BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot S400 (IXUS 400) Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Happy Commute - E...
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S400 (IXUS 400) Digital Camera

Features:
4.0 megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create photo-quality prints up to 11 x 14
3x optical zoom and 3.6x digital zoom (10.8x total)
Stainless steel shell; up to 3 minutes of video with sound
Compatible with CompactFlash Type I cards; 32 MB card included
Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery (NB-1LH ); connects to PCs and Macs via USB 1.1

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 60 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Stacey A. Hurley
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/5/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My first compact digital - great for tucking in a purse. Very basic.
5/5/2006 10:52:57 AM
 
Jay 

member since: 5/4/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good for its compactness on the Trail. Not the greatest for zoom.
5/4/2006 12:08:46 PM
 
Joan Castillo

member since: 3/21/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I'm still an amateur, but hoping to change that with knowledge attained through BetterPhoto.com! :o) That said.......I have had my Powershot S400 for almost 2 years. It takes pretty good pictures, but now that I am looking to get more serious, it's limited in that there is major delay when taking pix - i.e. my boyfriend's dog is looking right at me, and by the time I push the button and "take it," she's turned away! Otherwise, many of my pix, as long as they're not action shots, come out nice and sharp.
3/22/2006 2:57:37 PM
 
Dorothy Lam
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/18/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Can't take very good close-ups, minimal zoom, can't manually set aperture.
3/19/2006 12:29:36 AM
 
David N. Lindberg

member since: 11/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great pocket-sized versatile unit. It's a gem, I love it. I just wish it had more zoom and a larger view screen.
11/29/2005 10:42:22 PM
 
Deirdre Grover

member since: 11/2/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera because it takes the most crystal clear outdoor pictures one would ever want. The color is perfect, as you see it. And it's nice and compact and easy to use.
11/2/2005 8:51:31 PM
 
Jose Garcia

member since: 9/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
small and easy to work with bad: slow shoter
10/11/2005 3:29:20 AM
 
John Scacco

member since: 9/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a very powerful little camera that has held up well over the years. The quality of the pictures it takes are suprisingly comparable to that of higher-priced cameras even today (especially when post-processed a little). And besides, I love Canon! The only thing I don't like about it is that it's a little old at this point ;)
9/17/2005 6:50:35 PM
 
Lanie M. Hyland

member since: 8/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has been with us for 5 years and has served it's time. I love it, even though it has lost it's switch button from "take pictures" to "play" and I have to hold it together with a Band-aid on the "CF Open" door because it broke from so much use, it is still the best camera I have ever had. I love it and would not trade it for the world.
8/18/2005 12:53:04 PM
 
Christopher M. Poole

member since: 3/4/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Durable and compact. Easy to use and learn, abundant functions.
5/24/2005 11:30:43 AM
 
Phuong  Phan-McManamna

member since: 5/20/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Perfect size to carry around daily. Great features. Video clips are a fun option. Only downside: not enough zoom capacity for the size.
5/20/2005 8:38:37 AM
 

First 10 of 60 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot S400 (IXUS 400) Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.