Coolpix 3100 Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras


View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 3100 Digital Camera

Features:
3.2 megapixel sensor captures enough detail for prints up to 11 x 14
3x optical zoom
One-touch upload to PC; 14 scene modes
Includes 16 MB Starter CompactFlash card
Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


60 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Raymond Pauly
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2006
Contact Raymond
Raymond's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 6:39:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 6:39:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 6:39:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 6:39:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2006 6:39:23 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice little camera which delivers crisp photos with great colours in good lighting conditions. Not so with little light. Tends to produce over-lighted pictures when using the flash. I don't have it anymore, but I did take some very good pictures with it.
6/30/2006 6:39:23 PM
 
Jane A. Thompson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 7:14:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 7:14:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 7:14:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 7:14:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2006 7:14:54 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's great for amateur and budding photographers and people who just like to take pictures. Wish it had a real zoom lens now and I will graduate to something a little bigger in the future. It's fun and easy to use.
6/8/2006 7:14:54 PM
 
Jennifer 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/22/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 3:02:25 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 3:02:25 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 3:02:25 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 3:02:25 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 3:02:25 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This is a pretty basic digital camera that has the preprogrammed special settings.
5/22/2006 3:02:25 PM
 
Naomi Ibuki
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/25/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 4:51:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 4:51:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 4:51:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 4:51:17 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2006 4:51:17 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
as old camera, good enough for the quality. but battery exhaust soon.
5/22/2006 4:51:17 AM
 
Kelly S. Lester 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:33:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:33:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:33:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:33:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:33:00 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Well, the best thing about this camera is it's size. If you want a small camera to carry around and keep in your purse and get the shot that nobody else can get cuz they didn't bring their camera, this is it. On it's downside, it eats batteries like crazy.
4/3/2006 11:33:00 AM
 
Fritz Roberson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 10:12:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 10:12:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 10:12:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 10:12:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 10:12:02 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a 4 year old point & shoot it does a pretty good job and fits well in the pocket. When it's time to replace it I'll be sure to check out the latest model.
3/17/2006 10:12:02 AM
 
Nichole Blair Post
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 5:29:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 5:29:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 5:29:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 5:29:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 5:29:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it. Many functions. But no sound on video. The main problem is getting the right setting at dawn.
3/14/2006 5:29:09 AM
 
Rajeeb Muhamed 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:03:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:03:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:03:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:03:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 9:03:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use.Gives excellent pictures
3/4/2006 9:03:09 AM
 
Mario Beaulieu
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/3/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 12:07:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 12:07:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 12:07:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 12:07:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 12:07:25 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good entry-level point and shoot camera. Delivers high quality images up to 8x10 inches.
1/3/2006 12:07:25 PM
 
Annaliese Gaeta 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:50:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:50:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:50:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:50:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:50:19 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good little compact digital for first time users. Not enough pixels and too much noise for anything but beginner.
11/10/2005 2:50:19 PM
 
Chelle Tomasik 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 7:34:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 7:34:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 7:34:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 7:34:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 7:34:46 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
it's my first digital camera and as such i am more than happy with it's ease of use and quality of pictures as a beginner camera
11/8/2005 7:34:46 PM
 
Amanda Neely 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 11:00:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 11:00:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 11:00:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 11:00:15 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 11:00:15 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera has a lot of great features and is so small it can fit in your pocket. Sometimes, it is difficult getting the exact right shot because of movement with my hands, but otherwise an affordable, quality camera.
11/3/2005 11:00:15 AM
 
Kyle K.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/21/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:21:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:21:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:21:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:21:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 7:21:09 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The Coolpix 3100 does exactly what I wanted it to when I bought it - easy use with good enough quality pics to send to family. I would like to upgrade eventually as I learn more about photography.
10/22/2005 7:21:09 AM
 
Candice M. Cunningham 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 9:59:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 9:59:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 9:59:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 9:59:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 9:59:13 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera, is small, light weight and accurate.
9/17/2005 9:59:13 AM
 
Jess  2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 2:41:16 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 2:41:16 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 2:41:16 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 2:41:16 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2005 2:41:16 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like the fact that this is a digital camera. I am more of a manual type person, and although this takes some quality pictures, I enjoy having more options. The digital also needs to be handled differently from the SLR, and it's a bit more frustrating to get a consistant result. The batteries don't last very long as well.
9/9/2005 2:41:16 PM
 
Edward Redstone 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 2:02:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 2:02:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 2:02:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 2:02:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/31/2005 2:02:15 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
good at macro, useless at any distance
8/31/2005 2:02:15 PM
 
Michelle Zang 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2005 2:19:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2005 2:19:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2005 2:19:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2005 2:19:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2005 2:19:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very convenient--fits in your pocket. Very versitile--fully automatic, scene settings, some manual apeture adjustment. Takes extremely good pictures and is a very good value for the money. I bought it when it was relatively new, so I'm getting the itch to upgrade. The two big negatives are that the shutter speed is pretty slow, and it eats batteries like crazy.
8/26/2005 2:19:50 PM
 
Joni W. Burton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 8:36:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 8:36:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 8:36:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 8:36:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 8:36:54 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For me, this is a good camera. I've never taken a lot of pictures. I didn't take very good pictures when I did. This camera is very simple to use and doesn't take up a lot of room when you're not wanting to carry a lot of camera equiptment. Just point , zoom and shoot.
8/20/2005 8:36:54 PM
 
Miki Skelton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 7:41:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 7:41:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 7:41:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 7:41:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2005 7:41:53 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the best for point and click. My pictures turn out great. Awesome Macro mode. I wish I could auto focus at times.
7/9/2005 7:41:53 PM
 
Judie K. Silbermann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/9/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 1:12:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 1:12:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 1:12:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 1:12:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2005 1:12:40 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I think the Nikon Coolpix 3100 Digital Camera is a good starting camera for me, although it does not have all of the frills that many of the other digitals have. I'm sure in time if my interest and skils continue to develop, I will move up to a better camera that will meet my needs. This is a total growth process, while still just having fun doing it.
6/9/2005 1:12:40 PM
 
John T. Neff 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 5:17:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 5:17:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 5:17:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 5:17:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 5:17:24 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good for point and shhot, Not good for manual control, great sizr for travel
5/19/2005 5:17:24 PM
 
Samuel J. Perry 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 12:27:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 12:27:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 12:27:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 12:27:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 12:27:51 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
NOt bad for a point and shoot. Lacking in low light situations and for action, but so are most point and shoots.
5/11/2005 12:27:51 PM
 
Lyn Tongco 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 6:58:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 6:58:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 6:58:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 6:58:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 6:58:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great for a beginner and just for fun.
4/26/2005 6:58:12 PM
 
Janet R. Badenhop 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 12:36:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 12:36:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 12:36:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 12:36:28 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 12:36:28 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first digital camera. I love digital because you have the ability to see the photo immediately and get to pick and choose which of the pictures you want to develop. The quality of the photos is yet to be seen because I have only printed out of few on a small printer that I have.
4/26/2005 12:36:28 PM
 
Zoltan Vegh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/1/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 5:11:40 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 5:11:40 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 5:11:40 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 5:11:40 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2005 5:11:40 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This is just a hobby camera from 2003. Unfortunately many funcitons are automatic, but the macro is great!Next year I am going to buy a better one, of course Nikon!:-)
4/1/2005 5:11:40 AM
 
Jayce Lee 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 8:48:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 8:48:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 8:48:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 8:48:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 8:48:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
petit, practical and easy to use
3/22/2005 8:48:50 AM
 
Rachel McKinney 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 6:58:40 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 6:58:40 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 6:58:40 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 6:58:40 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2005 6:58:40 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very easy to use but isn't very good with the long-distance shots. Things get a little fuzzy with the use of the flash indoors if it is more than 2 meters or becomes devoid of color if the flash is 1 meter away from subject. Good outdoor camera though.
3/5/2005 6:58:40 PM
 
Muhammad Mamouri 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 8:50:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 8:50:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 8:50:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 8:50:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 8:50:15 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Good camera with 3.2 Megapixel and 3x zoom. but it's not good for professional usage. I will upgrade to DSLR as soon as I can.
2/19/2005 8:50:15 PM
 
Terrie L. Paulson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 4:50:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 4:50:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 4:50:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 4:50:40 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 4:50:40 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Shutter lag is very slow...camera quality is okay, but it's slow moving sometimes. Battery life is good, but no prewarning when the battery life is exhausted. At 3.1, I didn't expect much, however, friends have nicer cameras than this one. The size is convenient. It's useful.
2/17/2005 4:50:40 PM
 
Ps  1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 11:18:44 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 11:18:44 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 11:18:44 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 11:18:44 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 11:18:44 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
poor. the SHAKE problem is a REAL BIG ISSUE! Extremely sensitive to movements and pictures turn blurry even with the *slightest* movement. Problem can be solved by using automatic flash but pics are bad with flash. planning to buy a new one soon. :(
1/31/2005 11:18:44 AM
 
Scott Stewart 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 1:08:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 1:08:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 1:08:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 1:08:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 1:08:27 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Easy to use and comes with the great feature of being able to publish your photos on your own website (so you don't have to take up hard drive space). Drawback: power on/off switch is a bit sticky and it takes forevvvver to actually shoot the photo once the shutter button has been pushed.
1/24/2005 1:08:27 PM
 
Taylor  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 6:21:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 6:21:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 6:21:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 6:21:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2005 6:21:08 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my camera. It does everything that I want it to. The only problem I have with it is that I want more megapixels so i can make bigger enlargements.
1/20/2005 6:21:08 PM
 
Deborah  M. Wilson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 7:46:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 7:46:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 7:46:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 7:46:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 7:46:22 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This carmera does not have as many as options as the 32000 but it does take good picture. Runs out of batters early
1/19/2005 7:46:22 PM
 
Tara Lenharth
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 9:26:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 9:26:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 9:26:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 9:26:03 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 9:26:03 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great little camera to keep in a purse. I don't like to be anywhere without a camera. Automatic mode really seems to know what is doing. Many other scene modes to choose from. I wish the battery life was better, though.
12/31/2004 9:26:03 AM
 
James Reininger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2004 7:47:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2004 7:47:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2004 7:47:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2004 7:47:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2004 7:47:37 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Very flexible. However, is slow when you need to take photos quickly. I have lost many good photos just because it takes several seconds for the camera to power up. Furthermore, as I progress as a photographer, I relize that I need a camera that has more megapixels.
12/29/2004 7:47:37 AM
 
Omar Trigantara Arbie 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 11:34:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 11:34:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 11:34:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 11:34:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 11:34:27 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good for casual daylight shootings, the problem with this camera is that it's power hungry.
11/13/2004 11:34:27 PM
 
Tanya Coupet 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 8:40:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 8:40:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 8:40:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 8:40:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 8:40:12 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this camera, small and compact and takes pretty nice pictures.
11/4/2004 8:40:12 AM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 1:01:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 1:01:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 1:01:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 1:01:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2004 1:01:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I enjoy taking pictures with this camera. The quality is pretty good as well. The only problem is how quickly I am able to shoot a subject and making sure things don't move.
9/26/2004 1:01:16 PM
 
Anjana K. Mangalapalli 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 7:41:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 7:41:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 7:41:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 7:41:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 7:41:42 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The size is the detrimental factor...it is so small that most of the photographs blur out due to shake when you are pressing the Shutter release button. There is also a large lag between when you click and when the image is actually captured. So, you have to really click expecting an event to happen in like the next second or so. Also, you will not be able to take pictures in rapid succession, a feature which is invaluable especially if you are photographing emotions or babies. But if you manage to get 'shake-less' and right instant photographs, they are really awesome and crisp and a pleasure to look at.
9/12/2004 7:41:42 PM
 
Heather E. Gould 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 7:56:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 7:56:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 7:56:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 7:56:49 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 7:56:49 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This camera is okay for basic pictures but I wouldn't suggest it if you're a professional photographer. I picked it out because of it's size, small and easy to carry around and most of the pictures turn out pretty decent. You can definitely get some above average shots as well, especially if you know what you're doing, but it doesn't happen too often. It's got 3x (38-115mm) optical zoom, 3.2 megapixels, 14 scene modes, and takes short video clips that work in QuickTime Player. Good choice for beginners or those that only want decent snapshots... other than that, I'd suggest something a little better.
7/30/2004 7:56:49 AM
 
Rose Jenkins 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 9:13:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 9:13:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 9:13:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 9:13:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 9:13:15 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A very good point and shoot digital camera. Nice images. File sizes are big enough to work for usual consumer print sizes.
7/11/2004 9:13:15 PM
 
Chan  Tak Kiang 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 1:13:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 1:13:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 1:13:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 1:13:11 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 1:13:11 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
small and campax and User friendly.
6/7/2004 1:13:11 AM
 
Leonard Anzalone 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2004 6:40:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2004 6:40:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2004 6:40:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2004 6:40:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2004 6:40:50 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a good point and shoot digital camera. It fits easily in my pocket so I can have it at all times. The 3MP quality is fine for 4x6" prints, but I purchased this camera because the 4300 was backordered for months. Ultimately, I should have waited for the 4300, but I am much more satisfied with the size of the 3100.
5/25/2004 6:40:50 AM
 
Abbey J. Fitzgerald 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 5:36:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 5:36:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 5:36:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 5:36:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2004 5:36:15 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For the money I spent it was a good buy.
4/2/2004 5:36:15 PM
 
Terri Brentnall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 9:56:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 9:56:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 9:56:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 9:56:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 9:56:04 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Here's a major drawback to the Coolpix 3100: the multi-selector wore out after four months use (approximately 2500 shots). Although this is a nice camera, it needs more durability!
3/21/2004 9:56:04 AM
 
Terri Brentnall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 10:25:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 10:25:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 10:25:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 10:25:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2004 10:25:22 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera - very compact and easy to carry around. User friendly menus, easily understood. The only drawback to this camera is that it doesn't want to focus in low-light situations. i.e., indoors at night.
3/15/2004 10:25:22 AM
 
Shane L. Goodchild 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 7:54:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 7:54:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 7:54:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 7:54:29 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 7:54:29 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera becouse of its size and ease of use. I just throw it into my pocket or small camera bag and go. The controls are easily accesible and understandable.
2/17/2004 7:54:29 PM
 
Jessica L. Gruenke 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:17:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:17:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:17:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:17:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:17:27 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I received it as a gift and like it, Its opened me back into my photography years in highschool
1/18/2004 9:17:27 PM
 
Jessica L. Gruenke 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:17:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:17:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:17:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:17:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:17:22 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I received it as a gift and like it, Its opened me back into my photography years in highschool
1/18/2004 9:17:22 PM
 
Jessica L. Gruenke 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:15:29 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:15:29 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:15:29 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:15:29 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 9:15:29 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Its all right
1/18/2004 9:15:29 PM
 
Joe Linza II 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 4:23:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 4:23:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 4:23:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 4:23:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 4:23:21 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
just getting started in photo and this has all the features that I can use and feel comfortable with.
1/13/2004 4:23:21 PM
 
Lindall White 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 8:10:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 8:10:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 8:10:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 8:10:44 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2003 8:10:44 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
So easy to use and produces clear photos. If it did my housework too I'd marry it.
12/17/2003 8:10:44 PM
 
Stephanie  A. Meier
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/1/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2003 4:59:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2003 4:59:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2003 4:59:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2003 4:59:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2003 4:59:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first digital camera and I am loving it. It suits my needs and really have nothing bad to say about it yet!
11/1/2003 4:59:31 PM
 
Carol J. Marsh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/8/2003
Contact Carol
Carol's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 5:50:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 5:50:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 5:50:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 5:50:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 5:50:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I had a Nikon Coolpix 995 and it died two days before I was leaving on a trip to Eastern Europe. I had to stay with Nikon because I had so many memory cards. I had to learn as I traveled. It takes excellent pictures and is very easy to use. It is small and fits in the palm of your hand so it is easy to put in a purse or in a pocket.
10/12/2003 5:50:21 PM
 
Kenneth D. Price 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 6:28:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 6:28:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 6:28:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 6:28:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 6:28:36 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Coolpix 3100 is a great & well rounded camera. It can be use by a beginer & a pro. It's ease of use is wonderful & the final results are breathtaking. It's my 2nd digital camera but I bought a polaroid pdc700 "point n shoot" fixed lense for my first. I wasn't into photography as much as I am now but the Coolpix wasn't a mistake at all. It'll be kept in my bag along with my 35mm Minolta X-370 & soon to be Coolpix 5700 (I hope) for a LONG time.
9/12/2003 6:28:36 AM
 
Kelly Hubbard 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 3:00:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 3:00:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 3:00:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 3:00:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 3:00:21 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I am new taking Digital Picture's so this camera is working for me so far. I am still learning how to use it. Any suggestions on the camera would be great.
8/24/2003 3:00:21 PM
 
Shirley Martin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 4:43:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 4:43:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 4:43:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 4:43:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2003 4:43:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
So far so good. Did a lot reading reviews and it has everything I was looking for. I have only used in on Auto, but I will be using other modes in future since I only purchased it a week ago.
7/26/2003 4:43:53 PM
 
Hishamuddin Bin Abdullah 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 12:24:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 12:24:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 12:24:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 12:24:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 12:24:13 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This my best picture I have. I use only a cheap digital camera. Nikon 3100. I'm from malaysia. I'm new in photography and very small kowledge in photoghrapy. But I think I can study and study.
7/17/2003 12:24:13 PM
 
George T. Waite 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 11:54:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 11:54:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 11:54:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 11:54:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 11:54:24 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera has a very approchable interface that is set up for beginners. I would like to have more advanced controls and settings options. It does have good color representation and many setting options. It has a nice sturdy case even though it is plastic. There is no microphone available for sounds in video clips.
7/14/2003 11:54:24 AM
 
Leah Marshall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/4/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:05:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:05:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:05:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:05:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:05:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Over all a great little digital camera .A little delay in shutter. Difficulty focusing in macro. Difficulty focusing in low light.
6/17/2003 12:05:54 PM
 

60 Reviews  

Buy Coolpix 3100 Digital Camera from Amazon.com