BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Camedia C-730 UltraZoom Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Nimbin Rocks.
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia C-730 UltraZoom  Digital Camera

Features:
3.2-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create prints up to 11 x 14
Autofocus lens with 10x optical zoom and 3x digital zoom (for 30x total zoom)
Included 16 MB XD memory card holds 21 images at high quality setting (also compatible with Smartmedia cards)at high quality setting
Connects with PCs and Macs via USB port
Uses 2 CR-V3 lithium batteries (included) or 4 AA batteries

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


29 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Vua 

member since: 8/2/2006
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
We purchased this camera was a very bad choice.
The focus is extremely slow, and image is not really sharp.
Lately the camera has problem with aperture. It can't set the correct value for aperture.
I called Olympus repair services, and they charge $148 + Tax.
We have never had any problem with other camera. I will never buy any digital camera made from Olympus again.
8/2/2006 12:10:20 PM
 
Bartosz Kosowski

member since: 2/7/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very nice camera. In my oopinion photos are sharp and good saturated. We like it.
2/7/2006 3:01:48 AM
 
Shyam Raj
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/9/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera has very good Manual Control. But the Buttons aren't really that nice. Moreover the viewfinder and LCD screen dont stand that well. Overall this is an average performer. NOT GOOD NOT BAD
12/31/2005 2:17:33 AM
 
Carol A. Adelman

member since: 12/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to use.
12/27/2005 9:19:31 PM
 
Raymund Sarmiento

member since: 10/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good resolution
10/17/2005 6:17:18 PM
 
Laura L. Effinger

member since: 8/1/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my camera!! I am a beginner and it has been a great camera. It takes really nice clear pictures with easy to understand settings. However I am ready now for an SLR so that I can do more!
8/1/2005 3:34:14 PM
 
Cherie Heinz

member since: 11/23/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A little slower to react than I would like, but otherwise, a fair enough camera for it's class.
7/25/2005 8:53:47 AM
 
Megan E. Fink

member since: 7/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the quality I get from every picture. It is easy to use and travel friendly.
7/8/2005 7:50:51 AM
 
Dawn Dickmann

member since: 4/11/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
don't like the fact that it has alot more lag time than my film camera, but other than that I couldn't be happier with it, the photo quality is great, I don't like to digitally enhanse my photos, i want them to be what i shot, and a good camera is a great help. has lots of features i am just learning and using. i have had it for a couple of years and used it as point and shoot until recently when i started exploring all the manual features, tons of them...
4/12/2005 2:11:17 PM
 
Jenn Clarke

member since: 2/23/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good camera for an everyday picture. But lags when trying to focus. Forget trying to capture those one in a lifetime moments with this camera.
2/24/2005 8:28:15 AM
 
Murray C. Ahlquist

member since: 12/26/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The 730 is a great camera. Battery power is good and long. The 10x zoom is great. I have been a little disappointed by the sharpness of the images and some fringing.
1/15/2005 10:58:38 AM
 
Ray Pachuta

member since: 6/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellent point and shoot camera. Love the 10X optical zoom. Slow to focus, if it even focuses, in low light situations.
6/19/2004 11:10:05 AM
 
Mikki Cowles
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Mikki
Mikki's Gallery

member since: 5/29/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Did some serious studying before buying my first digital camera, and was more than satisfied. I would recommend this camera for anyone who was looking for a good first digicam. (Although I would buy the latest model, the C750uz) This camera has plenty of auto features to encourage shooting under any circumstance, and enough manual control to encourage experimenting as you learn the joys of digital.
5/31/2004 3:56:52 PM
 
Joshua M. Sullivan

member since: 5/30/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Excellent Zoom and battery life, takes a few seconds to take the picture though and may shots are lost while waiting.
5/30/2004 9:18:13 PM
 
John Connolly
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery

member since: 2/28/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Having now owned this camera for 18 months, and taken thousands of pictures it, I feel I am now a bit more qualified to comment on its preformance. The biggest compliment I could give this camera is, if I needed a new digital camera. it would be the updated version of the C-730UZ. The Australian service on this camera is unbelievable. I needed a small repair done, and it was delivered to my front door 4 days later. I would have liked to see a bit more information in the handbook of "how to use this Camera", as information on a CD is great, but not a lot of use in the field.
4/18/2004 2:57:08 PM
 
Elaine Jones

member since: 12/20/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It has a brilliant 10x Optical Zoom. Takes rechargable batteries and uses 4 AA size batteries available at any shop if they run out. It plugs into any TV so people without a computer can see your photos. The 256MB XD Memory Cards take 140 SHQ photos or 329 HQ photos. Excellent camera!
3/25/2004 4:23:04 AM
 
Michael B. Connolly
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/29/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like the 10x optical zoom on this camera...and there are many other very good features on it as well. One thing that I find can be a little annoying at times though is the amount of time the camera takes to focus and then take a photo... If you are trying to get a 'quick grab' or action shot this can somewhat disadvantage you. The delay time between shots is also a little disconcerting... On the whole though I feel that it is a VERY good camera, and would definitely recommend it to others.
3/1/2004 12:33:06 AM
 
Tracy M. Stevens

member since: 1/5/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera has 10x zoom on it. I prefered zoom more than anything on a digital camera. It works best working with scenery far away. Quality of this camera is not bad.
1/5/2004 8:06:35 PM
 


member since: 5/2/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the 10 times optical view finder which helps me to get closer to nature and animals. I wish someone would have told me that the lens response time between shots was slow. Over all though I'm enjoying my first digital camera.
12/30/2003 3:32:07 AM
 
Rachel Crisman

member since: 11/16/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
For a limited budget camera it is a nice one. Only wish the zoom were more powerful like its bigger brother the 740.
11/16/2003 6:26:49 PM
 
Johnyta Crose

member since: 11/16/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the Zoom on it!!
9/10/2003 12:00:21 PM
 
Stephanie Jackiewicz

member since: 9/7/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I hate the delay it is a real problem when taking action shots. Also it is difficult to see the picture through the viewfinder or on LCD when in bright sun. OTherwise good
9/7/2003 5:17:56 AM
 
Steve Oliphant

member since: 5/8/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great macro
9/4/2003 8:06:07 PM
 
John Connolly
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery

member since: 2/28/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just love carrying one photgraphic parcel, not a camera bag full of lenses, filters, flash guns and other parafinallia. While the camera is just a tiny bit too large for the pocket, it isn't any burden to carry with you. I'm wrapped in digital cameras.
7/22/2003 3:07:18 PM
 
Phillip R. Connolly
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Phillip
Phillip's Gallery

member since: 2/21/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Best features: Big zoom, excellent sharp lens and packed with features. Worst feature: Shutter response like many digital cameras is a little slow
7/17/2003 2:39:44 PM
 
Charlie Offenbacher

member since: 6/30/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera, takes a while to focus.
6/30/2003 9:02:46 AM
 
Dale Bullock

member since: 3/1/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a new camera for me, purchased March 2003. I love it! It goes everywhere I go, you never know when you will find the perfect subject.
6/20/2003 8:18:56 PM
 
Willie Mcphee

member since: 6/18/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
my second digital camera in 4 years. emulates 8megapixel, 16sec shutter, needs a hot-shoe, smart &xd media,10X opticalm zoom (nice) 3X digital
6/18/2003 12:29:03 AM
 
Cathy M. Gromball
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/27/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
An excellent camera, although I'm a new user. No complaints!
6/16/2003 8:49:05 PM
 

29 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Camedia C-730 UltraZoom  Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.