Coolpix 2100 Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Steaming
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 2100 Digital Camera

Features:
2-megapixel sensor creates 1,600 x 1,200 images for prints up to 8 x 10 inches
3x optical zoom
One-touch upload to PC; 14 scene modes
Includes 16 MB Starter CompactFlash card
Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


54 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
anonymous  2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 5:37:26 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 5:37:26 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 5:37:26 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 5:37:26 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 5:37:26 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It takes clear pictures but you cannot adjust the exposure.
6/22/2006 5:37:26 PM
 
Catlin Garrison 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 10:31:12 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 10:31:12 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 10:31:12 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 10:31:12 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 10:31:12 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
This camera is convenient to snap a bunch but leaves much to be desired in terms of steady exposure. It is virtually impossible to get clarity and focus without the flash or in long exposures like night setting which effectively defeats teh purpose of having those settings. I rely on multiple shots to get one that may live up to my standards. It lacks exposure control but then this is to be expected from a point-and-click auto-focus digital. It is good for spontaneous shooting but don't depend on it for that must-have perfect shot. Moderately decent for macro setting though cannot truly zoom to up close and personal shot of subject, requires cropping.
6/15/2006 10:31:12 AM
 
Sue Turner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 2:29:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 2:29:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 2:29:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 2:29:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 2:29:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I loved this camera - it was my first digital camera and made my life both easier and more fun! It was loaned to a friend as a starter when my kids gave me a Minolta Dimage 50 which became the next camera I love!
6/12/2006 2:29:48 PM
 
Maria Coulson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2006
mariacoulsonphotography.com
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 11:56:39 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 11:56:39 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 11:56:39 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 11:56:39 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 11:56:39 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
O.K. for a beginer
4/5/2006 11:56:39 AM
 
Kristin Ray 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 10:26:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 10:26:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 10:26:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 10:26:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 10:26:14 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
easy to use.
3/20/2006 10:26:14 PM
 
Lalitha Subramanian 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 11:37:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 11:37:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 11:37:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 11:37:59 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 11:37:59 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
its a good one- bunch of goodies jumbled up making a good featueful camera...only if had a small microph to capture the audio...would have been along with the top ones in the clan.
3/8/2006 11:37:59 AM
 
Lalitha Subramanian 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 11:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 11:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 11:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 11:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2006 11:37:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
its a good one- bunch of goodies jumbled up making a good featueful camera...only if had a small microph to capture the audio...would have been along with the top ones in the clan.
3/8/2006 11:37:49 AM
 
Ayesha Aftab Ali 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 12:15:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 12:15:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 12:15:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 12:15:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2006 12:15:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera ia Just like its name COOL... It is so easy to carry it cause its hand full only in size.. Secondly it has all the options for every occasion back groud light, day ,fire work, extereme close ups and just all....so its I like having it
3/2/2006 12:15:23 AM
 
Steve J. Pellegrino 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 5:12:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 5:12:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 5:12:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 5:12:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 5:12:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is easy to use for beginners and experienced photographers. what i don't like too much is the time between pressing the button and the actual picture taking.
2/18/2006 5:12:23 PM
 
Dave Bell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2006 8:04:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2006 8:04:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2006 8:04:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2006 8:04:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/28/2006 8:04:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great little point and shoot camera, my first digital.
1/28/2006 8:04:43 AM
 
Omer Jamal 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 11:40:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 11:40:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 11:40:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 11:40:07 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 11:40:07 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Reliable, Smart, Good and Correct color. It is perfect during day and in good light. Functions and options are very useful. However, in poor lighting conditions performance of camera decreases. Macro is perfect.
12/11/2005 11:40:07 AM
 
Jody Miller 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 1:36:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 1:36:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 1:36:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 1:36:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 1:36:39 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's been a great camera for a first time digital user. It has a wonderful macro mode that I like playing around with. With only 2.0 megapixels it does well for the snapshots of daily life. This camera is limited only because it is small and inexpensive. I would like to have a state-of-the-art camera with all the bells and whistles.
10/22/2005 1:36:39 PM
 
Katrice Ami Dowis 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 4:09:48 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 4:09:48 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 4:09:48 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 4:09:48 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2005 4:09:48 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
the good is its small and takes very good high quality photos...the bad is the monitor screen its up your batteries .
10/19/2005 4:09:48 PM
 
Ash Smith 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 6:00:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 6:00:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 6:00:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 6:00:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 6:00:01 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Wish I had a better one
10/8/2005 6:00:01 PM
 
Carly Hudson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:13:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:13:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:13:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:13:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 6:13:48 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It has been great for scenery, but I've had trouble getting any decent people photos. I do think when I upgrade, I will go with Nikon again!
10/6/2005 6:13:48 AM
 
Rob B. Lambert
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/4/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 3:13:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 3:13:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 3:13:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 3:13:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 3:13:52 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Awesome little camera, can do many things and takes incredible pics for it's size.
10/4/2005 3:13:52 PM
 
Alva N. Rosado 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 3:03:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 3:03:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 3:03:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 3:03:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2005 3:03:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I had this camera for 2 years and I loved it! It takes great pictures, it's a nice, little convinient in your purse size and it has a lot of little features. I don't like the AA batteries, they tend to run out too quickly.
10/4/2005 3:03:41 PM
 
Pamela Boudreaux 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 10:06:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 10:06:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 10:06:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 10:06:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 10:06:00 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Takes great outdoor pic's, the one's inside are okay but sometimes have to adjust
9/27/2005 10:06:00 PM
 
Shawn C. Giusti 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 10:35:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 10:35:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 10:35:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 10:35:40 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2005 10:35:40 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice first camera ! Will upgrade for hobby yet cont. to use this as the take around.
8/21/2005 10:35:40 AM
 
Delta Lu 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 2:20:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 2:20:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 2:20:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 2:20:32 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2005 2:20:32 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Nikon Coolpix 2100 is my favorite digital camera.
6/27/2005 2:20:32 PM
 
Melinda C. Robbins 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 12:01:04 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 12:01:04 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 12:01:04 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 12:01:04 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2005 12:01:04 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I love my camera in the sense that it is my first digital camera and it is easy for me to work. I don't like the restrictions on pixels, zoom, and no lenses.
6/2/2005 12:01:04 AM
 
Patricia K. Morgan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 9:03:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 9:03:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 9:03:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 9:03:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2005 9:03:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is amazing. I've never had a digital camera to give me the quality of picture that this one has. The only negative is the delay on the snap. Sometimes it takes several tries to get the right shot, especially if you are working with live subjects.
5/16/2005 9:03:51 AM
 
padmini muddu 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 7:58:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 7:58:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 7:58:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 7:58:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2005 7:58:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
its a girft from my brother.even if i have d100 somewhere down the future wtill i will say this is my best camera
5/10/2005 7:58:53 PM
 
Peter L. Petraitis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 5:51:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 5:51:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 5:51:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 5:51:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 5:51:38 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera especially how it deals with perspective. It is easy to handle and set and the batteries last longer than most digitals. It is small and light and not too small as some newer ones tend to be for someone with larger hands. The only downside is it is limited in terms of light range. It doesn't deal well with shadow--you have to be careful to figure out light capacity before shooting. Shadowy parts of pictures tend to end up darker than in real life. Very annoying when you've framed something you think is fabulous only to be disappointed later.
4/26/2005 5:51:38 AM
 
Jasmine I. Siefman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:13:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:13:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:13:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:13:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 7:13:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best thing I love about this camera is it is so DEPENDABLE. It is with me all the time because it is small and easy to use. The only downer for me would be the average 3X Optical Zoom.
4/14/2005 7:13:24 PM
 
Florence Womacks
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/23/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 6:03:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 6:03:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 6:03:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 6:03:54 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 6:03:54 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera mainly for macro shots. I really think I would benefit from a SLR digital camera.
4/7/2005 6:03:54 PM
 
Dani Ramdani 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 8:18:58 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 8:18:58 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 8:18:58 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 8:18:58 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 8:18:58 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Best For Instant Use
4/5/2005 8:18:58 AM
 
Meredith L. Kusterer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 12:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 12:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 12:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 12:30:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2005 12:30:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's very easy to use and small and lightweight. The only downside is that the flash takes forever, and sometimes you miss the moment, that "Kodak Moment".
3/18/2005 12:30:02 PM
 
Cindy A. Farber 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 4:37:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 4:37:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 4:37:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 4:37:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2005 4:37:42 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very clear and crisp digital photos.
3/16/2005 4:37:42 PM
 
haroon seedat 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 5:29:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 5:29:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 5:29:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 5:29:26 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2005 5:29:26 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great camera
dropped it a few times but took the knocks without a problem
compared my canera with a sony cybershot 7mp
guess what, my camera produced a sharper photo
it was only during the magnifying process the sony cybershot won
but who prints pictures the sizes of a house wall
if you thinking of purchasing one, sorry too late
this camera has been discontinued
happens to everything that is made to last
3/3/2005 5:29:26 AM
 
Christine Ostrander 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 10:19:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 10:19:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 10:19:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 10:19:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 10:19:21 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Nikon takes very good pictures for a 2 mega pixel camera but the flash at night leaves a little to be desired.
2/2/2005 10:19:21 AM
 
Gonzalo M. Rodriguez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/17/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 7:06:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 7:06:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 7:06:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 7:06:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 7:06:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great colors and macro.
1/17/2005 7:06:08 AM
 
Murray Landauer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/9/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For an inexpensive digital camera it produces good sharp outdoor pictures with vivid color. What this camera lacks is the ability to take good indoor photo's without a lot of light. Redeye is a big problem, even in redeye reduction mode.
1/10/2005 8:24:43 AM
 
Damien Rave 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 10:02:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 10:02:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 10:02:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 10:02:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 10:02:23 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A great little point-n-shoot box... for the tiny price. Great warm tones, easy to use, fits in my (big) pocket and overall good quality. Cons : - beginner's camera : no manual controls - only 2MP, although it doesn't prevent you to do good shots - hard to get well-focused pics : AF is not that efficient
11/25/2004 10:02:23 AM
 
Joseph D. Rzeczycki 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 5:54:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 5:54:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 5:54:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 5:54:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2004 5:54:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think that for what it is, it is super good. I've tried a few other major brand digicams but the Nikon was in my opinion the best by a long shot. I suppose that we all have different tastes, but this is a sweet little camera. The colors are very real and deep. The blue sky colors are awesome. Other cams I've tried do not show a deep blue sky on a clear day. You can also clearly see any clouds. It makes for beautiful skies. Any outdoor shot is accented by a pretty sky.
I recently sold my Nikon FE-2 SLR. This makes a super first digital cam.

I give it two thumbs up. This little cam takes great photos.
Try one. You won't be sorry.

JR

10/5/2004 5:54:03 PM
 
Philip W. Rilatos 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 1:55:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 1:55:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 1:55:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 1:55:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2004 1:55:32 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Not a bad little camera. With a little work you can pull off some wonderful pictures. The only downfall is its a battery hog. Energizer Lithium e2 batteries seem to work the best with the camera from my experience.
9/22/2004 1:55:32 AM
 
Chris Hardy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/24/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 3:26:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 3:26:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 3:26:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 3:26:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 3:26:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Having used this petite camera now for nearly a year,I feel a fuller review is appropriate.As I write,this camera is now discontinued,superceded by the 3200,but shopping around can still uncover one.
If all you want is 7x5 prints,photographs taken on the 2100 and printed commercially will deliver crisp,colourful images.
I have even blown a sharp and contrasty image of the Leaning Tower of Pisa up in photoshop to nearly 20x16,and it still holds colour and detail;when viewed from a reasonable distance it is comparable to anything I enlarged this big on my SLR!
I also own a 4300,but tend to carry the 2100 in my pocket therefore it still gets used more - the LCD screen is easier to see in bright light,and 2100 camera responds faster and more intuitively.
It makes a great notebook - when we go out furniture shopping for example,I take pictures of the items we're interested in to look at later.
The 2100 has a good range of shutter speeds,though like the 4300,the apertures are a bit of a con,since Nikon use a filter device to cut down the light.
The scene modes are useful - especially the museum one,though mostly I leave it set to manual,having tweaked the settings the way I like them.
The flash is limited,only lighting the nearest object/person.
Unlike the person above,I have found it takes very decent landscape shots,and have had no problems with it's autofocus.
I trusted this camera enough to use it exclusively on a trip to Tuscany last autumn,and it did not let me down.
Why only 8/10?
Because of the limited aperture arrangement mainly.
9/1/2004 3:26:18 PM
 
Brenda  Potts 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 6:45:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 6:45:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 6:45:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 6:45:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2004 6:45:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am pretty happy with the camera. It is small and it takes great pictures. I am having fun playing with it and taking pictures.
8/19/2004 6:45:24 PM
 
RJ Taylor
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/31/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 10:43:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 10:43:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 10:43:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 10:43:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 10:43:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great shots out of a little, pretty basic thing. As with all point-n-shoot cameras the lack of manual control is a bit of a hindrance sometimes, (it wants to do everything for you and in the process will focus on the wrong thing, sometimes over/under expose etc,) but I travelled with it for ten months around SE Asia and Australia and it's given me some fantastic shots of some amazing places.
8/12/2004 10:43:40 AM
 
Dan Heacock 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 6:12:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 6:12:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 6:12:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 6:12:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 6:12:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera that started it all for me. Although it is only two megapixels, it performs outstandingly for what it is. I wish it provided more manual control of shutter speed/etc. but other than that it was a great camera. Now I have upgraded to the Canon Powershot A75 though, which has more options and control. I still give the nikon an 8 because it served its purpose and more during its use.
6/30/2004 6:12:45 PM
 
Leslie Fellers 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 11:33:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 11:33:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 11:33:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 11:33:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2004 11:33:45 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I was a first-time digital camera buyer, and purchased this one on the advice of friends. It has proved to be an excellent teacher, I have been able to take many wonderful photos with it. My only problem now is that I've recently learned some tips and tricks of taking pictures and wish I had a bigger camera to play with, but this is good for now.
6/30/2004 11:33:45 AM
 
Dan Del Pezzo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 7:01:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 7:01:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 7:01:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 7:01:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 7:01:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very easy to use and it takes great pictures for a 2MP camera. At full resolution I get great 8X10 pictures. The programmed settings cover almost all situations - no complaints
6/24/2004 7:01:46 PM
 
Tausha Gittemeier 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 7:17:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 7:17:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 7:17:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 7:17:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 7:17:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nikon Coolpix 2100 Digital Camera is easy to use especially for beginners. The vivid color quality is great. For only 2.0 megapixals, this camera is efficient. Will upgrade to higher megapixals when purchasing next camera.
5/17/2004 7:17:51 PM
 
Alvin Eisom 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 7:32:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 7:32:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 7:32:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 7:32:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 7:32:56 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a cool fun camera, good to have.
4/6/2004 7:32:56 PM
 
Ryan N. McCrea 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 1:31:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 1:31:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 1:31:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 1:31:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 1:31:39 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera is a wonderful buy for those of us who like to be able to point and shoot and yet want to have the option of a few bells and whistles. You are able to change settings and create effects that you are interested in. For me it was a lower priced camera with good features, it was small enough to carry with me while on emergency and fire calls to catch that incredible shot that just happens.
2/29/2004 1:31:39 PM
 
RG Rottschalk
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 3:30:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 3:30:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 3:30:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 3:30:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 3:30:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Superior macro, excellent portrait within 9 feet, "iffy" on landscapes. Nice camera but I let my kids borrow it now.
1/27/2004 3:30:52 PM
 
Craig J. Roper 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 1:09:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 1:09:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 1:09:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 1:09:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 1:09:20 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Captures colors brilliantly and is easy to use, but I'm frequently charging batteries.
1/27/2004 1:09:20 PM
 
Travis J. Feltner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 7:02:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 7:02:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 7:02:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 7:02:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 7:02:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Found the camera to be very pro like small and easy to use
12/28/2003 7:02:17 PM
 
James T.  3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 1:39:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 1:39:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 1:39:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 1:39:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 1:39:19 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good resolution, good quality, and it is very small which is good when trying to get a great photo.
12/27/2003 1:39:19 PM
 
Chris Hardy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/24/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 5:51:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 5:51:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 5:51:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 5:51:52 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 5:51:52 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought this as a point and shoot alternative for my family to use and ended up using it more than my Fufifilm F601!! A simple to use camera,it nevertheless allows some creative control through the M and Themes settings. The 2 megapixel quality is good for 7x5 especially given the sharpness of the lens. Maybe I'm just getting lazy!
11/9/2003 5:51:52 AM
 
Tara Brott 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 9:56:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 9:56:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 9:56:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 9:56:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2003 9:56:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My first digital camera and I did a lot of research before I bought it. Takes great pictures and is pretty easy to operate.
11/6/2003 9:56:10 AM
 
Sophie KS Low 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 3:39:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 3:39:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 3:39:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 3:39:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 3:39:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to grip design, relatively long battery life, access to numerous picture modes (especially useful when capturing on-the-spot moments).
10/30/2003 3:39:57 PM
 
Malisa N. Dooley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 2:30:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 2:30:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 2:30:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 2:30:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2003 2:30:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a wonderful camera that is brand new and takes great pictures.
8/23/2003 2:30:41 PM
 
Jasef J. Casas 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 12:23:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 12:23:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 12:23:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 12:23:56 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2003 12:23:56 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A good beginner's camera that is fun and easy to use for anyone. It's 14 easy modes assist anyone to every occassion and situation.
8/7/2003 12:23:56 AM
 

54 Reviews  

Buy Coolpix 2100 Digital Camera from Amazon.com