Dimage 7Hi Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

The Snake Range
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage 7Hi Digital Camera

Features:
5.24 megapixel (5.0 effective megapixels) sensor creates 2560 x 1950 images for prints at 13 by 17 inches and beyond
7x optical plus 2x digital (14x total) zoom lens with autofocus
Included 16 MB CompactFlash card holds 5 images at default resolution
60 second movie mode records at 15 fps; built-in flash synchronization terminal
Connects with Macs and PCs via USB connector; powered by four NiMH rechargeable batteries

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 56 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Heather L. Bollinger 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:13:10 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:13:10 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:13:10 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:13:10 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 4:13:10 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was my first digital and i did like it but it is a little slow for capturing equestrian events. I do like it for my close-ups of flowers.
4/18/2006 4:13:10 AM
 
Charles Colchamiro 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 10:15:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 10:15:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 10:15:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 10:15:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 10:15:47 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I really liked this camera a lot. It was a good stepping stone from p&s to dslr, but I never really learned how to use it fully. It's terrific at ISO 100, pretty good at 200 but noise became a big problem when you go higher. All in all, though, I like it. Good zoom.
4/7/2006 10:15:47 AM
 
Ann `. Cordier 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 6:19:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 6:19:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 6:19:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 6:19:11 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 6:19:11 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
its a good camera ill send some pics from it
3/13/2006 6:19:11 PM
 
Steve Sandefer 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 5:07:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 5:07:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 5:07:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 5:07:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 5:07:34 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nice little camera, but prefer a digital slr. I also prefer a bigger lcd screen for viewing pictures.
3/4/2006 5:07:34 AM
 
Steve Sandefer 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 5:07:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 5:07:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 5:07:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 5:07:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 5:07:09 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nice little camera, but prefer a digital slr. I also prefer a bigger lcd screen for viewing pictures.
3/4/2006 5:07:09 AM
 
Steve Sandefer 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 2:58:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 2:58:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 2:58:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 2:58:15 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 2:58:15 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nice camera for the money.
3/3/2006 2:58:15 AM
 
Susan Hardman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/18/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 5:53:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 5:53:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 5:53:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 5:53:20 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 5:53:20 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the ergonomics of it. It's not heavy and feels comfortable to use. It takes great close up shots. I don't like that it doesn't a have sepia option, nor does it take good telephoto shots.
2/18/2006 5:53:20 AM
 
Valentina Toth 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 4:52:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 4:52:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 4:52:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 4:52:58 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 4:52:58 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This camera was the first thing close to a proper digital SLR I had. I wasn't too happy with it. It's very fragile, I lost the eyepiece after only a month, and the flashlight spingle (the mechanism that pops the flashlight up) broke after some use too. The camera is sometimes reluctant to focus, especially if I'm using a close up lens, and manual focusing is out of the question, since there is no optical viewfinder, and you can't see things right on the LCD screen. It consumes batteries very fast. Also, it's a pitty it has only a built in lens, even though the zoom span is allright. Another disapointment I had with it was finding out it created a hotspot when using an infra red filter. It's better than a compact digital camera, but only just.
2/12/2006 4:52:58 PM
 
Miriam Borg
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2006 2:49:18 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2006 2:49:18 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2006 2:49:18 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2006 2:49:18 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2006 2:49:18 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Still getting used to thid camera but so far so good lovely pictures and true colour but batteries are soaked up really quickly
1/7/2006 2:49:18 PM
 
Austin K. Chang 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 6:17:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 6:17:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 6:17:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 6:17:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 6:17:43 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's a great camera for me and this camera will step up to DSLR.
12/7/2005 6:17:43 PM
 
Darryl V. Humphrey 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 8:57:38 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 8:57:38 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 8:57:38 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 8:57:38 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 8:57:38 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The Minolta Dimage 7hi is a wonderful camera to use when taking great pictures. It has a host of wonderful features all in one package including the drive speeds for shooting different types of events, whether they're still portraits or a plane in flight. This camera was valued around $1200 and change but I purchased it for around $700 and change in May 2003 when the price began to drop. Now Minolta (now named Konica-Minolta) has a similar camera out on the market as well as a line of other new cameras since the two companies merged. I could truly say that this 7hi was my first digital SLR and I snapped and printed out some great 8x10 glossy and black and white 5 megapixel pictures with it. I'll probably still have this camera as a keepsake since I can no longer use it because the EVF function died. When the electronic viewfinder is no longer working, you know it's time to purchase a new camera. Since I now use digital SLR type cameras to shoot pictures, I will be sure to purchase a camera equipped with a through-the-lens viewfinder and is built to hold different interchangeable lenses. Therefore, my ability to point, focus and shoot different objects is less limited. It was wonderful to own and use my Dimage 7hi for nearly two and a half years. I will resume taking more pictures in 2006 when I purchage a new digital SLR. I'm glad that many of these companies are coming out with new and less expensive higher megapixel digital SLRs. I'm definitely planning to invest in a new camera for 2006 (Olympus Evolt 500). As I grow, so does the equipment that I use. No more electronic viewfinders, fixed lenses, adapters and external screw-on 2x lenses or so-so external flashes. To me, they're overrated. More megapixels, interchangeable lenses, powerful flashes and a through-the-lens viewfinder means more freedom to capture what you're shooting with even better results.
11/1/2005 8:57:38 AM
 

First 10 of 56 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Dimage 7Hi Digital Camera from Amazon.com