Camedia D-560 Zoom Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Self portrait wit...
View photos created with this camera

Features:
3.3-megapixel CCD.
Real-image optical viewfinder.
1.8-inch color LCD display.
3x, 5.8-17.4mm zoom lens (equivalent to a 35-105mm lens on a 35mm camera).
3.3x Digital zoom.
Automatic exposure control, with four preset Scene modes.
Built-in flash with four operating modes.
xD-Picture Card storage.
Power supplied by two AA batteries, CR-V3 lithium-ion pack or optional AC adapter.
Olympus Camedia Master software for both Mac and Windows.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 41 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ellen Finch 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2007 11:37:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2007 11:37:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2007 11:37:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2007 11:37:36 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2007 11:37:36 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to put in my pocket and take anywhere, although I tend to take it in a small, pocketed case (with neck strap) to store extra batteries. Although it can use regular batteries, as others have noted, it sucks them up after just a few photos. The lithium CRV3 ones last much longer, although they're expensive, so that's all I use any more.

The exposure and color are almost always excellent, sometimes better than my digital SLR on automatic mode. But as others have noted, it's way too slow for anything that's moving even a little bit--either you miss the shot or it's blurry. I wish I had control over low-light situations, instead it either uses its flash (ugly up close, insufficient from farther away) or if you turn off the flash it tells you it'll be a slow shutter speed and it's bound to be blurry. And have trouble with backlit situations, too.

But because photos that do work are excellent, and it's got a decent zoom, and it's compact, I often take it places where I don't want to be dealing with an SLR and just work around its weaknesses.

5/31/2007 11:37:36 AM
 
Miranda L. 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/25/2007
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2007 10:20:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2007 10:20:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2007 10:20:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2007 10:20:38 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2007 10:20:38 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
The camera eats batteries like there is no tomorrow. After I fill the card, about 20 pictures the batteries die. Like some people said some times after the picture is taken it doesn't save it. The shutter speed is rather slow and there isn't much of a zoom, though I do kind of like that you can zoom in once you've taken the picture.
3/25/2007 10:20:38 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 10:07:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera actually has had more ups than downs with me. I have taken some personal best photos with it. Though I enjoy this camera I much prefer the film cameras. One thing I don't like is, it is a battery eater. Very short working life.
7/3/2006 10:07:36 AM
 
Nick M. Adamson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/3/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:19:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:19:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:19:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:19:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 11:19:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Actually a d-580 but whatever. Great even for what it is. It's the wifes camera, but I use it every once in a while for when the SLR is too inconvenient (read: want to take pictures but not my main focus). Sometimes really impressed with the quality, and the convenience of the digital. Really makes me want a digital SLR...
6/7/2006 11:19:23 PM
 
Lauren Hughes 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 9:47:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 9:47:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 9:47:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 9:47:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 9:47:44 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have been very pleased with my Olympus; it's a great point-and-shoot, stress-free camera.
4/14/2006 9:47:44 PM
 
Steven Paul Dalleske
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/17/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 10:31:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 10:31:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 10:31:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 10:31:19 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 10:31:19 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I only used this camera for about two months and never got to know it very well.
3/28/2006 10:31:19 AM
 
Sai Kumar Modem 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 10:39:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 10:39:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 10:39:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 10:39:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 10:39:12 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My first digital camera, Good for beginners like me. Default resoltion should have been set to 640x480.
3/12/2006 10:39:12 PM
 
Jimmy Stivers 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 5:57:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 5:57:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 5:57:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 5:57:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 5:57:53 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this one for it's easy portability.
1/27/2006 5:57:53 PM
 
Caroline O.  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 6:08:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 6:08:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 6:08:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 6:08:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 6:08:32 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Its a good portable camera although it is not so fast.
1/2/2006 6:08:32 PM
 
Jennifer S. Davis 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 3:23:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 3:23:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 3:23:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 3:23:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/22/2005 3:23:48 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Overall, this is a small portable camera. It is very basic with not to many options. It does take nice photos..though, I wish it had a better zoom. I like the camedia photo editor software.
11/22/2005 3:23:48 PM
 
Christine N. Gargan 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:55:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:55:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:55:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:55:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 11:55:41 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
There's a 2 sec. delay while taking pics, but shots come out crystal clear. I stil love this as a pocket camera.
11/12/2005 11:55:41 PM
 

First 10 of 41 Reviews  (see all user reviews)