F-1 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

a river runs thro...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


38 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Gil Levy 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Simple. great reults.
5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM
 
Trista D. Fail 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
this camera was given to me by a friend. it takes good pictures not to be digital
4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM
 
Michael Margolies
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/24/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the best film camera (35m MM) I've ever owned. Rugged, fast and well balanced. I mostly shoot digital now but can't bare to give up this body. Mine is the newer "n" version. I notice that I seem to compose faster with it than other film cameras I own, it is bright and controls are clear and obvious.
4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM
 
Duane Keeling
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Heavy, but a real work horse. Very reliable and does not need batteries when shooting manual, below 1/125. Uses old style Canon lens mount which precludes newer and autofocus lenses (unless using USM third-pary).
12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM
 
Will Turner 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Well built, professional camera made to last, particularly the last F-1N with the hybrid metal shutter. Full manual control, interchangeable 100% viewfinders, DOF preview, and - a well-built internal film advance and shutter mechanism.

I see many people trying to start film photography with a shoddy AE1 or AE-1 Program, usually they are looking for a repair shop in two weeks, only to find that parts aren't available. People, those were entry-level, pricepoint cameras designed for amateurs, never supposed to last for 20 years, geared to snapshot photography, programmed exposures. They have a LOT of repair issues.

If you want a reliable FD-mount Canon, a pro-level body in good condition will last longer before it quits on you. That means a Canon F-1 or T90.

9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM
 
Kathryn Olance 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had this camera for 25yrs and it's never failed me. I use almost exclusively at 85mm lens. The sharpness and quality of the photos that I take w/ this camera are always superb. I like the glass lens as opposed to the current uses of plastic.
8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM
 
William Ainslie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/7/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Great for Astrophotograpy
7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM
 
Jim Rowan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/8/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my favorite 35mm piece. It does everything I ask of it. The F1 is a true system camera and was my main camera until digital lured me away. Still, I love this SLR and I have to run a roll through it every once in a while. I suppose I should stock up on some good 35mm film....just in case....
7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM
 
Kevin Elliott
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/10/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Solid and reliable with good features.
7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM
 
Raamon  Vila 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Got it in the 70s with my Leica Cl they are my Dinamic Duo.
6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM
 
Danielle M. Dube
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The thing that I enjoy most about the F-1 is that it is fully manual and it is up to you to control everything from loading the film to getting the perfect exposure. The least enjoyable aspect of it is the weight, it is very heavy!
5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM
 
Harris Graeber
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 4:15:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 4:15:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 4:15:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 4:15:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 4:15:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Since 1974 this has been my mainstay camera. The 1/1000th titanium horizontal shutter was extreme technology in the 1970's. Photos taken with the Canon lenses have always been extremely sharp and distortion free.
5/8/2005 4:15:28 PM
 
Shannon Thorson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 10:37:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 10:37:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 10:37:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 10:37:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 10:37:31 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
i love the contrast that this camera creates or doesn't at my whim. I only have one biff with it- which is it's old, and the film doesn't always advance correctly resulting in broken film :(
4/18/2005 10:37:31 AM
 
Eric Massimelli 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 12:09:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 12:09:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 12:09:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 12:09:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 12:09:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Robust and the full manual controls allow creativity.
4/7/2005 12:09:25 PM
 
Yazdan Parsapour 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:56:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:56:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:56:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:56:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:56:11 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is my friend and my third eye However it is old and has not powerfull lenses but i captured many good photos by.
3/28/2005 7:56:11 PM
 
Barbara Gordon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/24/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 9:11:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 9:11:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 9:11:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 9:11:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2005 9:11:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
An older camera that still works like a champ!
3/24/2005 9:11:31 AM
 
Bob Miller 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2005 1:41:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2005 1:41:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2005 1:41:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2005 1:41:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2005 1:41:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Has been a dependable Workhorse, a barebones camera I've had it over 30 years. Though it was not my first SLR, that was a Canon FL I bought when I was in the service in Japan in 1966. It's been around the world once. I still have it and it works as well as the day I bought it.
2/20/2005 1:41:04 AM
 
Bob Miller 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2005 1:27:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2005 1:27:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2005 1:27:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2005 1:27:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2005 1:27:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It has been a very dependable workhorse. Have had it over 30 years. Not my my first 35mm though that was also a Canon, an FL I bought in Japan in 1966 which I still have and it still works like the day I bought it. It has been around the world not to mention Vietnam.
2/20/2005 1:27:10 AM
 
Oliver C. Trautmann 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 8:35:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 8:35:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 8:35:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 8:35:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 8:35:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A very good camera, I especially like the detail that allow you to take the top off, so you can use the mirror directly, instead of using the viewhole. I got this from my grandfather (Father's father), along with a Cannon FT.
1/24/2005 8:35:08 AM
 
Bruce L. Prater 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 1:07:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 1:07:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 1:07:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 1:07:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/22/2005 1:07:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This has avaliable everything you could want in a 35mm film camera. You can also spend a lot of money getting these extras, still I haven't seen a better 35mm camera.
1/22/2005 1:07:01 PM
 
MITCHELL D. OSTROVER 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2004 12:20:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2004 12:20:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2004 12:20:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2004 12:20:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2004 12:20:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Old but still the best
12/21/2004 12:20:23 PM
 
Joseph M. Sampson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2004
Contact Joseph
Joseph's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 1:30:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 1:30:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 1:30:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 1:30:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/30/2004 1:30:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the best! Tough, dependable, top quality
11/30/2004 1:30:35 PM
 
Diana J. Cloutier 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 4:45:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 4:45:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 4:45:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 4:45:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2004 4:45:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera is old, however that doesn't make it any less reliable. It actually is older than I am. (it belonged to my father) I used this model when I first started out in Photography. I was taking a beginning black and white class in high school. As a complete novice, the idea of learning to use a piece of equipment as complicated as an SLR was a little intimidating. The Cannon F-1 surprised me though. It wasn't too difficult to figure out. To be honest my flash is harder to use than the camera! My F-1 is quite heavy though. It's casing is entirely metal. It can be a strain on the neck sometimes, but I prefer it that way. This piece of equipment is rather durable, so I'm not afraid to handle it. It's a classic, and it's made with quality.
3/14/2004 4:45:37 PM
 
Anthony M. Aicardi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 4:26:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 4:26:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 4:26:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 4:26:44 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/4/2004 4:26:44 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is a work horse.
3/4/2004 4:26:44 PM
 
Joseph Wilkerson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 10:44:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 10:44:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 10:44:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 10:44:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 10:44:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had my Canon F-1 for 32 years. To me it is the only true multi-purpose camera. It has many adaptable interchangeable lens. All of it component parts can be easily disassembled for cleaning to include the prism.
2/23/2004 10:44:21 PM
 
James A. Crawford 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 11:59:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 11:59:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 11:59:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 11:59:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 11:59:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought this rugged camera used and it fought the wars through the years. Although it is semi retired I still bring it out for use every so often. But since the shutter gets stuck when set for 1sec. I do need to bring it in for repair
2/11/2004 11:59:42 AM
 
Isaac Silman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 12:23:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 12:23:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 12:23:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 12:23:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 12:23:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
accurate and rigid
1/30/2004 12:23:21 PM
 
Ed Neunlist 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:46:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:46:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:46:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:46:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:46:50 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Bought my first in 1976 and a used one in 2000. Still a great camera.
1/16/2004 7:46:50 AM
 
Ed Neunlist 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:39:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:39:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:39:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:39:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2004 7:39:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Bought my first %-1 in 1976. Great camera. Bought another in 2000.
1/16/2004 7:39:10 AM
 
Robert Bridges 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 10:51:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 10:51:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 10:51:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 10:51:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 10:51:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
solid, reliable workhorse. Have used it for 20 yrs now.
12/31/2003 10:51:46 PM
 
Edward L. Robinson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 6:50:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 6:50:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 6:50:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 6:50:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 6:50:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Original F-1 body, Canon's Flagship 35mm manual body when introduced in the mid-60's, this camera is like a tank, definitely pro-style body, since I have a huge selection of Canon FD & FL lenses, I sold both a AE-1 &AE-1Program bodies about 8yrs. ago to purchase the F-1 body, with no regrets, since I seldom use aperture or shutter priority settings, an all manual body fit my needs to the maximum.
12/31/2003 6:50:49 PM
 
Charlie T. Wilkinson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 5:18:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 5:18:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 5:18:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 5:18:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 5:18:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Really tough, easy to use manual camera that takes great photo's.
10/4/2003 5:18:39 PM
 
Jack Sweet 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 2:48:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 2:48:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 2:48:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 2:48:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 2:48:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Can't beat the old F1s.
9/30/2003 2:48:51 PM
 
Mona L. Jones 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 3:12:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 3:12:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 3:12:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 3:12:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2003 3:12:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful old manual workhorse. This camera has been my good friend for over 10 yrs..
6/27/2003 3:12:22 PM
 
Carolyn  M. Fletcher
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/6/2001
Contact Carolyn
Carolyn 's Gallery
PickYourShots.com
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 3:30:56 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 3:30:56 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 3:30:56 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 3:30:56 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 3:30:56 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I'm not real happy with it when on autofocus. It hunts for focus and if you don't have time to set up a shot, sometimes it refuses to shoot at all. Give me a digital any day!
6/17/2003 3:30:56 AM
 
Clifford Hynds 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2003 3:54:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2003 3:54:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2003 3:54:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2003 3:54:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2003 3:54:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just bought second hand, little use yet but first impressions are solid , all-metal build. bought to replace a broken A1. All functions are easily accessible and shutter is good. Manual operation without batteries can be a life-saver also. Mine is the last version usually known as the New F1.
Expect this camera to last a long time yet.
4/12/2003 3:54:13 AM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2002 8:33:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2002 8:33:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2002 8:33:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2002 8:33:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2002 8:33:09 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A few things I forgot earlier . . .
The newest(3rd) version F-1 has no mirror lock-up. If you do exposures slower than 1/60 sec on a tripod, go for the first or second version F-1 instead.
All F-1's have an optional Speed Finder. This finder gives you a larger picture and a swivel option for waist-level viewing or use on a copy stand.
The first two versions have an optional Booster finder, which enables light meter readings beyond normal levels, for macro and low-light work.
If you don't want to pay for the F-1, or can't find one, the FTb can do most of what the F-1 can, except for accepting the speed finder. To get these capabilities in a Canon autofocus camera, you'll have to go way up the product line.
10/8/2002 8:33:09 AM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2002 4:07:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2002 4:07:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2002 4:07:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2002 4:07:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2002 4:07:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The F-1, in it's three versions, has been Canon's pro level SLR. Introduced in the early 70's, it is robust, versatile, and, alas, heavy. Great attention was paid in the design to moisture and dust tightness, and reliability.
Light metering in all three versions is by a 12% rectangle in the middle. This can be changed, according to the viewfinder screen you choose to use. Two or three hundred for an F-1 is a bargain these days, and you'd have a truly professional camera. You can use all FD lenses, and even the old FL lenses in the stopped-down mode. You can convert the F-1n (3rd version) to aperture OR shutter priority auto exposure by adding the right finder. Mine has spoiled me rotten; the advance mechanism in nearly anything else seems crude and rough. If you can find one, and you don't know its history, have it CLA'ed (about ($160) and enjoy it for many years.
8/19/2002 4:07:54 PM
 

38 Reviews