BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Cyber-shot DSC-P8 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Huddle
View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-P8 Digital Camera

Features:
3.2 megapixel Super HAD CCD sensor captures enough detail for prints up to 11 x 14
3x optical zoom plus 3.2x digital zoom (9.6x total)
Compact body; MPEG VX movie mode with audio recording; 1.5-inch LCD
Includes 16 MB Memory Stick; compatible with Memory Stick Pro media
Powered by lithium-ion InfoLithium NP-FC11 battery (included with charger); connects with PCs and Macs compatible with USB 2.0

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


25 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Chase Abraham Mendoza

member since: 9/11/2008
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
i dont like this one I need a better one
9/11/2008 8:02:44 AM
 
Ghazali N. Zuberi

member since: 7/25/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has been a great first digital-it's really very easy to use, very sharp and very portable. Its now getting outdated with advent higher megapixel ranges but it works for me and I am still satisfied with its results
7/25/2007 12:40:29 AM
 
Lisa J. Boulden
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Lisa
Lisa's Gallery

member since: 12/2/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
For a 3.2 megapixel point and shoot, this camera can take quite the quality image. Although great for the beginner, it also has manual and programmed modes for those wanting more control over their photographic output. It also has a nice (fair quality) movie mode. Easy to use and very portable. I love(d) this camera but have now graduated to my digital SLR. Still bring it out on occasions where the SLR is too bulky.
4/7/2007 12:04:18 PM
 
Mindaugas Kojelis
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/17/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
a good compact
6/13/2006 6:14:25 PM
 
Nancy J. Nash
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/1/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my cybershot. I rarely have a picture due to fuzzy ness or incomplete picture transfers. The zoom is awsome. Its Lens/Optical 3x, f=6-18mm 1:2.8-5.2. 3.2 Megapixels I just love my portable best friend :) Although I need to update for myself.
6/1/2006 11:06:46 PM
 
BEN THOMSON

member since: 5/10/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I dropped and broke it 2 weeks ago. But it was just a point and shoot camera.
5/10/2006 11:01:32 PM
 
Mary Jo Andrews

member since: 4/13/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I haven't used this camera much but I know that I had problems with the long lag time.
4/25/2006 6:45:05 PM
 
David Gomez

member since: 4/16/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very easy to use and very sharp
4/16/2006 1:57:09 PM
 
CHRISTIE K. COLVIN

member since: 12/22/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE MY CAMERA IT HAS SO MANY OPTIONS AND IS VERY USER FRIENDLY!
12/22/2005 8:11:10 AM
 
Dee Birkenheiser

member since: 12/2/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nice crisp photos for a low cost. Definetly a budget camera that can be used for excellent proficiency. Very pleased with my purchase!
12/2/2005 11:16:59 AM
 
Lauren Wright

member since: 8/13/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first camera and I have been extremely satisfied with it. With only 3.2 megapixels and fully automatic, it is becoming a little out of date, but still a wonderful little camera. The only way for me to grow in my photography is to get a camera with optional manual settings and more megapixels. I recommend it for any beginner.
8/13/2005 8:19:57 PM
 
Yusri Yusoff aka YusreeF the gummersbacher
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/21/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
the colors are great..
6/21/2005 5:26:33 AM
 
Karin  M. Ulik

member since: 5/17/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This has been a great first digital-it's really easy to use. However, as it ages, it has become more and more slow making it near impossible to capture candids.
5/17/2005 11:33:54 AM
 
Mike D. Tabolsky

member since: 5/15/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great camera for everyday life. I love the fact that I can go manual.
5/15/2005 4:54:58 PM
 
Prema Fitzpatrick

member since: 2/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's basically a point and shoot digital camera with additonal capabilities. It sometimes seems to have a hard to focusing and the shutterlag is a bit long. It is very portable though, and easy to take around.
2/10/2005 11:25:20 AM
 
Rizwan Farooq

member since: 8/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its a nice camera, but be sure to get more memory space , at night its pics are not great
8/29/2004 10:46:25 PM
 
Rizwan Farooq

member since: 8/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its a nice camera, but be sure to get more memory space , at night its pics are not great
8/29/2004 10:46:22 PM
 
William A. Gochenour

member since: 5/23/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent camera.
6/29/2004 5:30:46 PM
 
Julie Gudelj

member since: 6/8/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's great for what I use it for. It's a little difficult to get clear pictures when zoomed in.
6/8/2004 7:16:18 PM
 
Myriam A. Riad

member since: 3/9/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It is very good for a biginner or an intermediate use... but not professional!
3/9/2004 5:22:11 AM
 
Don Cameron

member since: 2/18/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
"A Mother's Firstborn"
By Don Cameron

This photo was taken with an Olympus OM-1 with a 2X Tele-extender - not a Sony DSCP8.

2/23/2004 10:40:42 AM
 
Don Cameron

member since: 2/18/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
"A Mother's Firstborn"
By Don Cameron

This photo was taken with an Olympus OM-1 with a 2X Tele-extender - not a Sony DSCP8.

2/23/2004 10:40:13 AM
 
MUTHUVEL SIVARAMAN

member since: 12/28/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first camera.
12/28/2003 10:05:46 PM
 
Nithyaselvan Jeyaram

member since: 12/13/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good for starters like me. There are quite a few manual adjustements. It takes quite some-time to get used to the camera and to take some quality pictures. Not bad for a starter like me.
12/13/2003 1:11:08 PM
 
Chad B. Gniffke

member since: 9/1/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera in many ways!!! Obviously you can not change aperature or shutter speed, but the scene control works well and the features make up for it. The thing with point and shoot digital cameras is you really have to know how to use them and understand the feature set in order to create successful shots. Highly recommended.
9/1/2003 8:14:27 PM
 

25 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-P8 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.