BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Maxxum 4 35mm SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

So what their pin...
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum 4  35mm SLR Camera

Features:

Autofocus 35mm SLR with full manual options (body only)
Three autofocus modes: single-shot, continuous/predictive, and automatic
Honeycomb-pattern metering system ensures beautiful photos under the most difficult lighting condition
Quartz date back imprints the date or time right onto the photo
Built-in flash with red-eye reduction

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


23 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
James C. Lancaster

member since: 5/31/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Great for what I use for right now, a hobby, but if I am to get serious I need to get a more serious camera
6/1/2006 12:12:35 PM
 
Brent A. Markowski

member since: 3/18/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
As an amateur photographer I enjoy the 35mm SLR. It helps me fine tune my skills in manually adjusting my settings, and will eventually lead me to trust my eye in photography. As things progress, I may eventually buy into the digital SLR.
3/18/2006 1:21:09 PM
 
Nicolas A. Gauders
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/22/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is My first Film Camera and I love it. I got some nice pictures, with a cool lighting,...
For beginner its a perfect one and its cheap ! (I got it for 150 $)
2/26/2006 8:19:01 AM
 
Rachelle M. Mason
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/23/2005
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
I'm NOT possitive this is the exact model I had. I know it was an older Minolta Maxxum. But it was the worst camera I've ever worked with. It was my first, and did some of these pictures with, but It was very difficult to work with and would only take a picture if the lighting was perfect and the aperature and shutter speed were set for the light meter. I don't recommend these camera for anyone.
11/23/2005 7:15:53 AM
 
Lisa R. Donovan

member since: 10/23/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Not bad for a starter camera. Everything has to fall into line to take a great photo. Low light seems to really give this camera problems. Can't wait to go to digital!
10/23/2005 6:46:37 PM
 
Michael L. Jackson

member since: 5/5/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had some really good and bad experiences with this camera. The bad I can postively attribute to my lack of understanding of this camera. For the good, I would absolutely attribute to good luck and maybe some basic technical expertise. While I own a very nice digital camera, I still rely on this camera for alot, maybe mostly all my travel photography. Its really light weight, easy to use, and comes with very good layout of controls and dial.
10/12/2005 2:53:12 PM
 
Joyce S. Bowley
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/7/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Just getting started with a limited budget? This is a great "learning" camera. You can choose fully automatic, Aperture mode, Shutter mode or full manual mode. This is my first SLR, so I can't compare it to other models with more features. So far, I haven't found anything I don't like.
7/8/2005 6:09:12 AM
 
Carrie  A. ODell

member since: 6/21/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i've never had any problems with this camera...i'm not the most technical person so i just judge on how the camera has served me. I've never had a blurry picture...once in a blue moon it'll have some trouble focusing.
6/21/2005 4:08:44 PM
 
Pamela Dodgen

member since: 7/11/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
You can use manually or all auto
3/16/2005 10:05:53 PM
 
Sherri Claytor

member since: 2/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've gotten nice clear color shots with this camera. Have had a little trouble when adding a flash but overall is very good.
2/4/2005 4:36:16 PM
 
Angie Cormier

member since: 11/23/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
first slr camera.
11/23/2004 5:54:16 AM
 
Tammy Aurand

member since: 10/22/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Not a bad camera for a beginner.
11/4/2004 2:56:20 PM
 
Dave Hubbs
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/3/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
All the bells and whistles, but I miss my K1000.
10/30/2004 11:25:10 AM
 
Arunmozhi Varman

member since: 9/4/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
it has great quality of photography and has lucrative output.
9/4/2004 3:04:56 AM
 
Kris M. Hartley

member since: 2/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I do love my camera; however, I haven't had it long enough to truly give it a fair rating.
2/29/2004 5:43:26 PM
 
Erica E. Canada

member since: 1/21/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like the Minolta Maxxum 4. It works good for the things I like to take pictures of. I am no professional yet and don't know everything about it but what I know so fair I love. I am learning new things about it everyday which makes it so much more fun.
1/26/2004 9:59:24 PM
 
Christopher D. Barry

member since: 1/12/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a good all around camera & its fairly priced
1/15/2004 1:27:51 PM
 
Derek Graydon

member since: 1/4/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
very easy to use especially like the AF function light to carry arrouns with a quick startup time I am still learing about other functions of the camera.
1/4/2004 4:32:18 AM
 
Dana Hendrickson

member since: 12/26/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've only had the camara about 2 months, I'm just beginning so I don't know to much about it. I havent run across any problems with it.
12/26/2003 7:50:19 PM
 
Tiffany Dawn Greene

member since: 10/17/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am going to school for photography
great camera to start with. Light in weight.
10/17/2003 8:52:00 PM
 
Tyler B. Sutcliffe

member since: 8/23/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera for someone who's just starting out. It has all the features of the expensive cameras, yet won't kill your wallet. Beginners can just set it on auto, more advanced users can really get into it. The controlls for the advanced features are a littel cumbersom, but it takes great pics under even less than desirable circumstances.
8/23/2003 1:17:30 PM
 
Kathleen Costello

member since: 7/14/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like my camera...lovely pictures. I am looking forward to learning about all it can do!
7/19/2003 6:36:27 PM
 
Sonia Richard

member since: 2/28/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm still learning how to use this camera so I can't say that much about it, so far I like it, having some troubles doing macro with it, but I think that has more to do with the lens I have for that.
6/24/2003 1:11:55 PM
 

23 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Maxxum 4  35mm SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.