BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Camedia C-5050 Zoom Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Bulungula Beach
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia C-5050 Zoom Digital Camera

Features:
5.0 megapixel sensor creates 2500 x 2000 images for high-resolution prints up to poster size
3x optical plus 3.3x digital (10x total) autofocus zoom lens
Includes 32 MB XD Picture card--also compatible with SmartMedia, CompactFlash, and Microdrive cards
Movie mode captures up to 148 seconds of video with audio
Powered by 4 AA NiMH rechargeable batteries (charger included); connects with PCs and Macs via USB port

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 153 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mette Vendelboe Allison

member since: 1/28/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My Olympus C5050Z has been my best camera ever, even though I've had fancier models. I originally bought it because it had won an important photo test here in Denmark, famous for it's great realistic colours. My new Canon G11 cannot compete at all with this camera's colours and detail. It takes AWESOME macro photos with 3 different macro functions, you can get as close as you like. It's less impressive when it comes to taking landscape pics because the manual function doesn't allow long exposure time. Anything more than ISO 100 looks grainy but impressive detail with ISO 64.
It's a really SLOW camera to use so therefore not good for quick people shots. Also doesn't look good with really low light and flash. However, takes very good long exposure sunset shots for a camera of this range. If my camera wasn't completely scratched and worn out, I would still be using it. Could not have had a better beginners camera.
8/24/2011 2:01:18 AM
 
Robert E. Gaughan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I got this camera from a friend for only two prints of my Photos. It is the best point and shoot i have used for macro photography. I like how close I can get to the subject. As for normal shooting, I like it for this too. It is small enough to complemnt my Minolta A1 as for traviling and taking with on trips. The ease of use is great, even my Wife is very familer with its use. Very happy with the camera.. and I was happy with the price I paid.. Happy shooting everyone!
6/25/2006 4:26:15 PM
 
Lynda C. Cornell
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/15/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love this camera! simple to use and great results from a novice
6/15/2006 9:30:40 PM
 
Michelle Stearns

member since: 5/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like that this camera has the flexibility to do most anything, yet has auto features for novices like me. It is a medium-sized camera, so I don't feel the need to have two separate ones for lugging around day to day. The menus are easy to navigate, and you can use the manual features with limited know-how. It also has add-on lens capability, which I have started to use. I like that it uses AA's, and doesn't drain rechargeables too quickly, and that it came with a remote shutter release. I am very impressed with the camera overall. When I don't get the results I want, it's usually user error. Lag time is pretty short, but flash recovery is my biggest frustration. I also would like more optical zoom (it's only 3x), but I have since added a Tiffen Lens Tube + adapter and the CrystalVue LX 8x telephoto lens, which works fabulously for the times I need more zoom.
6/8/2006 6:53:26 AM
 
Ray Brodeur

member since: 5/26/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Olympus 5 meg C5050 is the best camera I have ever owned.I just picked up a 9 meg Fuji S9000 and I'm very frustrated with the results I am getting.Anyway,this photo I have sent in is of my grandaughter and is a 5 meg picture.
6/5/2006 7:35:11 PM
 
Melissa A. Bankhead

member since: 5/15/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a decent camera, but I wish it was quicker.
5/15/2006 10:14:50 AM
 
Michael J. Roush
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/30/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This has been a godd startup camera for me. It is actually my second cmaera. The thing I learned from my first camera is to make sure it has a view finder! This camera has a lot of features but they are hard to remember where to go and how to set it. I like the ISO setting ability so that the camera can act like it is shooting 400 or 125 whichever you may be shooting. Since it is a 5.0 megapixel you can crop in pretty tight and still be able to get a photo quality 8x10 or more out of it.
4/30/2006 7:44:06 PM
 
Jimmy Main

member since: 4/27/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
the best compact camera i have bought.
4/27/2006 12:23:54 PM
 
Cat L. Presson

member since: 3/27/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My camera is decent enough for me right now. I'm a high school student and I work in a photography studio. I take my own pictures on the side. My camera is what I can afford. It takes wonderful outdoor pictures, it does well in sunny weather or cloudy. However, it does not handle darkness well. It tends to blur images and turn people various colors.
3/27/2006 8:37:36 AM
 
Zeljko Trninic
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have this camera for more than 3 years now. I took about 10,000 photos and it is still has the same quality as first day and quality is excellent. Flash could be adjusted, macro photos are great, sharpness very good, and even can work in RAW… Only downside is start time. It takes almost 30 seconds to take first picture. I carry this camera everywhere, it is much more convenient than my Canon 20D (which is great camera but is much bigger). With C5050 I took many nice family, macro, and landscape photos. It can zoom only 3 times so it is not so good for taking pictures of animals, but overall – it is an excellent camera.
3/25/2006 6:06:09 PM
 
Morgan Slate
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
the camera takes great picturees!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wish I did :(
3/16/2006 2:11:28 PM
 

First 10 of 153 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Camedia C-5050 Zoom Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.