EOS 1Ds Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

On top of the wor...
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 1Ds Digital SLR Camera

Canon EOS-1Ds is the world's highest-resolution professional digital camera, featuring the first-ever full-frame 35mm sensor with 11.1 million effective pixels. The EOS-1Ds captures astounding detail and color, almost doubling the resolution considered state of the art for a digital SLR camera in the world today (September 2002).

With its extremely high resolution, the EOS-1Ds is designed to meet the needs of a wide range of professional photographers--including studio, commercial, reportage, or fashion photography--who need the ultimate in digital image quality.

Features:


  • World's first digital SLR that can prove its images are
    unaltered, original files
  • Accepts Canon EF lenses; 3 fps for up to 10 consecutive frames
  • Compatible with Compactflash Type I and II cards and IBM
    Microdrives
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via Firewire port (IEEE 1394 )
  • Battery life has been improved by reducing power consumption;
    powered by NiMH battery pack

This camera is very similar to the EOS 1D - the only differences being a 11MB CMOS imaging chip, a slower shooting speed of 3FPS, and a huge sticker price :(

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 56 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lynn Andrews
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/2/2005
lynnandrewsphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 3:18:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 3:18:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 3:18:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 3:18:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 3:18:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been using this camera for about two years. I love it! It's a lot to handle and the batteries are heavy as lead, but the final product is exquisite! I took the camera to Italy with the 70-200, 2.8, IS, L series lens, and "UGH" what a load to carry on the trains and hiking, but WELL worth it. I was there for a month and took 9,000 raw photos, problem free. The sensor is a breeze to clean if you follow directions and use the proper kit. Takes less and a minute or so. Highly recommend this camera!
8/20/2008 3:18:54 PM
 
Manuel Barrera
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/23/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2006 3:17:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2006 3:17:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2006 3:17:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2006 3:17:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2006 3:17:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I moved up from the 20d, after much research found that this camera would give me the more bang for the money. I am very happy with the CMOS sensor the quality of the colors is fabulous much smoother then my 20d or Rebel 350. Noise does not seem to be a problem as I found that I could take photos at lower ISO speeds, below 640 ISO. The extra mp (11.1) are very helpful in finding the correct color temperature and when I crop. The menu is straight forward easy to learn, at least after the 20d and Rebel (very similiar to the Rebel. I give it a five because the perfect camera does not exist.
10/15/2006 3:17:17 PM
 
Caitlyn Manners 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 2:12:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 2:12:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 2:12:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 2:12:05 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 2:12:05 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I dont really like the zoom that much.
6/20/2006 2:12:05 PM
 
Paul Weaver
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:40:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:40:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:40:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:40:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:40:31 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
great full format camera, but a little slow.
6/13/2006 5:40:31 AM
 
John D. Osgood
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/4/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 7:02:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 7:02:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 7:02:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 7:02:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 7:02:13 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use , forgiving, good image aquisition in underwater housing. has some problems focusing and with shooting in low light conditions
6/4/2006 7:02:13 AM
 
Brian Ullmann 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 1:53:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 1:53:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 1:53:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 1:53:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 1:53:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love it except for the particles that accumulate on the CMOS despite careful technique. Adequate home cleaning is difficult and sending it back to Canon is a frustrating solution.
4/9/2006 1:53:35 PM
 
Jana Clerico 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 10:21:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 10:21:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 10:21:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 10:21:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2006 10:21:25 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just purchased this camera and have not had a chance to fully explore its capabilities. But it seems impressive so far.
4/6/2006 10:21:25 AM
 
Shannon M. Hicks 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 9:25:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 9:25:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 9:25:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 9:25:21 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 9:25:21 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Fuji has been a great camera!! I am in the process of purchasing a Canon 30D because it has a few more features, but I really have no complaints about the Fuji
3/27/2006 9:25:21 AM
 
Paige Dunn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 5:25:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 5:25:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 5:25:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 5:25:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2006 5:25:52 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Manual is too long. Not specific enough.
3/6/2006 5:25:52 AM
 
Leonardo  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 12:36:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 12:36:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 12:36:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 12:36:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2006 12:36:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a nice camera
2/18/2006 12:36:09 PM
 
Rachael L. Bahs 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 4:06:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 4:06:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 4:06:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 4:06:59 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 4:06:59 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a great camera! I wish it had more speed when taking multiple pictures.
2/5/2006 4:06:59 PM
 

First 10 of 56 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy EOS 1Ds Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com