PowerShot S400 (IXUS 400) Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Happy Commute - E...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S400 (IXUS 400) Digital Camera

Features:
4.0 megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create photo-quality prints up to 11 x 14
3x optical zoom and 3.6x digital zoom (10.8x total)
Stainless steel shell; up to 3 minutes of video with sound
Compatible with CompactFlash Type I cards; 32 MB card included
Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery (NB-1LH ); connects to PCs and Macs via USB 1.1

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


60 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Stacey A. Hurley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/5/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 10:52:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 10:52:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 10:52:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 10:52:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 10:52:57 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My first compact digital - great for tucking in a purse. Very basic.
5/5/2006 10:52:57 AM
 
Jay  3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 12:08:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 12:08:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 12:08:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 12:08:46 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 12:08:46 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good for its compactness on the Trail. Not the greatest for zoom.
5/4/2006 12:08:46 PM
 
Joan Castillo 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 2:57:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 2:57:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 2:57:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 2:57:37 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 2:57:37 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I'm still an amateur, but hoping to change that with knowledge attained through BetterPhoto.com! :o) That said.......I have had my Powershot S400 for almost 2 years. It takes pretty good pictures, but now that I am looking to get more serious, it's limited in that there is major delay when taking pix - i.e. my boyfriend's dog is looking right at me, and by the time I push the button and "take it," she's turned away! Otherwise, many of my pix, as long as they're not action shots, come out nice and sharp.
3/22/2006 2:57:37 PM
 
Dorothy Lam
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/18/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 12:29:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 12:29:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 12:29:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 12:29:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 12:29:36 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Can't take very good close-ups, minimal zoom, can't manually set aperture.
3/19/2006 12:29:36 AM
 
David N. Lindberg 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 10:42:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 10:42:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 10:42:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 10:42:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 10:42:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great pocket-sized versatile unit. It's a gem, I love it. I just wish it had more zoom and a larger view screen.
11/29/2005 10:42:22 PM
 
Deirdre Grover 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 8:51:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 8:51:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 8:51:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 8:51:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 8:51:31 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera because it takes the most crystal clear outdoor pictures one would ever want. The color is perfect, as you see it. And it's nice and compact and easy to use.
11/2/2005 8:51:31 PM
 
Jose Garcia 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 3:29:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 3:29:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 3:29:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 3:29:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2005 3:29:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
small and easy to work with bad: slow shoter
10/11/2005 3:29:20 AM
 
John Scacco 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 6:50:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 6:50:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 6:50:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 6:50:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 6:50:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a very powerful little camera that has held up well over the years. The quality of the pictures it takes are suprisingly comparable to that of higher-priced cameras even today (especially when post-processed a little). And besides, I love Canon! The only thing I don't like about it is that it's a little old at this point ;)
9/17/2005 6:50:35 PM
 
Lanie M. Hyland 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 12:53:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 12:53:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 12:53:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 12:53:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 12:53:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has been with us for 5 years and has served it's time. I love it, even though it has lost it's switch button from "take pictures" to "play" and I have to hold it together with a Band-aid on the "CF Open" door because it broke from so much use, it is still the best camera I have ever had. I love it and would not trade it for the world.
8/18/2005 12:53:04 PM
 
Christopher M. Poole 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 11:30:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 11:30:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 11:30:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 11:30:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2005 11:30:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Durable and compact. Easy to use and learn, abundant functions.
5/24/2005 11:30:43 AM
 
Phuong  Phan-McManamna 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:38:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:38:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:38:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:38:37 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 8:38:37 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Perfect size to carry around daily. Great features. Video clips are a fun option. Only downside: not enough zoom capacity for the size.
5/20/2005 8:38:37 AM
 
Deene Souza
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/16/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:32:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:32:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:32:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:32:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:32:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Absolutely awesome camera to throw in your purse and not miss a moment. Probably my favorite camera, but thena gain, I'm a novice!
4/16/2005 9:32:49 AM
 
Jeannette P. Fuller 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2005 8:10:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2005 8:10:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2005 8:10:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2005 8:10:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2005 8:10:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love the size and ease of use - Great for non-professional -- good quality pictures - good zoom -- good in low light conditions - manual settings available I had the Power Shot S100 before this one but the 400 is super.
3/30/2005 8:10:37 PM
 
Colby Balch 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 12:30:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 12:30:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 12:30:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 12:30:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2005 12:30:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great pictures from a digital camera
3/10/2005 12:30:48 PM
 
Thomas J. Larocque 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 2:46:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 2:46:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 2:46:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 2:46:24 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 2:46:24 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
conveniant is all
2/13/2005 2:46:24 PM
 
Charles Vanasse 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 7:37:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 7:37:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 7:37:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 7:37:46 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 7:37:46 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Easy to use, but does not respond well.
2/7/2005 7:37:46 PM
 
Dan A. Perlea 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 4:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 4:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 4:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 4:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 4:38:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As a point and shoot camera, this is the best. I recommend the canon digital Elph camera family to anyone who is looking for high quality photos from a consumer product.
2/7/2005 4:38:53 PM
 
Andres  Llopart
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/13/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 8:27:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 8:27:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 8:27:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 8:27:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 8:27:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good, compact camera. Great budget option for underwater photography with a Waterproof case.
1/13/2005 8:27:03 AM
 
Ruben Olguin 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 2:17:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 2:17:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 2:17:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 2:17:42 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2004 2:17:42 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's great for quick shots while traveling. Not good for low level light shots or shots from a distance. I like it because it so easy to use as well as being small enough to carry anywhere.
12/31/2004 2:17:42 AM
 
Sherri Lee  2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2004 8:47:30 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2004 8:47:30 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2004 8:47:30 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2004 8:47:30 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2004 8:47:30 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
this is my first camera good for a beginer
12/26/2004 8:47:30 PM
 
John W. Petley 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2004 12:13:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2004 12:13:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2004 12:13:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2004 12:13:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2004 12:13:55 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
seems like a good camera. hopefully will be able to upgrade after learning from this course. i bought it because a friend had one.
12/26/2004 12:13:55 PM
 
Julia Baryla 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2004 6:47:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2004 6:47:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2004 6:47:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2004 6:47:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2004 6:47:17 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great Colour, although it could be a bit faster
12/23/2004 6:47:17 PM
 
kristin a. wall
undertheseaphotos.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2004 5:56:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2004 5:56:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2004 5:56:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2004 5:56:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2004 5:56:24 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Takes awesome photos - great detail! I use mostly for underwater photos w/ Canon housing. It's so small it makes it easy for diving as you can navigate settings even w/ housing on.
12/13/2004 5:56:24 AM
 
John F. McMahon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 6:21:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 6:21:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 6:21:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 6:21:49 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 6:21:49 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use...a little slow to the draw however.
11/10/2004 6:21:49 AM
 
Geri Cadieux 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2004 4:00:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2004 4:00:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2004 4:00:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2004 4:00:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2004 4:00:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. Very easy to handle and takes lovely pictures.
10/31/2004 4:00:37 PM
 
Sarah E. Golter 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 7:06:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 7:06:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 7:06:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 7:06:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2004 7:06:23 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is great for its size. It takes awesome pictures, but has some zoom limitation in that there are not the ability to change lenses.
10/26/2004 7:06:23 PM
 
Zain Khalid 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 9:56:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 9:56:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 9:56:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 9:56:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 9:56:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love it! Amazing effects (Sepia, B&W etc). The zoom is remarkable (3x optical and 11x digital). Picture quality and clarity is superb!
10/21/2004 9:56:55 PM
 
Jasmine Sosa 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 11:50:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 11:50:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 11:50:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 11:50:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 11:50:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the fact that the images are clear anc crisp and have depth. I'm still learning how to use and I'm happy this is what I have to practice with
10/21/2004 11:50:18 AM
 
Ivey Sumrell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 8:14:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 8:14:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 8:14:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 8:14:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 8:14:29 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Amazing photo quality for such a small camera! Love it!!!!!
10/1/2004 8:14:29 PM
 
Jim Miller 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 5:48:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 5:48:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 5:48:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 5:48:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2004 5:48:08 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Wife's camera, small size handy for her residential real estate appraisal work. Good for it's intended purpose. Surprisingly good quality photos for it's size and price. But limited lens range, no manual focus, limited flexibility, not an SLR -- framing not as precise as I like, shots always require at least cropping.
9/29/2004 5:48:08 PM
 
Amanda L. Gilbert 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 6:52:33 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 6:52:33 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 6:52:33 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 6:52:33 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 6:52:33 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a good camera to carry around because it's small. It's also good if you want to just point-and-click. If you want semi-professional or professional pictures, this isn't the camera to use. It's a good camera for what it does.
9/28/2004 6:52:33 PM
 
Amanda L. Gilbert 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 6:41:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 6:41:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 6:41:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 6:41:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2004 6:41:02 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a good camera to carry around because it's small. It's also good if you want to just point-and-click. If you want semi-professional or professional pictures, this isn't the camera to use. It's a good camera for what it does.
9/28/2004 6:41:02 PM
 
Joanne  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 11:25:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 11:25:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 11:25:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 11:25:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2004 11:25:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very sturdy body, clean crisp images in daylight
9/4/2004 11:25:05 AM
 
Shirl L. Herzog 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 1:01:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 1:01:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 1:01:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 1:01:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2004 1:01:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. It's very compact so I can take it anywhere and it has a great zoom plus lots of other cool stuff too.
8/24/2004 1:01:57 AM
 
Christine Moravecek 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 8:39:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 8:39:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 8:39:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 8:39:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2004 8:39:54 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I PURCHASED THIS CAMERA BECAUSE OF IT'S PRICE AND SIZE. DON'T CARE FOR THE SHUTTER LAG. I WISH SOMEONE TOLD ME YOU COULD'NT SEE THE PICUTRE ACTUALLY THRU THE LENS WHEN LOOKING THRU THE VIEWFINDER
7/12/2004 8:39:54 PM
 
Deborah A. Maicach 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 8:55:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 8:55:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 8:55:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 8:55:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 8:55:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great pics. Easy to use. Light weight and portable. No excuse for not carrying a camera anymore!
7/8/2004 8:55:03 PM
 
Niki Gango 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2004 12:21:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2004 12:21:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2004 12:21:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2004 12:21:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2004 12:21:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Really good camera.. it would suit most peoples needs extremely well, however, it has it's limitations because it is only a point and shooter..
6/12/2004 12:21:40 AM
 
Tom McLeod 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 8:13:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 8:13:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 8:13:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 8:13:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2004 8:13:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very Compact, lightweight, great when on motorcycle ride.
6/1/2004 8:13:42 AM
 
Daphne Anne U. Gopo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 6:19:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 6:19:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 6:19:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 6:19:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 6:19:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
havent had any other digital cameras. this is my first. so far i really like it. very convenient and easy to use.
5/30/2004 6:19:41 AM
 
Anders Damås 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 11:29:10 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 11:29:10 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 11:29:10 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 11:29:10 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/16/2004 11:29:10 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I think it's a good camera, due to it's size. It fits in your pocket and you can take it anywhere. I can get good quality pictures if I avoid using the zoom. That's one of the "not so good" things about it.
5/16/2004 11:29:10 AM
 
Olivier  Giraud 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 1:57:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 1:57:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 1:57:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 1:57:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/14/2004 1:57:56 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Always have great results with this camera.
5/14/2004 1:57:56 PM
 
Thomas Voss 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 8:55:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 8:55:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 8:55:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 8:55:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2004 8:55:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I can only think of a few bad things to say about this otherwise excellent compact camera. It boots and fires a bit slow. It produces sharp images, with natural skin tones. The user interface is the most intuitive and easy to use I have ever seen on a camera in this price-range.
5/13/2004 8:55:18 AM
 
Gary Sumsion 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 9:55:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 9:55:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 9:55:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 9:55:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 9:55:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Canon s400 is an excellent point and shoot camera that can take exeptionally clear pics the camera is also very easy to use and is very small and easily able to fit in a pocket or a ladies handbag, I also have the Canon EOS 10d and in many shots it is hard to tell the difference in quality between the two this shows just how good the little Canon s400 is. I would recommend a spare battery if heavy use is anticipated I also feel Canon should supply a carry case for the camera l am very pleased with this great little Camera.
4/22/2004 9:55:03 AM
 
Barbara Mastronicola 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 1:37:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 1:37:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 1:37:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 1:37:08 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 1:37:08 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is a good point and shoot. It also takes great movies with sound. It is very easy to use. It does not zoom as well as other cameras.
3/30/2004 1:37:08 PM
 
Nicole Alashaian 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 6:27:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 6:27:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 6:27:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 6:27:35 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2004 6:27:35 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
So many features and crip pictures in a very small, companct size. Can also do movies! Love it, but wish I knew more about photography to fully utilize the manual features.
3/18/2004 6:27:35 AM
 
Tim Albers 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 11:16:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 11:16:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 11:16:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 11:16:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2004 11:16:15 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
There is nothing handier than my S400; I can keep it in my pocket to pull out at just the right moment. (Although as everyone knows it is normally still just after the right moment). For general photoshooting it is much handier than an SLR because I can take thousands of pictures for free, and process them myself -- once again, for free. I would have liked to be able to set an aperture and shutter speed... but it seems that they are taking away this functionality so that people will be less likely to mess up entire days, even weeks worth of photos. Personally, I would like the option to mess up my photos if I feel so led.
3/13/2004 11:16:15 AM
 
Mike Hughes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/5/2004
mikehughesphotography.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 5:32:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 5:32:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 5:32:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 5:32:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 5:32:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent quality of photo for a point and shoot, easy to use menu, great for bringing on a night out as it's size allows you to slip it into your pocket and not leave it lying around on a table
2/9/2004 5:32:08 PM
 
Robert Farstad 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 4:13:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 4:13:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 4:13:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 4:13:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2004 4:13:54 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nice auto function
1/27/2004 4:13:54 AM
 
Kristen M. Cupstid 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 11:10:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 11:10:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 11:10:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 11:10:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2004 11:10:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Haven't had it for very long, but I like it so far.
1/26/2004 11:10:41 AM
 
Pedro Piedade 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:56:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:56:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:56:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:56:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 11:56:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it. It's light and compact and I like the photos.
1/3/2004 11:56:50 AM
 
Kyle D. Cozzens 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 12:47:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 12:47:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 12:47:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 12:47:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2003 12:47:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is totally awesome. Especially for its size.
12/16/2003 12:47:37 PM
 
Eric m. Beaubien 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2003 12:10:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2003 12:10:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2003 12:10:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2003 12:10:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2003 12:10:19 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not bad. I like the fact that you can record video clips, but the camera takes a long tie to take pictures. Good image quality, although sometimes pictures are unsharp.
12/12/2003 12:10:19 PM
 
Julie Teague 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:32:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:32:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:32:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:32:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 1:32:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Extremely easy camera to use. Excellent color! An ability to be partially manual. Fits in your pocket.
10/16/2003 1:32:20 PM
 
Cori Jones 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 3:40:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 3:40:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 3:40:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 3:40:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 3:40:22 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Like the compact size, but not a lot of options.
10/8/2003 3:40:22 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:49:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:49:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:49:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:49:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 7:49:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the photo because of its clarity and the fact that the backyard was in total chaos as we were planting flowers. In the background is my friend's mail box and as you can see it is empty. It takes nothing away from the photo yet speaks volumes about what was the more important task. We used it for moving dirt around! Taken April 11, 2003 with my new Canon PowerShot S400 in auto mode. At the end of the day, I reviewed my picture taking on day one and was very pleased with the results. Jonathan Jaffin
9/7/2003 7:49:42 AM
 
Mike Miller 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 10:27:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 10:27:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 10:27:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 10:27:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2003 10:27:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera.
8/20/2003 10:27:07 AM
 
Susan Miller 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 8:23:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 8:23:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 8:23:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 8:23:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 8:23:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best camera. Small and compact with alot of power.
7/30/2003 8:23:44 AM
 
Tom McLeod 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 8:37:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 8:37:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 8:37:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 8:37:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 8:37:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My third digital camera and the best so far. Exceptional quality and features in very small package.
7/1/2003 8:37:37 PM
 
Fred A. Felter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:20:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:20:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:20:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:20:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:20:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it... can't beat it.
6/17/2003 12:20:52 PM
 
Thy Bun 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 7:42:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 7:42:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 7:42:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 7:42:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 7:42:18 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's small, great body and it cheaps. I love it.
6/17/2003 7:42:18 AM
 

60 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot S400 (IXUS 400) Digital Camera from Amazon.com