BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Mavica CD500 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

The Angel of Eckl...
View photos created with this camera

The Mavica CD500 Digital Camera

Features:


  • 5-megapixel Super HAD CCD sensor for enlargements up to 20 x 30
    inches
  • Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar lens; 3x optical zoom plus 4x digital zoom (12x total)
  • Captures full-frame video (640 x 480), limited by CD media (6 minutes for 156 MB disc)
  • Stores images on 3-inch, 156 MB CD-R/RW discs; 1 CD-R and 1 CD-RW included
  • Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery (NP-FM50 included); connects with PCs and Macs via USB

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 67 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Elza Meyers

member since: 6/28/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A bit bulky but very clear pictures.
6/28/2006 7:04:31 AM
 
Robert Vanderbrugen

member since: 6/11/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great shots, however the disks fail too often.
6/11/2006 7:01:33 PM
 
Todd A. Nielsen

member since: 4/26/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Moo.
4/26/2006 6:04:17 AM
 
Miland Noyes

member since: 4/4/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I got this for taken closeup of texture for my 3D programs, It's good for that but slow in recording. I think it's best uses is still shots with a tripod. Memory is too small in tiff mode, 9 picture max.at 5mp My next camera Canon Mark 1ds II
4/6/2006 5:06:49 AM
 
Allison M. Wavercak

member since: 4/1/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Its A Great Camera But Mines Been Messing Up My Pictures Latley
4/1/2006 12:23:28 AM
 
Jennifer L. Chastain

member since: 3/10/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the fact that my camera burns images directly to a mini-cd. I simply finalize the disk and store it! I also have all manual/partially manual settings, but I would prefer an SLR because of convenience of changing lenses and accessories. For the most part, I love my camera!
3/10/2006 8:03:29 PM
 
Jacob D. Stone

member since: 3/10/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good Camera but Cd makes it slow. and pictures canot be removed.
3/10/2006 6:13:48 AM
 
Vickie Skellenger
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/4/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good for storage purposes and not having to deal with a memory card /stick. However, its big and bulky and does not have interchangable lenses. The photo quality is pretty good, but being 3 yrs old, there is some shutter delay...overall I like it for general photography stuff and love the fact that I can just pop a disk in the computer.
12/4/2005 2:30:55 PM
 
Kay E. Mahoney
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Kay
Kay's Gallery

member since: 4/23/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. I like it for the little mini disc and lots of other features. I have the Sony Mavica cd400 and just got this one. It has some different features than the other one does.
11/11/2005 2:50:47 PM
 
Angela Garibay
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/13/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera! I enjoy the fact that rather than buying expensive cards, this camera uses small compact disks. Its 5 megapixels and has a the option for an external flash.
11/10/2005 9:22:57 PM
 
Judy A. Kytta
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/4/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Ease of use and great photos. I like the cd, makes it easy to use with my computer.
10/4/2005 9:30:16 PM
 

First 10 of 67 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Mavica CD500 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.