PowerShot S45 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Photo
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot S45 Digital Camera

Features:
4-megapixel sensor captures 2,272 x 1,704 images for photo-quality prints up to 11 x 14 inches
3x optical (plus 3.6x digital) zoom lens with autofocus
Included 32 MB CompactFlash card holds approximately 27 images at default resolution; camera is Microdrive compatible
Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
Uses proprietary NB-2L lithium-ion rechargeable battery (included)

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


34 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sherri  2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 10:06:16 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 10:06:16 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 10:06:16 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 10:06:16 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 10:06:16 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
The Camera I am now using is a school camera. I used to own a Canon PowerShot SD400 but it no longer works. I am getting a Sony Camera this summer, but til then the school camera will do.
5/1/2006 10:06:16 PM
 
Cristy D. Rooney 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 11:17:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 11:17:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 11:17:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 11:17:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2006 11:17:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this for years and love the ease of it.
3/4/2006 11:17:50 AM
 
Anna S. Desmarais
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 6:13:06 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 6:13:06 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 6:13:06 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 6:13:06 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 6:13:06 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Takes decent photos for a point-and-shoot.
1/14/2006 6:13:06 AM
 
Paul Thomas 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 8:42:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 8:42:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 8:42:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 8:42:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2005 8:42:39 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Compact, shoots RAW
10/22/2005 8:42:39 AM
 
Paul Fisher
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/4/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2005 3:45:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2005 3:45:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2005 3:45:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2005 3:45:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2005 3:45:54 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great point and shoot camera with manual controls and a 3x optical zoom. It's been very dependable and it holds up to a lot of abuse.
8/7/2005 3:45:54 PM
 
Carey Beveridge 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 5:52:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 5:52:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 5:52:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 5:52:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2005 5:52:54 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very reliable solid brick of a camera. It gives nice colours, lots of useful features. Also very easy to use. I only wish it took closer macros (only does 10cm).
4/14/2005 5:52:54 AM
 
Judith A. Devine 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 6:48:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 6:48:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 6:48:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 6:48:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 6:48:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like my camera, but I don't know how to utilize all of its features.
3/31/2005 6:48:35 PM
 
Terri Collins 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:59:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:59:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:59:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:59:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:59:32 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great excpet for Zoom, only 3x
3/25/2005 7:59:32 AM
 
Robert E. Collins 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:35:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:35:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:35:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:35:15 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2005 7:35:15 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent in all aspects except zoom, only 3x
3/25/2005 7:35:15 AM
 
Anonymous Anon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:25:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:25:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:25:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:25:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 12:25:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Pros: A perfect camera for anyone Cons: A little big and not as good as Powershot G6:)
3/22/2005 12:25:26 PM
 
Naomi L. Orcutt 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 7:15:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 7:15:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 7:15:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 7:15:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 7:15:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is about two years old now and was given to me as a gift from my fiance. I adore the camera and take it with me everywhere I go. I have noticed lately that it does not snap pictures as fast as it used to, so the shutter may need to be fixed. Other than the shutter speed, I have had no problems with this camera.
2/2/2005 7:15:44 PM
 
Ron Meiresonne 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 1:59:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 1:59:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 1:59:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 1:59:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 1:59:47 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
the perfect small camera with same possibilities as most SLR's. Macro is very good, but the least distance is about 9-10 cm. When zooming, photo's tend to have more noise ...
1/7/2005 1:59:47 AM
 
Trevpr D. Bice 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 9:12:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 9:12:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 9:12:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 9:12:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 9:12:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
An excelent small versatile camera for its class. The metal body is extremly rugged, and it operates in a wide range of tempertures and humidities without failing. An excelent camera for its class.
10/19/2004 9:12:27 PM
 
Mauricio Dupleich
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/26/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 10:45:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 10:45:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 10:45:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 10:45:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 10:45:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice digital camera, althought you don't have a lot of control like a SLR, it is a good start to learn the basics
10/7/2004 10:45:08 AM
 
Chad A. Eastin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 8:10:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 8:10:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 8:10:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 8:10:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2004 8:10:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great camera for on the road! very very durrable!! it spent 7 months over in the big sand box of kuaitt and also iraq with me and came back without a scratch.
9/23/2004 8:10:50 PM
 
Matteo A. Di Iorio 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 10:17:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 10:17:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 10:17:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 10:17:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 10:17:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very easy to use, all the settings can be set manually. The lens is too small for my liking though.
9/1/2004 10:17:09 AM
 
Matteo A. Di Iorio 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 10:16:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 10:16:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 10:16:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 10:16:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 10:16:56 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very easy to use, all the settings can be set manually. The lens is too small for my liking though.
9/1/2004 10:16:56 AM
 
Kim Ng 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 11:52:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 11:52:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 11:52:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 11:52:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2004 11:52:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like it. I have taken some very good pictures with it.
5/19/2004 11:52:37 PM
 
DAWN  L. DEMERS 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 1:19:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 1:19:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 1:19:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 1:19:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 1:19:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to use, excellent quality images.
4/20/2004 1:19:47 PM
 
Dawn M. Liebetruth 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 3:32:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 3:32:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 3:32:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 3:32:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2004 3:32:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes great photo's for the size of the camera colors are sharp and the camera is very easy to use
4/14/2004 3:32:06 PM
 
Polly McGehee 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 11:47:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 11:47:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 11:47:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 11:47:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 11:47:51 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. Of course its my first digital, so no lack of fun and creativity.
4/13/2004 11:47:51 AM
 
Harald Bjor?y
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/28/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 3:22:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 3:22:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 3:22:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 3:22:58 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 3:22:58 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellent digial compact camera, nice colors well featured, fairly easy to understand - it is a camera, not a computer... It has manual mode both for focus and for exposure, these are not easy to use, but if (when) you really need them, they are there. The camera supports raw-format - this format supports changing modes post-photography ("digital film processing"), e.g. white balance. The camera excels as a pocket camera - it is slightly bigger than the Ixus, but it is still very small, my opinion is that cameras shouldn't be smaller.
3/29/2004 3:22:58 PM
 
Robert E. Olczak 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 2:35:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 2:35:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 2:35:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 2:35:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/29/2004 2:35:03 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, but I think my skills and desires want to get involved with a digital SLR and the opportunity to interchange lenses. Highly reccomended piece of equipment for anyone who wants a great all around digital camera but doesn't want to deal with interchangeable lenses and the like.
2/29/2004 2:35:03 PM
 
Candice Chemelli 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 7:49:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 7:49:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 7:49:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 7:49:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 7:49:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I work in the photograpic industry and considered buying a digital in summer of 2003. This is my first digital and the only one I have ever used. I love it, it takes awesome pictures, its durable, easy to handle, size is nice, it just works great!! I also just purchased a Canon AT-1 with alot of accessories, I like this camera also but need to learn more about the SLR and my digital.
2/10/2004 7:49:13 PM
 
Matt Carlstrom 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2004 11:46:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2004 11:46:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2004 11:46:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2004 11:46:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2004 11:46:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have enjoyed every moment with this little camera. Very fun indeed.
1/24/2004 11:46:23 AM
 
Kimberly A. Romero 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 11:27:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 11:27:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 11:27:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 11:27:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 11:27:20 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it!
1/14/2004 11:27:20 AM
 
Karen E. DelleFave 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 5:10:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 5:10:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 5:10:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 5:10:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 5:10:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
To me, I think it's a great little camera. It is my very first digital and I just love it. I just think it's perfect for the type of casual photography I do.
1/12/2004 5:10:04 PM
 
Chris London 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 10:50:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 10:50:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 10:50:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 10:50:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2003 10:50:12 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great little camera for the money. Allows me to carry it around in my pocket and make snapshots, but also gives a lot of control if I want it. 4 MP is plenty for the prints I make.
12/28/2003 10:50:12 AM
 
Arla Thomas 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2003 10:26:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2003 10:26:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2003 10:26:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2003 10:26:27 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2003 10:26:27 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like it because it is small and easy to carry or hide.It has good zoom and macro.The negatives, the power pack battery.In europe it is difficult to charge unless you have a car and the charger for it. What I wish someone would have told me is some specifics.How long do the batteries last?Do the x-ray machines at airports erase the photos?Is it international(batteries or power)?I would love to see pictures the camera took before I purchase.
12/19/2003 10:26:27 AM
 
Donald G. McArtor 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2003 7:22:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2003 7:22:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2003 7:22:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2003 7:22:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2003 7:22:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camera, easy to use
11/27/2003 7:22:14 PM
 
Dena Finley 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2003 3:42:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2003 3:42:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2003 3:42:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2003 3:42:57 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2003 3:42:57 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is a great point and shoot, fit in your pocket kind of camera. I get wonderful prints from it and I don't know a lot about photography.
10/14/2003 3:42:57 PM
 
Timothy Jarrell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 11:33:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 11:33:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 11:33:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 11:33:31 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2003 11:33:31 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great stuff, easy use, tons of features and fun picture taking
9/6/2003 11:33:31 PM
 
Barbara J. Bremigan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/20/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 6:46:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 6:46:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 6:46:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 6:46:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2003 6:46:03 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My S45 is only about a month old. I enjoyed using it on recent travels in addition to taking pictures on my Pentax SLR. I loved having seeing the results instantaneously. I purchased an adaptor in order that I could use a polarizer and graduated neutral density filters with the S45. Checking for overexposed sections on pictures helped me to use the graduated filter effectively. I really love the S45.
7/19/2003 6:46:03 AM
 
Mark Hodge 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 5:22:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 5:22:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 5:22:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 5:22:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 5:22:38 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great portable 4.0Mp Camera. Has high end controls but a little tough to get to. Dave
6/18/2003 5:22:38 AM
 

34 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot S45 Digital Camera from Amazon.com