EasyShare LS443 Digital Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

early morning
View photos created with this camera

The EasyShare LS443 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 4-megapixel sensor captures 2,448 x 1,632 images for prints at sizes up to 20 x 30 inches
  • Autofocus lens with 3x optical/3.3x digital (10x total) zoom
  • Store photos on 16 MB internal memory or optional Secure Digital/MultiMedia cards
  • Connects with PCs and Macs via USB port; includes EasyShare LS443 camera dock
  • Powered by Kodak EasyShare Li-Ion rechargeable battery

    © Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    38 Reviews  

    Average Rating: 3 out of 5

    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Rock *. Star 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This camera has a lot of differnt settings and it has video and sound.
    It's a pretty nice camera. I only paid $89.93 for mine at Walmart.
    9/11/2008 7:15:05 AM
     
    Karen  0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2008 9:01:48 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2008 9:01:48 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2008 9:01:48 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2008 9:01:48 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2008 9:01:48 AM
    Rating: 0 out of 5
    Purchased the whole set up which was then close to $600. when it first came out. Barely three years later, the lens refused to retract giving an error code. I contacted Kodak twice and they insisted they could not offer repairs or help!! I took it by a reputable camera repair shop and no luck. Has anyone found how to solve such an issue or do I just trash it all?
    1/9/2008 9:01:48 AM
     
    Lee Montgomery 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 8:25:08 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 8:25:08 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 8:25:08 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 8:25:08 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 8:25:08 PM
    Rating: 1.5 out of 5
    I was very satisfied with the pictures this camera took but the quality was horrible. The internal motor that opened the lens crapped out 2 times and it turns out Kodak knew of this problem but refused to support their product. I switched to the Canon Powershot SD630.
    6/27/2006 8:25:08 PM
     
    Pradip K. Ananda 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 4:19:18 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 4:19:18 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 4:19:18 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 4:19:18 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 4:19:18 PM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    I chose this camera because at the time, it seemed like the most for the money. It was a 4.1 Megapixel point-and-shoot with a 3.3x optical zoom. The first weekend I had it, I shot over 300 photos with it and the colors and clarity were beautiful. The menus were easy to use and the dial and thumbstick controls made it easy to change anything that I needed to while taking photos. Unfortunately, this camera stopped working on me while I was in a rainforest of Costa Rica due to moisture. Until that time, it had been a great first digital camera for me and had survived some very harsh conditions around the world while still taking beautiful pictures.
    4/28/2006 4:19:18 PM
     
    Dean L. Pittman 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:30:24 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:30:24 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:30:24 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:30:24 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:30:24 AM
    Rating: 1.5 out of 5
    This was a good point and shoot camera while it worked. The lense motor gear system broke 3 times sinse I purchased it new. This camera has never been dropped or used by children and has only taken less than 300 pictures. It seams to break while sitting on the dock and is not reliable when you need it. Stay Away From Kodak Products!!! The quality is gone!!
    4/26/2006 7:30:24 AM
     
    Jennifer L. Bennett 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:20:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:20:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:20:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:20:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 1:20:51 PM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    Basic camera...could zoom better
    2/27/2006 1:20:51 PM
     
    Tim Heimel
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/2/2006
    tim-heimel-photography.com
    1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 6:37:01 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 6:37:01 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 6:37:01 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 6:37:01 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2006 6:37:01 PM
    Rating: 1.5 out of 5
    My LS433 is long gone - I liked the camera, liked the lens, but was dismayed at the reliability of the camera. Paid 450.00 in 2002 - it lasted a little more than 1 year - then the shutter stuck closed. Repair estimate from Kodak was 150 to look at it. Sold as is on ebay and bought another for 120.00. It also died the same way about 2 months later. Sold as-is on ebay for 40.00. I would be wary of buying even a used LS433. Probably a good example of a camera that was launched with rave reviews - but was prone to expiration - right after the warranty ran out.
    1/26/2006 6:37:01 PM
     
    Amy Williams 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 6:58:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 6:58:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 6:58:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 6:58:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2006 6:58:03 PM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    This is a great point-and-shoot camera. It offers several options if you want to do more with your pictures - ie you can adjust exposure compensation, white balance, ISO, etc. It's not a digital SLR. It's money well spent if you are looking for an affordable point and shoot.
    1/2/2006 6:58:03 PM
     
    Anthony Sigillito 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 12:20:21 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 12:20:21 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 12:20:21 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 12:20:21 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 12:20:21 PM
    Rating: 1.5 out of 5
    Good resolution, but that is about all. I now use this camera when I go backpacking. A few months after getting it the lens quit extending. I now have to pull it out when I turn on the camera. On top of that it has started to act "funny". Sometimes it randomly turns on or off or the lcd flickers. There is something seriously wrong with the electronics of this camera. Kodak will not exchange or repair this camera. They do offer an upgrade though for something around $200. Other online reviewers have had the same problems. Buyer Beware
    10/18/2005 12:20:21 PM
     
    Cindy L. Gill
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/29/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 6:27:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 6:27:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 6:27:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 6:27:16 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 6:27:16 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    For a point and shoot camera, it is great!
    10/11/2005 6:27:16 PM
     
    Marcia Good 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 7:42:23 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 7:42:23 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 7:42:23 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 7:42:23 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2005 7:42:23 PM
    Rating: 2 out of 5
    It's the one I have... it's accompanied me for a long time and it's probably on it's last legs. But it is compact and easy to use. I don't care for the fact that the "best" category is still not that good of an original for using in Photoshop, etc.
    9/11/2005 7:42:23 PM
     
    Christo T. Philip 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 5:29:46 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 5:29:46 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 5:29:46 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 5:29:46 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 5:29:46 AM
    Rating: 1.5 out of 5
    Camera has had a broken lens gear mechanism three times in two years.
    7/28/2005 5:29:46 AM
     
    Ralph L. Edwards 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 7:11:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 7:11:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 7:11:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 7:11:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 7:11:44 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I like its ease of use. I like its size. I wish I had a greater optical zoom.
    7/6/2005 7:11:44 AM
     
    Aaron  Reyes
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 4:20:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 4:20:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 4:20:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 4:20:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2005 4:20:07 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Decent camera.
    6/28/2005 4:20:07 PM
     
    Curtis D. Almeter
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/9/2005
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 1:41:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 1:41:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 1:41:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 1:41:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 1:41:17 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    i found that this camera was a good all around camera, great for people that want something easy to use but dont dont want to sacrifice picture quality. had a great auto mode as well. cons were that the one i owned had a cheaply constructed zoom lens and you had to be pretty gentle with it. (finally ended up breaking on me) (when travling a hard camera case is a must)
    5/11/2005 1:41:17 PM
     
    Niall Mccafferty 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:32:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:32:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:32:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:32:41 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:32:41 PM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    It's ok for beginners!
    3/8/2005 1:32:41 PM
     
    Tommy F. Gilleland 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 11:42:58 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 11:42:58 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 11:42:58 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 11:42:58 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2005 11:42:58 AM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    Great camera, good starter camera. Easy to use.
    2/10/2005 11:42:58 AM
     
    Mistie L. Wielang 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2004 7:21:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2004 7:21:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2004 7:21:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2004 7:21:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2004 7:21:39 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Its good but I would like a more high tech one
    9/20/2004 7:21:39 PM
     
    Gail Clark 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 2:56:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 2:56:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 2:56:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 2:56:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 2:56:45 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I really like this camera. Sometimes it is a little slow taking pictures, but most of the time it does really good. I would like a better zoom.
    9/13/2004 2:56:45 PM
     
    Mary  Mullowney 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 5:32:14 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 5:32:14 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 5:32:14 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 5:32:14 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 5:32:14 AM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    This camera is just right for me as I'm only an amatuer photographer but a Photoshop Professional
    9/7/2004 5:32:14 AM
     
    Humayun Rizwan
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/16/2004
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 9:44:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 9:44:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 9:44:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 9:44:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2004 9:44:08 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Its an excellent camera. Very easy to use. The indoor results are not as great but I love it and took some great pictures with it that I'd like to share with others.
    8/17/2004 9:44:08 AM
     
    Dana F. Greenwood Sr 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 5:49:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 5:49:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 5:49:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 5:49:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2004 5:49:48 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Really enjoy it.
    8/15/2004 5:49:48 PM
     
    Mary Carey 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2004 7:51:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2004 7:51:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2004 7:51:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2004 7:51:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/14/2004 7:51:41 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    This is my first digital camera and I did do lots of research before I purchased it. I was mainly driven by the price but I really like the docking station. It is always charged and ready. The lens is very good I think and the camera is nice and compact. I really don't have anything bad to say about it; I am just ready for more. Now if my budget would catch up...
    8/14/2004 7:51:41 PM
     
    Barbara Jones 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 11:35:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 11:35:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 11:35:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 11:35:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 11:35:47 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    Takes fantastic photos, easy to use, while at the same time is very adjustable for any situation.
    8/12/2004 11:35:47 PM
     
    S T 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 4:18:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 4:18:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 4:18:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 4:18:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 4:18:32 AM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    MACRO: TOO MUCH DİSTANCE FOR MACRO NİGHT: LONG TİME EXPOSURE İS NOT ENOUGH HANDLİNG: THE NAVİGATİON BUTTON CAUSE PROBLEM
    8/7/2004 4:18:32 AM
     
    James Shaffer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 12:22:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 12:22:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 12:22:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 12:22:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2004 12:22:39 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    It's easy to use and it puts extra color into your shots automatically.
    7/25/2004 12:22:39 PM
     
    Cindy S. Wilson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 9:25:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 9:25:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 9:25:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 9:25:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2004 9:25:55 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I love my camera, it is so easy to use and the Kodak Easyshare software is great for printing out great pictures
    6/27/2004 9:25:55 PM
     
    Ciinntexx  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 2:27:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 2:27:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 2:27:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 2:27:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2004 2:27:47 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I luv this camera. I am an amature photographer and it does all that I need it to do and the quality of the picture is truly remarkable, an almost sureal quality to the color and textures. The only thing that I have not personally been able to see in the options is to have self timer for multiple pictures with a count down. I have to press the option for self timer before taking each pic. This is something I wish I would have asked about when buying.
    6/15/2004 2:27:47 PM
     
    Peter J. McLaughlin 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:49:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:49:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:49:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:49:35 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2004 6:49:35 PM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    The Kodak LS443 is a fine point and shoot digital camera. The time delay from click to shoot is to long for any action shots. By the time the picture is taken, the action has changed. It's a 4.0 mg pix camera, great for travel due to it's size and quality of photos.
    3/31/2004 6:49:35 PM
     
    DaVida R. Jaqua 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 8:08:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 8:08:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 8:08:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 8:08:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 8:08:26 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I am a first time digital camera owner/operator. I had no idea whatsoever what to look for as options. I really like this camera and it's ease of operation. It takes care of my basic needs. The software still has me learning and discovering. I am a beginner when it comes to computers as well.
    2/29/2004 8:08:26 AM
     
    Peter J. McLaughlin
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/10/2004
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 5:54:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 5:54:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 5:54:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 5:54:16 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 5:54:16 AM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    Great digital camera for travel. It's small enough for the shirt pocket but with the 4.0 mega pixels, the photos come out great. Point & shoot, no thinking needed. Quick and Easy!
    2/11/2004 5:54:16 AM
     
    John P. Bergholm 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 6:36:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 6:36:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 6:36:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 6:36:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2004 6:36:58 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    love this camera; great for instant gratification. would like raw format and better ability to control exposure. but it's not bad for my first digital.
    1/29/2004 6:36:58 PM
     
    Shirley L. Giles 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 10:24:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 10:24:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 10:24:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 10:24:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 10:24:19 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I like the ease of use, but I dont like the fact that I can not turn off the flash and to take a night shot, its hard to hold the camera still enough without a tripod
    1/23/2004 10:24:19 AM
     
    Kathleen R. Struckle
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/26/2003
    Contact Kathleen
    Kathleen's Gallery
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 7:15:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 7:15:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 7:15:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 7:15:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 7:15:54 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    This is the first photograph with this camera. I thought it was great. Now I really have to learn how to use the digital. What a new world I entered.Kathy S.
    9/12/2003 7:15:54 AM
     
    Melody Wilson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 5:45:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 5:45:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 5:45:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 5:45:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2003 5:45:39 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    Really takes good pictures....eats batteries pretty fast
    8/17/2003 5:45:39 PM
     
    jackie jarvis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 8:36:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 8:36:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 8:36:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 8:36:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 8:36:43 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This is the easiest camera I have ever owned. The colors are very vivid. The lag time can be a pain.
    7/17/2003 8:36:43 PM
     
    Mary McHenry 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 10:42:27 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 10:42:27 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 10:42:27 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 10:42:27 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 10:42:27 AM
    Rating: 2 out of 5
    Takes great pictures at 4 megapixal. The cons are that you can't download raw files and you can't add on a flash so red eye is problem in doors.
    6/30/2003 10:42:27 AM
     
    Larry Lawhead
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/15/2002
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2003 1:55:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2003 1:55:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2003 1:55:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2003 1:55:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/10/2003 1:55:38 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I got my LS443 this Christmas (5+ months ago) to replace/upgrade from my 4 year old DC210. I've been very pleased with the 443 overall, with only a couple of minor issues. I'm still learninng all of the features, but there's a lot here for a moderate priced point&shoot.

    There's a lot more control than the DC210, using the "night" and "sport" settings is kinda like setting aperture or shutter priority. You can adjust the exposure +-2 stops. It's real good at low light....

    The 3x optical zoom is great, and the additional 3.3x digital zoom works much better than I thought it would!

    Negatives:
    I read that the file compression algorithm used on this camera by Kodak is pretty agressive, I noticed the file sizes are smaller than I expected. But I've made 8x10 prints that are ok.

    The latency on the 443 is pretty bad. If you want to take a lot of action shots, be aware. I don't know how it compares with other 4meg digital camers, though.

    My only real problem is with the power/mode selection switch. This is very easy to bump from off, which causes the lens to extend. I actually broke my first 443 within 2 weeks after this happened a couple of times on a trip to Arizona. But Kodak (and Circuit City) cheerlully replcaed the camera, and I bought a case.

    Bottom line: Until I can afford a Digital SLR, this is a great choice.

    6/10/2003 1:55:38 PM
     

    38 Reviews  

    Buy EasyShare LS443 Digital Camera from Amazon.com