BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Camedia D-380 Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Pick me!  Pick me...
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia D-380  Digital Camera

Features:
2-megapixel sensor captures 1,600 x 1,200 images for prints at sizes up to 8 x 10 inches
Fixed-focus lens with 5x digital zoom (no optical zoom)
Included 8 MB Smartmedia card stores approximately 16 images at default resolution
Automatically connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
Uses 2 CR-V3 lithium batteries or 4 AA batteries (one set of disposable AA batteries included)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


36 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Debbra J. Lemen

member since: 2/18/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love this camera for the perfect shot. Standing still, moving shot's color lighting all good. I've had this camera 4 year's has rechargable batteries also aplus. This camera has not failed me yet. Thank U Debbra Joy
2/23/2007 5:48:39 PM
 
Charlie Rickman

member since: 6/11/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
fast response time, great picture quaility. simple to use
6/11/2006 7:59:45 PM
 
Heather Blood

member since: 5/11/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Don't like
5/11/2006 12:33:36 PM
 
Ruslana Stovner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/10/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think it is one of the best from only 2 mp cameras . I love it and I wish it could have more mp .
2/16/2006 1:17:13 PM
 
Michele R. Boone

member since: 1/14/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera's simple point and shoot quality. It is not always the best for all situtations. But I have gotten some amazing baseball action shots, and succsession shots. I usually am very old school about my photography, I really prefer my Nikon N2020 slr. But this digatal is nice too. I don't like that I can't zoom in as close as I would like and still get a clear picture. That is probably the only real downfall I can sight.
1/14/2006 2:38:16 PM
 
Julie A. Weems

member since: 12/4/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It takes wonderful pictures. I am still learning all the features.
12/4/2005 9:15:19 PM
 
Mindi M. Mikula

member since: 10/28/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera was budget friendly but the zoom quality is very poor. For family photos this is mediocre and I would not recommend it for the artisitc eye.
10/28/2005 4:16:26 PM
 
Leanne Rudd

member since: 10/12/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera, but I would love to take photo after photo
10/12/2005 10:27:53 PM
 
Cindy Weaver

member since: 8/30/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice but I don't know how to use all the featurs.
8/31/2005 3:42:16 PM
 
Cindy Weaver

member since: 8/30/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Would like a higher zoom. I like the fact that you can view pictures right after you take them.
8/31/2005 3:39:00 PM
 
Kim Gelinas

member since: 8/6/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a point and shoot so it's range is limited. I plan to replace ASAP with a digital SLR. Close-ups are ok with this camera but distance shots and anything in lighting that isn't perfect usually comes ok terrible. It was wonderful when I started but now that I know so much more about photography, it does not suit my needs.
8/27/2005 1:36:18 AM
 
Malia L. McFarlane

member since: 8/7/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This Camera is amazing it takes really good Pictures even when moving. i took a close up picture of trees threw the car window while my friend drove 70 mph and the picture came out perfectly clear and not at all blurry.the one thing i dislike is i cant forse the flash to go off if the camera has any sun shining directly on it, but all in al this camera is awesome and i love it.
8/7/2005 4:48:01 PM
 


member since: 3/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
excellent as a first digital camera but now its time to upgrade.
6/18/2005 8:53:06 AM
 
Stephanie L. Brown

member since: 3/15/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
At the time I bought it, it was top of the line....now it's a dinosaur. Needs more megapixels!
3/15/2005 3:54:18 PM
 
Timothy C. Jones

member since: 3/13/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
well it is the best camera I have had so far but then again I haven't had much.
3/13/2005 7:13:29 AM
 
Crystal M. Howard
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/23/2004
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
for someone who doesn't take much photos....only for vacation or somthing. beginners camera
2/16/2005 6:14:36 PM
 
Stephanie Cline

member since: 12/1/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is a great just for fun camera. I am a college student and can not afford a fancy digital camera at this time. My Olympus D-380 will do just fine.
12/1/2004 11:20:38 AM
 
Lori Friedrich

member since: 11/5/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Easy to use
11/5/2004 12:45:00 PM
 
Denise DuVarney

member since: 5/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
First Digital. Like it. Easy for the kids to use.
5/19/2004 7:30:23 PM
 
Sheri J. Olson

member since: 4/30/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it for what I use it for. I really love a digital camera 'cause you don't have any film and you can take as many pictures as you want and not have to worry about if they're good or bad. Get a nice big card, and you don't have to worry about dumping it to the computer that often either. As far as settings, even though I've had it for a couple years now, I haven't read the book that thoroughly to get into the intricacies of it. Most of it's simple enough to understand without having to refer to the manual all the time. Only thing I don't like is that digital cameras go thru batteries faster. The rechargeable work out really nice, though.
4/30/2004 3:21:18 PM
 
Arwen Emory

member since: 3/30/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
good camera but i would like to get one with more megapixals easy to use and good for first time digital camera users
3/30/2004 10:43:36 PM
 
Virginia  Wilson

member since: 1/31/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like by Olympus D-380 digital camera. It takes beautiful pictures and is easy to use. The only thing I would like to know is what causes the spots I sometimes get on my pictures. Most of the time they are barely noticeable & can be easily fixed with my photo cloning program, but occassionally, they are in an area that cannot be fixed; such as on the end of someone's nose. I'm wondering if anyone else is having this problem? At first I thought it was a defective photo card, but I received a new card for Christmas and I continue to have the same problem. I have not contacted the manufacturer as yet, but I plan to do so.
2/17/2004 3:29:09 PM
 
Felix J. Roldan

member since: 12/6/2003
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
My first Digital Camera. Very friendly user,fairly good pics for only two mega pixels but 5 X zoom. affordability.very nice camera.
1/19/2004 5:50:33 AM
 
John R. Edwards

member since: 1/5/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Simple, easy and fun.
1/18/2004 3:18:10 PM
 
Yashesh S. Joshi

member since: 1/18/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A good entry level camera at best, certainly not for anyone looking for many features and options...
1/18/2004 1:24:43 PM
 
Stephen P. Connelly

member since: 1/15/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have only had this camera for a few weeks and have only started getting into photography so I am not really qualified to give my opinion, but so far it seems to be a very good ca,era. I take clear shots and it didnt take me long to learn how to use it
1/15/2004 12:44:42 AM
 
Suzan Dowell-Glaser

member since: 10/8/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great start into digital photography. A tough little point and shoot, mine has held up to a great deal of hard use. I ride horses 2 to three times a week (20 to 30 miles) and mine has been with me all the time. I have taken some wonderful pictures with it, and printed up to 8x10.
1/1/2004 10:32:50 AM
 
Suzan Dowell-Glaser

member since: 10/8/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great start into digital photography. A tough little point and shoot, mine has held up to a great deal of hard use. I ride horses 2 to three times a week (20 to 30 miles) and mine has been with me all the time. I have taken some wonderful pictures with it, and printed up to 8x10.
1/1/2004 10:32:31 AM
 
Suzan Dowell-Glaser

member since: 10/8/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great start into digital photography. A tough little point and shoot, mine has held up to a great deal of hard use. I ride horses 2 to three times a week (20 to 30 miles) and mine has been with me all the time. I have taken some wonderful pictures with it, and printed up to 8x10.
1/1/2004 10:32:12 AM
 
Larry S. Thornburg

member since: 12/5/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Picture is not real clear when enlarged and meg is okay, but 5 meg would be a better picture when enlarged.
12/5/2003 12:55:29 PM
 
Gabrielle L. Jones

member since: 9/21/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's been great for me so far. I have noticed on some pictures that there appears to be what looks like water spots in the photo. I'm not sure if it's me or the camera. But, I have gotten some absolutely wonderful pictures out of it.
9/21/2003 4:49:25 PM
 
Brian D. Scott

member since: 8/15/2003
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Nice simple cheap starter digital camera. No frills, very limited. Controls are easy, and the view screen is large enough to get a good idea of what you have shot. Highest quality leaves a bit to be desired at 2 megapixel. Overall, I'm not afraid to drop / loose / break it, so I take some riskier shots.
8/15/2003 8:00:51 AM
 
Jackie  Pinkney

member since: 4/11/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Just got the camera, will update later
7/7/2003 4:46:25 PM
 
Katherine Pratt

member since: 4/22/2003
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I bought it for the price and was aware of the quality of pictures I would get. It's a good first digital. I hope to get a much better camera someday with better resolution and more zoom. It still takes some great ones every once in a while. If you need a decent digital for 200 or less this is one of the better ones.
7/3/2003 1:47:36 PM
 
Leigh R. Lumpkin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/22/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes good quality pictures, but does not have any adjustments or zoom.
7/1/2003 1:05:21 PM
 
Nicola Clark

member since: 4/21/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been using this little camera for six months and I am very happy with it. I find the D-380 very easy to use and it never lets me down, with its 2.0 megapixels the images are clear. It's specifications include 6 flash settings, 5x digital zoom, self timer, black and white and sepia editing, short movie clips etc. The camera is comfortable to handle and is small and light enough to slip into a pocket. I would highly recommend this camera.
6/17/2003 12:18:05 PM
 

36 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Camedia D-380  Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.