Int'l Contest - Picture.com

Categories: Reviews: Other Services : Photo Contests


53 Reviews  

Average Rating: 0.5 out of 5

0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sheila M. Walsh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/4/2005
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2008 7:13:10 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2008 7:13:10 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2008 7:13:10 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2008 7:13:10 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2008 7:13:10 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
There is another thread regarding this picture.com website. Check it out.
http://www.betterphoto.com/forms/QnAdetail.asp?threadID=12825

Sheila

3/3/2008 7:13:10 AM
 
Michelle N. Nofziger 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2008 3:21:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2008 3:21:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2008 3:21:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2008 3:21:10 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2008 3:21:10 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I am registering with this site to comment on a post about picture.com and until I find out more information I am on the fence about picture.com.
2/25/2008 3:21:10 PM
 
Tia Candlett 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2007 4:12:55 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2007 4:12:55 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2007 4:12:55 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2007 4:12:55 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2007 4:12:55 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I have read through hundreds of complaints about picture.com and I think its time us photographers do something about it!
just as you lot, I also bought into the whole 'feeding-my-ego-with-praise' thing. Being 17 years old and getting that kind of email boosted my confidence and gave me something to show off about to my friends/teachers etc. After reading a third email from them it almost sounded to good to be true, so thankfully I did my research and found out the truth. I was devestated. I thought I was actually starting to get somewhere with a career in photography. But that all came crashing down. Explaining it to my friends, family and teachers was really hard and sad. They were just as dissappointed as me. You know what I would have been feeling anyway, you all experienced the same thing. So what im saying is we should do something, start a petition, take it to the media!!! or anything that will get this 'dream crushing' site finished. I feel for all those who spent money in purchasing things they never actually received! So lets take action and not just sit around and let this kind of thing happen to anyone else!!! If you are interested in making a move email me at tia_candlett@msn.com and spread the word, the more people, the more we will get noticed!!
12/13/2007 4:12:55 AM
 
Shannon A. Latham 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2007 8:30:29 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2007 8:30:29 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2007 8:30:29 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2007 8:30:29 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2007 8:30:29 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
hi, my name is Shannon and I am a photographer juat starting to get out there. I heard from many people for awhile that I should try to enter so contest with my photos and see what happens and I figured why not? good way to get my name out there and have the possibility of getting some great feedback. So, I entered a few contest, picture.com and cutestpetcontest was 2 of the few and they were pretty basic... upload your photo in a category, with your name etc. and wait and see.

Well, shortly after I received an e-mail stating that after close review my photo was a semi-finalist and I could win up to $10,000 and they wanted to publish it in the upcoming book 'endless journeys ' coming out in 2008. I was so thrilled, I thought I have to get the book and they were offering a discount... so over the internet I oredered the book through credit card.
Now I have come to the realization that I may have moved too fast for I am finding all these sites on how picture.com is a hoax and it is seeming like it more and more. I keep getting e-mail after e-mail about extensions on purchasing plaques and events in Las Vegas. I take my Photography very seriously and this has just frustrated me to no end.

12/12/2007 8:30:29 PM
 
Mike P. Goebel 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 9:07:07 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 9:07:07 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 9:07:07 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 9:07:07 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 9:07:07 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
picture.com is a total fraud.
i am not the only one scammed by these people.
where's my book that should have been here jan 07?
if you feel as though you were scammed,
maybe a class action suit is the way to
go!!!!!!!!!!!
please reply if you feel the same.
thanks mike"gorilla"goebel
10/28/2007 9:07:07 AM
 
Sabrina Patton 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 4:35:23 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 4:35:23 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 4:35:23 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 4:35:23 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2007 4:35:23 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Hi I'm 17 years old and I love photography. So I wanted to kinda put my photos out there and get good critiques on them to help me out more and stuff like that. Well I sent one in to this picture.com place. And they sent me a letter in the mail and I was kinda exciting about it. But I was kinda worried it might be a scam so I looked around on the internet and I found this place and I'm really glad I did. I'm so upset about this. In the letter, they said that my photo was going to be published in their Endless Journeys book. Which would be published in winter of 2008. I was smart and didn't buy the book cuz they'd probably just send me a copy with my photo in it and that would be the only one with my picture. And I read all the reviews and saw that this guy got the letter saying endless journeys will be published winter of 2003. And that "edition" had the same ISBN number as the one in the letter I received. I don't think it should take 5 years to publish a book. So yea I'm glad that I didn't buy anything. These people shouldn't be scamming people. I'm so mad about this. And kinda upset.
9/4/2007 4:35:23 PM
 
Mike Rossignol 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 2:28:57 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 2:28:57 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 2:28:57 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 2:28:57 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2007 2:28:57 PM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
hey it just dawned on me. An "Endless Journey" is what they take you on once you've entered one of their contests. Kind of like Publishers Clearing House.
8/3/2007 2:28:57 PM
 
TIANA LATHAM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2007 7:41:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2007 7:41:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2007 7:41:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2007 7:41:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2007 7:41:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Joanne
Hi....To reply to the question...No you should not!!!!!! If you do not agree to buy the book then they will not publish you photo anyway..so you would be wasting your time....If you do publish the book your photo very well could be in the book but you will not recieve the book and will ahve to track it down....only to find that you photo has been used without giving you any credit...for merchandise bought by members of the site....SOOOOOOOO.......no ..the answer is no.
7/24/2007 7:41:11 PM
 
Graham Ashby
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2005
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2007 12:58:29 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2007 12:58:29 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2007 12:58:29 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2007 12:58:29 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2007 12:58:29 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
OK, so I have also recieved a letter recently and this picture that I have submitted is rather bad... but I'm a semi finalist!!!! quick get out my check book!.... hmm a site that never needs to verify (or even ask) that I am over the age of majority? not likely. I have also recently recieved a very similar letter from cutestpetcontest.com... very similar letter.. has anyone heard of this site? it looks a bit sketchy, another cheap rip off book?? please email me if you have anything at sir_maharg@hotmail.com

Stay away from picture.com!

5/28/2007 12:58:29 PM
 
David R. Daniel 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2007 10:15:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2007 10:15:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2007 10:15:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2007 10:15:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2007 10:15:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Okay so here is mypicture.com's latest scam....And also why is bettrphoto.com letting them advertise on their site if it is a scam....Makes you wonder?

Dear David,

In the past, we informed you that you and your artistic accomplishments could have been honored at the International Society of Photographers Convention and Symposium in Las Vegas, Nevada -- even though you were unable to attend.

Please note that because so many people took advantage of this opportunity, we have extended the time for you to elect to receive your awards


and benefits of ISP membership, provided that you will allow us to present your photo "Hazards" (see your photo here) at our next convention and that you have elected to receive all of the awards and benefits of ISP membership that we have scheduled for you. Your awards, which will be shipped to you at this time, include your custom engraved Outstanding Achievement in Photography Crystal Award Trophy see it here, your bronze Commemorative Award Medallion, and your Full BasicMembership into the International Society of Photographers for 2007.

In this regard, we have arranged for your photographic artistry to be
prominently displayed at a future international gathering of
photographers. Your photograph, along with your name, will be presented
exactly as you created it, so that your artistry receives the exposure
it deserves. In this way, hundreds of attending photographers and their
guests, who come from all over the world to attend the convention, will
appreciate your photograph.

And let me tell you a little about the actual awards and ISP membership benefits that you will receive by mail immediately after you confirm your participation in this prestigious event by allowing us to showcase your photo:

Your Outstanding Achievement in Photography Crystal Award Trophy (a $300.00 value) is a magnificent work of art made from imported crystal; it is hand-engraved and mounted on a solid marble base. This will be the first time ever we have bestowed these crystal awards. They have been created by artisans that we commissioned specially for this year's convention. This impressive award is so valuable and fragile that we have designed a special carrying case to ensure the protection of your prestigious award.
Your bronze Commemorative Award Medallion is a deeply etched bronze medal (a $40.00 value) brilliantly displayed on a 25-inch red, white and blue satin ribbon.
And your Full Basic Membership into the International Society of Photographers for 2007 (a $60.00 value) entitles you to a personalized membership card, special discounts and contests, and a free subscription to our quarterly newsletter. Please note, if you are already an ISP member, your benefits will be extended an additional year.

David, all that's required for us to immediately send you all of these Awards is for you to give us permission to display your photograph. Additionally, because you will not be present, we must also ask you for the necessary funds ($169.00 plus p+h) to cover the costs of the time and effort required to present your photography before the convention attendees, and to cover the costs incurred in insuring and shipping to you these extremely bulky and heavy awards.

David, we are, of course, ultimately most interested in meeting you and having you personally present your artistry in front of the thousands of other photographers who attend these live events. Unfortunately, this is not the case at this time, so we're trying to do the next best thing. But we sincerely hope to personally present you with your most deserved awards in the future.

Go Here To Have Your Photo Displayed At The Convention!

Sincerely,

Craig Foster
International Society of Photographers
Convention Awards Chairperson

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

P.S. Your Outstanding Achievement in Photography Crystal Award Trophy, bronze Commemorative Award Medallion, and personalized membership card, will be shipped to you by Federal Express and will be accompanied by a 100% money back guarantee of your complete satisfaction. If for any reason you're not 100% delighted with your Awards, simply return them any time within 60 days of receipt for a full refund, no questions asked.

P.P.S. You'll also receive a $100.00 gift certificate off the registration of a future ISP convention so that we can formally recognize your photographic accomplishments in person at a date that's convenient to you.

3/28/2007 10:15:45 AM
 
Jim E. Conaway 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2007 2:05:43 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2007 2:05:43 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2007 2:05:43 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2007 2:05:43 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2007 2:05:43 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Well, just received my letter from picture.com, smelled a rat, and went researching. I am a new amature, and wondered how I could be found in hte field or entries..then reality kicked in and I found you good folks. Thank you all for the heads up, glad it was not my best work, and will be very cautious in the future. I would like to be published some day, but now realize it can be a long road to get there.
2/5/2007 2:05:43 PM
 
Michael A. Warnick 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2006 6:58:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2006 6:58:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2006 6:58:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2006 6:58:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2006 6:58:11 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Ok so i'm a 17 year old kid and when I got a letter in the mail saying that one of MY photographs was being published in a book I was extatic. I sent the letter back and havn't yet recieved the book. I just lately got an e-mail saying it's an editors choice award recipient and that it is a high honor. Then I stumbled across this site. And now i'm really pissed off because they do this shit to a kid what the hell has gone wrong in their brains to get someone so high up on their hopes to tell everyone that they know that one of their photograps is being published and then to feel asinine about it when you finally see that book in a store and yet you havn't gotten it and your photograph is the front page thing and yet the magazine looks as if it was dipped in water and soaked to look like the shit it is. Please excuse me for the language but to do this to a kid.

Thanks for you time
Mike

12/29/2006 6:58:11 PM
 
Rachael Pratt 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2006 11:42:45 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2006 11:42:45 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2006 11:42:45 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2006 11:42:45 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2006 11:42:45 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
I also received correspondence from them. Unlike all others I have so far had no issues with them. Maybe they have corrected their practices? I ordered my photo on canvas and I received it not long after it was ordered and it is beautiful. I also ordered the book and have so far not received it, but the release date isn't until 31/12/2006. Strangely, it is also called Endless Journeys.
12/28/2006 11:42:45 PM
 
Joanne Slight 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:07:50 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:07:50 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:07:50 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:07:50 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:07:50 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
So... my question regarding picture.com's contest etc... should I even bother to mail the release back for my photo? Luckily I had no plans on making any purchases, but I was going to give the ok to publish my photo in the book. Yes? No? Would love some feedback.
2/14/2006 2:07:50 PM
 
Caroline M. Lecours 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:01:46 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:01:46 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:01:46 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:01:46 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2005 9:01:46 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Hi all, I have received the letter from picture.com twice now. The first time I sent in my money and I did receive the book (a year later). I have just recently been told that I won the 2005 Editor's Choice Photography Award Ribbon thing and again they want me to pay for it. I was simply wondering if anyone has actually won the big money prizes? Also, I have this address for them for anyone interested. 3600 Crondall Lane, Owings Mills, MD 21117. It's a nice feeling when you get the email but I am now a little skeptical.
Thanks everyone for the feedback.
12/20/2005 9:01:46 AM
 
Tina M. Thoemke 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 3:37:02 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 3:37:02 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 3:37:02 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 3:37:02 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 3:37:02 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I have been in the International Library of Photography for 5 yrs. I won a few contests, and my picture was also supposed to be published, but in The Horizon's End, scheduled to be released in 2000. I, too sent them a check, but for $121.95! I never recieved the book either, and my check also cleared! 5 years later, I am still waiting! I went to the site to show a friend my picture, and I had to go through every pic in the whole book, and my pic is not even in there! I am very disappointed! I would like to have my book, or my money back!!!!
11/15/2005 3:37:02 PM
 
Fred Jiang 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 2:09:46 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 2:09:46 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 2:09:46 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 2:09:46 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 2:09:46 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Here is the plan:
Write a pearl script to take snapshots from my USB-connected digicam and generate random names and automatically submit to Picture.com at a rate of 1 entry per second.
5/11/2005 2:09:46 AM
 
Dandi Zulkarnain 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:30:50 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:30:50 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:30:50 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:30:50 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:30:50 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
Thank you GOD. I also received the letter from www.picture.com mentioned my photo will be contested in Int. Amateur Photo Contest. And then, I post the question in www.fotografer.net, the Indonesian Online Photographer Community. One of the readers tries to find the article about this competition and find it in betterphoto.com. My case currently becomes the warning for other Indonesian Photographer in that site.
4/13/2005 11:30:50 PM
 
Dandi Zulkarnain 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:27:53 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:27:53 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:27:53 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:27:53 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 11:27:53 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Thank you GOD. I also received the letter from www.picture.com mentioned my photo will be contested in Int. Amateur Photo Contest. And then, I post the question in www.fotografer.net, the Indonesian Online Photographer Community. One of the readers tries to find the article about this competition and find it in betterphoto.com. My case currently becomes the warning for other Indonesian Photographer in that site.
4/13/2005 11:27:53 PM
 
Dandi Zulkarnain 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:29:39 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:29:39 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:29:39 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:29:39 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:29:39 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Thank you GOD. I also received the letter from www.picture.com mentioned my photo will be contested in Int. Amateur Photo Contest. And then, I post the question in www.fotografer.net, the Indonesian Online Photographer Community. One of the readers tries to find the article about this competition and find it in betterphoto.com. My case currently becomes the warning for other Indonesian Photographer in that site.
4/13/2005 10:29:39 PM
 
Dandi Zulkarnain 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:28:08 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:28:08 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:28:08 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:28:08 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:28:08 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Thank you GOD. I also received the letter from www.picture.com mentioned my photo will be contested in Int. Amateur Photo Contest. And then, I post the question in www.fotografer.net, the Indonesian Online Photographer Community. One of the readers tries to find the article about this competition and find it in betterphoto.com. My case currently becomes the warning for other Indonesian Photographer in that site.
4/13/2005 10:28:08 PM
 
Dandi Zulkarnain 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:26:37 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:26:37 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:26:37 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:26:37 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 10:26:37 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Thank you GOD. I also received the letter from www.picture.com mentioned my photo will be contested in Int. Amateur Photo Contest. And then, I post the question in www.fotografer.net, the Indonesian Online Photographer Community. One of the readers tries to find the article about this competition and find it in betterphoto.com. My case currently becomes the warning for other Indonesian Photographer in that site.
4/13/2005 10:26:37 PM
 
Christine Magtoto
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/6/2005
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 11:25:57 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 11:25:57 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 11:25:57 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 11:25:57 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 11:25:57 AM
Rating: 1 out of 5
The biggest indicator of Picture.com as a scam site is that you cannot find 'contact' information. Beware any site that avoids giving out their number.
4/6/2005 11:25:57 AM
 
Teri L. Schuster 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 7:33:30 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 7:33:30 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 7:33:30 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 7:33:30 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 7:33:30 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Hello everyone at betterphoto.com this is Teri Schuster again letting anyone know that is a new comer and needing any help with the whole picture.com thing that I will be off line for a little while! I have still been getting emails from others that have been ripped off by picture.com and I didn't want to leave you hanging while I go off line. If you wish to drop me a line through the mail I will be more then happy to still assist those that need some help in the matter of picture.com my address is Teri Schuster P.O. Box 1293 Phoenix OR. 97535 Thanks again to betterphoto.com for all their support and help through this process and allowing me to post as many reviews as I have! I tell as many as I can about your website and I will be returning to you in a couple of months to do the photography contest! Thanks again!
Teri Schuster
2/26/2005 7:33:30 AM
 
Kevin R. Anderson 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 4:51:28 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 4:51:28 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 4:51:28 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 4:51:28 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2004 4:51:28 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Whew! I am so glad I did this search before I popped my return letter in the mail this morning. You guys saved me $85. Thanks everyone. I am an advanced amateur, looking to go to the next level. This little detour was a great learning experience.
11/29/2004 4:51:28 AM
 
Teri L. Schuster 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 8:47:54 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 8:47:54 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 8:47:54 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 8:47:54 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2004 8:47:54 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I have already left my review of The international Library of photography and some hopefully helpful information on how to get in touch with some people at picture.com and steps I took to get my money back and have my photographs taken off their website! I am leaving this because I received another website to file a compliant about the business practices of this company. The website is www.troubleshooter.com the man's name is Tom Martino his is a nationwide troubleshooter for scam artists and has a pretty high sucess rate so for all those that want to fight this ugly system of picture.com log on speak up and file a complaint! thanks again to betterphoto.com and also thanks alot to all those that have sent me emails from my previous posts.

Teri Schuster
goddessteri211@yahoo.com

11/20/2004 8:47:54 PM
 
Marcy D.  0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2004 5:27:27 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2004 5:27:27 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2004 5:27:27 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2004 5:27:27 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2004 5:27:27 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Picture.com is nothing short of a rip off. Their entire "contest" is a joke! Stay away from them.
11/15/2004 5:27:27 PM
 
Teri L. Schuster 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 8:24:52 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 8:24:52 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 8:24:52 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 8:24:52 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2004 8:24:52 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
This is not a review but information on who to contact to try and get your money back on the books you never received from picture.com! My name is Teri Schuster and I have recently entered in my bad review concerning the business practices of picture.com. My fiance called the phone number of 410-356-2001 ext. 113 that is the number of Mark Jones which is charge of the Administrative/technical end of Picture.com also connected to Circa Press. I sent him a very direct by professional email the same morning my fiance called and left this simple message both at the number listed above and on his cell phone of 410-530-1392 "Hello Mark Jones this is Dereck Rollins and I have an interesting topic of discussion for you! call me back and left our home number! Mark Jones took the bate and call back within a half hour after receiving both phone messages and email from me. I know that a lot of the reviews on this website are dated back as far as 2001 and that a lot of you have probably already given up on the idea of getting your money back but for all those that are like me that will not give up until the money is rightfully returned, try what I explained above. I also took the time to log on to some of the local TV stations in the Maryland area giving a brief explaination of the scam that The International Library of Photography is running in their hometown. I also intend on contacting radio stations and other publishing companies to get the word out about this company! Next will be attorneys in the Greater Maryland area until I get my refund back this is my plan of action! Someone is bound to bite at this story and be willing to expose this scam! Is there anyone else out there willing to get on board with me to take this company down to ground level? The more people who are with me the more impact it will make! you can either email me at goddessteri211@yahoo.com or leave a review message at this wonderful website betterphoto.com
thanks again!

Teri Schuster

11/13/2004 8:24:52 AM
 
Teri L. Schuster 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 12:59:49 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 12:59:49 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 12:59:49 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 12:59:49 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2004 12:59:49 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I have already entered my bad review on picture.com but I would like to say something more to all those other people that have done the same! If you want something done about being scammed by this company if you haven't already file a complaint with the BBB of greater Maryland also with the IFCC there is a gentlemen by the name of John McCann who was nice enough to give the website of the IFCC in his review posting. I have filed a complaint with both of those organizations and I am also have written a 3 1/2 page complaint letter I will be sending certified to Mark Jones the administrative/technical person at picture.com and anyone else I can find at that company to send it to. I am also going to send an email to Mark Jones his email address is amongst the reviews posted on this website betterphoto.com. I feel that everyone has the right to post their complaints but only the serious people do something further to stop this company from doing any further damage! If anyone needs any info or has any questions I can help with please email me at goddessteri211@yahoo.com Thanks again betterphoto.com
11/11/2004 12:59:49 AM
 
Denise  Kreiser 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 3:22:36 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 3:22:36 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 3:22:36 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 3:22:36 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2004 3:22:36 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I submitted 2 photos to picture.com. I received letters on how they will be in Endless Journeys, scheduled release dat e of Sept. 30, 2004. I was excited and I ordered the book! I never got it or any explanation. Today I called 410-363-4800 ext 123 and I am told that my 2 photos will not be in the same book, the release date is Dec 15, 2004 and that it tells me all this on the website. It does not!!! The web site says the name of each photo, Scheduled release date on both is 9/30/2004, both are called Endless Journeys and I can't find anywhere that it says they wont both be in the same book! I am filing a consumer complaint with the office of the attorney general in MD. I suggest anyone else who has been ripped off do the same!!
11/9/2004 3:22:36 PM
 
Teri L. Schuster 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 6:22:24 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 6:22:24 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 6:22:24 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 6:22:24 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 6:22:24 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Hello my name is Teri and I too feel I have gotten scammed by The International Library of Photography! I have called that company 7 times and spoke with someone all 7 times about the problems regarding the display of my two photographs on their website! I have been hung up on by one of their employees only to call back and ask for information on how to file a formal compliant! The person gave me the Presidents name of Howard Eli but I am not sure if that's even accurate or if it's some fake name to shut me up! I have written a four page lette to this president and plan on sending it certified mail directly to this person! I too am going to contact the BBB over this matter! What might be different about my situation is they had a picture displayed on their website of mine saying it would be featured in the upcoming book "Endless Journeys" the problem is Picture.com does not have a signed release to publish this picture and if it is in the book I will consult an attorney over what my rights are as a customer! If anyone out there would like to email me over this issue please feel free at: goddessteri211@yahoo.com I will not stand by and let a large corporation take advantage of me and that is the reason for the four page letter of compliant! If anyone out there knows how I can find out the correct info on the president and/or owner of The International Library of Photography please email me! Thank you for this opportunity to warn others of this company!! Sincerely, Teri
11/7/2004 6:22:24 PM
 
Aimee B. Sandy 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 10:19:11 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 10:19:11 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 10:19:11 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 10:19:11 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 10:19:11 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Picture.com is a SCAM, RIP OFF, JOKE....... should I go on?!?! I sent in a photo just for fun, not really thinking I had a chance so imagine how excited I got when I got that letter in the mail, yea the letter that also asks you to send them Money for a book with your photo. I sent them money, $77.95 to be exact!! that was Feb. 29, 2004. and now here it is Nov. 7, 2004. Nine months later and I have not recieved that book, they HAVE recieved thier money though, checked clear just a few weeks after I mailed it. I have made several phone calls to (longdistance) many number usually only to reciece a message. I was told once that I would get my book in Sept. 2004. and like I said this is now Nov. I called again and this time the lady told me that the book wasnt being published until Feb.!!!!! which is a whole year after I sent them money. I told her that iwanted my money back and she said that they couldnt do that, I had to wait til I recieved the book and then return it for a refund!!! they have contacted me other time wanting money for other things as well, thankfully I did not send them anymore money. I recently saw an AD in a local paper for their contest, it made my blood boil , I wonder howmany people they will milk out of 70bucks from that AD?!?! I wan my money back from these crooks!! if any one has any info on how to go about this please contact me!!(yomeemee3@aol.com) And I would also like to know if every one received theri book that they odered and if so how long it took.
11/7/2004 10:19:11 AM
 
Courtney Smith 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 11:41:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 11:41:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 11:41:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 11:41:03 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 11:41:03 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I've seen one person after another rate picture.com as a "scam" ... I too am published in Infinite Illusions and the soon to come Endless Journeys. I didn't have the money to shell out for the books, but for me knowing that my picture was worthy of being published was good enough. Who really cares about the other pictures they choose and how good or bad they are. Just think about the feeling you got when you first read that you were selected, isn't that pride you felt good enough? Or do you have to shoot yourself and everyone else down by saying how "bogus" it is? I for one see it as a great accomplishment, imagine going for an interview for a photography job and taking that book in with you to showcase your work ... don't you think that would look impressive to someone? All I'm saying is don't be such a wet blanket about them charging so much for the books and everything else, after all you don't HAVE to buy any of it to be published, they have to make money somehow, or do you think they can publish books for FREE?
11/4/2004 11:41:03 PM
 
Elise Cassell 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 8:17:06 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 8:17:06 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 8:17:06 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 8:17:06 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2004 8:17:06 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I too received that letter with the proof showing thru a window on the envelope. After reading these posts, I know it's too good to be true and I'm glad I did my homework. I was thinkin that if I ordered their book, maybe they'd just put my photo in THAT book and no other!! Well, guess I'm not going to fall for it even tho it seemed exciting.
10/23/2004 8:17:06 AM
 
Britney  0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 9:46:31 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 9:46:31 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 9:46:31 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 9:46:31 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2004 9:46:31 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Well everyone..i was also sucked up into their lil scam and I am outraged! I am a teenager and seeing that my beautiful photo was to be published lit up my year! then I was online this morning and I read all the reviews and I was crushed! al my hopes of being a published photographer at suck a young age were gone in that instant! I did buy a book and paid for a bio and I will get my money back! this entire thing is completly riduculous and all people like them should be sued!
10/14/2004 9:46:31 AM
 
Karla L. Smith 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 6:32:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 6:32:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 6:32:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 6:32:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2004 6:32:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm glad I seen this webpage and read everyone's reviews. I also submitted a photo on Picture.com and received the letter today in the mail that I was in the semi-finalist round and that I will have my picture published in the book called Endless Journeys due out next Spring.

Thank God I read this here, cause I was happy to receive the letter and all but kinda iffy about it also. I can't wait to report this stuff to the BBB. They should not be scamming people (and by the looks of the web search I did, there are alot of people out there that have complaints about this company).

10/8/2004 6:32:25 PM
 
C. M. Pritchett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/11/2003
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:03:07 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:03:07 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:03:07 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:03:07 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 7:03:07 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I got suckered into entering a very nice picture of mine on the site as It looked to be on the up and up. Then I started recieving mail as the others have stated. I did not get suckered into buying the book as it looked kind of hokey when I recieved the mail. I live near DC and I still did not even go to the supossed conference. I just wish I had not ever allowed them to put my picture on the site now.
9/24/2004 7:03:07 AM
 
Andrew AS Sexton 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 5:58:09 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 5:58:09 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 5:58:09 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 5:58:09 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2004 5:58:09 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
After uploading a load of photos to my PC I thought to myself, some of these are pretty good. Nothing special, but I might aswell see what someone else thinks of them... So I search the net for photography competitions and what I found was www.picture.com... biiiig mistake. At any rate I submitted a picture to the competition and felt nice and content, secure in the knowledge that I didn't have a chance of winning! :) 2 months later I reseived a later in the post from picture.com, with a nice little window showing my picture! I opened it up to find an artists proof, and a rip-off price... glanced at the letter, and realised it was a complete scam. Everything about it seemed so fake, especially the wording in the letter... 'Jacob, imagine your photograph featured in a beautiful cofee-table edition.' Jeez, it was so cheap and phoney. None-the-less it was not that which amused me the most, some of the more fine details... On the envelope it has printed in nice bold writing 'First Class Mail' whereas if you look 1cm higher the the stamp clearly reads 'Economy.' tehehe, and secondly (i found this out from reading other complaints already posted on this site) the album my picture was to be published in is called 'Endless Journeys' this is Autumn 2004. An earlier complaint says he was contacted in Winter 2003 and told his work would be published in the same book... there ought to be laws against these kinds of people... preying on the vanity of others... At any rate these kinds of company are quite stupid and you can have a little fun with them.

Try sending in a picture of a dog turd, or even something like a really obvious movie poster and they'll wish to publish it. You can send in bogus addresses and they'll post them regardless. But the most fun is easily putting your name down as sometihng like 'www.picture.comareabunchoftheivingwankersandoughttodie,' or maybe not quite that obvious. Because you will receive a letter no doubt saying.

Dear www.picture.comareabunchoftheivingwankersandoughttodie your picture has been carfully reviewing and we wish to publish it...etc

have fun kids

Andy

9/18/2004 5:58:09 AM
 
Diane Kish 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 4:13:48 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 4:13:48 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 4:13:48 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 4:13:48 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 4:13:48 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I was also scammed by www.picture.com also got the letter to go to dc but fortunatly I did not go. I just got online last week on better photo.com and decided to scan the reviews and I saw this, Thanks, I really didnt know for sure until I saw this.Diane Kish.
8/2/2004 4:13:48 PM
 
Diane Kish 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 4:12:18 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 4:12:18 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 4:12:18 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 4:12:18 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2004 4:12:18 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I was also scammed by www.picture.com also got the letter to go to dc but fortunatly I did not go. I just got online last week on better photo.com and decided to scan the reviews and I saw this, Thanks, I really didnt know for sure until I saw this.
8/2/2004 4:12:18 PM
 
Sharon Carter 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 9:04:56 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 9:04:56 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 9:04:56 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 9:04:56 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 9:04:56 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
This page picture.com was a nightmare. Fortunately at the time I was not able to buy the book, nor was I able to attend the photography show in D.C.I am glad that someone exposed this scam for what it was worth. Picture.com don't have any ethics, nor do they have any social responsibility to the public, I just wish someone had exposed them sooner.
8/1/2004 9:04:56 PM
 
Sharon Carter 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 9:03:54 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 9:03:54 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 9:03:54 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 9:03:54 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2004 9:03:54 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
This page picture.com was a nightmare. Fortunately at the time I was not able to buy the book, nor was I able to attend the photography show in D.C.I am glad that someone exposed this scam for what it was worth. Picture.com don't have any ethics, nor do they have any social responsibility to the public, I just wish someone had exposed them sooner.
8/1/2004 9:03:54 PM
 
Julie Brady 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 7:31:48 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 7:31:48 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 7:31:48 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 7:31:48 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 7:31:48 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Additional Information on www.picture.com -- The International Society of Photographers:

Jeffrey Bryan, Managing Editor - August 13, 2003 letter Manchester, MD postmark H Meter 705793

Claimed coffee table editions of:
Endless Journeys--not yet published
Cherished Moments in Time
Treasures to Behold
The Looking Glass
Tapestry of Dreams
Focal Point
Images from the Heart
The Horizon's End
Endless Illusions
Eternal Impressions
Voyage through Time
Dawn's Reflection
Symphony of Color

Craig Foster, International Society of Photographers, Convention Chairperson -- February 2, 2004 letter -- Manchester, MD postmark H Meter 7117151

7/11/2004 7:31:48 AM
 
Julie Brady 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 7:20:53 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 7:20:53 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 7:20:53 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 7:20:53 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2004 7:20:53 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Unfortunately, "The International Society of Photographers" and www.picture.com SUCKERED me out of $102.95 in August 2003! They are very convincing with their use of "personalized variable data" direct mail solicitations and I fell for it. Honestly, the first time I've been suckered by online crooks. I first entered a favorite photo of mine online through www.picture.com and then I received a direct mail invitation to purchase "Endless Journeys" directly through them! ISBN-0-7951-5247-7 had a publication date of Winter of 2003 ... never got it.

Here's the info on these guys:
Circa Press, Inc (27999888O)
3600 Crondall Lane
Owings Mills, MD 21117 US
Domain Name: PICTURE.COM
Administrative Contact: Jones, Mark (MJ3491)
mjones@CIRCAPRESS.COM
Phone: 410.356.2000
Fax: 410.356.9931
Technical Contact: Jones, Mark
Record expires on 17-Sep-2004
Record created on 18-Sep-1994
Domain servers in listed order: Manage DNS
PRI4.DNS.PSI.NET 66.28.0.14
PRI6.DNS.PSI.NET 66.28.0.14
PRI5.DNS.PSI.NET 66.28.0.30
Show underlying registry data for this record
IP Address: 38.201.196.78 (ARIN & RIPE IP search)
IP Location: US(UNITED STATES)
Record Type: Domain Name
Server Type: IIS 4
Lock Status: ACTIVE
Web Site Status: Active
DMOZ 3 listings
Y! Directory: see listings
Web Site Title: Welcome to Picture.com
Meta Description: The International Library of Photography online! Enter online to win cash prizes! Check out our daily photo puzzle contest for $100.00! Information for the amateur photographer and more.
Meta Keywords: International, Library, Photography, Contest, contests, Amateur, Photographer, picture.com, Photograph, Photo, photos, pictures, Publications, Books, Enter, Photopuzzle, Puzzle, Contest, competition, Win, Cash, Money, the photosite, photosite, www.picture
Secure: Yes
E-commerce: Yes
Traffic Ranking: 1
Data as of: 26-May-2004

7/11/2004 7:20:53 AM
 
Kamen Gordon 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 11:52:55 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 11:52:55 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 11:52:55 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 11:52:55 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 11:52:55 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Ok, two days ago I recieved a letter with an artists proof of the photo I submitted. It was informing me that I was selected to move on in the competition and also to be published. I am just getting into photography and was very surprised. The best part is that I accidentaly uploaded the wrong photo when submitting and it's not that great of a photo. I have to say. It seemed a little wierd that I would have to pay $70 to get one of the books, it smelled a little like scam. Now that I have found this feed, my questions have been answered. I will not be returning the form to be published, nor will I be buying the "book".
7/4/2004 11:52:55 AM
 
Marie A. Elmquist 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 9:45:21 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 9:45:21 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 9:45:21 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 9:45:21 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2004 9:45:21 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
I'm with these other BetterPhoto photographers. They're correct, I did get hooked into sending in one picture, but thankful that I read this review TODAY. Because I am now feeling protected from these
"picture.com.predators" (thanks to these BetterPhoto members).
Take a careful look and you'll see that the sight really has no deadline in their contest-- and there's many more BAD reviews on that site if you search the internet.
THANK YOU FOR INSERTING YOUR RATINGS at this site.....
6/19/2004 9:45:21 PM
 
Jennifer M. Bowers 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 6:00:14 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 6:00:14 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 6:00:14 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 6:00:14 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 6:00:14 AM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
I agree with the others...I too was suckered inot this site by their scamming..not only in my photography but for my poetry too. People beware of this site and learn your lesson frmo the rest of us!!
6/7/2004 6:00:14 AM
 
Patricia L. Mcgrath 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 1:13:16 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 1:13:16 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 1:13:16 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 1:13:16 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 1:13:16 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
i sucked this up too. mainly as my photos are mostly candid shots and I do capture lighting sometimes at it's best. yes, I ordered the book, but I realized it was a scam when they wanted me to pay for everything. other photos were bland or not special but they were selected?????i learned my lesson.
4/20/2004 1:13:16 PM
 
Kristin Kolaczkowski 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 12:51:55 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 12:51:55 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 12:51:55 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 12:51:55 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2004 12:51:55 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
i went to their conference not knowing this was such a grand scam.... they promise a digital worth $300.. I wouldnt have paid 50 for it and its defective. I hope other people stumble across this site & realize not to be taken advantage of. The conference in april 2004 was poorly set up.. the only thing I did once in dc with the conference was enter their 2 contests. however I did win a honorable mention with their crappy digital given to everyone. If I could do it over... I would go to dc just to enjoy the city.
4/19/2004 12:51:55 PM
 
Fred C. McLean 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:15:17 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:15:17 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:15:17 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:15:17 AM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 8:15:17 AM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Yes, it is a scam. I was suckered. It was when I was first getting into photography. I had submitted a decent photo , and was selected. Whoopdie friggin' doo! I realized it was a scam when I got my book and saw all of the bad photography that also made it into the book. They continue to send literature promoting other scams.

Live and learn.

3/20/2004 8:15:17 AM
 
Stephen Hill 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:23:42 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:23:42 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:23:42 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:23:42 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:23:42 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Hello everyone, just thought I would start this off so everyone who reads this has fair warning to avoid this website and photo contest. I know many members here will testify as to how they got or almost got scammed. They have multiple contests and names: International Library of Photography (ILP), International Library of Poetry, and lately, The International Society of Photographers (ISP).
This organization has a very bad reputation, generally everyone who sends a picture in will be accepted into their photo contest and will be published in their Anthologies (provided you actually buy the book). If you do not buy their book your picture will not be in it. Probably the same with the poetry anthologies. Also, no one has ever come forth and said they actually won a cash prize. Nor has anyone received any royalties on the sale of their photos.
The latest scam which I am curious to see how many others have received in the mail is the International Society of Photographers invitation to attend the 2004 convention in Washington DC. It will only cost you $595.00 to register. But then, you can pay $120.00 + 12.00 S&H and become a "Distinguished" member and save $25.00 on your registration. Of course if you pay these ridiculous fees you will be able to participate, but will it be worth it? I seriously doubt it.
I hope my warning is heeded by all to avoid these people, they are only interested in making money and care nothing about you or your art. At least that's my opinion.
2/16/2004 12:23:42 PM
 
Stephen Hill 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:23:08 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:23:08 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:23:08 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:23:08 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:23:08 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Hello everyone, just thought I would start this off so everyone who reads this has fair warning to avoid this website and photo contest. I know many members here will testify as to how they got or almost got scammed. They have multiple contests and names: International Library of Photography (ILP), International Library of Poetry, and lately, The International Society of Photographers (ISP).
This organization has a very bad reputation, generally everyone who sends a picture in will be accepted into their photo contest and will be published in their Anthologies (provided you actually buy the book). If you do not buy their book your picture will not be in it. Probably the same with the poetry anthologies. Also, no one has ever come forth and said they actually won a cash prize. Nor has anyone received any royalties on the sale of their photos.
The latest scam which I am curious to see how many others have received in the mail is the International Society of Photographers invitation to attend the 2004 convention in Washington DC. It will only cost you $595.00 to register. But then, you can pay $120.00 + 12.00 S&H and become a "Distinguished" member and save $25.00 on your registration. Of course if you pay these ridiculous fees you will be able to participate, but will it be worth it? I seriously doubt it.
I hope my warning is heeded by all to avoid these people, they are only interested in making money and care nothing about you or your art. At least that's my opinion.
2/16/2004 12:23:08 PM
 
Stephen Hill 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:20:34 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:20:34 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:20:34 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:20:34 PM 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:20:34 PM
Rating: 0 out of 5
Hello everyone, just thought I would start this off so everyone who reads this has fair warning to avoid this website and photo contest. I know many members here will testify as to how they got or almost got scammed. They have multiple contests and names: Internation Library of Phototgraphy (ILP), International Library of Poetry, and lately, The International Society of Photographers (ISP).
This organization has a very bad reputation, generally everyone who sends a picture in will be accepted into their photo contest and will be published in their Anthologies (provided you actually buy the book). If you do not buy their book your picture will not be in it. Probably the same with the poetry anthologies. Also, no one has ever come forth and said they actually won a cash prize. Nor has anyone received any royalties on the sale of their photos.
The latest scam which I am curiouse to see how many others have received in the mail is the International Society of Photographers invitation to attend the 2004 convention in Washington DC. It will only cost you $595.00 to register. But then, you can pay $120.00 + 12.00 S&H and become a "Distinguished" member and save $25.00 on your registration. Of course if you pay these rediculous fees you will be able to participate, but will it be worth it? I seriousely doubt it.
I hope my warning is heeded by all to avoid these people, they are only interested in making money and care nothing about you or your art. At least that's my opinion.
2/16/2004 12:20:34 PM
 

53 Reviews