BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot S50 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

FLYERS..
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S50 Digital Camera

Features:
5 megapixel sensor (2592 x 1944 pixels) for enlargements up to 20 x 30 inches
3x optical zoom and 4x digital zoom (12x total)
Nine point AiAF, flexizone focus selection, three-minute movie clips, and automatic image rotation
Compatible with CompactFlash Type I and II cards; 32 MB card included
Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery (NB-2L ); connects to PCs and Macs via USB 1.1

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


75 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lance T. Kaneoka

member since: 6/22/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is my first camera as i am an amatuer photographer.
6/22/2006 4:04:45 AM
 
Deepak Mathur

member since: 7/13/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Reasonably good camera for starters.
6/13/2006 10:52:02 PM
 
Casher W. Haggerty III
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/17/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great point and shot camera. This camera is very tough.My kid dropped the camera from about the hieght from the top of mini van and it still works
5/17/2006 5:47:03 PM
 
Roger Cadillo

member since: 7/23/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Been a great camera for me, When i dont want to deal with a heavy bulky camera. Its solid as well. I dropped it from about shoulder height and a dent was put in the camera, and still works fine. %megapixels plus digital zoom. The manual setting is great to experiment with diffrent exposure settings.
5/11/2006 9:45:10 PM
 
Claudius C. Sardjoni

member since: 4/30/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very good compact camera
5/9/2006 7:49:35 PM
 
Gwen Diaz

member since: 5/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pros: Great image quality for 5MP pocket camera, full range of features, full manual control, compact yet capable of taking awesome pictures. Cons: Poor design for sliding lens cover mechanism - mine gave out after 2 years' use; trade-off for compact size is a less powerful lens.
5/9/2006 8:39:32 AM
 
Jordan Matthiesen

member since: 3/31/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Great point-and-shoot with several advanced features. It got us started, and we've since moved on to primarily using an SLR now.
4/17/2006 2:01:01 AM
 
Lacy L. Inscho

member since: 4/2/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I am an aspiring photographer. This is my second digital camera. It has a lot of bells and whistles and it was a good price when I bought it. I like it but I need to upgrade.
4/2/2006 8:25:48 PM
 
Tagore John

member since: 3/6/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The S50 is very compact and handy.Very good for all my travel photography. I captures the mood of people and places and this camera serves the purpose well. It is too simple a camera with limited capabilites for artistic and professional work.It is slow and also the batteries show low during winter.
3/6/2006 9:58:51 PM
 
Maria Kerkhoff

member since: 2/14/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it, the only reason I can't rate it best is because my sister has a better camera. This one can handle just about anything, (like falls) and takes wonderful pictures even though it is quite battered. What I love the best is that you can take just about any kind of picture you want, that is, once you get used to it. One thing that it lacks is the super macro, which is not so terrible though.
2/14/2006 4:58:14 PM
 
Deborah Liperote
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/8/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It really shoots nice pictures for a compact camera. Major problem with it is the delay in actually taking the picture!Sometimes you miss the moment.
2/9/2006 12:31:03 PM
 
Kevin J. Bourasa

member since: 2/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My S50 was a replacement for my Kodak DC4800 that gave up the ghost at my daughters high school graduation. It had served me well for 3 years and was still covered by the extended warr. I got the S50 as a direct replacement as the Dc was no longer available. Fifty dollars and my dead DC4800 got me the Canon S50. Excellent deal as the Canon is a far superior camera as compared to the Kodak. I have taken to many pictures to count with Canon and it now is my daughters main camera. Great camera I can't say enough good things about it. I call it the "Brick".
2/5/2006 2:37:33 PM
 
Sahana sahana

member since: 10/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
its great and very user friendly
1/16/2006 6:01:25 AM
 
Ayla Saloglu

member since: 1/15/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
very good..
1/15/2006 9:15:14 AM
 
Lisa Noordergraaf

member since: 1/4/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great little compact camera for its time. Now (1/2006) higher zooms are available in the same form factor, and I would definitely go that route. I took this camera on a month-long trip to Russia, and it never let me down.
1/7/2006 4:33:50 PM
 
Brad M. Oeder

member since: 12/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Likes: Takes great pictures. It's easy to find your way around the menus and has lots of features. Dislikes: It's kind of heavy, and the button icons scratch off easily.
12/5/2005 8:46:04 PM
 
Michael Braagaard
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/29/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A bit clumsy and bulky, but clear pictures. No image stabilisation which particularly shows in the video clips.
11/27/2005 6:35:06 AM
 
Devyani Kambaliya

member since: 11/15/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the picture quality of the camera. The only thing I dont like is the press button, you have to press really hard and for a longer time.
11/15/2005 1:31:30 PM
 
Jeremy Joan Hewes
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/4/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent compact camera with RAW support. Replaced by S60 and S70, both also excellent wide better wide-angle lens.
10/4/2005 12:22:36 PM
 
Mary A. Sanford

member since: 9/27/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use and easy to carry
9/27/2005 10:18:48 AM
 
Krishna Gundarapu

member since: 9/14/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very Good camera. Easy to Use. Good Quality Images.
9/19/2005 8:54:50 AM
 
Margaret L. Jones

member since: 9/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the different settings.
9/18/2005 4:39:11 PM
 
Jordan D. King

member since: 8/17/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Another canon, which has always been good to me, but as with my 35mm, it is lacking in professional options.
8/25/2005 9:15:16 PM
 
Sharina Beutler

member since: 8/24/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It has problems when I try to take an "immediate" picture. It has a delayed reaction time to take it so I often miss some great shots.
8/24/2005 12:03:09 PM
 
Jill S. Tatum

member since: 8/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera... I used to have a Canon rebel 35mm... but every since I switched to digital the quality has been amazing
8/17/2005 4:19:10 PM
 
Aaron Scott Kindred
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/12/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great point and shoot Digital.
7/12/2005 3:26:36 PM
 
Amber H. Edgar

member since: 7/1/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
My little powershot was great for high quality shots that didn't require a lot of zoom. I didn't like that there is a delay before the camera actually takes a shot. Very high quality for it's compact size.
7/1/2005 6:20:51 PM
 
Judith Campbell

member since: 6/20/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this digi camera. it does more than the normal picture taker can expect. its easy to use and has lots of features for more advanced shots.
6/27/2005 6:05:04 AM
 
Kris Brannon

member since: 6/20/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great photos, but falls apart after a couple of years. So many settings and so little time.
6/20/2005 10:57:47 PM
 
Nancy Adkins
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use and carry I especially like the underwater housing available for it. Worst problem is short battery life compaewd to my Canon D10
6/10/2005 7:57:30 PM
 
Mary N C. Taitt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/18/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera a lot, but the sliding cover is falling off.
5/18/2005 5:25:35 PM
 
Alan Mr Gwilt

member since: 4/26/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My first digital camera, so I do not have anything to compare it to. But so far I have nothing but praise for it. Every photo has come out with good colour and In focus . would recomend this camera to any first timers out there plenty of features to play with 4.5 out of 5 ALG
4/27/2005 9:48:49 AM
 
Isa R. Valenton

member since: 3/31/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Handy, sharp, versatile!
3/31/2005 5:15:22 AM
 
Isa R. Valenton

member since: 3/31/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Handy, versatile, reliable!
3/31/2005 5:14:32 AM
 
Isa R. Valenton

member since: 3/31/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Handy, sharp, versatile!
3/31/2005 5:12:20 AM
 
Kevin  S. Daly
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/13/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A great point and shot camera. Very easy to use.
3/13/2005 11:08:04 AM
 
Raghu Prasad Rao Met[pally

member since: 3/11/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
very good camera for starters, easy to carry n handle, fits your pocket well, good for taking night photos too. Good value for money spent on it. Cannot add extra lens.
3/11/2005 12:59:54 AM
 
Anita A. Duffin

member since: 2/23/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Not bad for a basic camera, some problems with clarity and no ability for additional lenses. A bit of a try your luck type camera with sometimes very pleasing results.
2/23/2005 11:54:13 PM
 
Brent A. Wilkinson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/23/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Outstanding camera!! Well worth the money I paid for it and it continues to take great pictures. It's small portable size is perfect to put in a backpack your even a pocket. Great job Canon!
2/23/2005 11:29:57 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is not a professional camera but...this little guy takes incredible pictures!
1/29/2005 8:01:38 AM
 
Becky Brewer

member since: 12/30/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very nice camera, easy to use with lots of manual features like aperature and shutter-prefered modes and a fully manual mode. Only wish that it had a larger optical zoom and that I could get a little closer to objects in the macro mode.
12/30/2004 11:05:25 PM
 
Lakshmi Jagdeesh

member since: 10/11/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
At present I like everything about it, because I am still learning how to use it...
10/11/2004 5:19:59 AM
 
OTTO WALKER

member since: 10/4/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
haven't had it long still learning
10/4/2004 7:02:05 PM
 
R J. 

member since: 9/8/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I line this camera Because itis easy to carry and I dont worry about film, But I am a fil guy to th eend I guess I hardly use th ecamera. My wife uses it alot for point and shoot photography and it does a very good job
9/16/2004 10:47:50 AM
 
Donna Snowden

member since: 9/2/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i LOVE MY CAMERA. iT DOES WHAT i NEED AT THIS POINT IN MY CAREER AS A BEGININNG PHOTOGRAPHER.
9/2/2004 8:06:42 PM
 
Tomasz Krawczak

member since: 6/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good little camera. IT has plenty of settings, including a manual control of shutter, exposure time and ISO settings. Picture quality is very good, no artifacts or purple hazing. It also has a camera shake warning indicator, but on image stabalization.
8/19/2004 6:26:53 AM
 
Nancy Grace Chen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/18/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'm evaluating this camera as what it is, a compact digicam. I don't think the compacts get much better than this. Yes, I would like to have more aperture range and zoom, but the manufacturers can only pack so much into a camera this size.. It's pretty idiot-proof, does great colors, focuses well, and doesn't have too much noise. I'd highly recommend it.
8/10/2004 9:45:05 PM
 
Linda Ellerman

member since: 8/4/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera because of the extra features, but the learning curve to figure it all out is steep.
8/6/2004 7:59:57 AM
 
Forest Aten

member since: 12/30/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
A great snapshot camera for travel.
8/5/2004 7:19:03 AM
 
Christopher Messitt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very good for the snapshot around the house. Also has the ability to manually control the aperature, Shutter and ISO, but the range is limiting. Mostly purchased this camera to fit in my Kids diaper bag for day travel. Slow recovery time and sometimes takes a second or two to focus and snap. good as point and shoot goes, but the price tag is high.
6/24/2004 7:56:56 AM
 
Trina Blanks

member since: 6/20/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Beautiful pictures have been produced by this camera, but find that the front lens cover is a weak mechanical point on this camera. Another draw back is the delay in the shutter from the time you push the button and when the shutter goes. This makes taking an action pictures very frustrating.
6/20/2004 5:36:37 AM
 
Lynne Harding

member since: 6/9/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I would have liked a swivel viewer and a camera that could take filters
6/12/2004 2:44:36 PM
 
Karl Moortgat

member since: 6/8/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good camera, but a little bit to slow
6/8/2004 1:37:05 PM
 
Hong Liu

member since: 5/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Best 5 MP Camera around, excellent photo quality, automatic and manual control. Offer all the feature of G3 with less cost
5/24/2004 6:15:30 PM
 
Andrew  Werner

member since: 5/17/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes great pictures. Just be carefull and pay attention to the lights to the left of the view finder. This camera has many features. I have owned this camera for less than a year. In P mode I have to set the exposure to -1/3 to aviod over exposure. Noisy motor to control lens when zooming in and out. The 32 MB CF card that comes with the camera is too small for this 5.0 Mega pixel camera. The software that is packaeg with the camera is OK. The USB drivers have problem with camera when a picture in a directory in the compact flash card gets currupted. The camera detects the problems and skips the bad directory. The USB driver locks up the PC (Win 2000 and Win ME). It also locks up the camera. I had to remove the battery to turn it off. Once one picture is corrupted you can not retrieve any other picture from the camera using the USB cable. You must take out the CF card and use a CF card reader to extract the good pictures or repair the CF card by formating it in the camera and lose any pictures you had in it. The cause of the corrupt picture I closed the lens cover before the camera finished transferring the image to the cf card thus power to the camera was cut off before the picture could be saved. I purchased a 512 MB Flash card
5/17/2004 6:10:30 PM
 
Luc Poirier

member since: 12/19/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a 5 megapixels camera fun to use but its main flaws are : noise (above 100 iso), and purple fringing.
4/26/2004 9:30:23 PM
 
Harry H. Marsh

member since: 4/14/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera takes very good shots in good light, is easy to carry hiking, and has the complete flexibility of image controls (i.e, aperture/shutter priority, manual mode, exposure bracketing, raw images, etc.) that high-end cameras have, is easy to set up and use and uses CF cards (like my 10D) and the same Canon software as the 10D. In comparison to the Canon D30 (see lots of images at http://home.comcast.net/~harrymarsh1/dlight.html), the image detail and color quality is much better! The only problems I have had with the camera are low-light focusing and a blue edge to dark objects against a bright background (noted in dpreview.com's review of the camera). Neither of these occur often enough for me to be a serious problem; I consider this the ultimate backpacker's 5MPix camera, especially since you can buy it for under $400! HHM
4/18/2004 5:10:49 PM
 
Nikki Tritsch

member since: 3/4/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I haven't had much experience with digital cameras, but this one seems to be easy to use and produces great pictures.
4/14/2004 6:33:06 PM
 
Oscar Fernandez Mach

member since: 4/14/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good enough.
4/14/2004 5:15:51 PM
 
Oscar Fernandez Mach

member since: 4/14/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good enough.
4/14/2004 5:08:32 PM
 
Uzma  Chaudhry

member since: 3/12/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like this camera because it does many things, including short video clips with sound. You can even do voice recordings with each picture. All pictures and video clips can be played back on the camera and the sound can be heard. The picture can be seen on a screen on the back. Also it is 5.0 megapixels with a 12x zoom, which is probably around one of the best you can get in that respect, although now they are coming out with 6.0 megapixels, but I personally do not know the difference. The zoom loses clarity after a certain level of zoom and high zoom pictures at a far distance tend to look like paintings because of the lack of clarity at that level. (Or maybe I just am not doindg it right). However, it has a few complicated features that are probably geared to more professional photographers rather than amateurs. Thus, it can be even used professionally for those who can figure out those features. It uses a compact flash disc to store pictures and recharging the battery is easy to do with its simple plug to which the battery attaches. It is a bit heavy though.
3/12/2004 11:18:49 AM
 
Son C. Ton

member since: 3/7/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good camera, lots of manual features.
3/7/2004 7:06:19 PM
 
Katariina Sutphin

member since: 3/3/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Fairly nice cheap digital camera for the first digital camera to practice with. Quality of pictures good on sunny days. Not so good on cloudy and/dark days.
3/4/2004 10:23:18 AM
 
Kevin Buckley

member since: 2/18/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great compact digital camera, very reliable and easy to use.
3/2/2004 10:59:59 AM
 
Lon D. Bliss

member since: 2/18/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. I consider myself a novice, but I am taking high quality pictures with this camera. Lots of adjustable options if you do not like the automatic features.
3/2/2004 7:30:52 AM
 
Benjamin Howell

member since: 8/4/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Has plenty features
2/18/2004 7:14:07 AM
 
Marvy Schuman

member since: 1/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it's compact size since I always carry it with me in my purse or pocket. I take lots of photos of my travels and my children, or of anything that calls my attention. I love the clarity of the 5 megapixels it affords me, as well as all the other features like the short video clip, macro feature, and manual override that makes it very practical to have. Todate, I have not yet mastered it's great potential as it has so many features still untapped. The only thing I still have to get used to is the delayed response of the shutter compared to the traditional SLR.
1/28/2004 9:34:41 AM
 
Brian C. Borden

member since: 12/23/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is a very flexible camera with many different settings and a size that is quite manageable. The picture quality is outstanding. I don't like the software that comes with the camera.
12/23/2003 5:34:23 AM
 
Audrey  C. Stucki

member since: 12/7/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
A totally sweet camera.
12/20/2003 8:08:54 PM
 
Anthony Baldacchino

member since: 10/15/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I 've been the owner of this camera for only two days but it sure stands up to the excellent reviews I have read about it on the most popular digicam review sites. Heartfully recommended.
11/25/2003 1:53:31 PM
 
Don Setser

member since: 11/4/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Like the camera size and picture quality of the 5MP Canon S50, but don't like the poor flash performance.
11/4/2003 10:56:24 AM
 
Paul J. Mullen

member since: 9/28/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Canon G-2 is a great camera. It is light weight and can be carried around for hours on end without a problem. Add the 420EX speedlite and "Red Eye" is seldom a problem.
9/28/2003 3:49:22 PM
 
Lyn A. Alpuro

member since: 9/24/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent quality
9/24/2003 11:39:02 PM
 
Leigh A. Norrie
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/12/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
An amazing camera. Simple to use, A heap of functions at your thumbtip. Point and shoot camera of the highest quality. Only bad thing, as with all digital cameras is the life of the battery. Recommend it to anyone who enjoys getting the most of life.
9/12/2003 7:33:56 AM
 
David M. Burger

member since: 9/3/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Colors are energetic and sharp
9/3/2003 4:48:18 PM
 

75 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot S50 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.