture. This works great for engineering or project managers wishing to document field conditions. For family and hobby photos it lacks adequate zoom but this can be remedied by adding a telephoto which can be had for as little as about $90. I grabs nice MPEG clips but video quality in low light is a problem. Its not a video camera but in good light takes very good video. Maybe more features than the average hobbyist or family photographer will ever use but is a very useful camera for some types of users.
3/22/2005 1:34:12 PM
 
Roger A. Hallau 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 9:21:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 9:21:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 9:21:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 9:21:03 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 9:21:03 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I am overall pleased with the performance of my camera.Having a mini disc with 210mb of storage comes in handy and is quite economical. The only negative i have is a long start up time and a long wait between taking a picture and trying to get the next shot.
3/19/2005 9:21:03 PM
 
Roger A. Hallau 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 9:20:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 9:20:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 9:20:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 9:20:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2005 9:20:53 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I am overall pleased with the performance of my camera.Having a mini disc with 210mb of storage comes in handy and is quite economical. The only negative i have is a long start up time and a long wait between taking a picture and trying to get the next shot.
3/19/2005 9:20:53 PM
 
Catherine McLoud 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 8:10:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 8:10:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 8:10:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 8:10:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 8:10:49 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
its the only camera I have ever really used and I love it but I would like to learn how to use other cameras and more zoom than i have
3/6/2005 8:10:49 AM
 
Roger L. Kinney 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 11:49:07 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 11:49:07 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 11:49:07 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 11:49:07 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 11:49:07 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I liked everything about the camera, just not enough pixels
3/3/2005 11:49:07 PM
 
Kenneth Piercy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 6:23:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 6:23:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 6:23:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 6:23:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 6:23:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my sony Mavica CD500. The pictures are great and it is easy to use. The mini CD storage is fantastic. I wish it had a bit more zoom.
2/23/2005 6:23:01 PM
 
Toni Beck 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:23:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:23:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:23:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:23:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:23:52 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i dont like a memory card i take way too many photos for that to be feasible for me but the one thing i dont like is that you have to finalize cd to view it on pc so if i want to take one or two photos after if finalize so i can view that cd can no longer be used or if its a rewritable cd when i reformat to reuse it clears whats on there .my only other complaint with this cam is there is a bit of delay between the snap of shutter and the actual pic taken. other than that ( both minor to me at this time) it is a great camera
1/17/2005 8:23:52 PM
 
Heather Thrash
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/7/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 6:52:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 6:52:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 6:52:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 6:52:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 6:52:02 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has superb picture quality. It has all the bells and whistles you could ask for. I purchased this camera because both previous diital camera and film camera broke. I purchased it because of the disk storage instead of a memory card. I can take more photos on the disk then I could with my film camera. At 3MB/best picture quality, at least 100 pictures per disk. I can view all the pictures on the LCD and determine how many more I need to get that great shot and don't have to worry about changing memory cards. It has a light histogram on the LCD screen that can be turned on/off. It has a macro setting, 6 different scene controls,3 different focus controls, 7 different white balance controls, 2 picture quality controls,6 different image record modes (email, burst 3, voice, tiff...),3 flash levels, and 3 picture effects-sepia, solarize, neg. art. right on the camera. You can take a picture and then change any one of the settings right on the camera and save the image to the disk. It has so many functions. The two downsides of the camera are that it has no optical viewer. It's all via the LCD screen. It takes a little getting use to, but I wouldn't know the difference now. One can be purchased though to add to it. It has nice zoom for a digital camera, but for far away shots that need to be brought closer a zoom lens can be purchased. Great camera. Would recommend it to anyone.
1/3/2005 6:52:02 AM
 
Cate Keen 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 7:23:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 7:23:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 7:23:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 7:23:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 7:23:41 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My first use of a digital borrowed from a friend. Good for first time. Am considering purchasing another with more features.
11/20/2004 7:23:41 PM
 
Debbie S. Winchester 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 1:21:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 1:21:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 1:21:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 1:21:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 1:21:14 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
didn't zoom as much as I want
11/12/2004 1:21:14 PM
 
Donna L. Holman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 8:02:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 8:02:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 8:02:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 8:02:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 8:02:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera for all lighting conditions. Easy to use. Lots of options.
11/9/2004 8:02:59 AM
 
ANN VARELIS
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 6:42:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 6:42:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 6:42:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 6:42:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 6:42:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
PLUS:QUITE PLEASED FOR A FIRST DIGITAL CAMERA.VERY GOOD QUALITY PHOTOS, GOOD MACRO, EXCELLENT BATTERY LIFE, CD FEATURE IS NOT POPULAR BUT FOR APR 500MEG OF SPACE THE COST IS APR.$30 AND THE SMALL CD'S ARE EASY TO CARRY AND EASY TO USE DIRECTLY TO PC. DONT REGRET PURCHASE. MINUS:SLOW SHUTTER LAG(NOT GOOD FOR SPORTS),SMALL ZOOM LENS(3XOPT)
10/5/2004 6:42:44 AM
 
Renee Olsen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/8/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:44:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:44:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:44:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:44:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:44:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Shots just be careful of any kind of minor scratch on discs camera will not pick up that there are photos.
9/8/2004 7:44:27 PM
 
Arin Brown 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 10:27:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 10:27:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 10:27:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 10:27:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 10:27:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
What's not to love about this camera! Very few drawbacks thus far. Granted, it is a bit heavy and bulky, but it takes this to accomadate all the features. It would be nice to have more lens options. Overall, for the price, I don't see how you can go wrong. As far as other feedback I have read about Mac problems, I have not encountered any. I can download directly from the camera using Image Capture or iPhoto. I have not had any luck putting a disk into my Macs though. I use PhotoShop CS and the combination of it and the HiRes pictures is awesome. I believe this to be the best camera in the 5 megapixel class!
8/28/2004 10:27:36 PM
 
Elizabeth M. Swearinger 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 9:27:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 9:27:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 9:27:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 9:27:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 9:27:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just love this camera. I especially loved it even more after I took a "How to use your Digital Camera class."
8/19/2004 9:27:02 PM
 
Kelly J. Shiver 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 7:43:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 7:43:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 7:43:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 7:43:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2004 7:43:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The only thing I would change is adding a Black and White setting. Negative and Pastel settings are useless to me.
7/13/2004 7:43:00 AM
 
Ryan  Horvath 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 12:10:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 12:10:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 12:10:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 12:10:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 12:10:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
my first digital camera, its great
7/5/2004 12:10:42 PM
 
Carl J. Morrison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/8/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 11:09:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 11:09:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 11:09:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 11:09:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 11:09:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Will not download to a Mac, must make a separate CD.
6/26/2004 11:09:02 PM
 
Keli N. Medcroft 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 3:54:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 3:54:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 3:54:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 3:54:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 3:54:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like using this camera because of the cds. I can just pop them into my computer and work on them or print them immediately. I can send the entire disc to friends or family. The camera itself is very simple to use as well as fun. The pictures are clear and crisp. I do alot of hand coloring and this camera allows me to enlarge to sizes that remain crisp. I love it.
6/9/2004 3:54:30 PM
 
LYNN CLUESS MANZIONE
clickimages.org
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 2:38:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 2:38:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 2:38:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 2:38:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2004 2:38:01 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great camera- easy to use- great results. Only drawback- smallest apeture setting is f8.
6/4/2004 2:38:01 PM
 
Jessica Yudis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 5:13:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 5:13:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 5:13:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 5:13:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 5:13:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have only been using this camera for a little over 3 months. It tends to take along time to run programs like formatting the disk or whatnot. Pictures come out crisp and clear and mega huge. Macro is good, and the use of a disk makes uploading pictures to your computer a snap. Not for Mac users though.
4/28/2004 5:13:39 PM
 
Sean T. Bogue 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 3:46:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 3:46:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 3:46:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 3:46:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 3:46:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is one of the most Easier masive digital cameras. Such wonder picture you can create. Big photos that leave you with many options for all kind of projects.
4/17/2004 3:46:16 AM
 
Rose Passantino 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 2:42:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 2:42:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 2:42:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 2:42:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 2:42:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
the ease of use, the Carl Zeiss lens,inexpensive media...that says it all!
4/14/2004 2:42:46 PM
 
Mary E. Langus 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 11:58:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 11:58:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 11:58:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 11:58:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 11:58:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the camera but it is heavy and big
3/30/2004 11:58:55 AM
 
S J. Campbell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 11:06:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 11:06:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 11:06:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 11:06:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 11:06:07 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very usable 5.0MP with excellent quality optics, (needs more tele though). Writes directly to mini CD, -very handy. It'd be nice if extra battery packs were less expensive. Highly recommended for a quality, reliable digital camera.
3/24/2004 11:06:07 AM
 
Gayle Kosydar 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 8:32:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 8:32:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 8:32:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 8:32:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2004 8:32:43 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Plus: Manual settings, and all the options available. Minus: No view finder. Has an removable attachment but still not quite the same as your eye up close and personal.
3/10/2004 8:32:43 PM
 
Cathy MS Meehan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 11:08:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 11:08:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 11:08:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 11:08:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 11:08:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Mavica CD500 is a great piece of equipment but the only thing I was put off by was the digital zoom.
2/7/2004 11:08:18 AM
 
Cathy MS Meehan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 10:46:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 10:46:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 10:46:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 10:46:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2004 10:46:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Although the mavica is a great digital camera. I was dissapointed with the Zoom. Digital zoom is not much use.
2/7/2004 10:46:31 AM
 
Angel  L. Jimenez 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 9:55:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 9:55:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 9:55:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 9:55:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 9:55:39 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Like I had mentioned earlyer I love this camera.
2/2/2004 9:55:39 AM
 
Angel  L. Jimenez 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 9:54:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 9:54:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 9:54:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 9:54:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 9:54:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera because due to the quality of it and also as if it was taken by a regular SLR camera ith film. It is an awsome camera and I won't trade for anything unless I am given a higher meg camera then I would think about it it, like an 11.0 meg camera but they cost a lot.
2/2/2004 9:54:19 AM
 
Erica J. Kasper 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 4:11:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 4:11:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 4:11:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 4:11:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2004 4:11:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the clarity of the pictures. The Carl Zeiss lens is very nice. I don't like that you can't erase a picture off the disk unless it is the last picture you took!
1/22/2004 4:11:46 PM
 
Bobby Johnson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 5:27:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 5:27:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 5:27:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 5:27:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 5:27:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Greate easy to use.
1/20/2004 5:27:01 PM
 
Bobby Johnson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 5:16:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 5:16:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 5:16:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 5:16:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2004 5:16:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great and easy to use.
1/20/2004 5:16:06 PM
 
Roger C. Walker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:14:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:14:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:14:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:14:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:14:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
+ Very high resolution (5 megapixel) + Very high storage capacity (185 MB mini cd) + Versatile shooting options - Big and bulky
1/16/2004 7:14:24 PM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:10:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:10:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:10:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:10:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:10:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
beter than all the outher cameras at the store.
1/4/2004 8:10:27 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 8:56:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 8:56:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 8:56:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 8:56:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 8:56:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
beter then all my cameras!
1/3/2004 8:56:56 PM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 8:50:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 8:50:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 8:50:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 8:50:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 8:50:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
amasing camera photos are very similar to kodac and fugi but it burns it on to a 8cm cd.
1/3/2004 8:50:55 PM
 
Matt A. Hickerson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 11:28:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 11:28:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 11:28:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 11:28:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 11:28:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Awesome CAmera. Best part is the mini-cd media.
1/1/2004 11:28:52 AM
 
Ingrid Williams 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 8:13:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 8:13:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 8:13:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 8:13:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 8:13:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice photo quality. Would like closer focus range - especially for macro shots. Prefer media card to the CD.
11/6/2003 8:13:33 PM
 
Lisa Collins 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 6:17:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 6:17:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 6:17:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 6:17:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 6:17:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
love it
9/22/2003 6:17:19 PM
 
Lisa Collins 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 6:14:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 6:14:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 6:14:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 6:14:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 6:14:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it
9/22/2003 6:14:16 PM
 
Donna Quarles 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 7:35:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 7:35:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 7:35:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 7:35:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2003 7:35:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, mini-CD's are the best. Only downside is when set at 5.0 megapixels, it doesn't zoom very far. Otherwise, excellent camera and very affordable.
9/17/2003 7:35:35 PM
 
Ronnie G. Rutledge 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 6:20:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 6:20:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 6:20:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 6:20:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2003 6:20:47 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am very happy with the CD500, it's a slight upgrade from the CD400. I wish it had more opticle zoom. The shutter lag is greatly improved from that of the 400 and it takes a higher quality video. I like the CD feature most of all.
9/9/2003 6:20:47 PM
 
Mindy Guidry 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 5:48:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 5:48:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 5:48:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 5:48:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 5:48:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My new camera! It's great so far!!!
8/6/2003 5:48:33 PM
 
Johnny Carter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2003 7:57:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2003 7:57:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2003 7:57:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2003 7:57:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2003 7:57:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just got this CD500, after using a CD300 for a year and a half. I was amazed at the difference in resolution. I put it through the hoops this last weekend, taking over 400 picture sin different conditions, and I am very well pleased with the results.
8/4/2003 7:57:30 AM
 

67 Reviews  

Buy Mavica CD500 Digital Camera from Amazon.com