BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Int'l Contest - Picture.com

Categories: Reviews: Other Services : Photo Contests


First 10 of 53 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 0.5 out of 5

0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sheila M. Walsh
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/4/2005
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
There is another thread regarding this picture.com website. Check it out.
http://www.betterphoto.com/forms/QnAdetail.asp?threadID=12825

Sheila

3/3/2008 7:13:10 AM
 
Michelle N. Nofziger

member since: 2/25/2008
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I am registering with this site to comment on a post about picture.com and until I find out more information I am on the fence about picture.com.
2/25/2008 3:21:10 PM
 
Tia Candlett

member since: 12/13/2007
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
I have read through hundreds of complaints about picture.com and I think its time us photographers do something about it!
just as you lot, I also bought into the whole 'feeding-my-ego-with-praise' thing. Being 17 years old and getting that kind of email boosted my confidence and gave me something to show off about to my friends/teachers etc. After reading a third email from them it almost sounded to good to be true, so thankfully I did my research and found out the truth. I was devestated. I thought I was actually starting to get somewhere with a career in photography. But that all came crashing down. Explaining it to my friends, family and teachers was really hard and sad. They were just as dissappointed as me. You know what I would have been feeling anyway, you all experienced the same thing. So what im saying is we should do something, start a petition, take it to the media!!! or anything that will get this 'dream crushing' site finished. I feel for all those who spent money in purchasing things they never actually received! So lets take action and not just sit around and let this kind of thing happen to anyone else!!! If you are interested in making a move email me at tia_candlett@msn.com and spread the word, the more people, the more we will get noticed!!
12/13/2007 4:12:55 AM
 
Shannon A. Latham

member since: 12/12/2007
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
hi, my name is Shannon and I am a photographer juat starting to get out there. I heard from many people for awhile that I should try to enter so contest with my photos and see what happens and I figured why not? good way to get my name out there and have the possibility of getting some great feedback. So, I entered a few contest, picture.com and cutestpetcontest was 2 of the few and they were pretty basic... upload your photo in a category, with your name etc. and wait and see.

Well, shortly after I received an e-mail stating that after close review my photo was a semi-finalist and I could win up to $10,000 and they wanted to publish it in the upcoming book 'endless journeys ' coming out in 2008. I was so thrilled, I thought I have to get the book and they were offering a discount... so over the internet I oredered the book through credit card.
Now I have come to the realization that I may have moved too fast for I am finding all these sites on how picture.com is a hoax and it is seeming like it more and more. I keep getting e-mail after e-mail about extensions on purchasing plaques and events in Las Vegas. I take my Photography very seriously and this has just frustrated me to no end.

12/12/2007 8:30:29 PM
 
Mike P. Goebel

member since: 7/18/2006
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
picture.com is a total fraud.
i am not the only one scammed by these people.
where's my book that should have been here jan 07?
if you feel as though you were scammed,
maybe a class action suit is the way to
go!!!!!!!!!!!
please reply if you feel the same.
thanks mike"gorilla"goebel
10/28/2007 9:07:07 AM
 
Sabrina Patton

member since: 9/4/2007
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
Hi I'm 17 years old and I love photography. So I wanted to kinda put my photos out there and get good critiques on them to help me out more and stuff like that. Well I sent one in to this picture.com place. And they sent me a letter in the mail and I was kinda exciting about it. But I was kinda worried it might be a scam so I looked around on the internet and I found this place and I'm really glad I did. I'm so upset about this. In the letter, they said that my photo was going to be published in their Endless Journeys book. Which would be published in winter of 2008. I was smart and didn't buy the book cuz they'd probably just send me a copy with my photo in it and that would be the only one with my picture. And I read all the reviews and saw that this guy got the letter saying endless journeys will be published winter of 2003. And that "edition" had the same ISBN number as the one in the letter I received. I don't think it should take 5 years to publish a book. So yea I'm glad that I didn't buy anything. These people shouldn't be scamming people. I'm so mad about this. And kinda upset.
9/4/2007 4:35:23 PM
 
Mike Rossignol

member since: 8/1/2007
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
hey it just dawned on me. An "Endless Journey" is what they take you on once you've entered one of their contests. Kind of like Publishers Clearing House.
8/3/2007 2:28:57 PM
 
TIANA LATHAM

member since: 7/24/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Joanne
Hi....To reply to the question...No you should not!!!!!! If you do not agree to buy the book then they will not publish you photo anyway..so you would be wasting your time....If you do publish the book your photo very well could be in the book but you will not recieve the book and will ahve to track it down....only to find that you photo has been used without giving you any credit...for merchandise bought by members of the site....SOOOOOOOO.......no ..the answer is no.
7/24/2007 7:41:11 PM
 
Graham Ashby
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/29/2005
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
OK, so I have also recieved a letter recently and this picture that I have submitted is rather bad... but I'm a semi finalist!!!! quick get out my check book!.... hmm a site that never needs to verify (or even ask) that I am over the age of majority? not likely. I have also recently recieved a very similar letter from cutestpetcontest.com... very similar letter.. has anyone heard of this site? it looks a bit sketchy, another cheap rip off book?? please email me if you have anything at sir_maharg@hotmail.com

Stay away from picture.com!

5/28/2007 12:58:29 PM
 
David R. Daniel

member since: 3/14/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Okay so here is mypicture.com's latest scam....And also why is bettrphoto.com letting them advertise on their site if it is a scam....Makes you wonder?

Dear David,

In the past, we informed you that you and your artistic accomplishments could have been honored at the International Society of Photographers Convention and Symposium in Las Vegas, Nevada -- even though you were unable to attend.

Please note that because so many people took advantage of this opportunity, we have extended the time for you to elect to receive your awards


and benefits of ISP membership, provided that you will allow us to present your photo "Hazards" (see your photo here) at our next convention and that you have elected to receive all of the awards and benefits of ISP membership that we have scheduled for you. Your awards, which will be shipped to you at this time, include your custom engraved Outstanding Achievement in Photography Crystal Award Trophy see it here, your bronze Commemorative Award Medallion, and your Full BasicMembership into the International Society of Photographers for 2007.

In this regard, we have arranged for your photographic artistry to be
prominently displayed at a future international gathering of
photographers. Your photograph, along with your name, will be presented
exactly as you created it, so that your artistry receives the exposure
it deserves. In this way, hundreds of attending photographers and their
guests, who come from all over the world to attend the convention, will
appreciate your photograph.

And let me tell you a little about the actual awards and ISP membership benefits that you will receive by mail immediately after you confirm your participation in this prestigious event by allowing us to showcase your photo:

Your Outstanding Achievement in Photography Crystal Award Trophy (a $300.00 value) is a magnificent work of art made from imported crystal; it is hand-engraved and mounted on a solid marble base. This will be the first time ever we have bestowed these crystal awards. They have been created by artisans that we commissioned specially for this year's convention. This impressive award is so valuable and fragile that we have designed a special carrying case to ensure the protection of your prestigious award.
Your bronze Commemorative Award Medallion is a deeply etched bronze medal (a $40.00 value) brilliantly displayed on a 25-inch red, white and blue satin ribbon.
And your Full Basic Membership into the International Society of Photographers for 2007 (a $60.00 value) entitles you to a personalized membership card, special discounts and contests, and a free subscription to our quarterly newsletter. Please note, if you are already an ISP member, your benefits will be extended an additional year.

David, all that's required for us to immediately send you all of these Awards is for you to give us permission to display your photograph. Additionally, because you will not be present, we must also ask you for the necessary funds ($169.00 plus p+h) to cover the costs of the time and effort required to present your photography before the convention attendees, and to cover the costs incurred in insuring and shipping to you these extremely bulky and heavy awards.

David, we are, of course, ultimately most interested in meeting you and having you personally present your artistry in front of the thousands of other photographers who attend these live events. Unfortunately, this is not the case at this time, so we're trying to do the next best thing. But we sincerely hope to personally present you with your most deserved awards in the future.

Go Here To Have Your Photo Displayed At The Convention!

Sincerely,

Craig Foster
International Society of Photographers
Convention Awards Chairperson

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

P.S. Your Outstanding Achievement in Photography Crystal Award Trophy, bronze Commemorative Award Medallion, and personalized membership card, will be shipped to you by Federal Express and will be accompanied by a 100% money back guarantee of your complete satisfaction. If for any reason you're not 100% delighted with your Awards, simply return them any time within 60 days of receipt for a full refund, no questions asked.

P.P.S. You'll also receive a $100.00 gift certificate off the registration of a future ISP convention so that we can formally recognize your photographic accomplishments in person at a date that's convenient to you.

3/28/2007 10:15:45 AM
 
Jim E. Conaway

member since: 2/5/2007
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
Well, just received my letter from picture.com, smelled a rat, and went researching. I am a new amature, and wondered how I could be found in hte field or entries..then reality kicked in and I found you good folks. Thank you all for the heads up, glad it was not my best work, and will be very cautious in the future. I would like to be published some day, but now realize it can be a long road to get there.
2/5/2007 2:05:43 PM
 

First 10 of 53 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.