BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


PowerShot A300 Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Anguilla Water
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot A300 Digital Camera

Features:
3.2 megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create photo-quality 8 x 10 prints and medium-quality prints up to 11 x 14
5.1x digital zoom
Up to 3 minutes of video with sound
Compatible with CompactFlash Type I cards; 16 MB card included
Powered by 2 AA batteries (alkalines included); connects to PCs and Macs via USB 1.1

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


55 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3 out of 5

3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Belinda J. Demler

member since: 6/30/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is a very good camera back in 2003 it is a bit slow when trying to capture the next photo
6/30/2006 11:22:47 PM
 
Sarah D. Spencer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/30/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like how my camera has many different picture and display options, but I dislike its zooming capabilities
6/30/2006 8:45:14 AM
 
Crystene Ashby

member since: 6/3/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a decent camera for a beginner. I prefer to use my Canon PowerShot S110, due to sharper pictures. I bought this thinking that it would do better pictures, due to the fact that it's a 3.2 and the other is a 2.1. I was wrong! The only advantage is I can make larger pictures with it. It has a 5 point Aifi setting wich I don't like at all. I find that the pictures are blurry when I use this setting, so I opt not to use it. To me it's like using a basic 35mm camera. VERY disappointed.
6/11/2006 7:36:29 AM
 
Madeline Brenner

member since: 3/15/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is my very first camera. I can change from black and white to color easily. However I don't feel that the zoom is great, nor do I like the fact that I cannot set shutter speeds or f-stops.
3/15/2006 5:58:22 PM
 
John Coscia
BetterPhoto Member
chipcosciaphotography.com

member since: 7/17/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great pocket camera! It's produced some really nice photos in various lighting conditions. Using it with Genuine Fractals has allowed some shots to be sharp even when printed larger than poster size.
1/7/2006 8:11:52 AM
 
Teresa J. Kidd
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/13/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
DOES NOT TAKE GOOD FAR AWAY PICS
12/28/2005 8:11:36 AM
 
Teresa J. Kidd
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/13/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
DOESNT TAKE GOOD FAR AWAY CLEAR PICS
12/28/2005 8:08:20 AM
 
Waqas I. Imran

member since: 12/21/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
actuallly i m not a professional photographer.i m in the intial stages of my career i m doing this as a hobby.i m trying to understand my camera.i have taken photographs from it.i cannot focus the mosqitoes and other insects as sony do. it has a fair good sharp result. its size,design and shap is very suitable for me. thats y i like it.
12/22/2005 12:39:03 PM
 
Linda A. Letellier

member since: 12/10/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Small , high quality digital camera. Has diversified capabilities. 5.1x digital zoom, Macro /infinitiy modes, adjustable exposure, various photo effects, manual ISO speed selection and manual white balance setting capbilities.
12/18/2005 7:20:33 AM
 
Reagan M. Street

member since: 11/6/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's easy to use but there aren't a lot of options and it eats through batteries.
11/6/2005 6:37:43 AM
 
Lisa D. Jobson

member since: 6/12/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera has fabulous macro capabilities for a Point & Shoot in the $100 range! I bought it for my son and use it often!
9/28/2005 4:16:43 PM
 
Beth Campbell

member since: 2/25/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The camera is ok for hobby use only. It don't have many options. and it is not manual other then that the pictures turn out fine.
9/23/2005 11:18:54 AM
 
Claudio E. Luna
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/14/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good overall when taken snapshots but the flash it's to small.
9/14/2005 10:43:36 AM
 
Jeremi Broadhurst
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/22/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For a p&s it has been an okay camera! I wish I had more manual controls though. It only has digital zoom as well which is useless.
8/22/2005 4:57:03 PM
 
Koen Put
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/15/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Verry good quality. Not good for night-shots. Eats batterys. No optical zoom.
8/15/2005 4:34:09 AM
 
R. Lunn
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/26/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Slow, no optical zoom, limited macro, limited control of flash. But 15,000 shots for $150.00 and still going. Its been a great starter, now I know what to look for when buying my 2nd camera.
8/14/2005 10:06:39 AM
 
Tamera C. Shepherd

member since: 8/10/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
can't take rapid photos in succession when using flash
8/10/2005 1:57:46 PM
 
Emmett S. Speelman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/26/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
was used as my first digital camera was gift from my wife.
7/27/2005 4:09:46 AM
 
Kelly A. Bauer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/25/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like my camera alot, because I can take good pictures with it. Though, I am limited to the type of pictures I take. The zoom is not very good, so I am limited to closer pictures. The lighting is not that good for nature/sunset type pictures:the clolrs aren't usualy displayed properly. I turn down the contrast, but it cases the picture to become more grainey. Overall, it is nice, but not for someone who is interested a range of photography
7/25/2005 8:05:35 PM
 
Julie E. Smith

member since: 4/19/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like my camera - the features are helpful and it is easy to use. The zoom is not as powerful as needed for some situations.
6/15/2005 8:58:53 AM
 
Liliana P

member since: 6/14/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
It takes a lot of time until I can take the next picture. I cannot be spontaneus.
6/14/2005 8:05:08 PM
 
Liliana P

member since: 6/14/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
It takes a lot of time until I can take the next picture. I cannot be spontaneus.
6/14/2005 8:04:59 PM
 
Azman Shukeri

member since: 5/27/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
not bad...
5/31/2005 5:31:21 PM
 
Bianca Powel

member since: 4/10/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
not the best but fine (i never had the chance to try different ones)
4/10/2005 10:53:23 AM
 
Victoria S. Fisher
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/19/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This thing is great for taking on trips because it's difficult to lug the other one around, but it confuses me, delays when shooting, and runs out of batteries after about a day.
4/3/2005 9:11:58 PM
 
Juan D. Hidalgo

member since: 3/10/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
compact, easy to carry. excellent shots in all modes. a bit slow.
3/10/2005 2:38:19 PM
 
Robert D. Taylor

member since: 2/10/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I realy like the exposure the flash is so acurate never seems to burn out picture . I really wish it had an optical zoom,
2/10/2005 12:24:33 PM
 
Bonita M. Fils
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/15/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fantastic little camera. Don't count on the zoom to really dig in but otherwise, I have gotten great pics with this camera. I would highly recommend if you don't need the closeups.
2/6/2005 12:45:50 PM
 
Bonita M. Fils
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/15/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera if you don't need the zoom. On this particular camera, there is no optical zoom, only digital and you will get bluring as you increase magnification. Otherwise, I love this camera!
1/15/2005 11:42:37 PM
 
Danielle W. Lundberg

member since: 11/8/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Poor zoom, otherwise suitable.
11/8/2004 9:38:34 AM
 
Melissa Cozis

member since: 10/24/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera - it's my boss's for work, but I use it more at home than at work! I shoot planes and models for advertising purposes. This camera has great zoom, 5 color settings, is light and easy to use, does great point and shoot photos, and does several flash options and macro and landscape. Also, it does ISO 50, 100, 200, and 400. The shots are great at 50, there is some noise at 100, and 200 and 400 are AWFUL:( It's lacking aperature-control, shutter speed control, and manual focus:(
10/24/2004 6:22:09 PM
 
Nick D. Ronchi

member since: 10/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
very happy with this model
10/24/2004 12:17:36 PM
 
TT Justice

member since: 5/30/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Camera was a gift. I recommend its small compact size, takes great pictures has preview and simple to use. View your picture before you upload to your computer or print is a major plus of this Cannon Powershot.
10/17/2004 5:29:34 PM
 
Margaret Mc Donald

member since: 9/28/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Camera was purchased for its ease of use.We did not try the camera out first as it was a present but works great for a beginner
10/1/2004 8:29:10 AM
 
Terry Craig

member since: 9/11/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think the camera is difficult to program. I do think it takes good pictures.
9/11/2004 8:48:57 AM
 


member since: 9/3/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's good, but blurrs movement if you don't use flash.
9/3/2004 6:23:25 PM
 
Linda Proctor
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/5/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
No optical zoom I found it hard to hold shutter half way to focus,but maybe just me.Color good
8/28/2004 9:54:05 PM
 
Skye Winter

member since: 8/27/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I bought this camera because it was fairly inexpensive. I love the features it has, like the ability to switch back and forth from black and white/sepia/ and vivid as well as choosing different pictures qualities. It also can take video. The only thing i don't like is that i run out of AA batteries constantly, so that becomes a hassle. Over all, i'm very happy with my camera and i take it everywhere i go.
8/27/2004 8:29:38 AM
 
Kevin Eckley

member since: 8/3/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Has many useful features for the price. Using 2000 mAh rechargeable batteries gives outstanding operation time. Has no Optical zoom and the 5X digital zoom is terrible, I don't use the zoom.
8/3/2004 8:34:37 AM
 
Shannon L. Brodigan

member since: 7/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
i like the camera, small and takes good pictures i also shoot file with a cannon rebal 35mm slr
7/28/2004 10:26:18 AM
 
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
works great at nite. and pictures taken during the day are very sharp and clear . could zoom a bit better.does not work to well in flouresent lighting have to go in maunaly to change. has a great camcorder and mic feature that work good.
7/15/2004 8:02:48 AM
 
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
pretty good with shots great at night. does not work very well with flouresent light you have to go in and manualy change it. zooms up to 5.1 not bad but could be better. has a great camcorder and mic feature on it.
7/15/2004 7:58:18 AM
 
Analyn Hilgard

member since: 7/3/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera features. So far so good!
7/3/2004 4:16:51 PM
 
Wendy S. Kudlicka

member since: 6/27/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not bad.
6/27/2004 10:29:44 AM
 
Trayci  Tiszauer

member since: 6/3/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For the simplicity of this camera it is overall a good buy.What I do not like is that of course there are no interchangeable lens and as stated,it is pretty basic.
6/3/2004 1:12:36 PM
 
Jade Ostroha

member since: 5/17/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have used this camera for a variety of things, from taking pictures of an airshow to taking candid shots of my son and daughter. It has performed great. It has a movie mode that you can use to make small videos, and a microphone that allows you to attach voice notes to your photographs. It also has a continuous mode, a self-timer, a stitch assist mode (to help you make panoramic photos) and a host of other great features. I would definitely advise someone buying this camera to invest in rechargeable batteries and a charger, as it seems to eat disposable batteries at an insane rate. I took it with me on Halloween one year to get pictures of my daughter trick-or-treating to send to my then-deployed husband. I hadn't had the camera for long, and couldn't remember whether it was disposable or rechargeable batteries that lasted longer. I chose to take the disposable batteries, and my camera was dead by the end of the night (and we were only out for around three hours). Canon does make its own batteries and charger, but I've never tried them so I don't know how well they work. We use Duracell rechargeable batteries and a Duracell charger with our camera, and they seem to work fine (and only take about an hour to recharge).
5/17/2004 12:58:15 PM
 
David Sallee

member since: 3/31/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Takes OK pictures. I prefer lenses that are changeable
3/31/2004 12:17:50 AM
 
Anibal B. Tamacas

member since: 3/16/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
so it may not be the best camera out there, but for the price its a bargain. Good quality pics, tons of settings and options, video capture is really good and all this amounts to a fun camera for point and shooters. Lack of optical zoom is the biggest problem. digital zoom will never be good imho. Battery hog. Better buy rechargeables for this one
3/16/2004 9:51:22 AM
 
Cynthia D. Timm

member since: 2/21/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera was a gift that was given to me, one that has given me a whole new view on life.."It is a gift that keeps on giving" CannonPowershot A300 Digital Camera 5.1x Zoom/movie maker/Marco 5cm-2in/camera direct print. My favorite feature is the fact that I can view the picture prior to printing them...as it is a wonderful feature for an amature Photogragher like me. I also like the clarity that it has.
2/21/2004 4:24:23 PM
 
Cynthia D. Timm

member since: 2/21/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera was a gift that was given to me, little did I know how I would come to enjoy it as I have.It has given me a different view on the way I see things. "It a gift that keeps on giving" Cannon Power shot A300 /3.2 Megapixels 5.1 Zoom/DiGc/movie mode/Marco 5cm-2in/direct Print. Allows visual of photos prior to printing which is wonderful feature for the amature photograher.
2/21/2004 4:19:54 PM
 
Fallyn L. Moog

member since: 1/9/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
great
1/9/2004 1:31:16 PM
 
Shalanea L. Wall

member since: 1/9/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm am happy overall with my camara I chose to purchase. It takes good pictures. Sometimes not as fast as I would like but it has been great so far. I need to read and learn more about the settings I just haven't taken the time. I considered many things before purchasing it. I liked the 3.2 mp and once I do learn all the settings I'm sure I'll even be more happy with it.
1/9/2004 10:19:01 AM
 
Sarah R. Owens

member since: 12/18/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like my camera. Its my first digital camera. I like how it has so many features. I am still learning how to use it and each of its features. It is a very nice camera. I am glad that I got it.
12/18/2003 11:34:27 PM
 
Angela K. Curnias

member since: 11/14/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For a beginner, my camera is great. It has been easy to learn to use. I primarily chose this camera because of its cost. However, as I learn more about photography, I hope to graduate to a more sophisticated camera.
11/14/2003 2:06:15 PM
 
Member Closed

member since: 10/21/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is one of the best digital camera I even used
10/21/2003 1:53:17 AM
 

55 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy PowerShot A300 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.