EasyShare CX4200 Digital Camera


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Now this is my si...
View photos created with this camera

The EasyShare CX4200 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 2-megapixel sensor creates 1,600 x 1,200 images for sharp prints at sizes up to 8 x 10 inches
  • 2x digital autofocus zoom lens
  • Internal 16 MB memory holds approximately 20 images at default settings; MMC/SD slot for additional capacity
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port or optional dock
  • Uses 1 CR-V3 lithium battery, 2 AA batteries, or rechargeable battery pack (when used with optional dock)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


31 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Dawn M. Larson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 2:24:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 2:24:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 2:24:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 2:24:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 2:24:51 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the pictures it takes i dont like that you cant see the picture in the screen unless it is really bright
1/14/2006 2:24:51 PM
 
Steven P. Putney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 8:53:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 8:53:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 8:53:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 8:53:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2005 8:53:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
it is fully automatic,and i don't use it much lately as i got a couple much better ones,but it takes great pics. highly recommended for beginners.
9/20/2005 8:53:08 PM
 
Janis J. Anderson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/31/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 7:51:54 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 7:51:54 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 7:51:54 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 7:51:54 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 7:51:54 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
it takes fine little kid pictures. but when i got it, it was breaking and everything! it had only been used for about one year. i cant stand the quality of the pictures either, they're so horrible! the only reason i would get this one is if you have kids, especially babies that dont move as fast as kids playing sports. i payed way too much for not enough of a good camera. don't buy! the pictures also may look fine in the viewfinder, but once you print them out or even upload them onto your computer, they're scratchy lookingand blurry. again, don't buy this camera!
8/5/2005 7:51:54 AM
 
Sheri needham 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 2:37:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 2:37:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 2:37:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 2:37:33 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2005 2:37:33 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It takes great pics, but could use a better zoom.
7/21/2005 2:37:33 AM
 
Megan E. Wilkinson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 7:29:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 7:29:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 7:29:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 7:29:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 7:29:22 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This was a decent starter camera, but the battery life was really poor and close-up photos were usually blurry.
6/1/2005 7:29:22 AM
 
Donna Ballou 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 8:14:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 8:14:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 8:14:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 8:14:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 8:14:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my Kodak Easy Share CX4200 This is my first digital. It is easy to use and fun to play with.. each time used and a picture taken is a new learning experience.
5/25/2005 8:14:49 PM
 
Judy Carnefix 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 6:27:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 6:27:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 6:27:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 6:27:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 6:27:41 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
need more pixels but takes excellent pictures and is easy to use & share
5/2/2005 6:27:41 PM
 
Judy Carnefix 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 6:27:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 6:27:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 6:27:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 6:27:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 6:27:39 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
need more pixels but takes excellent pictures and is easy to use & share
5/2/2005 6:27:39 PM
 
Lorie R. Maloney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 7:31:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 7:31:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 7:31:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 7:31:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 7:31:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for learning digital. Great night shots.
3/6/2005 7:31:59 PM
 
Jay D. Rice 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 6:15:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 6:15:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 6:15:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 6:15:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2005 6:15:04 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
good all around camera
2/15/2005 6:15:04 PM
 
Christopher W. Shahan 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 11:17:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 11:17:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 11:17:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 11:17:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2005 11:17:26 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
When i bought this camera it was fine for me,but now i see all these fancy boogers and wished i had bought i different one.
1/15/2005 11:17:26 AM
 
Scott Schlicker 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2004 9:50:14 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2004 9:50:14 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2004 9:50:14 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2004 9:50:14 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2004 9:50:14 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
it's ok for a point and shoot. Nothing special but easy to use.
11/3/2004 9:50:14 AM
 
Jennifer L. Niskanen 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 10:12:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 10:12:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 10:12:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 10:12:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 10:12:46 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I wish I had more lighting control and I really wish I had an optical zoom. 2.0 megapixels seemed a good compromise of price and quality at the time. I had never used a digital camera before, but now I wish I could take higher quality photos, so I could blow them up larger than 8 x 10. I love the way it captures light and the software is easy to use, although it seems to crash frequently. I think thatís because I have an onlder computer though. Basically, itís a good beginners camera.
8/29/2004 10:12:46 PM
 
Jody E. Miller 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 5:19:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 5:19:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 5:19:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 5:19:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 5:19:51 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It gets the job done. Doesn't do real great from a long distance, but up close it does a great job
7/3/2004 5:19:51 PM
 
Kristy M. Wescott 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 11:13:30 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 11:13:30 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 11:13:30 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 11:13:30 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2004 11:13:30 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
As far as 2.0 megapixels cameras its pretty decent. It uses batteries pretty quickly, and the docking station has to be bought separately which is expensive. It only has digital zoom instead of optical zoom which tends to make the photos slightly fuzzy sometimes. The camera was a gift so I didn't choose or shop for it. Overall it takes decent photos as long as the subject is within about 20 feet or so.
7/1/2004 11:13:30 PM
 
Audra E. McKean
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 6:10:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 6:10:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 6:10:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 6:10:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2004 6:10:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was not an expensive camara...perfect for a digital beginner or even a more advanced photographer.. I love this little guy. So simple to use, takes great pictures...lots of fun..I take it everywhere. I give it an 8 due to a love for film, an appreciation for the old fashion way...I work in the industry at an optical lab..pulling film..processing..spotting..color correction..
4/4/2004 6:10:05 PM
 
Krysti M. Orella 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 9:52:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 9:52:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 9:52:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 9:52:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 9:52:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use, takes great pictures with little effort. The only thing I don't like about it is there aren't any manual options.
3/23/2004 9:52:00 AM
 
Cameo M. Carraway 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 5:12:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 5:12:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 5:12:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 5:12:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 5:12:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoy all aspects of my camera
1/30/2004 5:12:26 PM
 
Ed Muscari 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 12:23:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 12:23:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 12:23:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 12:23:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 12:23:51 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
nice
12/31/2003 12:23:51 PM
 
Robert Page 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2003 9:15:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2003 9:15:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2003 9:15:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2003 9:15:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2003 9:15:21 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
As a newcomer I cannot really rate this camera - I have a lotto learn first.
12/26/2003 9:15:21 PM
 
Tyrone Marquez 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 3:09:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 3:09:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 3:09:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 3:09:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/24/2003 3:09:48 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera is pretty good for starting
out but if you're at a ball park and would like to zoom in, it's not that great also I feel it takes to long to load by then you miss the best part of the picture. Batteries die out way to fast.
12/24/2003 3:09:48 PM
 
Melissa M. Bynog 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 7:37:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 7:37:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 7:37:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 7:37:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 7:37:40 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this camera! For the price, it really takes wonderful pictures! I like to have the option of black & white, sepia, etc. on the camera. Also, the pixels are low!
10/6/2003 7:37:40 PM
 
Dena Bourque 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 9:41:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 9:41:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 9:41:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 9:41:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 9:41:54 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I don't know what happened here! But this is a great camera.
9/30/2003 9:41:54 AM
 
Dena Bourque 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 9:41:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 9:41:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 9:41:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 9:41:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 9:41:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I don't know what happened here! But this is a great camera.
9/30/2003 9:41:26 AM
 
Nikki Star 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 7:04:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 7:04:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 7:04:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 7:04:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 7:04:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very simple; easy to use.
8/25/2003 7:04:37 PM
 
Dena Bourque 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 9:16:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 9:16:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 9:16:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 9:16:56 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2003 9:16:56 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The pictures turn up on my PC not as clear as I would like them to be. When I e-mail the pictures to friends and family, they say that they come out very clear. Go figure. I love (and my family loves)to see the pictures right after I take them. I also love the fact that you can zoom 2X and 4X the normal size of the photo.
8/24/2003 9:16:56 PM
 
Kathryn Pearman 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 8:49:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 8:49:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 8:49:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 8:49:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 8:49:50 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera was actually a gift and I have not been able to put it down since. It takes pretty good pictures but not nearly as professional as I wish it would be.
8/19/2003 8:49:50 AM
 
Torie Maraney 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 1:29:38 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 1:29:38 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 1:29:38 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 1:29:38 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 1:29:38 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
runs out of Batt quick
7/12/2003 1:29:38 PM
 
Jennifer Kadamus 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 9:36:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 9:36:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 9:36:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 9:36:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2003 9:36:30 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very nice camera but the battery runs out way too fast.
7/5/2003 9:36:30 AM
 
Bruce B. Brumfield 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 2:43:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 2:43:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 2:43:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 2:43:22 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 2:43:22 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It has limited capabilities, but I can get a shot off in a hurry. Thats why I have it!
7/1/2003 2:43:22 PM
 
Amy M. VanLue
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/4/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 7:09:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 7:09:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 7:09:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 7:09:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2003 7:09:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Perfect for just casual shots easy uploading, and sharing... hence its name.
6/25/2003 7:09:11 PM
 

31 Reviews  

Buy EasyShare CX4200 Digital Camera from Amazon.com