F-1 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

a river runs thro...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 38 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Gil Levy 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Simple. great reults.
5/19/2006 6:57:54 AM
 
Trista D. Fail 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
this camera was given to me by a friend. it takes good pictures not to be digital
4/12/2006 5:40:21 PM
 
Michael Margolies
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/24/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the best film camera (35m MM) I've ever owned. Rugged, fast and well balanced. I mostly shoot digital now but can't bare to give up this body. Mine is the newer "n" version. I notice that I seem to compose faster with it than other film cameras I own, it is bright and controls are clear and obvious.
4/2/2006 2:30:08 PM
 
Duane Keeling
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Heavy, but a real work horse. Very reliable and does not need batteries when shooting manual, below 1/125. Uses old style Canon lens mount which precludes newer and autofocus lenses (unless using USM third-pary).
12/28/2005 8:22:09 PM
 
Will Turner 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Well built, professional camera made to last, particularly the last F-1N with the hybrid metal shutter. Full manual control, interchangeable 100% viewfinders, DOF preview, and - a well-built internal film advance and shutter mechanism.

I see many people trying to start film photography with a shoddy AE1 or AE-1 Program, usually they are looking for a repair shop in two weeks, only to find that parts aren't available. People, those were entry-level, pricepoint cameras designed for amateurs, never supposed to last for 20 years, geared to snapshot photography, programmed exposures. They have a LOT of repair issues.

If you want a reliable FD-mount Canon, a pro-level body in good condition will last longer before it quits on you. That means a Canon F-1 or T90.

9/17/2005 7:38:41 PM
 
Kathryn Olance 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had this camera for 25yrs and it's never failed me. I use almost exclusively at 85mm lens. The sharpness and quality of the photos that I take w/ this camera are always superb. I like the glass lens as opposed to the current uses of plastic.
8/27/2005 5:20:19 PM
 
William Ainslie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/7/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Great for Astrophotograpy
7/28/2005 7:08:50 PM
 
Jim Rowan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/8/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my favorite 35mm piece. It does everything I ask of it. The F1 is a true system camera and was my main camera until digital lured me away. Still, I love this SLR and I have to run a roll through it every once in a while. I suppose I should stock up on some good 35mm film....just in case....
7/27/2005 1:39:49 PM
 
Kevin Elliott
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/10/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Solid and reliable with good features.
7/1/2005 2:15:18 PM
 
Raamon  Vila 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Got it in the 70s with my Leica Cl they are my Dinamic Duo.
6/20/2005 1:46:38 PM
 
Danielle M. Dube
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The thing that I enjoy most about the F-1 is that it is fully manual and it is up to you to control everything from loading the film to getting the perfect exposure. The least enjoyable aspect of it is the weight, it is very heavy!
5/8/2005 6:33:17 PM
 

First 10 of 38 Reviews  (see all user reviews)