BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS 1D Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Test
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 1D Digital SLR Camera

The Canon EOS-1D brings together the best of both digital and analog worlds of photography. It features one of the largest imaging sensors in a digital SLR, offering 4.15 effective megapixels for stunning, detailed imagery. Significant advances in large-volume data processing technology, a completely new imaging engine, and advancements in mirror-speed technology learned during development of the 35mm EOS-1V all contribute to the EOS-1D's speed and responsiveness.

Features:


  • Cast magnesium alloy body combines strength, rigidity, and
    magnetic shielding
  • Withstands environmental extremes
  • Superb image quality, with minimal digital noise, superior
    highlight and shadow tonalities, wide contrast
  • 4.15 million (2496 x 1665) effective pixel CCD sensor - 28.7 x
    19.1mm in size; square pixels measure 11.5 x 11.5 microns
  • Large sensor means less adjustment & compensation for 1.3x
    focal length

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 48 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Manuel Barrera
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/23/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought this camera used, Ebay, paid slightly over $600 for it, well worth the money. I was very suprised in lack of noise even at 1600 ISO. Focus is great, weather sealed, I love the 4.2 meg since I shoot in raw this saves a lot of space. Have printed up to A3, 13 x 19 inch, using 10% increase, prints were fantastic. Can not find a better camera for the price that I paid for this one. I also have the 1Ds that I use mostly for portraits, 30d, 20d and rebel xt, this is my favorite camera. I may buy another since they don't make them any more and there are less and less of them for sale.
1/22/2008 5:57:26 AM
 
Matt the Photographer

member since: 12/24/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
its the best
6/19/2006 3:10:19 AM
 
Edwin Hengelman

member since: 3/8/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The EOS-1D is a quick and accurate camera. I'm very pleased with it. Of course, I would like more megapixels but that would slow down the camera.
3/8/2006 6:49:30 AM
 
Carlos Ronaldo

member since: 11/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera all around and faster than the Canon 20D.
11/18/2005 8:02:16 PM
 
Damir Sencar

member since: 11/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great sports camera.
11/15/2005 6:17:13 AM
 
Peter  Garwood

member since: 10/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
What a tool. I have Canon for over 25 years, this is the ultimate for all my photography!There is nothing this beast cannot handle. I decided to spend my childrens inheritance on it!! Coupled with a 588ex flashgun there is virtually no photography I cannot tackle.I previously used my Canon D30 but the photosize of these images is something else!!
11/6/2005 5:17:46 AM
 
Forrest C. Wilkinson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great action camera, 8 fps, and 45-AF points. You will end up laughing at other people's 8 MP cameras and blow their minds away when you tell them your's is 4.15.
11/5/2005 2:39:10 PM
 
Steven  E. Slack
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/7/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's wonderful. really worth the price of the equipment. Has improved my photography dramatically!
11/1/2005 8:02:05 PM
 
KORY J. BLANKLEY

member since: 10/26/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
GREAT CAMERA
10/26/2005 3:25:57 AM
 
Robert J. Rice

member since: 10/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent camera, blinding speed for action photography. Great images.
10/11/2005 10:58:35 PM
 
Janice K. Wieser

member since: 7/8/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Canon EOS 1D is heavy, very heavy. Not good for backpacking. But it allows a great deal of creativity and I am just getting used to it, but do like it.
7/16/2005 5:15:10 PM
 

First 10 of 48 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy EOS 1D Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.