Camedia C-5050 Zoom Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Bulungula Beach
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia C-5050 Zoom Digital Camera

Features:
5.0 megapixel sensor creates 2500 x 2000 images for high-resolution prints up to poster size
3x optical plus 3.3x digital (10x total) autofocus zoom lens
Includes 32 MB XD Picture card--also compatible with SmartMedia, CompactFlash, and Microdrive cards
Movie mode captures up to 148 seconds of video with audio
Powered by 4 AA NiMH rechargeable batteries (charger included); connects with PCs and Macs via USB port

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


153 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mette Vendelboe Allison 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2011 2:01:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2011 2:01:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2011 2:01:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2011 2:01:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2011 2:01:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My Olympus C5050Z has been my best camera ever, even though I've had fancier models. I originally bought it because it had won an important photo test here in Denmark, famous for it's great realistic colours. My new Canon G11 cannot compete at all with this camera's colours and detail. It takes AWESOME macro photos with 3 different macro functions, you can get as close as you like. It's less impressive when it comes to taking landscape pics because the manual function doesn't allow long exposure time. Anything more than ISO 100 looks grainy but impressive detail with ISO 64.
It's a really SLOW camera to use so therefore not good for quick people shots. Also doesn't look good with really low light and flash. However, takes very good long exposure sunset shots for a camera of this range. If my camera wasn't completely scratched and worn out, I would still be using it. Could not have had a better beginners camera.
8/24/2011 2:01:18 AM
 
Robert E. Gaughan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 4:26:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 4:26:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 4:26:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 4:26:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2006 4:26:15 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I got this camera from a friend for only two prints of my Photos. It is the best point and shoot i have used for macro photography. I like how close I can get to the subject. As for normal shooting, I like it for this too. It is small enough to complemnt my Minolta A1 as for traviling and taking with on trips. The ease of use is great, even my Wife is very familer with its use. Very happy with the camera.. and I was happy with the price I paid.. Happy shooting everyone!
6/25/2006 4:26:15 PM
 
Lynda C. Cornell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/15/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 9:30:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 9:30:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 9:30:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 9:30:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 9:30:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love this camera! simple to use and great results from a novice
6/15/2006 9:30:40 PM
 
Michelle Stearns 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:53:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:53:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:53:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:53:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 6:53:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like that this camera has the flexibility to do most anything, yet has auto features for novices like me. It is a medium-sized camera, so I don't feel the need to have two separate ones for lugging around day to day. The menus are easy to navigate, and you can use the manual features with limited know-how. It also has add-on lens capability, which I have started to use. I like that it uses AA's, and doesn't drain rechargeables too quickly, and that it came with a remote shutter release. I am very impressed with the camera overall. When I don't get the results I want, it's usually user error. Lag time is pretty short, but flash recovery is my biggest frustration. I also would like more optical zoom (it's only 3x), but I have since added a Tiffen Lens Tube + adapter and the CrystalVue LX 8x telephoto lens, which works fabulously for the times I need more zoom.
6/8/2006 6:53:26 AM
 
Ray Brodeur 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 7:35:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 7:35:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 7:35:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 7:35:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 7:35:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Olympus 5 meg C5050 is the best camera I have ever owned.I just picked up a 9 meg Fuji S9000 and I'm very frustrated with the results I am getting.Anyway,this photo I have sent in is of my grandaughter and is a 5 meg picture.
6/5/2006 7:35:11 PM
 
Melissa A. Bankhead 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 10:14:50 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 10:14:50 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 10:14:50 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 10:14:50 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/15/2006 10:14:50 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a decent camera, but I wish it was quicker.
5/15/2006 10:14:50 AM
 
Michael J. Roush
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 7:44:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 7:44:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 7:44:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 7:44:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 7:44:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This has been a godd startup camera for me. It is actually my second cmaera. The thing I learned from my first camera is to make sure it has a view finder! This camera has a lot of features but they are hard to remember where to go and how to set it. I like the ISO setting ability so that the camera can act like it is shooting 400 or 125 whichever you may be shooting. Since it is a 5.0 megapixel you can crop in pretty tight and still be able to get a photo quality 8x10 or more out of it.
4/30/2006 7:44:06 PM
 
Jimmy Main 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:23:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:23:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:23:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:23:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 12:23:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
the best compact camera i have bought.
4/27/2006 12:23:54 PM
 
Cat L. Presson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 8:37:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 8:37:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 8:37:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 8:37:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 8:37:36 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My camera is decent enough for me right now. I'm a high school student and I work in a photography studio. I take my own pictures on the side. My camera is what I can afford. It takes wonderful outdoor pictures, it does well in sunny weather or cloudy. However, it does not handle darkness well. It tends to blur images and turn people various colors.
3/27/2006 8:37:36 AM
 
Zeljko Trninic
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 6:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 6:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 6:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 6:06:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 6:06:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have this camera for more than 3 years now. I took about 10,000 photos and it is still has the same quality as first day and quality is excellent. Flash could be adjusted, macro photos are great, sharpness very good, and even can work in RAW… Only downside is start time. It takes almost 30 seconds to take first picture. I carry this camera everywhere, it is much more convenient than my Canon 20D (which is great camera but is much bigger). With C5050 I took many nice family, macro, and landscape photos. It can zoom only 3 times so it is not so good for taking pictures of animals, but overall – it is an excellent camera.
3/25/2006 6:06:09 PM
 
Morgan Slate
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:11:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:11:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:11:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:11:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 2:11:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
the camera takes great picturees!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wish I did :(
3/16/2006 2:11:28 PM
 
Mary A. Gordon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 8:14:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 8:14:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 8:14:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 8:14:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 8:14:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'm new to this camera. I like the camera, but am having some trouble figuring out the PC program.
3/8/2006 8:14:22 AM
 
Marianne Halevi 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 8:59:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 8:59:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 8:59:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 8:59:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 8:59:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Positive: Very easy to use. Dependable. Takes great quality pictures, especially with the higher resolutions. Negative: The litlle knob on the on/off "button" is in a bad place since it easily gets caught on things turning the camera on or off when you don't want it to do that
3/7/2006 8:59:49 AM
 
Darlene Kiener
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/14/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 12:15:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 12:15:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 12:15:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 12:15:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 12:15:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
In automatic mode, this is amazingly easy. For me, its Point and Shoot easy. I like the option of memory cards; compact flash, smartmedia, and xD. Uses rechargeable AA batteries. This is my 2nd Olympus digital camera. I feel the output is excellent. I definitely recommend this camera for beginners to advanced. Only drawback is it is only 3x optical zoom. I dislike the "noise" when combined with digital zoom, so try not to use it if at all possible. This means I must be closer to my subjects to ensure a quality, sharp photo.
3/3/2006 12:15:14 AM
 
Daphne Hart 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:07:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:07:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:07:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:07:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 12:07:12 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
it doesn't have the best quality.
3/1/2006 12:07:12 PM
 
Cynthia Bailey 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 8:15:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 8:15:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 8:15:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 8:15:53 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 8:15:53 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes great pictures, but has so many features that it is often difficult to just point and shoot.
3/1/2006 8:15:53 AM
 
Darlene Kiener
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/14/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 12:38:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 12:38:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 12:38:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 12:38:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 12:38:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have to agree with George Z. above. My only complaint with this camera is the 3x optical. When taking distance shots, it is grainy when adding the digital zoom.
However, that aside, I just LOVE this camera! Have had unbelieveable photos just using the auto mode.
Because OLY sees fit to remove some of the real plus features (multiple memory cards, battery choice, etc.), I will NOT be purchasing another OLY when I wear this one out.
Too bad, because my first camera was the OLY 3030z - which I wore out early because I was having too much fun taking photos. I should add, we do a lot of travel photography and it is not unusual to come home with 1,000+ pictures in high resolution from a 2-week trip.
2/15/2006 12:38:11 PM
 
Joanne Slight 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 3:32:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 3:32:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 3:32:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 3:32:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 3:32:48 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Not really a bad camera, I just need to learn how to use all the functions I think. The only problem I have sometimes is the weight. Running around after a 3 year old I sometimes want something a little smaller/lighter.
2/14/2006 3:32:48 PM
 
Joe Young 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:00:27 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:00:27 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:00:27 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:00:27 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:00:27 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera took a little time to become easy to use but now it's like second nature to me.. The only negitive ting I have to say about it is there is a idle timeout, which resets the focus settings. Since I take alot of nature shots, much of my time is waiting for the subject, when the time is right I don't like to have to refocus. I missed lot's of good shot because of this.
2/14/2006 7:00:27 AM
 
John B. Matthews 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 11:07:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 11:07:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 11:07:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 11:07:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 11:07:16 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is an amazing point-and-shoot camera. It allows for artistic play, although shutter lag can cause you to miss some of those amazing moments. The macro and super-macro features will take your breath away. Even at 5 MP, the images are fantastic, both on screen and in print. The size and versatility of the camera are its best attributes.
2/2/2006 11:07:16 AM
 
Ray Eccleston 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 1:03:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 1:03:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 1:03:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 1:03:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 1:03:56 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the 1.8 lens for underwater use
1/25/2006 1:03:56 PM
 
Michael Ware 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 11:29:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 11:29:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 11:29:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 11:29:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 11:29:32 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very easy to use, very nice fixed lens camera.
1/9/2006 11:29:32 AM
 
Angela Harrell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 11:16:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 11:16:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 11:16:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 11:16:12 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 11:16:12 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A little complicated. Picture quality could be better for a 5 megapixel.
1/8/2006 11:16:12 AM
 
Andrew J. Frost 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 11:22:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 11:22:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 11:22:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 11:22:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 11:22:25 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
A little limited as far as depth of field, but very nice for quality and color.
12/30/2005 11:22:25 AM
 
Faizaan Shamsi 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 1:27:00 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 1:27:00 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 1:27:00 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 1:27:00 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 1:27:00 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
OK for basic snapshot, but lacks any further features or versatility.
12/11/2005 1:27:00 PM
 
Stephanie Fredriks 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 3:25:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 3:25:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 3:25:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 3:25:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 3:25:48 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera i own is on the smaller side but still takes great pictures. Makes a great 8"x10" print. I dont like that there is not a knob for changing shutter speeds and f/stops, there are buttons.
12/7/2005 3:25:48 PM
 
Mary Powell 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 1:08:28 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 1:08:28 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 1:08:28 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 1:08:28 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 1:08:28 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
My sister bought me this for my birthday last year. I'm pretty happy with it... but if i was to go out and pay for one myself i would undoubtedly buy a Nikon.
12/1/2005 1:08:28 PM
 
Julia Ann Faulkner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2005 8:08:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2005 8:08:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2005 8:08:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2005 8:08:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/19/2005 8:08:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like it because I can take it on the trail, and get gteat pictures on my horse.
11/19/2005 8:08:39 PM
 
Damir Sencar 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:06:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:06:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:06:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:06:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 7:06:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best little compact camera, has f1.8 on 35mm
11/15/2005 7:06:58 AM
 
Robert I 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 7:34:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 7:34:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 7:34:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 7:34:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 7:34:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
excellant Camera, Two shortfalls LCD is fixed and zoom limited to 3x.
11/14/2005 7:34:55 AM
 
D Denis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:45:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:45:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:45:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:45:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 5:45:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Small, light weight, easy to handle, excellent resolution, ample adjustments to personalize a shot (or ruin it) Too proprietary on attachments, cumbersome adapters for lenses, slow recover time
11/13/2005 5:45:46 PM
 
Van  Swaa
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 5:36:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 5:36:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 5:36:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 5:36:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 5:36:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's easy to use, has a lot of options, and takes great pictures.
11/2/2005 5:36:53 AM
 
Linda K. Grimes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 9:50:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 9:50:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 9:50:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 9:50:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 9:50:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like because it easy to use and takes real nice pictures . I dont like it because the lens are not changeable
10/26/2005 9:50:06 AM
 
Martin J. Preslar
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 8:54:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 8:54:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 8:54:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 8:54:35 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/25/2005 8:54:35 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes great pictures. Has good versitility and customizable features. Manual controls and add-on lenses give it "near SLR" capabilities, but limited aperture (F8 is as far as it goes) is a bit limiting in some situations.
10/25/2005 8:54:35 AM
 
Sheila Lauder
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 5:40:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 5:40:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 5:40:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 5:40:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 5:40:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I life the crispness of the lens and the ease of operation. I also love the way it feels in my hand, the heft of it. I wish it recycled so I could shoot faster but that will be my next camera no doubt. This camera is a solid good friend to me.
10/24/2005 5:40:05 PM
 
Jeffrey M. Layne 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 6:29:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 6:29:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 6:29:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 6:29:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 6:29:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's great or was before it was stolen!
10/22/2005 6:29:15 PM
 
Bill Henry 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 6:01:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 6:01:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 6:01:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 6:01:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 6:01:11 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Thus far the best Digital Camera to Date i purchase after purcharing over 12 digital cameras in the last 2 years , many were brought back within 2 weeks of purchase . Wife still will hides sale flyers that advertise digital cameras ;) But the C-5050 is versatile and easy to use . Has TIFF and RAW Has Hot shoe connector . Sharp ,Bright Pictures . The LCD screen Pop out . and remote control , rarely use it ,but nice to have . What i do not like about the C-5050 The Zoom is underated , compared to the C-740 , which has a 10x optic zoom . the word Zoom on the end C-5050 model # , should not have been Label . Barrel distortion at full wideangle . the C-5050 is not a simple point and shoot , which would not ,be a user friendly, to anyone who is not Electonics inclined . If programing a vcr is difficult for you,Do Not get a Proconsumer or D-SLR digital camera .. Other cameras on my wish list , Olympus E-300, Canon Rebel XL and Nikon D70 , D50 and 8700 I repair Digital Cameras and other Consumer Electronics for the last 16 years . And will be at it for another 20 yrs. So decided to take Photography as a Hobby . Gets me out in nature and enjoy long walks . and taking that right picture .
10/19/2005 6:01:11 PM
 
Pat Prybil 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 11:11:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 11:11:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 11:11:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 11:11:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 11:11:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE MY CAMERA. It is easy to use and I like that I can see the picture on the tv or the computer and remove any that didn't come out right.
10/13/2005 11:11:59 AM
 
John Christiansen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 2:07:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 2:07:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 2:07:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 2:07:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 2:07:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera to carry around all of the time. It works well in auto or manual modes and has many SLR-like features.
10/11/2005 2:07:28 PM
 
Barendina R. Smith 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 11:33:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 11:33:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 11:33:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 11:33:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 11:33:07 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
love my camera. Never had a problem with it, and it takes wonderful photos. Very clear and no pixelized results as a lot of others do.
10/5/2005 11:33:07 PM
 
Rob Sommerfelt 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:17:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:17:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:17:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:17:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:17:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Olympus cameras I have used all produce sharp pictures with what I consider to be good color. I originally bought the 2040 Zoom because it had the fastest lens I could find - f1.8. I upgraded to the 5050 because it is the only other non-SLR camera Olympus with this fast of a lens.
10/5/2005 6:17:41 PM
 
Michelle L. Frick
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/28/2005
Contact Michelle
Michelle's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:15:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:15:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:15:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:15:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:15:56 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Terrific and easy to use. Great pictures. Just hate the digital lag time.
10/5/2005 6:15:56 PM
 
anonymous  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:33:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:33:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:33:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:33:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:33:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Olympus C-5050Z(zoom) F1.8 and 5 megapixels is an excellent digital camera, having the ability to take three different kinds of memory cards. Presently, with a 1GB SanDisk I was able to take ample pictures throughout our vacation. It is also photographer friendly (easy settings)which makes this form of art simple, effective and memorable.. Yes, it is a bit expensive but the quality of the product worth every dollar.
9/28/2005 5:33:57 PM
 
Bill Henry 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2005 6:33:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2005 6:33:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2005 6:33:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2005 6:33:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2005 6:33:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I own both a Olympus C-740UZ and a C-5050Z digital camera . My likes : C-740 is easy to use ,and has excellent 10x optical zoom that i enjoy . C-5050 produces a crisper ,and higher detailed macro pictures. My Dislikes Both have the same problem . Which is the Manual Focus , the Focusing LCD Square is bad! A splittng image that lines up would have been great.
9/18/2005 6:33:22 PM
 
Kevin P. Tyson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 4:46:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 4:46:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 4:46:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 4:46:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 4:46:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A fine camera with an excellent lens. The brilliant speed of the lens is not matched by the speed of the camera. This is not for candid photography. I've attempted to use it at several motor-sports events with mixed results. When the cars are not moving it's great. That being said, it is possible using the multiple exposure mode and a fast shutter speed to compensate in certain circumstances. For example http://home.earthlink.net/~kptyson/images/LeapingCarp.jpg
8/27/2005 4:46:27 PM
 
Freddrick L. Oddie 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 2:44:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 2:44:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 2:44:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 2:44:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 2:44:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the olympus C5050 Rules!
8/16/2005 2:44:05 AM
 
Jillian J. Flaherty-Patterson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2005 11:00:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2005 11:00:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2005 11:00:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2005 11:00:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/4/2005 11:00:57 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I'm not totally used to digital yet, but it's fairly easy to use, and takes great photos.
8/4/2005 11:00:57 AM
 
Jamil Saliba
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 1:46:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 1:46:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 1:46:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 1:46:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 1:46:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
almost profisional , very good photographs
7/31/2005 1:46:14 PM
 
Melanie Hartung 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 1:48:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 1:48:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 1:48:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 1:48:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 1:48:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It has given almose no fits. It takes crystal clear photos. Can't complain too much
7/19/2005 1:48:28 PM
 
Nelson Lau 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:48:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:48:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:48:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:48:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:48:35 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Pretty good picture quality overall. Pictures shot at high ISO i.e. 400 is very noisy.
7/17/2005 1:48:35 PM
 
Sherri D. Schaber 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 12:57:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 12:57:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 12:57:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 12:57:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 12:57:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
very reliable, lightweight.
7/15/2005 12:57:44 PM
 
Amy L. White
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 9:11:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 9:11:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 9:11:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 9:11:58 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 9:11:58 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
At times it is hard to focus, and then some good photos are lost
7/6/2005 9:11:58 AM
 
Katie  J.  2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 7:16:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 7:16:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 7:16:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 7:16:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 7:16:43 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it's ok the timing could be better and adjusting settings for light controle and depth is sometimes frustrating
6/29/2005 7:16:43 PM
 
DAVID G. LUKE 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 12:42:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 12:42:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 12:42:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 12:42:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 12:42:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The only thing this cam lacks is a 28mm equiv. to a 35 mmm lens, otherwise it's dfarn near perfect. Oh, and you can't shoot the moon with it either, f- stops end at 8
6/25/2005 12:42:34 AM
 
Bret Diamond 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2005 5:01:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2005 5:01:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2005 5:01:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2005 5:01:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2005 5:01:01 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellent camera! Really great for underwater photography with the wonderful Olympus UW housing.
6/23/2005 5:01:01 PM
 
Paul Rumfelt, Jr. 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 6:37:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 6:37:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 6:37:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 6:37:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2005 6:37:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very nice camera to carry around for day to day shooting.
6/13/2005 6:37:17 PM
 
Lynn McMeans 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2005 11:33:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2005 11:33:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2005 11:33:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2005 11:33:09 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2005 11:33:09 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Takes nice sharp pictures with good color. Open slow and there is a delay before the shot.
6/8/2005 11:33:09 AM
 
Damon E. Corso 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 4:21:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 4:21:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 4:21:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 4:21:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2005 4:21:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
good quality, good for just about everything except high speed shooting. 5mp
6/6/2005 4:21:25 PM
 
Ian G. Jones 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 2:48:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 2:48:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 2:48:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 2:48:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 2:48:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As a pro-sumer (non SLR) cam its awesome. better than its newer C5060 (they got rid of the multiple choice batteries for a proprietary one). I LOVE - can take 3 types of batteries - recharble AA, disposable AA (available anywhere) and 2x2CR5. I LOVE - Internal photo editing software - don't need to carry a laptop with you, you can shoot in RAW format then covert to Jpeg and crop, rotate, change RGB colour balances etc. IN the camera I LOVE - 2 memory slots can take 3 types of mem. Great since I use a 1gb flash card then a 128meg smart media / xd as a copy disk - take RAW photos in the field and copy / edit a few of the best to teh smaller card for disseminating! I LOVE - THE AMAZINGLY GOOD PTO15 underwater housing that oly makes FOR this camera - EVERY function of the camera can be used and its compact - great for diving and great for taking sailing, into rainforests etc to protect the camera. I DISLIKE - The screen, the 5060 has a better screen and better 10x zoom
5/11/2005 2:48:11 AM
 
Malcolm H. Dsouza 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2005 9:47:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2005 9:47:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2005 9:47:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2005 9:47:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2005 9:47:52 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
good camera,very user friendly
5/5/2005 9:47:52 PM
 
Beth Maschmeier
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/28/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 7:05:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 7:05:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 7:05:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 7:05:59 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 7:05:59 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
above average for it being 5 yrs old and only 1.3 pixels.
4/29/2005 7:05:59 AM
 
Brigitte Meyer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/27/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:36:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:36:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:36:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:36:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:36:12 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Is easier to use
4/26/2005 8:36:12 PM
 
Hannah A. Vandergrift 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 9:14:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 9:14:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 9:14:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 9:14:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2005 9:14:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use good quality
4/23/2005 9:14:34 AM
 
Sean D. Lacey 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 3:26:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 3:26:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 3:26:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 3:26:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 3:26:07 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Excellent quality camera for the price. Very good construction as well. A very good portable cam that you can take anywhere.
4/11/2005 3:26:07 PM
 
Michael J. Auteri 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 2:38:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 2:38:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 2:38:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 2:38:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2005 2:38:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the camera I have available at work. I had very little difficulty using it.
4/11/2005 2:38:08 PM
 
Anne R. Dalimata 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 8:02:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 8:02:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 8:02:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 8:02:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 8:02:31 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Its a good camera. a little slow on the take but good.
3/18/2005 8:02:31 AM
 
John F. Gorz 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 5:50:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 5:50:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 5:50:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 5:50:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 5:50:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the camera, but I still need to figure it all out.
3/16/2005 5:50:50 PM
 
Halcyon Neumann 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 11:40:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 11:40:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 11:40:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 11:40:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 11:40:07 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It takes very good still shots, especially for its price. It automatically meters and exposes correctly, takes the photo quickly and there is very little lag time or shutter delay unless the lighting is bad. However, it can take forever to take the first picture after it's turned on, for some reason. I guess it takes a little while to warm up. All in all, it's excellent value for its price and I am very happy with it.
3/15/2005 11:40:07 AM
 
Robert Schini 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 5:56:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 5:56:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 5:56:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 5:56:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2005 5:56:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Ease of operation and picture quality great. The only thing that I didn't like was the fact that I was limited to the zoom that I could take a picture at. Aux. lens were ok, but were limited to 2x (6x total).
3/7/2005 5:56:09 AM
 
allen meyerowitz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/21/2005
Contact allen
allen's Gallery
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 12:02:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 12:02:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 12:02:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 12:02:21 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 12:02:21 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
good enough for a point and shoot but??????
2/26/2005 12:02:21 PM
 
Joan Pond 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 7:39:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 7:39:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 7:39:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 7:39:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 7:39:25 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
good
2/17/2005 7:39:25 AM
 
Scott A. Bacon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 12:12:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 12:12:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 12:12:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 12:12:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 12:12:15 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it, wish it was SLR though...maybe soon. Tons of options for the wanna be pro or auto for the learner.
1/21/2005 12:12:15 PM
 
Bob Miller 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:33:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:33:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:33:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:33:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:33:56 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Camera takes excellant pictures and I like the F1.8 which allows me to take photos in low light conditions. The camera is relatively easy to use. The big draw back an reason I'll replace it is the time laspe between pushing the shutter button and when the shot is actually taken.
1/17/2005 8:33:56 PM
 
Vincent Valeria 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 9:39:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 9:39:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 9:39:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 9:39:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 9:39:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Awesome for Starting to learn photography, Lots of manual controlls and auto if your lazy, Only prob is 3x optical zoom is not enough and add on lenses are super rare now that the 5060 has taken over.
1/11/2005 9:39:26 PM
 
Teri L. Kranz-Drella 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 7:16:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 7:16:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 7:16:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 7:16:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 7:16:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love it!!
1/10/2005 7:16:55 PM
 
Emily Hubbs Scott 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 12:11:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 12:11:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 12:11:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 12:11:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 12:11:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lignt weight is very important to me and this is an excellent light weight camera capable of shooting still and moving pictures in automatic mode or selected aperature, shutter speed, and focus. When in the superior automatic mode there is a delay from the time the shutter is pushed until the image is recorded. However, by prefocusing and waiting untill the perfect moment to present, the delay can be shortened significantly.
1/7/2005 12:11:38 PM
 
Penni Royston
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/20/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:09:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:09:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:09:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:09:01 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:09:01 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes great pictures but has a slight shutter delay.
1/5/2005 7:09:01 PM
 
Penni Royston
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/20/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:07:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:07:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:07:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:07:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 7:07:35 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes great pictures but a slight shutter delay.
1/5/2005 7:07:35 PM
 
Michael Cole 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 4:39:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 4:39:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 4:39:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 4:39:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 4:39:25 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great point and shoot
1/5/2005 4:39:25 PM
 
Armando -. Arturo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 8:59:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 8:59:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 8:59:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 8:59:25 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2005 8:59:25 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
the only drawback this camera has is the f8 limit it has. otherwise,it's an excellent camera to use.
1/2/2005 8:59:25 AM
 
Ashley Sauvey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 11:34:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 11:34:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 11:34:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 11:34:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2004 11:34:38 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am new with this camera. So I cant really say what is good about it.
12/8/2004 11:34:38 PM
 
Jessie Lehr
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/17/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 7:51:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 7:51:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 7:51:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 7:51:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2004 7:51:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have obtained extremely nice pictures using this camera. I realize there will always be better and lesser quality cameras, but I cannot say that I have had much to complain about concerning the effectiveness of the camera. I have enjoyed the time spent with it.
11/18/2004 7:51:33 PM
 
Kecia Riordan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 11:22:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 11:22:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 11:22:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 11:22:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 11:22:22 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I haven't owned any other digital camera before, so I really don't have anything to compare it to. I am still looking for more lenses that are compatible with it though.
10/21/2004 11:22:22 AM
 
Marlene Shuman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 5:31:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 5:31:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 5:31:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 5:31:10 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2004 5:31:10 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Since I haven't had much experience in anything but point and shoot automatic exposure, it's hard for me to rate. But this camera does have manual focus options, white balance settings, macro and super macro functions. I've used it for about 2 years and have been satisfied with it. I recently purchased a Canon Rebel because I want to learn more about creative photography.
10/6/2004 5:31:10 PM
 
Eleanor Caputo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/25/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 8:31:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 8:31:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 8:31:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 8:31:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 8:31:31 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a great little fixed lens camera. It takes awesome macro shots. It has a remote control for field work. You just set up your tripod and walk away and wait. When your subject comes along you use your remote shutter control and snap! The one and only thing about this camera I did not like was the fixed lens and inability to change them. Another neat feature is it holds 3 different media cards.
9/26/2004 8:31:31 AM
 
Paul  G  Slate
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 4:00:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 4:00:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 4:00:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 4:00:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 4:00:08 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera is great! but it has some draw backs.
9/18/2004 4:00:08 PM
 
Tony F. McCleary 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 7:46:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 7:46:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 7:46:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 7:46:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 7:46:01 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera but lacks in the zoom department. Only 3x. But the macro lense makes up for it. Very nice.
8/30/2004 7:46:01 AM
 
Jane Clough 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 5:16:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 5:16:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 5:16:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 5:16:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 5:16:04 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love using it and am still learning all it is capable of. I'd recommand it to anyone wanting an easy to use digital that allows you to be creative.
8/28/2004 5:16:04 PM
 
C R. Zweigart 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 12:07:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 12:07:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 12:07:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 12:07:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 12:07:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For an advanced hobbiest, this camera is great! In Particular I use the two macro settings, the remote control, and most of the other features on the camera, which are many. The photos need few color or contrast modifications once dropped to my computer and the colors are very accurate. I would prefer to have a hard copy manual to carry with me in the field rather than a manual contained on a CD on my computer. Great camera, which might be my last camera purchase for my use.
8/28/2004 12:07:00 PM
 
C R. Zweigart 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 12:06:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 12:06:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 12:06:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 12:06:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 12:06:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For an advanced hobbiest, this camera is great! In Particular I use the two macro settings, the remote control, and most of the other features on the camera, which are many. The photos need few color or contrast modifications once dropped to my computer and the colors are very accurate. I would prefer to have a hard copy manual to carry with me in the field rather than a manual contained on a CD on my computer. Great camera, which might be my last camera purchase for my use.
8/28/2004 12:06:04 PM
 
Joaquin R. Felix
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 4:42:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 4:42:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 4:42:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 4:42:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 4:42:29 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great digital camera, point and shoot, best for amateur photographer. lots of features, easy and user friendly. pictures are excellent. recommendable.
8/15/2004 4:42:29 PM
 
Joakim Lindgren 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 1:59:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 1:59:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 1:59:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 1:59:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 1:59:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think my camera is very good.. I have tried other cameras who were faster but my camera is always winning on settings, exposions and photoqualiti. It could be a little more fast but I like it anyway.
8/11/2004 1:59:56 PM
 
Mike Waller 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:37:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:37:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:37:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:37:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:37:18 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera! The magnesium alloy body gives it a feel of quality that you don't find in most plastic-bodied digital cameras. And, the quality of the pictures that it produces are equally impressive. I hardly ever pick up my 35mm anymore.
7/2/2004 4:37:18 PM
 
Mike Waller 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:36:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:36:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:36:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:36:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:36:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera! The magnesium alloy body gives it a feel of quality that you don't find in most plastic-bodied digital cameras. And, the quality of the pictures that it produces are equally impressive. I hardly ever pick up my 35mm anymore.
7/2/2004 4:36:32 PM
 
Mike Waller 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:35:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:35:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:35:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:35:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 4:35:47 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera! The magnesium alloy body gives it a feel of quality that you don't find in most plastic-bodied digital cameras. And, the quality of the pictures that it produces are equally impressive. I hardly ever pick up my 35mm anymore.
7/2/2004 4:35:47 PM
 
Dana Nourie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 10:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 10:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 10:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 10:44:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2004 10:44:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera works really well, is easy to use, and fairly intuitive. It's been a great camera for underwater photography. Recently, I started using it for landscapes. Naturally, I wanted a few more lenses. I don't care for the lack of accessories available for this camera. There is a long lag time between shots.
6/28/2004 10:44:33 PM
 
CINDY P. ALLEN 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 10:39:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 10:39:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 10:39:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 10:39:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2004 10:39:21 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
when i started using this camera i put away my 35 ml. and have not used them again
6/23/2004 10:39:21 AM
 
Kome Parnell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 7:55:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 7:55:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 7:55:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 7:55:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2004 7:55:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's wonderful..!! I've used it above the water and below and I couldn't have asked for a better camera.
6/8/2004 7:55:42 AM
 
bruce presner 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 6:43:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 6:43:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 6:43:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 6:43:07 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 6:43:07 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
great camera, great lens. I only wish the zoom was bigger
5/31/2004 6:43:07 PM
 
Melissa J. Vance 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 5:53:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 5:53:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 5:53:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 5:53:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2004 5:53:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This 5 megapixel camera takes excellent shots. The clarity is fantastic. I bought the camera for "quick" shots because I already have the UltraZoom so I didn't need the additional features. It has just enough to make it easy to understand.
5/27/2004 5:53:13 AM
 
John J. McGowan 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2004 5:03:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2004 5:03:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2004 5:03:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2004 5:03:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2004 5:03:39 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I LIKE ALL OF THE FEATURES MY CAMERA HAS I DO NOT LIKE THE WAY THE SHUTTER LAGS OTHER THAN THAT IT IS A GREAT CAMERA
5/12/2004 5:03:39 PM
 
Lem Metro 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 3:07:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 3:07:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 3:07:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 3:07:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 3:07:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
8 month updated review. What I like. dedicated hotshoe. Total control over everything. Compactflash. AA batteries. So many size & compression choices, plus raw & tiff. Superior macro & super macro. My mode! The digitals world's fastest glass! Live histogram display. 1st & 2nd curtain flash sync. Remote control. Focus assist beam. Unique dual screen display. A few beefs. 3X optical is only 35-110mm. Lackluster high speed modes. Pedestrian movie mode. Shutter lag issues. Non-articulating LCD. Tilt is okay, but where's the swivel? Super steep learning curve due to complex, multi-layered menu system & lack of adequate paper manual. No single camera is perfect, but the Oly C-5050 comes close in many respects. Highly & unconditionally recommended for the prosumer crowd & people who desire a camera they can grow with, but are not ready for the jump to digital SLRs & lens interchangability.
4/19/2004 3:07:41 AM
 
Laura Bray 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 7:01:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 7:01:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 7:01:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 7:01:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 7:01:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my second Olympus, my first was a 1.3 megapixel and I loved it. When I researched cameras for my second purchase I was impressed with the Olympus again, it has a 10X optical zoom and a macro mode, I can set shutter and apeture speed; it acts like a 35mm which is exactly what I was looking for. The most important thing is the ease of use, all the info is right at my fingertips and I can edit right on the camera if I want.
4/18/2004 7:01:43 AM
 
Kome Parnell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 3:14:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 3:14:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 3:14:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 3:14:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 3:14:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera is very user friendly with a lot of manual as well as programmed features. Highly recommend
3/24/2004 3:14:45 PM
 
Melanie Nash 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 1:12:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 1:12:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 1:12:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 1:12:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2004 1:12:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
great camera easy to use
3/22/2004 1:12:49 AM
 
Maryann Connor
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 9:06:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 9:06:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 9:06:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 9:06:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 9:06:01 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it!
3/20/2004 9:06:01 AM
 
Sandy Littlefield 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 10:44:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 10:44:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 10:44:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 10:44:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 10:44:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It may be a little too advanced for me at this point, but I'm ready to learn! What I do know about it I absolutely love.
3/17/2004 10:44:06 AM
 
Michael L. Cohen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 6:53:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 6:53:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 6:53:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 6:53:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 6:53:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good little digital workhorse, BUT, F8 is the smallest aperture, lack of extreme telephoto, asa choices are only 64-400. But if you can handle that, I think this is a GREAT camera that has almost replaced my 35mm SLR! See my recent work with it at www.thebassguy.com/cohen
3/9/2004 6:53:50 AM
 
Linda S. Daus 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 6:19:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 6:19:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 6:19:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 6:19:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 6:19:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera can use three memory cards, it has the ability to change the ISO to produce great pictures with a touch of a button. It's a very easy camera to use.
3/7/2004 6:19:29 PM
 
Rick D. Brown 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 11:11:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 11:11:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 11:11:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 11:11:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 11:11:37 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like my Oly, but I have recently had Lasik and now find my close up vision needing reading glasses.Which I forget. Any way I wish the the veiw finder would show focus more like a 35 slr.
2/29/2004 11:11:37 AM
 
Bill Miller
Contact Bill
Bill's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2004 5:37:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2004 5:37:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2004 5:37:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2004 5:37:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2004 5:37:25 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent piece of equipment. Strongest suit is macro but great all around camera.
2/24/2004 5:37:25 AM
 
Uriah H. Carr 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 12:16:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 12:16:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 12:16:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 12:16:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 12:16:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good rating for the following: 1)image quality (lens sharpness); 2)versatility of features; 3)ease of usage; 4)expandability
2/17/2004 12:16:23 PM
 
Lorri A. Vettes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/18/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 5:44:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 5:44:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 5:44:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 5:44:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 5:44:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just got the Olympus C5050. I love it so far!!
2/10/2004 5:44:40 PM
 
Mike Cole 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2004 5:05:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2004 5:05:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2004 5:05:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2004 5:05:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2004 5:05:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Second digital camera. The images are outstanding! I did alot of research before buying this camera. One review stated it took the sharpest images of any digital camera they had tested. While not an slr, its metal body makes it a lot better buy than the Canon Digital rebel I was considering. I have a Canan A2e and lenes and still dont think the rebel at $1000.00 for plastic can beat the all metal body and alot more features for the $449.00 I paid. Not even close.
2/4/2004 5:05:32 PM
 
Sabrina Bennett 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 10:41:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 10:41:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 10:41:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 10:41:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 10:41:03 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera! Best $500 (Costco) I've ever spent. Flash is very overpowering, must make adjustments to use it wisely. Lowlight photography is great. Has several settings to make even the starting photographer take a great photo. Comes with a hotshoe. I highly recommend this camera.
2/2/2004 10:41:03 AM
 
Barry Turnbull 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 2:29:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 2:29:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 2:29:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 2:29:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 2:29:10 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good alround camera
1/15/2004 2:29:10 PM
 
Kate L. Berry-Leon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:41:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:41:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:41:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:41:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:41:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera and the quality of the pictures no matter how large I print them. I wish I could zoom in further without an attachment, but I knew this beforehand. I am an amateaur in the scheme of things.
1/12/2004 3:41:40 PM
 
Kate L. Berry-Leon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 3:34:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the quality of my pictures no matter how large I print them. I do wish I could get closer in on the zoom without an attachment, but I knew this before getting it. I love the ease of use. I would like it to have a faster turn-around after taking a shot. I am an amateur in the scheme of things...
1/12/2004 3:34:50 PM
 
Ruzy Kosasih 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 8:41:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 8:41:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 8:41:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 8:41:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 8:41:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very impresive lens f:/1.8
1/8/2004 8:41:53 AM
 
Emily M. Gibson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:22:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:22:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:22:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:22:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 9:22:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to use, yet complex enough to make me study. It has turn me, a camer mom, into one who actually takes good pictures and cares about things I never knew existed with cameras! I'm actually excited about photography because of this camera!!!!
1/5/2004 9:22:11 PM
 
Thomas M. Spindle 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:13:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:13:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:13:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:13:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2004 8:13:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
An excellent camera with good manual control. Picture quality is superb.
1/4/2004 8:13:15 AM
 
John L. Walker 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 10:36:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 10:36:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 10:36:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 10:36:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 10:36:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
For a total beginner it has been great!
1/1/2004 10:36:18 PM
 
John L. Connolly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 12:57:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 12:57:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 12:57:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 12:57:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 12:57:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Camera is very versatile. Able to program 5 custom settings as well as manually control the shutter and aperture
12/28/2003 12:57:01 PM
 
Chester Johnson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2003 6:09:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2003 6:09:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2003 6:09:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2003 6:09:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2003 6:09:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is an outstanding camera for a serious amateur or entry level pro-consumer user. I fit in the serious amateur category and have been amazed at the quality of prints that I can produce. The lens is a fast f/1.8 which is great; the down side is the max is f/8.0. The shutter speed has a wide range. There is a lag time between shots especially when using the built in flash, I have missed a couple of shots due to this, the flash could not recharge fast enough; but maybe I was taking too many shots too fast? This camera has auto mode and manual mode options; I tend to use a lot of the manual modes. I do wish that the view finder would have been built larger. Battery consumption is not bad; it uses 4 AA batteries and I can use the camera all day on a set of charged batteries. The zoom is limited compared to the Nikon 5700 which I compared before buying the Olympus C5050. I have purchased the telephoto 2X converter but have not had used it enough to know if I really like it or not. This is the last camera of this type I will purchase until I am ready and can afford the up grade to a digital SLR. I have found this 5 megipexel camera to have limitations, but still an easy to learn camera with plenty of features to assist me in becoming a better photographer.
12/14/2003 6:09:29 PM
 
RICHARD M. TANKSLEY 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 7:57:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 7:57:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 7:57:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 7:57:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 7:57:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera
12/6/2003 7:57:09 PM
 
RICHARD M. TANKSLEY 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 7:55:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 7:55:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 7:55:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 7:55:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 7:55:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great Camera
12/6/2003 7:55:14 PM
 
Mike Hawkins 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 11:01:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 11:01:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 11:01:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 11:01:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2003 11:01:42 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it. semi-pro features, with ease of ameture interface.
12/6/2003 11:01:42 AM
 
William Moore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/17/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 8:35:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 8:35:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 8:35:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 8:35:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/26/2003 8:35:43 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Positives: The Olympus C5050 has great optics for the lens, is easy to use once you get over the learning curve, takes 3 different digital memory cards, batteries will last for a full day's worth of shooting. Great Raw mode, full range of manual and automatic controls and preset scenic modes. The tilting LCD screen is a real plus. this camera is a 10 when you are using f4-f8 and is best for me at f5.6 for scenics. The 2 different macro modes are outstanding as well. In the RAW mode I can get beautiful 8x10's that you can not tell it was taken with a digital camera. I don't use TIFF because of the amount of time it takes to read-write to the memory card and RAW is just as good and uses 1/2 the memory of TIFF. Negatives: Default sharpening is too sensitive had to set it to -2. Lens range is limited. The 5060 has a better range from 27mm to 110. Wish I could set the range using typical 35mm rotating lens barrel. There is the shutter lag, but any photographer should be ready well before you have to snap off a quick picture, so it's not a problem for me.
11/26/2003 8:35:43 AM
 
Louis Teo 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 11:27:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 11:27:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 11:27:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 11:27:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 11:27:37 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
So far, this is the best camera I had used. I believe out in the market, Digital SLR still outsmarts lotsa cameras.
11/6/2003 11:27:37 PM
 
Patrick J. Wissing 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 6:58:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 6:58:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 6:58:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 6:58:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2003 6:58:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very easy to use. Great for macro. Not a very good zoom though.
11/2/2003 6:58:12 PM
 
Dennis Cowsky 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:25:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:25:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:25:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:25:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2003 5:25:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Pros: Great features for the momey. Easy to use. Cons: Would like to see steady shot feature added.
10/31/2003 5:25:33 PM
 
Helmi K. Flick 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 8:37:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 8:37:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 8:37:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 8:37:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 8:37:40 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the three memory card feature, the ease of instant preview and it's holding onto white vs black tonalities better than the C-3030. Would like a faster shutter time ... cats won't wait for your camera to take the shot and I DO prefocus. I hear the C-5060 is faster.
10/22/2003 8:37:40 AM
 
Candice Head 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 8:15:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 8:15:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 8:15:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 8:15:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2003 8:15:02 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great 5.0 megapixel camera. One thing I really like about this camera is that it takes three different types of media: smart media, compact flash, and xd picture card. It will hold the compact flash card and one of the others at the same time, so you can just push a button to go to the other card. It was relatively easy to learn and takes great pictures.
10/19/2003 8:15:02 AM
 
Ben J. Stahl 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 7:59:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 7:59:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 7:59:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 7:59:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 7:59:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent camera. It does almost everyting for me - focus, exposure, film speed, color balance, flash. And a second or two after I make the shot, it shows me the picture. Now that I am used to using the display instead of the viewfinder, I get frustrated trying to evaluate my shots ouside in daylight. Sometimes I don't see problems in the shot because of the weak image in the display. How spoiled I've become. I used to have to wait for film to be developed and prints made to find out about my mistakes. I am still learning to use all of the features this camera has. I also am gradually getting all the accessories I have for my film camera. External flash, polarizing filter, daylight filter. Still need tele and wide angle converter lenses.
10/16/2003 7:59:39 PM
 
Nathan Bridges 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 10:20:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 10:20:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 10:20:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 10:20:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 10:20:43 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the flexibility this camera offers me through it's wide range of functions, compactness, durability, and excellent image quality. I have yet to find a better camera for the money. One thing that I do wish it had was a wider aperature range (it only goes to f8) it would be nice if it went a stop or two further (to f16 0r f32).
9/30/2003 10:20:43 PM
 
Ian Marchant
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/29/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 3:15:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 3:15:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 3:15:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 3:15:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 3:15:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Reasonable Spec for little cost. Happy with Manual overides as well as the point and shoot setting.
9/29/2003 3:15:50 AM
 
Phil S
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 12:39:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 12:39:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 12:39:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 12:39:15 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2003 12:39:15 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I very much enjoy this camera and I am impressed with the functions that it has. Does great in low light and shows outstanding color. Just wish you could keep the shutter open for more than 16 seconds, max avaiable with this camera..
9/27/2003 12:39:15 PM
 
Patricia A. Kuniega
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 11:24:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 11:24:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 11:24:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 11:24:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 11:24:19 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just upgraded from the Olympus C-4000Z to the 5050. I wish I'd known more about the 5050 at the time I bought the 4000. Because I like to do mostly close up macro work, both cameras have been wonderful. Each takes fantastic closeups. The 5050 gives me F-stops down to 1.8 and the 4000 started at 2.8. That's a big difference when you want a nice, soft blurry background. The 5050 has a lot more of it's features located on dials and buttons than the 4000. It means you don't have to drill down into the menus as often. I could go on and on about all of the great features but one of the most comprehensive reviews of the camera is on this site: http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/C5050/C55A.HTM It was tremendously helpful in explaining the camera's features. I considered switching to the Nikon Coolpix, but the ratings for the 5050 were so high and I could use all the same accessories that I had with my 4000Z. Olympus won me over. You won't be disappointed with this camera. I gave it a rating of 9 because there's always some greener grass on the other side of the fence.
9/22/2003 11:24:19 AM
 
Daisy Clymer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 9:32:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 9:32:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 9:32:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 9:32:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 9:32:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera for its easy out of the box use, view my pictures - I am a total amateur and I am happy with the results I get from this camera.
9/15/2003 9:32:28 PM
 
joshua elkins 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:35:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:35:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:35:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:35:15 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:35:15 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
i find it to be very versitle and fits most of my artistic needs!
9/7/2003 7:35:15 PM
 
John R. Webb 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 6:23:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 6:23:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 6:23:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 6:23:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 6:23:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great resolution; many, many features and settings, yet works well as "point & shoot";better camera than I am a photographer.
9/3/2003 6:23:41 AM
 
Lem Metro 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 10:42:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 10:42:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 10:42:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 10:42:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 10:42:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Quick review. First day with the new Oly C-5050 & I am overjoyed! I know nothing about it yet, except that it will be a powerful tool in this photographer's camera bag! And I got another good deal at a 600 price point. Out the door. This is a REAL serious compact zoom digicam. Not too compact, though. Feel good in the hand & weighs in at 500 grams with batteries & both media slots occupied. Replacing the Nikon Coolpix 5000 won't be easy. No more 28mm wide angle is the most disturbing aspect to me. Maybe a CP 5400 is in the future, once the cost comes down. Until then, or a decision to go digital SLR, I think I will be very happy with Oly's 5mp flagship digicam. Quick strong points to note. Super bright f/1.8 glass, TIFF & RAW modes, totally customizable performance from P & S to complete manual control, dual media slots, (IBM micro too!), focus assist, remote control, WB options out the ying/yang, super macro, my camera settings, just packed with features. A few early boos! Real operations manual comes on CD/ROM (common beef with Oly), battery door is a beast to open or close, swivel LCD screen. (Nice, but why not a big time swivel like the Nikon CP 5000/400/700 or the Canon G2 series cameras?) Now, I am off to begin the real testing. A
9/2/2003 10:42:59 PM
 
Ashley Schinella 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 3:26:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 3:26:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 3:26:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 3:26:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 3:26:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
instruction manual is horrible. camera is great for not being a professional camera. 5 megapixel is sharp, but tripod is obviously very necessary for extra sharp pics on this one. I really like it, it works for a beginners needs and budget.
8/27/2003 3:26:31 PM
 
Natalie Foxworthy 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 1:00:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 1:00:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 1:00:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 1:00:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 1:00:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera a lot. It is very easy to use, not too heavy and not too lite. It has an incredible amount of features that other digital cameras do not. Long battery life and very practical.
8/27/2003 1:00:06 PM
 
Guy Vincent 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2003 6:45:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2003 6:45:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2003 6:45:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2003 6:45:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2003 6:45:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good price/quality. Fast lens.
8/9/2003 6:45:16 PM
 
Crystal L. Finkboner 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 7:55:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 7:55:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 7:55:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 7:55:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 7:55:28 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am extremely pleased and constantly suprised by this camera on quality of pictures and features. There is however nothing that I have discovered to be in depth on how to use all the features and what they all are.
7/25/2003 7:55:28 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 9:10:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 9:10:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 9:10:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 9:10:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 9:10:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I believe this to be the best model before getting into the Pro models. It has nearly all of the features of a pro. It is small and concealable. I compared it to the Sony 717, Minolta 7i. Very happy with the results.
7/10/2003 9:10:50 AM
 
Pete C. Franklin 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 7:29:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 7:29:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 7:29:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 7:29:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 7:29:29 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the camera very much. The only thing I don't like is the fact that not looking through the lens like an slr is very difficult in composing a good photograph. I will be buying a cannon or a Nikon digital slr type in the near future. I want to practicing with this first & get better at photography before I spend that kind of money. I good should someone be before they submit photos to this sight & how do you go about doing this. Thank you very much Pete Franklin
7/6/2003 7:29:29 PM
 
Lisa  3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 8:38:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 8:38:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 8:38:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 8:38:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 8:38:50 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera is a bit slow between shots and makes a grinding noise if you forget to take off the lens cap. Other than that it's ok.
7/5/2003 8:38:50 PM
 
Lisa  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 8:30:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 8:30:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 8:30:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 8:30:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 8:30:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very good camera. Do not like the grinding noise it makes if you forget to take off the lens cap. A little slow between photos.
7/5/2003 8:30:09 PM
 
Kristena L. Saxton 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 11:53:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 11:53:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 11:53:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 11:53:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 11:53:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Beautiful pictures, easy to use, and a pleasure to play with:)
6/24/2003 11:53:59 AM
 
Paul Slate 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 8:43:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 8:43:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 8:43:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 8:43:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 8:43:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is one of the best cameras I have had. I also had the Olympus c3020 zoom and would also like to say that was a nice camera.
6/22/2003 8:43:01 PM
 
George M. Zimmerman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2003 12:40:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2003 12:40:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2003 12:40:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2003 12:40:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2003 12:40:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
'The Camedia C-5050 exudes quality on every front. This camera is solid, compact and well constructed in high style. For all photographers from novice amateur to weathered professional a better camera cannot be purchased for the money in the 5.0 megapixel category in a non-SLR digital camera. [Qualification: MSRP is listed at various online sites from $799 - $899. I purchased it online for $594 and it can be purchased lower, but know what you are getting* and who you get it from.][*There are sites selling international models at as low as $450 - BUT you get only a bare camera without warranty or accessories. Repair and problem solving requires contacting and shipping the camera (paying freight both ways and repair costs to an Asian country, not to mention they don&;39;t have the camera in stock in their US-based stores).

The camera has the ease of point-and-shoot units with all the settings left in the automatic mode. You can override, white balance, focus, shutter speed, aperture and focal length if you chose to customize settings to suit a particular need. On power-up the camera defaults to auto mode which is "nice" for the point & shoot photographer. There are scene selections on a menu wheel which will allow the auto functions to adjust for landscape/portrait/night/sports/etc. For the pro or the amateur who is particular about camera settings, you can opt to set all the various functions manually.

Photos taken with this unit are so good that you can even crop 80 percent of a picture out and still print the remainder in an 8x10" format and get very gratifying results.

The camera is loaded with super advanced features, many of which I have yet to use (I have only had it for about 10 days). The camera defaults to the HQ 2596x1920 mode with more advanced features turned-off on power-up. This is nice, except for those of us that want to retain special settings for a given series of shots and don't want to leave the camera powered-up for extended periods. There is however a "MY MODE" selection that will retain special settings selected even when powered down.

Especially nice is the diopter adjustment on the optical view finder that lets you adjust it for clearer viewing. Also nice is the ability to adjust the LCD monitor at an angle up or down when holding the camera at eyelevel is not an option. Another nice feature is the ability to use a "JOG" wheel to make manual settings rather than using the main menu format.

In the advanced settings, you can opt for Macro which allows taking photos as close as 1 inch from the subject. There are settings to control brightness, contrast and color saturation. You may also chose in-camera enlargement with an interpolation to 8 megapixels. Other nice options are two pictures in one frame, short-burst movie mode, and panoramic shots.

I really cannot say anything which can be considered truly negative about this camera. There are a couple areas which need improvement: (1) The menu system for camera setup is complex and multi-layered. (2) The reference manual which describes everything in detail is not printed for the consumer, it is stored on a supplied CD in Acrobat PDF format. (3) A charger and 4 NiMH batteries are included, would be nice if an AC Adapter and carrying case were also a part of the package.

If I had to say two words to those searching for a High-End digital camera, it would be: BUY-IT!

6/2/2003 12:40:20 PM
 

153 Reviews  

Buy Camedia C-5050 Zoom Digital Camera from Amazon.com