Coolpix 3500 Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

MY NEW TOY
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 3500  Digital Camera

Features:
3.2-megapixel sensor captures 2048 x 1536 images for prints at sizes up to 11 x 14 inches
Autofocus lens with 3x optical/4x digital (12x total) zoom
Included 16 MB CompactFlash card holds 19 images at default settings
Connects with PCs and Macs via USB port
Uses proprietary lithium-ion rechargeable battery (included)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


20 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Robert A. Chappelle 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 12:10:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 12:10:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 12:10:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 12:10:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 12:10:29 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Already made a review.
5/7/2006 12:10:29 AM
 
Robert A. Chappelle 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 11:17:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 11:17:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 11:17:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 11:17:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 11:17:00 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
For what it is, it is great... I used it in Iraq, and it handled that harsh environment very well. The photo quality is very good, even for macro work. Overall it is an excellent point and shoot.
5/6/2006 11:17:00 PM
 
Isabel C. Rodriguez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/9/2004
Contact Isabel
Isabel's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 8:31:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 8:31:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 8:31:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 8:31:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 8:31:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great point & shoot 3.2 megapixel camera. Produces crisp, clear images, great zoom/scene modes, and very compact, lightweight!
12/30/2005 8:31:49 AM
 
Manuel Ruperez 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 10:28:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 10:28:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 10:28:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 10:28:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 10:28:12 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very nice camera for an very amateur as i am. The problem is that you can not shot macro and night picture are very difficult to do. Excuse my poor english, im spanish :)
11/2/2005 10:28:12 AM
 
John Cullen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 6:19:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 6:19:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 6:19:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 6:19:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2005 6:19:24 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Overall an excellent all around camera. For me the greatest points are the rotating lens and the macro capability, allowing capture of shots which would be simply impossible with a "standard" camera.

Also takes good portraits and landscape shots, and good night shots/fireworks can be obtained with a little practice.

The only downside I find is the speed (or lack of!) when switching on (around 6-7s before it's possible to take a photo), and the limited autofocus in low light conditions.

5/31/2005 6:19:24 AM
 
Sara Mulhearn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/11/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 9:01:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 9:01:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 9:01:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 9:01:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 9:01:37 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fantastic for traveling and snapshots- small, light, easy to use.
4/12/2005 9:01:37 AM
 
Lynne Mason 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 11:35:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 11:35:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 11:35:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 11:35:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2005 11:35:50 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Love it for user friendliness...hate it for speed.
3/29/2005 11:35:50 PM
 
Christi Hardy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/10/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 5:41:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 5:41:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 5:41:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 5:41:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 5:41:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes very good quality shots. Small sizes, though. Great for point and shoot.
3/10/2005 5:41:57 PM
 
Mostafa H 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 1:49:43 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 1:49:43 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 1:49:43 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 1:49:43 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 1:49:43 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Acceptable in high light conditions, dismal in low light, the flash is almost a joke.
1/10/2005 1:49:43 PM
 
Daoud Ghaussy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/14/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 8:16:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 8:16:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 8:16:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 8:16:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 8:16:11 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Small size snap shot handy camera. Easy to carry, battery lasts for quite a while, great video feature. Zoom capability is limited, and the red eye on the flash is typical of point & shoot type. The Nikon software is quite good and handy to use.
10/14/2004 8:16:11 PM
 
Johanna  Rutter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 8:34:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 8:34:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 8:34:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 8:34:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 8:34:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. It takes great pictures.
8/12/2004 8:34:54 AM
 
Lori A. Hooker 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 6:57:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 6:57:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 6:57:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 6:57:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 6:57:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am such an amature that I don't know what settings I should use to go with what photos, but I am learning. Slow but sure. I really enjoy taking digital pics of my family and nature so I can put them on my PC (Webshots)for viewing everyday. All in all it's a great camera! I love it!
8/11/2004 6:57:57 PM
 
Jane Lee 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 12:07:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 12:07:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 12:07:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 12:07:58 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 12:07:58 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use.. right for amateurs!
5/30/2004 12:07:58 AM
 
Toxic Xxx Poison 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 11:48:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 11:48:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 11:48:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 11:48:22 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 11:48:22 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
light , easy to carry , simple ....
2/17/2004 11:48:22 AM
 
Dean Sandifer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2002
Contact Dean
Dean's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2004 7:31:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2004 7:31:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2004 7:31:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2004 7:31:51 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2004 7:31:51 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great pocket camera for quick travel photos of people and other stuff. Red-eye is an issue since the flash is so close to the lens, but I love taking this with me everywhere I go for simple shots that pop up unexpectedly.
1/10/2004 7:31:51 AM
 
Wendy R. Jones 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2003 5:45:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2003 5:45:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2003 5:45:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2003 5:45:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2003 5:45:01 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Best user friendly digital camera for someone starting out
12/18/2003 5:45:01 AM
 
Dean Sandifer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2002
Contact Dean
Dean's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 8:28:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 8:28:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 8:28:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 8:28:56 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 8:28:56 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great pocket digital camera to take medium quality shots but not disrupt others in your traveling group.
11/25/2003 8:28:56 AM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 12:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 12:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 12:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 12:26:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2003 12:26:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
1st digital, great pictures. Little tough to get used to the autofocus
10/29/2003 12:26:52 PM
 
Chester Victor 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 1:49:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 1:49:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 1:49:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 1:49:08 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 1:49:08 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
its a good light weight camera and easy to use but lacks the functions for the photos i would like to take..good for trips small and slides in and out of the pocket easier than an slr but i like the options i get with the slr more
9/16/2003 1:49:08 AM
 
Shirley Martin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 4:40:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 4:40:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 4:40:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 4:40:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 4:40:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
So far so good! Haven't tried different modes except Auto, but I am sure I will in future. Did lots of reading of reviews before I bought it and it has everything I was looking for.
7/26/2003 4:40:33 PM
 

20 Reviews  

Buy Coolpix 3500  Digital Camera from Amazon.com