Freedom Zoom 160 Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Point and Shoot Film Cameras

From Within
View photos created with this camera

The Freedom Zoom 160 Camera

Features:


  • Pocket-sized camera with a full 4.3x zoom lens with range of 37.5mm to 160mm
  • Fast, SLR-type autofocusing for razor-sharp results
  • Flash fires automatically whenever necessary with red-eye reduction
  • Selectable date imprint function for cataloging photos
  • Automatic film transport with film chamber lock to prevent accidental film exposures

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


9 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Will Turner 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2005 10:12:51 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2005 10:12:51 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2005 10:12:51 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2005 10:12:51 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2005 10:12:51 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Question: Does anyone own one of these that hasn't been repaired and still actually works?

I got more complaints from relatives to look at dead 35mm Freedom Zooms over the years than any other 35mm P&S camera. The zoom advance gears (plastic) broke often on theirs, sometimes a cold solder on circuit board came loose and killed the whole thing, sometimes a problem with the autofocus encoder module. They're a pain to work on.

Fortunately, the relatives now buy digicams that break just about as often, but they don't bug me about those anymore, they just keep buying new ones.

11/25/2005 10:12:51 AM
 
Tracy M. Ryan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 3:21:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 3:21:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 3:21:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 3:21:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 3:21:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I do very much like my camera its small and i've never had a bad picture yet!!!
7/23/2005 3:21:06 PM
 
Mary E. Heinz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/23/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 1:37:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 1:37:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 1:37:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 1:37:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 1:37:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted a zoom lens to capture the mt.s to send home photos. It's simple to use and even on a horriby dreadful day if the sun comes out just for a few minutes even with overcast it takes sunny beautiful photos.
5/23/2005 1:37:40 AM
 
Stefanie E. Hynds 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 12:18:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 12:18:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 12:18:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 12:18:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 12:18:51 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i love my camera!
2/23/2005 12:18:51 PM
 
Cherie Early
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/1/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:09:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:09:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:09:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:09:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2005 2:09:27 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's a pretty good camera.
2/11/2005 2:09:27 PM
 
Robin  2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2004 4:37:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2004 4:37:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2004 4:37:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2004 4:37:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2004 4:37:20 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I really loved this camera at first. The pictures are very crisp. The red eye is not reliable. Now, the background of every picture I take is black.
9/27/2004 4:37:20 PM
 
Bill Borsheim 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2004 8:56:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2004 8:56:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2004 8:56:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2004 8:56:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2004 8:56:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The latest Minolta Freedom is the AREA AF 160 & is the best affordable auto focus P&S film camera...not only in speed of focus, but the camera also frames the point of focus with Light Emitting Diodes in the view finder! If the focus isn't were you want it, you can change it...or wait a few seconds & the camera may change its focus to where you want it. Just wonderful. Sharp contrasty image thru out the zoom range which is a bit shorter than other long ratio zooms. Small shirt pockets hold it, but it is delicate. Grace & peace to all readers
...litesong
8/31/2004 8:56:01 AM
 
Tracy M. Ryan 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:23:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:23:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:23:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:23:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 9:23:53 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
i like this one because of the clear pictures i get but i also dont like it because of the red eye so i mostly use black and white film
1/26/2004 9:23:53 PM
 
David J. McGill 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 10:37:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 10:37:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 10:37:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 10:37:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2003 10:37:18 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good overall point & shoot. No major complaints.
10/3/2003 10:37:18 AM
 

9 Reviews  

Buy Freedom Zoom 160 Camera  from Amazon.com