PowerShot S50 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

FLYERS..
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S50 Digital Camera

Features:
5 megapixel sensor (2592 x 1944 pixels) for enlargements up to 20 x 30 inches
3x optical zoom and 4x digital zoom (12x total)
Nine point AiAF, flexizone focus selection, three-minute movie clips, and automatic image rotation
Compatible with CompactFlash Type I and II cards; 32 MB card included
Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery (NB-2L ); connects to PCs and Macs via USB 1.1

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 75 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lance T. Kaneoka 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 4:04:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 4:04:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 4:04:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 4:04:45 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 4:04:45 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is my first camera as i am an amatuer photographer.
6/22/2006 4:04:45 AM
 
Deepak Mathur 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 10:52:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 10:52:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 10:52:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 10:52:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 10:52:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Reasonably good camera for starters.
6/13/2006 10:52:02 PM
 
Casher W. Haggerty III
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 5:47:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 5:47:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 5:47:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 5:47:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2006 5:47:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great point and shot camera. This camera is very tough.My kid dropped the camera from about the hieght from the top of mini van and it still works
5/17/2006 5:47:03 PM
 
Roger Cadillo 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 9:45:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 9:45:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 9:45:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 9:45:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 9:45:10 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Been a great camera for me, When i dont want to deal with a heavy bulky camera. Its solid as well. I dropped it from about shoulder height and a dent was put in the camera, and still works fine. %megapixels plus digital zoom. The manual setting is great to experiment with diffrent exposure settings.
5/11/2006 9:45:10 PM
 
Claudius C. Sardjoni 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 7:49:35 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 7:49:35 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 7:49:35 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 7:49:35 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 7:49:35 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very good compact camera
5/9/2006 7:49:35 PM
 
Gwen Diaz 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 8:39:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 8:39:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 8:39:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 8:39:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 8:39:32 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pros: Great image quality for 5MP pocket camera, full range of features, full manual control, compact yet capable of taking awesome pictures. Cons: Poor design for sliding lens cover mechanism - mine gave out after 2 years' use; trade-off for compact size is a less powerful lens.
5/9/2006 8:39:32 AM
 
Jordan Matthiesen 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 2:01:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 2:01:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 2:01:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 2:01:01 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 2:01:01 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Great point-and-shoot with several advanced features. It got us started, and we've since moved on to primarily using an SLR now.
4/17/2006 2:01:01 AM
 
Lacy L. Inscho 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 8:25:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 8:25:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 8:25:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 8:25:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 8:25:48 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I am an aspiring photographer. This is my second digital camera. It has a lot of bells and whistles and it was a good price when I bought it. I like it but I need to upgrade.
4/2/2006 8:25:48 PM
 
Tagore John 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 9:58:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 9:58:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 9:58:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 9:58:51 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 9:58:51 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The S50 is very compact and handy.Very good for all my travel photography. I captures the mood of people and places and this camera serves the purpose well. It is too simple a camera with limited capabilites for artistic and professional work.It is slow and also the batteries show low during winter.
3/6/2006 9:58:51 PM
 
Maria Kerkhoff 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 4:58:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 4:58:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 4:58:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 4:58:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 4:58:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it, the only reason I can't rate it best is because my sister has a better camera. This one can handle just about anything, (like falls) and takes wonderful pictures even though it is quite battered. What I love the best is that you can take just about any kind of picture you want, that is, once you get used to it. One thing that it lacks is the super macro, which is not so terrible though.
2/14/2006 4:58:14 PM
 
Deborah Liperote
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 12:31:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 12:31:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 12:31:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 12:31:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 12:31:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It really shoots nice pictures for a compact camera. Major problem with it is the delay in actually taking the picture!Sometimes you miss the moment.
2/9/2006 12:31:03 PM
 

First 10 of 75 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy PowerShot S50 Digital Camera from Amazon.com