Camedia C-740 UltraZoom Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

BABY "MAN-TIS...
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia C-740 UltraZoom  Digital Camera

Features:


  • 3.2-megapixel CCD
  • 3,200 x 2,400 pixels (interpolated).
  • 1.5-inch, color LCD display and 0.44-inch electronic viewfinder (EVF).
  • Olympus 10x Zoom, 6.3-63mm aspherical glass lens (equivalent to a 38-380mm lens on a 35mm camera).
  • 3x Digital Zoom.
  • Adjustable AF Area, plus manual and automatic focus modes.
  • Shutter speeds from 1/1,000 to 16 seconds for still images.
  • Auto, Program, Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority, and Manual exposure modes, plus six Scene modes.
  • Spot or Digital ESP metering systems, plus a Multi-Metering option.
  • Auto Bracketing, Sequence, AF Sequence, and Hi Sequence capture modes.
  • Adjustable White Balance with eight settings, including a manual adjustment.
  • Variable ISO setting, with ISO equivalents from 100 to 400.
  • Contrast, Saturation, and Sharpness image adjustments.
  • Built-in pop-up flash with six operating modes.
  • QuickTime Movie mode (without sound).
  • Panorama and "2 in 1" capture modes.
  • "My" mode for saving customized settings.
  • JPEG and uncompressed TIFF file formats.
  • Images saved on xD-Picture Card (16MB xD-Picture Card included).
  • USB cable for fast connection to a computer. (USB auto-connect for driverless connection to Windows Me, XP and 2000, and Mac OS 8.6 or greater.)
  • Video cable for connection to a television set.
  • Software CD with Olympus' Camedia Master utility software (includes QuickTime and USB drivers).
  • DPOF (Digital Print Order Format) compatibility and print settings.
  • Power from two CR-V3 battery packs or four AA batteries (AC adapter optional).

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 137 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kelly A. Rocco 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:43:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:43:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:43:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:43:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2006 5:43:59 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes great pix, best with flash in dim light
6/26/2006 5:43:59 PM
 
Sandra L. Goodman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 7:26:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 7:26:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 7:26:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 7:26:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 7:26:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i like my camera, because it takes great, but i stil hate the fact that it doesn't take motion pics very well at all!
6/8/2006 7:26:04 PM
 
Manos Peponas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:56:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:56:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:56:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:56:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:56:47 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great to begin with
6/3/2006 7:56:47 AM
 
Diana S. Treglown 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 12:31:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 12:31:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 12:31:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 12:31:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 12:31:58 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the clarity I get from the 10X zoom lens, and the fact that I can change lenses on this digital camera. I find that it takes awesome shots outdoors, but indoor shots are not as good. I also find that using the tripod is essential for clear, steady shots.
5/22/2006 12:31:58 PM
 
Amy E. Thomas 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 4:39:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 4:39:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 4:39:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 4:39:44 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 4:39:44 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Its a tank. It is the longest lasting point and shoot I have ever owned. I travel a lot and bang them up good and this one has been around for a good 2 years. Pretty easy to handle but overall a good camera.
5/7/2006 4:39:44 PM
 
Joan Nodwell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:26:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:26:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:26:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:26:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:26:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera! It takes great shots and gets great color. It takes a few seconds to actually take the picture after you click the button and to reset so have missed some action shots and I'm having trouble getting things focused on very close-up shots but that's probably a "user" error :) vs a camera problem.
4/26/2006 7:26:44 AM
 
Michelle M. Clark 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 8:21:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 8:21:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 8:21:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 8:21:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 8:21:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first digital camera. Love it! It EATS batteries though.
4/21/2006 8:21:05 AM
 
Melissa Morales 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 7:58:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 7:58:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 7:58:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 7:58:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 7:58:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like how clear pictures are
4/10/2006 7:58:14 AM
 
Laurie Crouse 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 2:16:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 2:16:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 2:16:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 2:16:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 2:16:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best digital camera I have ever owned, it has an 10x optical zoom! The pictures I have taken with this camera have always exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend this camera for any photographer!
3/25/2006 2:16:50 PM
 
Ronald E. Mushow 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 5:16:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 5:16:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 5:16:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 5:16:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2006 5:16:34 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
tHIS OLYMPUS CAMERA DID THE TIRCK FOR A WHILE. BUT I UPGRADED TO AN OLYMPUS EVOLT 500 8 MEGA PIXEL NOW. THE C740 WAS NOT THAT GREAT ON ZOOMING AND CENTER SHOTS.
3/9/2006 5:16:34 PM
 
James Ross Hughes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/26/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 9:42:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 9:42:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 9:42:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 9:42:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 9:42:52 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good point and shoot camera. Megapixels need to be higher.
2/27/2006 9:42:52 PM
 

First 10 of 137 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Camedia C-740 UltraZoom  Digital Camera from Amazon.com