BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Mystic / York / Clark Photo Lab

Categories: Reviews: Other Services : Photo Labs


17 Reviews  

Average Rating: 1 out of 5

1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jamie 

member since: 1/12/2005
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
York is horrible! They lost my film and now it will be a battle to get my money back! They lost my film and now are stalling and screwing around making excuses! Their customer service is horrible! You cant talk to someone on the phone and there is no address to write them only emails. Don't trust your film with York!
1/12/2005 11:00:47 AM
 
Don 

member since: 5/19/2003
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
Afer York / Clark ruined a few rolls of mine and my brothers negatives. We dropped them pronto. We are so glad that ABC and some of the old crew from Mystic are back. ( Mystic's CEO is running the show and they are hiring back as many of the old employees back as possible )

They are using brand new equiptment. My last roll of film came back to me razor sharp with vivid colors. They are even better then the "old Mystic"
Don Calderone, ( a original Mystic from the 80's.

11/23/2004 4:27:52 AM
 
Paulette Baker

member since: 11/9/2004
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
I used Mystic Color Lab exclusively for many years. Their plant was just down the road from where I work, so it was easy to hand-drop my film--especially nice for once-in-a-lifetime trips. Fortunately, I had a friend in marketing who told me about the sale of the Mystic Color Lab name and to whom it had been sold. Having had the misfortune to deal with York/Clark in the past, I wasn't about to do business with them again. I frequently receive mailings from "Mystic" and think it's very deceptive to allow customers to think they're dealing with the same company. I've had several rolls of film developed by ABC PhotoLab (Mystic's old management/employees) and was very pleased with the results. They're a little higher than the old Mystic prices, but the quality is very, very good.
11/9/2004 1:55:52 PM
 
Frank Cook

member since: 5/1/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is incredible. I haven't used Mystic in about 5 years but when I did they were the best hands down. I never liked Dale or York, they were barely a step up from Walmart. Guess I'll be using my local developer in the future. Thanks for the info.
5/1/2004 5:18:47 PM
 
Garry J. Silk

member since: 8/31/2003
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
Yes Mystic was sold in Nov 2002 to Clark. The quality has gone way down. I am a former employee of Mystic Color Lab. I lost my job when they were sold.
The company that owned MCL sold it to Clark without even telling the President of Mystic. The good news is that the former management team of MCL has started a new photofinishing business. ABC PhotoLab in Mystic CT.
We are now celebrating our 6 month anniversary. Check us out at ABCPHOTOLAB.COM you won't be disappointed.
2/23/2004 8:33:05 PM
 
Missy 

member since: 1/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think York and Clark are good companys, I've been with them for at least 15 years I never really had any problems with them. I don't know how people get off saying they are bad. I like them....personally.
1/28/2004 12:29:25 PM
 
Jack Mandle

member since: 9/19/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I have used Mystic a few time and wasn't very happy with thier quality and service. I got some recommendations and great reviews from a friend that sends his work to Kellards Photo they are located in Downtown NYC so I gave them a try, I resent the same files I sent to mystic, I have to tell you the prints were Unbelivable compared to the prints I got before. first of all they use Kodak Royal Paper which has a great feel and the colors were nice and vibrant colors, and I receved it within 3 days so I think I found my new online photofinishers.

you can visit them @ www.kellards.com

9/19/2003 9:06:29 AM
 
Leah Marshall
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/4/2003
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I have used Mystic/Clark and was also disappointed. The customer service is awful. They lost a roll of film of mine and they cropped my enlangements in a really rediculous way, I mean literally chopping off tree tops, flowers, even cuttin into peoples faces. I am still waiting for a refund, I sent them all back. It has been 3 weeks since returned, still no $ back, no response to email.Yes, they are idiots! Stay away!
9/17/2003 10:20:40 AM
 
Don 

member since: 5/19/2003
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
I spent 12 hours conducting research for a new lab.

I was with Mystic for 20 years.

Now I use Dale Lab's in Miami.Guess what ? They are better then the butchers at the new Mystic.

http://www.dalelabs.com/

Don

6/24/2003 3:45:39 AM
 
Bill Robertson

member since: 6/9/2003
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
Stay away: bad procesing, deceptive business practices. It's bad enough that the previous owner simply sold the Mystic brand name to Clark Lab and that the quality has disappeared completely. But worse, is that they're so deceptive about it. Clark pretends nothing has changed - I sent an email in February to ask about the sudden junk I was getting and if they were subcontracting this business. The response was that they were "upgrading their system to Kodak", nothing about the sale. All their websites talk about Mystic, CT but it's gone.
6/9/2003 4:03:49 PM
 
Rich 

member since: 5/23/2003
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
I also have used Mystic for the last 20 years. They have turned into a scam company. They are deceiving customers into thinking they are still in Mystic. They have never told their customers that the company was sold and under new management. They just ruined 4 rolls of once in a life time pictures. They splashed a chemical on all my negatives and now all my pictures have white spots on them. They have a totally incompetent customer services staff. Total idiots.
5/23/2003 6:39:12 AM
 
Joe 

member since: 5/22/2003
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
Damn Damn Damn. I've been using Mystic for 20 years and then I sent my film to them after a 1 year hiatus from using them. In the meantime they were sold and they now SUCK! Here's what happens when you send film to CT. It goes to a mail drop where it is repacked and shipped to a Clark lab in Beltsville MD for development and shipping. The development they provide is crap, bad contrast, bad color, scratched negatives. Never will I develop with them again.
5/22/2003 7:14:08 PM
 
Don 

member since: 5/19/2003
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
It's just a mail drop in Mystic Conn.
They are deceiving their customers.

http://www.acecam.com/photography/5399.html

5/20/2003 8:57:07 AM
 
Don 

member since: 5/19/2003
0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0 out of 5
They were great for the 20 years that I used them.

Now, with the new owners. The operation is really in Maryland.

They have ruined many rolls of film.

Never had a quality control with the prervious original owners.

They need to "close shop"

5/19/2003 10:14:39 AM
 
Dave 

member since: 4/20/2003
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I agree with the other reviews. I have been using Mystic for a long time (20 years). Until last fall their quality and customer service was always top notch. But since then, things have gone downhill. The colors on the prints are not as true, there are many more scratches and spots on the prints than before, and the whole process takes longer than it used to. Also, their costs have gone up. To top it all off, they don't put the date, film roll number, and print number on the back of the prints anymore -- that may not sound like much, but it was a wonderful convenience. I, too, am now busy looking for another film developer.
4/20/2003 12:53:22 PM
 
Gail Cimino

member since: 2/19/2003
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
They have really dropped off the map as far as I'm concerned. All the prints I've gotten from them since November are on cheaper paper, color and contrast are terrible (I can print better pics on my Epson 1280), and they no longer print the date and negative #'s on the back, which has been my lifeline for many years. They did answer my e-mail complaint, after a while. But I'm hunting around for a new (affordable) developer.
2/19/2003 8:56:05 AM
 
Chris 

member since: 1/21/2003
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
Mystic used to be a 9, but I just received the worst processing from them of 4 rolls of film. Negatives of some once in lifetime travel shots are ruined with scrathes, and the prints were horrible. They did not follow the options I chose on their envelope. It took weeks when it normally takes days to get my film back. They have not responded to e-mail and their phone lines are constantly busy. I understand they were sold in Nov 2002. I've heard other horror stories since then, so my advice would be to avoid Mystic from now on.
1/21/2003 5:32:42 PM
 

17 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.