Dimage 7i Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

High key palace
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage 7i Digital Camera

Features:
5.24 megapixel (4.95 effective megapixels) sensor creates 2560 x 1950 images for prints at 13 by 17 inches and beyond
7x optical plus 2x digital (14x total) zoom lens with autofocus
Included 16 MB CompactFlash card holds 5 images at default resolution
Movie mode captures up to 60 seconds of video with audio
Powered by 4 AA NiMH rechargeable batteries (charger included); connects with Macs and PCs via USB connector

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 87 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Edward A. Gaudette 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2007 11:55:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2007 11:55:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2007 11:55:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2007 11:55:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2007 11:55:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
takes great photo's .hard on batteries
11/15/2007 11:55:15 AM
 
Alan Meyer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2007 3:57:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2007 3:57:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2007 3:57:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2007 3:57:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2007 3:57:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A very versatile and well optioned camera for the money. The manual zoom ring is a bonus and the choice of controls from flash compensation to exposure compensation to custom white balance and manual focus option is excellent in a compact zoom. The ability of the optical viewfinder to flip up negates the need for a flip out and up LCD display, although the resolution is far from good. It does save you from lying prone on the floor for low level shots.
However, RAW write times are long, so you can't be in a hurry with this camera.
2/12/2007 3:57:01 AM
 
Gary A. Sheldon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 8:42:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 8:42:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 8:42:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 8:42:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 8:42:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very Good Camera. Easy to use, good optics.
7/6/2006 8:42:32 PM
 
Jong wan Bang
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/28/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 8:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 8:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 8:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 8:30:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 8:30:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
good.
7/5/2006 8:30:12 PM
 
Mary J. Wolfe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/23/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:16:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:16:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:16:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:16:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:16:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a versatile, easy to use camera. It's only problem is that shooting images in camera raw format is slow - about 30 seconds between clicks.
7/4/2006 8:16:00 PM
 
Tressie Davis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2006
Contact Tressie
Tressie's Gallery
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 9:49:23 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 9:49:23 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 9:49:23 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 9:49:23 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 9:49:23 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Prefer my digital SLR, but use the Dimage 7i on the beach and other places I do not want to take my SLR.
4/4/2006 9:49:23 AM
 
Sue Brown-Moseman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/30/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:35:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:35:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:35:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:35:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:35:04 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I haven't used it enough yet to provide an honest evaluation. I bought it from a friend in January.
3/29/2006 1:35:04 PM
 
Judie Fouchaux 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 12:07:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 12:07:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 12:07:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 12:07:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2006 12:07:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Like its speed, ease of beginning use and opportunity to do and learn much more. It's a bit heavy to carry around every day.
1/13/2006 12:07:19 PM
 
Kelly L. Schultz 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 3:27:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 3:27:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 3:27:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 3:27:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 3:27:38 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The camera is great for macro shots. I really enjoyed it for the first few years I used. What I don't like is the speed of it. When you take a large file size picture it takes forever for it to download it on to the memory. So taking mulitple shots at good quality is unlikely.
1/1/2006 3:27:38 PM
 
Anne Marie Elias
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/30/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 10:32:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 10:32:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 10:32:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 10:32:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 10:32:13 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my first Digital SLR and I am very attached to it... BUT the time is coming when I will be upgrading from a prosumer camera to a real professional camera. I love the ease of use with my DiMage 7i, but I really need to be able to use a variety of lenses and that is just not possible with my current camera.
10/31/2005 10:32:13 PM
 
charlotte sartell 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 7:42:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 7:42:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 7:42:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 7:42:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2005 7:42:44 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like my camera.. the only really bad feature is that the battery does not hold a long charge.
10/30/2005 7:42:44 AM
 

First 10 of 87 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Dimage 7i Digital Camera from Amazon.com