CL


Leica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Classic 35mm Cameras

Once I Built a Ra...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kenny  Allyn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:54:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:54:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:54:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:54:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:54:51 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Maybe the retro stealth camera ... lens, size easy to use ... what more could you want? ... well maybe a CLE, or better yet a Konica Hexar RF ...
2/17/2005 9:54:51 AM
 
Fabrizio Vignali 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 12:05:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 12:05:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 12:05:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 12:05:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2005 12:05:53 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my Leica, it feels such a perfect machine in your hands !!!! I just bougth it and did only 1 film, with some mistakes, so I am not able to judge yet, but I am 100% sure itīs been a great adquisition !!!!
1/11/2005 12:05:53 PM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2002 11:37:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2002 11:37:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2002 11:37:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2002 11:37:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/11/2002 11:37:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Whoops, sorry guys. That's a ZING (not ZIP) pouch for lenses, perfect for carrying a small rangefinder or point'n shoot.
10/11/2002 11:37:42 AM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2002 4:25:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2002 4:25:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2002 4:25:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2002 4:25:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2002 4:25:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Leica brought out the CL in the 70's as an entry-level Leica. It wasn't cheap and still isn't. It was made in Japan.
The CL has framelines for a 40, 50 and 90-mm lens. The 40 Summicron C is extremely sharp and the cheapest Leica lens you can buy. I like the CL for it's spot meter (7% circle in the middle), tiny size, and strap lugs that allow vertical carry. I use a ZIP lens pouch as a case.

You can use a 35 on this by sighting a little outside the 40-mm frame and a 28, if you use an acessory finder in the shoe on top.
Alas, the CL is not known for its durability. Once I had one in my hands, however, I like it so much I had it overhauled ($145). It's a less expensive way to go Leica, but then, the Bessa R2 is even cheaper.

8/19/2002 4:25:25 PM
 

4 Reviews