BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Dimage S414 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Vintage
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage S414  Digital Camera

Features:
4.0 megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create photo-quality prints up to 11 x 14 and medium-quality poster-size prints
4x optical plus 2.2x digital (8.8x total) zoom lens with autofocus
Capture interval time of 0.8 seconds and continuous advance speed of 1.3 frames per second
Included 16 MB CompactFlash memory card holds 11 images at 2272 x 1704 HQ setting
Powered by 4 AA batteries (alkalines included); connects with Macs and PCs via USB port

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 42 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Subroto Sen

member since: 11/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Minolta DiMAGE S414 is a great digicam for a beginner who wants to grow. It has amazing manual controls like full manual exposure, 'on demand grid' on LCD, Live Histogram, TIFF Mode storage (though very slow process). The Minolta GT Lense (35~140mm)APO is a reasonably superior optical quality than many competitor brands. It's a bit bulky but the ergonomics is impressive. You have to use high powered NiMH Batteries and keep fully charged one spare set handy all the time.

Downside is the flimsy battery lid and the lid that closes the slot for CF card. Another unfavourable feature is the 'off center' tripod mounting thread. The Mode Switch is badly placed and tends to get triggered easily. But these are things which can be handled once you know about these.
I am extensively using this digicam for the past three years and I am getting satisfactory results in 90% cases.

1/30/2007 10:04:27 AM
 
Stephanie Mueller

member since: 6/10/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use, light weight. Takes great macro and general shots. I wish I had better zoom capabilities.
6/10/2006 9:01:28 PM
 
Erin M. 

member since: 4/14/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is great for beginners. It has many manual options and modes. Its downsides are bad camera shake, eats up the batteries, and my battery cover cracked.
4/14/2006 11:55:07 AM
 
Edward M. Mattis

member since: 6/29/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good resolution and features for what was my first Digital Camera
11/4/2005 4:29:08 PM
 
Raymond T. Young

member since: 7/30/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like the ease of handling, it's fairly simple to understand. Although, it's not the newest one on the market, it still gets the job done, and it's in great shape. I love the video capabilities, sound, still photos that I can take, the lighting adjustment. I don't like the fact that the zoom is limited. Other than that, I am satisfied. The camera is fairly quick, although, not the fastest.
7/30/2005 10:05:59 AM
 
Sara J. West
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/25/2005
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
Had to be in shop for weeks. Then when returned it reverted to same problem. Focus went out on it.
6/25/2005 8:06:20 PM
 
Nate Newsom

member since: 6/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i cant control the apature and shutter speed efficently on this. its also not desighned for that either. its alot easyer for me to use this now and save my film cameras for other shots.
6/14/2005 7:25:44 AM
 
Bill J. Devaney

member since: 3/31/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
4 megapixels. I like the camera's quality. I also have a Sony 2 meg that takes just a good a picture. When buying again I will buy Sony.
3/31/2005 9:05:00 PM
 
None None

member since: 3/18/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
eh, it's ok.
3/18/2005 9:08:18 PM
 
LISA HALPIN

member since: 2/17/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I REALLY ENJOY THE SIZE OF THE CAMERA. iT IS NOT LARGE OR BULKY FEELING. i GET REALLY GOOD QUALITY PICTURES FROM THE CAMERA.
3/1/2005 9:59:26 AM
 
Amanda A. Lewis
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I can do almost anything I want, from black and white to recording videos, it is very versatile. Although evrytime I move it the wrong way some small outer piece is breaking. I
2/28/2005 11:16:04 PM
 

First 10 of 42 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Dimage S414  Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.